DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The preliminary amendment filed 05/20/2024 is acknowledged. Claims 1-3, 13, 14, 16, 26 and 31 are amended and claims 4-8, 15, 20, 21 and 27-29 are canceled. No restriction is being imposed in this case. Claims 1-3, 9-14, 16-19, 22-26, 30 and 31 are pending and under examination.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) and 365(c) is acknowledged. Based on an inspection of the prior applications, the examiner has concluded that the subject matter defined in the instant claims is supported by the disclosures of PCT/US2022/080159 and provisional application serial no. 63/280,999. The priority date of instant claims 1-3, 9-14, 16-19, 22-26, 30 and 31 is 11/18/2021.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities.
(i) Any new application (including continuations and divisionals) with an actual filing date (application filed under 111(a)) or an international filing date (application filed under 371) on or after July 1, 2022, must submit sequence listings under ST.26. See MPEP 2412. While sequence listings previously submitted under ST.25 (filed before July 1, 2022) permitted sequences having less than 10 nucleotides or less than 4 amino acids, such sequences are prohibited under ST.26. In the instant case, the original application discloses SEQ ID NOs: 8 and 16 at p. 65 (see Table 2). Applicant must amend the disclosures of skipped sequences in the instant specification with either the three- or one-letter codes for peptides. For instance, SEQ ID NO: 8 would appear as just “Ser-Ala-Ser” or “SAS”.
(ii) The specification discloses two separate tables with the heading “Table 2”, one at p. 63, showing cancer markers on lymphoid cell types and one at pages 65-66, listing the sequences disclosed in the instant specification. Presumably the second “Table 2” should be renamed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-3, 9-14, 16-19, 22-26, 30 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
(i) Any new application (including continuations and divisionals) with an actual filing date (application filed under 111(a)) or an international filing date (application filed under 371) on or after July 1, 2022, must submit sequence listings under ST.26. See MPEP 2412. While sequence listings previously submitted under ST.25 (filed before July 1, 2022) permitted sequences having less than 10 nucleotides or less than 4 amino acids, such sequences are prohibited under ST.26. Claims 1, 10 and 12 recite either SEQ ID NOs: 8 or 16 or both, which are peptides comprising 3 amino acid residues and thus constitute skipped sequences. The original application discloses SEQ ID NOs: 8 and 16 at p. 65 (see Table 2). Applicant must amend the disclosures of skipped sequences in the instant specification with either the three- or one-letter codes for peptides. For instance, SEQ ID NO: 8 would appear as just “Ser-Ala-Ser” or “SAS”. Claims 2, 3, 9, 12-14, 16-19, 22-26, 30 and 31 are also included in this rejection for depending from an indefinite claim without resolving the indefiniteness.
(ii) Claim 16 recites “an effective amount of an antibody according to any of claims 1-14”, however, claims 4-8 have been canceled. The metes and bounds of claim 16 cannot be determined since it depends in part from claims that have been canceled. The claims must particularly point out and distinctly define the metes and bounds of the subject matter that will be protected by the patent grant (see MPEP 2171). Claims 17-19, 22-26 and 30, which depend from claim 16, also have this issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Scope of Enablement
Claims 1-3, 9-14, 16-19, 22-26, 30 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for an antibody specific for the receptor for advanced glycation end products (RAGE) comprising:
the heavy chain complementarity determining regions (CDRs) set forth in SEQ ID NOs: 4-6 and the light chain CDRs set forth in SEQ ID NO: 7, the amino acid sequence SAS and SEQ ID NO: 9; or
the heavy chain CDRs set forth in SEQ ID NOs: 12-14 and the light chain CDRs set forth in SEQ ID NO: 15, the amino acid sequence GAS and SEQ ID NO: 17;
and treatment of colorectal cancer with said antibody, does not reasonably provide enablement for the claims as broadly recited. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is “undue.” (See In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 Fed. Cir. 1988). These factors include, but are not limited to: (a) the breadth of the claims; (b) the nature of the invention; (c) the state of the prior art; (d) the level of one of ordinary skill; (e) the level of predictability in the art; (f) the amount of direction provided by the inventor; (g) the existence of working examples; and (h) the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
Claims 1-3, 9-12, 16-19, 22-26, 30 and 31 are broad with respect to the antibody specific for the V and/or C1 domains of the RAGE receptor. Claim 1 and its dependents require only that the antibody comprise three heavy or light chain complementarity determining regions (CDRs), namely, SEQ ID NOs: 4-6; SEQ ID NO: 7, the amino acid sequence SAS and SEQ ID NO: 9; SEQ ID NOs: 12-14; or SEQ ID NO: 15, the amino acid sequence GAS and SEQ ID NO: 17. The formation of an intact antigen-binding site generally requires the association of the complete heavy and light chain variable regions of a given antibody, each of which consists of three CDRs which provide the majority of the contact residues for the binding of the antibody to its target epitope. The art suggests that a change of even a single amino acid residue in the CDRs can result in large effects on activity (see Piche-Nicholas et al., MAbs. 2018; 10: 81-94. doi: 10.1080/19420862.2017.1389355 at p. 89, right column, last paragraph), let alone a difference by three entire CDRs. The breadth of the claims therefore encompasses antibodies in which only three CDRs that form the binding region of the antibody are defined and the specification does not provide guidance or working examples directed to antibodies sharing only three CDRs, including whether such antibodies bind RAGE.
