DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made of the preliminary amendment submitted on 05/20/2024. In virtue of this amendments:
Claims 14-15 and 18 are currently amended; and thus,
Claims 1-18 pending;
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of this application’s status as a 371 of PCT/JP2022/042492 filed on 11/16/2022.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of JP2021-193457 filed on 11/29/2021 has been received/retrieved by the office.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/20/2024 and 02/26/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites “no first non-emission period” which appears to be a typographical error and should read -a first non-emission period-
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites “no non-emission period” which appears to be a typographical error and should read -a non-emission period-
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-10, 12 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2015/0002034A1 hereinafter “Van” in view of US2018/0110100A1 hereinafter “Yao”
Regarding claim 1, Van discloses an illumination system , comprising:
a plurality of light sources configured to emit excitation light (¶54L1-11: a first/second/third string of light emitting devices), the plurality of light sources including
a first light source (¶54L12-3: a first string of light emitting device) and
a second light source (¶54L3: a second string of light emitting device);
a substrate (¶89L1-2: a submount that supports array of LEDs);
a plurality of wavelength converters on the substrate (¶94L1-25: LEDs have an associated recipient luminophoric medium that includes one or more luminescent materials), the plurality of wavelength converters including
a first wavelength converter configured to emit fluorescence with a first wavelength spectrum in response to excitation light from the first light source (¶52L1-3: first group of LEDs may comprise blue-shifted-yellow LEDs (BSY LED); ¶52L12-18: a BSY LED refers to a blue LED and an associated recipient luminophoric medium that together emit light having a color point that falls within BSY region) and
a second wavelength converter configured to emit fluorescence with a second wavelength spectrum different from the first wavelength spectrum in response to excitation light from the second light source (¶52L3-4: second group of LEDs may comprise blue-shifted-green (BSG LED); ¶52L18-25: a BSG LED refers to a blue LED and an associated recipient luminophoric medium that together emits light having a color point that falls within BSG region);
a light guide configured to guide fluorescence emitted from the plurality of wavelength converters (¶97L1-3: an optical element or lens may be provided over the LEDs to provide environmental and/or mechanical protection); and
a controller (¶110L13-18: control system send control signal to control circuit which cause circuit to adjust their output drive current) configured to cause each of the plurality of light sources to repeat emission and non-emission of excitation light in constant cycles (¶123L1-14: the drive current provided to one or more LED strings may be turned on and off (e.g., using pulse width modulation) in order to reduce the average drive current that is provided to those LED string)
Van does not expclitly disclose:
when the controller causes each of the plurality of light sources to repeat emission and non-emission of excitation light in the constant cycles, in an operation period of one cycle from a first start timing at which the first light source starts a first irradiation toward the first wavelength converter with excitation light to a second start timing at which the first light source starts a second irradiation subsequent to the first irradiation toward the first wavelength converter with excitation light, the controller causes the second light source to emit no excitation light toward the second wavelength converter for at least a portion of a first emission period during which the first light source emits excitation light toward the first wavelength converter, and the controller causes the first light source to emit no excitation light toward the first wavelength converter for at least a portion of a second emission period during which the second light source emits excitation light toward the second wavelength converter.
Yao discloses a PWM driving system/method for a multi-channel LED system wherein
the controller causes each of the plurality of light sources to repeat emission and non-emission of excitation light in the constant cycles (as shown in Fig.6, “PWM Modulation Period” between T0 and T0),
in an operation period of one cycle from a first start timing at which the first light source (¶42L16-17: a PWM signal PWM_L (curve [114]) drives the left LED channel) starts a first irradiation toward the first wavelength converter with excitation light (as shown in Fig.6, @ first T0 PWM_L is turned on) to a second start timing at which the first light source starts a second irradiation subsequent to the first irradiation toward the first wavelength converter with excitation light (as shown in Fig.6, @ second T0 PWM_L is turned on again subsequent to first T0)
the controller causes the second light source to emit no excitation light toward the second wavelength converter (¶42L16-17: a PWM signal PWM_R (curve [116]) drives the right LED channel) for at least a portion of a first emission period ((as shown in Combined Fig.6 and Fig.6 below; between T0 and T2) during which the first light source emits excitation light toward the first wavelength converter (as shown in Combined Fig.6 and Fig.6 below; while PWM_L is turned on between T0 and T1, PWM_R is turned off), and
the controller causes the first light source to emit no excitation light toward the first wavelength converter for at least a portion of a second emission period (as shown in Combined Fig.6 and Fig.6 below; between T2 and T0’) during which the second light source emits excitation light toward the second wavelength converter. (as shown in Combined Fig.6 and Fig.7 below; for example, PWM_L is turned off between T3 and T4, PWM_R is turned on)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application modify the LED device disclose by Van to be driving using the PWM scheme as disclosed by Yao.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because the PWM driving scheme disclosed by Yao can spread out or cancel out the power supply transient generated by the LED transient current during PWM modulation for dimming operation. (Yao ¶27L5-11)
Regarding claim 2, Van in view of Yao hereinafter “Van/Yao” discloses the illumination system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of light sources includes
a third light source configured to emit excitation light (Van ¶52L4-7: the third group of LED may comprise blue-shifted-red (BSR LED)),
the plurality of wavelength converters includes a third wavelength converter configured to emit fluorescence with a third wavelength spectrum (Van ¶52L25-28: a BSR LED refers to a blue LED that includes a recipient luminophoric medium that emits light having a wavelength between 600 and 720 nm in response to the light emitted by the blue LED) different from the first wavelength spectrum and the second wavelength spectrum in response to excitation light from the third light source (Note: first/second LED of Van is BSY and BSG respectively), and
the operation period of one cycle includes the first emission period, the second emission period, and a third emission period (as shown in Combined Fig.6 and Fig.6 below; between T1-T4) during which the third light source emits excitation light toward the third wavelength converter. (as shown in Combined Fig.6 and Fig.7 above; for example, PWM_C is turned on between T1 and T4; ¶52L1-9: a set of three LED channel can be red, green and blue LED in a multiple channel system; PWM_C drives a center LED channel, PWM_L drive a left LED channel, PWM_R drives a right LED channel)
Regarding claim 3, Van/Yao discloses in Yao the illumination system according to claim 2, wherein in the operation period of one cycle, the controller
causes the third light source to emit no excitation light toward the third wavelength converter for at least a portion of the first emission period (as shown in Combined Fig.6 and Fig.7 above; for example, PWM_C is off between T0 and T1)
causes the first light source to emit no excitation light toward the first wavelength converter for at least a portion of the third emission period (as shown in Combined Fig.6 and Fig.7 above; for example, PWM_L is off between T2 and T0’)
causes the third light source to emit no excitation light toward the third wavelength converter for at least a portion of the second emission period (as shown in Combined Fig.6 and Fig.7 above; for example, PWM_C is off between T2 and T0’) and
causes the second light source to emit no excitation light toward the second wavelength converter for at least a portion of the third emission period. (as shown in Combined Fig.6 and Fig.7 above; for example, PWM_R is off between T1 and T2)
Regarding claim 4, Van/Yao discloses in Yao the illumination system according to claim 3, wherein the controller
causes the second light source and the third light source to emit no excitation light toward the second wavelength converter and the third wavelength converter in the first emission period, (as shown in Combined Fig.6 and Fig.7 above; for example, PWM_R and PWM_C is off between first T0 and T1)
causes the first light source and the second light source to emit no excitation light toward the first wavelength converter and the second wavelength converter in the third emission period (as shown in Combined Fig.6 and Fig.7 above; for example, PWM_R and PWM_L is off between T2 and T3, and
causes the first light source and the third light source to emit no excitation light toward the first wavelength converter and the third wavelength converter in the second emission period. (as shown in Combined Fig.6 and Fig.7 above; for example, PWM_L and PWM_C is off between T4 and T0’)
Regarding claim 8, Van/Yao discloses in Yao the illumination system according to claim 2, wherein the controller causes, in the operation period of one cycle,
the first light source and the third light source to emit no excitation light toward the first wavelength converter and the third wavelength converter for at least a portion of the second emission period. (as shown in Combined Fig.6 and Fig.7 above; for example, PWM_L and PWM_C is off between T4 and T0’)
Regarding claim 9, Van/Yao discloses in Yao the illumination system according to claim 8, wherein the controller causes, in the operation period of one cycle,
the third light source to emit excitation light toward the third wavelength converter for at least a portion of the first emission period. (as shown in Combined Fig.6 and Fig.7 above; for example, PWM_C is on between T1 and T2)
Regarding claim 10, Van/Yao discloses in Yao the illumination system according to claim 9, wherein in the operation period of one cycle, the controller
causes the third light source to start or end emission of excitation light toward the third wavelength converter in the first emission period (as shown in Combined Fig.6 and Fig.7 above; for example, PWM_C is on between T1 and T2),
causes the first light source to start or end emission of excitation light toward the first wavelength converter in the third emission period (as shown in Combined Fig.6 and Fig.7 above; for example, PWM_L is on between T1 and T2), or
causes the first light source and the third light source to simultaneously start or end emission of excitation light. (as shown in Combined Fig.6 and Fig.7 above; for example, PWM_L and PWM_C is turned on at T1).