Further compounding the breadth of the claims is their complexity. Claims 16-19, 22-26 and 30 are drawn to treatment with the encompassed antibodies and claim 31 is drawn to detecting a RAGE protein in a biological sample. Claims 1-3 and 9-12 are drawn to the product of an antibody, however, when evaluating claims for enablement, it is appropriate to consider the intended use of said products. The instant specification contemplates preventing and treating a wide variety of diseases, including chronic inflammation, liver damage, fibrosis, ocular disease, respiratory diseases, infections and cancer, among others (see paragraphs [0035]-[[0041]). The term “preventing” is generally understood in the art to encompass a total protection from disease or injury. Thus, given the high level of required effect, a high level of evidence showing prevention is also required.
The specification does not disclose that any disease or disorder is prevented by administering the encompassed antibodies. The specification discloses the generation of antibodies to the receptor for advanced glycation end-products (RAGE) and the domains on RAGE to which the antibodies bind (see pages 61-62, Examples 1-2; Figures 1-2). In an experiment in the human THP-1 cell line, the anti-RAGE antibody (RS15 clone) inhibited (i) cell migration towards glycated BSA (a RAGE ligand) and (ii) the “binding of S100A8/9 to monocytes and granulocytes” (see paragraph [0247], Figures 3A and 3C). Both the RS7 and RS15 anti-RAGE clones “inhibit[ed] basal levels of NFkB signaling in mouse melanoma line B16F10” and “basal Erk activation levels” (see paragraphs [0247]-[0248], Figures 3B and 4). The specification characterizes RAGE tumor expression in two human colorectal cancer samples using the RS15 clone (see paragraphs [0249]-[0250] and Figure 5). Finally, treatment of two mouse models of colon cancer with the RS15 clone:
decreased potential immune inhibitory myeloid population from infiltrating the tumor
increased IL27, IL17A, IFNβ, IL1β, and IL10
decreased TGFβ and CCL2
increased T cells tumor infiltration; and
inhibited tumor growth
See paragraphs [0251]-[0255], Figures 6-8 of the instant application. Thus, the specification provides support for a role of anti-RAGE antibodies in treating colorectal cancer, but not in the treatment and prevention of the vast array of diseases with the disclosed antibodies.
Consistent with the finding in the instant specification, the art teaches that RAGE is involved in the development of many diseases and disorders and its blockade is a promising field of research (see “Concluding Remarks/Perspectives” at p. 9 of Chuah et al., International Journal of Inflammation Volume 2013, Article ID 403460; citations omitted by examiner):
There is a growing body of evidence connecting RAGE ligand axis to a number of pathological settings such as cardiovascular disease, neuro-degeneration, diabetes mellitus, and immune/inflammatory diseases. This has evoked a focus of attention to the potential of RAGE as a target of therapeutic intervention…Based on the impressive results obtained from animal studies, RAGE blockade or RAGE deletion may be proved beneficial in clinical settings.
See also Dong et al. Front. Immunol. (2022). 13:931473. doi: 10.3389/fimmu.2022. 931473, who teach nearly a year after the filing of the instant specification that further research must be undertaken to achieve a greater understanding of RAGE “under normal physiological conditions…before possible targeted RAGE therapeutic strategies can be established” (p. 11, right column, last paragraph). Thus, the art underscores the complexity of the field. Further, the teachings of the specification and the art do not suggest that administering the recited antibodies would treat or prevent the wide array of encompassed diseases. In summary, the evidence in the specification and art is not commensurate with the scope of the claimed invention.
Finally, claim 26 recites treatment with an unnamed “second medicament”. The specification contemplates many known treatments, however, also discloses “gene therapy” as a possible second medicament (see paragraph [0047]). The instant specification does not disclose any gene therapy working examples. Relevant literature teaches despite having made strides over the past 40 years, gene therapy remains unpredictable (see Antoine Gardin and Giuseppe Ronzitti, Archives de Pédiatrie 30 (2023) 8S46–8S52—hereafter “Gardin”). Gardin teaches that while methods of using adeno-associated viral (AAV) vectors for transducing DNA have improved, particularly in the treatment of the liver, central nervous system, muscles, eye and bone marrow, significant challenges remain (see p. 8S46, left column, 1st paragraph). For instance, besides immunogenicity, challenges include non-target organ effects, the neutralizing effect of autoantibodies and loss of long-term correction (see p. 8S48, left column, 2nd paragraph; paragraph bridging pages 8S48-8S49; p. 8S49, under “3”). In view of the teachings of the relevant art, the ability to treat the wide array of contemplated diseases using RNA- or DNA-based therapies was not readily available in the relevant art at the time of filing of the instant application, and the limited teachings of the instant application do not overcome these shortcomings.
The test of enablement is not whether any experimentation is necessary, but whether, if experimentation is necessary, it is undue. Due to the large quantity of experimentation necessary to establish a preventive effect using the claimed antibodies, and regarding claim 26, gene therapy, the breadth of the claims which encompasses structurally undefined antibodies for the treatment or prevention of a wide array of diseases and disorders, the lack of guidance or evidence in the specification for antibodies comprising only three CDRs and for indicating a preventive effect therefor, as well as DNA-based therapies, and the complex nature of the invention, undue experimentation would be required of the skilled artisan to practice the claimed invention.
Written Description
Claims 1-3, 9-12, 16-19, 22-26, 30 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a written description rejection.
Claim 1 and its dependents recite an antibody to the receptor for advanced glycation end products (RAGE) wherein the antibody comprises three heavy or light chain complementarity determining regions (CDRs), namely, SEQ ID NOs: 4-6; SEQ ID NO: 7, the amino acid sequence SAS and SEQ ID NO: 9; SEQ ID NOs: 12-14; or SEQ ID NO: 15, the amino acid sequence GAS and SEQ ID NO: 17. In addition to binding to RAGE protein at epitopes in the V and/or C1 domains, claims 16-19, 22-26 and 30 require the functions of treating and/or preventing various diseases. Thus, the claims encompass a vast array of antibodies that require functions of specific binding to RAGE as well as treatment and/or prevention of disease.
The fundamental factual inquiry is whether the specification conveys with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, applicant was in possession of the invention as now claimed. See, e.g., Vas-Cath, Inc., 935 F.2d at 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d at 1117. The factors to be considered when analyzing claims for compliance with the written description requirement include: actual reduction to practice; disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas; sufficient relevant identifying characteristics (e.g., disclosure of complete or partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, structure/function correlation); method of making the claimed invention; level of skill and knowledge in the art; and predictability in the art. See MPEP §2163.
It is well established in the art that the formation of an intact antigen-binding site generally requires the association of the complete heavy and light chain variable regions of a given antibody, each of which consists of three CDRs which provide the majority of the contact residues for the binding of the antibody to its target epitope. The amino acid sequences and conformations of each of the heavy and light chain CDRs are critical in maintaining the antigen binding specificity and affinity which is characteristic of the parent immunoglobulin.
With respect to antibodies, the Federal Circuit has clarified Written Description as it applies to antibodies in the recent decision Amgen v. Sanofi, 872 F.3d 1367 (Fed. Cir. 2017). The Federal Circuit explained in Amgen that when an antibody is claimed, 35 U.S.C. 112(a) (or pre-AIA first paragraph) requires adequate written description of the antibody itself. Amgen, 872 F.3d at 1378-79. The Amgen court expressly stated that the so-called “newly characterized antigen” test, which had been based on an example in USPTO-issued training materials and was noted in dicta in several earlier Federal Circuit decisions, should not be used in determining whether there is adequate written description under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for a claim drawn to an antibody. Citing its decision in Ariad Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., the court also stressed that the “newly characterized antigen” test could not stand because it contradicted the quid pro quo of the patent system whereby one must describe an invention in order to obtain a patent. Amgen, 872 F.3d at 1378-79, quoting Ariad, 598 F.3d 1336, 1345 (Fed. Cir. 2010). In view of the Amgen decision, adequate written description of a newly characterized antigen alone is not considered adequate written description of a claimed antibody to that antigen, even when preparation of such an antibody is routine and conventional. Id.
The MPEP 2163(A) states “‘[a]n invention described solely in terms of a method of making and/or its function may lack written descriptive support where there is no described or art-recognized correlation between the disclosed function and the structure(s) responsible for the function.’” For inventions in emerging and unpredictable technologies, or for inventions characterized by factors not reasonably predictable which are known to one of ordinary skill in the art, more evidence is required to show possession. (See MPEP 2163(II)(A)(3)(a)(i)). In deciding whether the application complies with the written description requirement of 35 USC 112(a) or 35 USC 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, it is necessary to understand what Applicant has possession of. From the specification, it is clear that Applicant has possession of two antibodies to RAGE comprising the variable heavy chain set forth in SEQ ID NO: 2 and the variable light chain set forth in SEQ ID NO: 3 (RS15) and the variable heavy chain set forth in SEQ ID NO: 10 and the variable light chain set forth in SEQ ID NO: 11 (RS7; see pages 61-62, Examples 1-2; Figures 1-2 and Table 2 at p. 65). These two antibodies are not representative of the large genus of antibodies encompassed by the claims, which possess only three CDRs from the heavy or light chain variable regions. The art teaches that small changes in the amino acid structure of the CDRs can have large effects on activity. For instance, Piche-Nicholas et al. (MAbs. 2018; 10: 81-94. doi: 10.1080/19420862.2017.1389355) teach that the “binding affinity of IgG molecules…to FcRn that differed by only a few amino acid residues in CDRs revealed that small changes in CDRs, as minute as one amino acid residue change, could alter affinity to FcRn up to 79-fold.” See p. 89, right column, last paragraph of Piche-Nicholas et al. Further, the relevant art recognizes that diversity of antibodies binding to any particular target antigen or epitope is extremely broad, and therefore there is no way to reasonably predict the structure of the antigen-binding region of an antibody based upon the structure of an antigen or epitope alone (see, for example, Lloyd et al. Protein Eng. Design & Select, 2009, 22(3):159-168; and Edwards et al. J. Mol. Biol. 2003, 334:103-118). Accordingly, in the absence of sufficient recitation of distinguishing identifying characteristics, the specification does not provide adequate written description of the claimed genus.
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19USPQ2d 1111, clearly states that “applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the ‘written description’ inquiry, whatever is now claimed.” (See page 1117.) The specification does not “clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed.” (See Vas-Cath at page 1116). With the exception of an antibody having (i) the heavy chain CDRs set forth in SEQ ID NOs: 4-6 and the light chain CDRs set forth in SEQ ID NO: 7, the amino acid sequence SAS and SEQ ID NO: 9; or (ii) the heavy chain CDRs set forth in SEQ ID NOs: 12-14 and the light chain CDRs set forth in SEQ ID NO: 15, the amino acid sequence GAS and SEQ ID NO: 17, the skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed chemical structure of the encompassed antibodies, and therefore conception is not achieved until reduction to practice has occurred, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method of isolating it. The compound itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601 at 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016.
One cannot describe what one has not conceived. See Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481 at 1483. In Fiddes, claims directed to mammalian FGF’s were found to be unpatentable due to lack of written description for that broad class. The specification provided only the bovine sequence. Therefore, only antibodies comprising (i) the heavy chain CDRs set forth in SEQ ID NOs: 4-6 and the light chain CDRs set forth in SEQ ID NO: 7, the amino acid sequence SAS and SEQ ID NO: 9; or (ii) the heavy chain CDRs set forth in SEQ ID NOs: 12-14 and the light chain CDRs set forth in SEQ ID NO: 15, the amino acid sequence GAS and SEQ ID NO: 17, but not the full breadth of the claim meets the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. §112, first paragraph. Applicant is reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. §112 is severable from its enablement provision (see page 1115).
Notice for all US Patent Applications filed on or after March 16, 2013: In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US20150064174). Wang discloses SEQ ID NO: 3, which comprises the fused sequences of instant SEQ ID NO: 15 – GAS – SEQ ID NO: 17 (see paragraphs [0012], [0121]), which are bolded and underlined in the alignment below:
RESULT 1
US-18-711-742-11
Query Match 100.0%; Score 557; DB 1; Length 142;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 106; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 NIVMTQSPKSMSMSVGERVTLTCKASENVVTYVSWYQQKPEQSPKLLIYGASNRYTGVPD 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 21 NIVMTQSPKSMSMSVGERVTLTCKASENVVTYVSWYQQKPEQSPKLLIYGASNRYTGVPD 80
Qy 61 RFTGSGSATDFTLTISSVQAEDLADYHCGQGYSYPYTFGGGTKLEI 106
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 81 RFTGSGSATDFTLTISSVQAEDLADYHCGQGYSYPYTFGGGTKLEI 126
Since Wang discloses the same CDRs as recited in claims 1 and 12, the antibody disclosed therein must have the same activity as recited in the claims. See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 391, 137 USPQ 43, 51 (CCPA 1963): “[f]rom the standpoint of patent law, a compound and all its properties are inseparable.” See also In re Swinehart and Sfiligoj, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971); In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 1090, 197 USPQ 601, 607 (CCPA 1978).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/CHRISTINA M BORGEEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1675