Regarding claim 12, Van/Yao discloses in Yao the illumination system according to claim 10, wherein the controller causes, in the operation period of one cycle,
the first light source and the third light source to emit no excitation light toward the first wavelength converter and the third wavelength converter in the second emission period. (as shown in Combined Fig.6 and Fig.7 above; for example, PWM_L and PWM_C is off between T4 and T0’)
Regarding claim 14, Van/Yao discloses the illumination system according claim 2,
Van/Yao does not expclitly disclose:
the first emission period, the second emission period, and the third emission period have a same length in the operation period of one cycle.
Yao does disclose the duty cycle of each signal is based upon the desired brightness of the LED (¶32: the PWM signal are switched at a PWM frequency at a given duty cycle to achieve the desired brightness level)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the emission period of the signal to be same.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this would allow all the LED to emit light at the same brightness level.
Regarding claim 15, Van/Yao discloses the illumination system according claim 2,
Van/Yao does not expclitly disclose:
the first emission period, the second emission period, and the third emission period have different lengths in the operation period of one cycle.
Yao does disclose the duty cycle of each signal is based upon the desired brightness of the LED (¶32: the PWM signal are switched at a PWM frequency at a given duty cycle to achieve the desired brightness level)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the emission period of the signal to be different.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this would allow all the LED to emit light at the different brightness level.
Regarding claims 16-18, the claims recites similar limitations as claims 1-2, respectively, therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 5-7, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van/Yao in view of US2014/0265860A1 hereinafter “Lethellier”
Regarding claim 5, Van/Yao discloses the illumination system according to claim 4,
Van/Yao does not expclitly disclose:
in the operation period of one cycle, the controller causes the first light source, the second light source, and the third light source to emit no excitation light toward the first wavelength converter, the second wavelength converter, and the third wavelength converter in a first non-emission period between the first emission period and the third emission period, in a second non-emission period between the third emission period and the second emission period, and in a third non-emission period after the second emission period.
Lethellier discloses a multi-channel LED system wherein the pulse width on time and pulse width off time are determined for each individual channel and may be different; and are proportional to predetermined brightness corresponding to the selected channel. (Lethellier ¶103L1-12)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the on/off time of each channel of LED disclosed by Van/Yao so that there is a period of time where all 3 LED are off.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because the on/off time of the channel is art recognized as result effective variable, and thus finding the optimum value for said value is routine in the art.
Regarding claim 6, Van/Yao in view of Lethellier hereinafter “Van/Yao/Lethellier” discloses the illumination system according to claim 5
Van/Yao/Lethellier does not expclitly disclose:
the second non-emission period is longer than the first non-emission period and the third non-emission period.
Lethellier discloses a multi-channel LED system wherein the pulse width on time and pulse width off time are determined for each individual channel and may be different; and are proportional to predetermined brightness corresponding to the selected channel. (Lethellier ¶103L1-12)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the on/off time of each channel of LED disclosed by Van/Yao so that there is a period of time where all 3 LED are off.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because the on/off time of the channel is art recognized as result effective variable, and thus finding the optimum value for said value is routine in the art.
Regarding claim 7, Van/Yao discloses the illumination system according to claim 4,
Van/Yao does not expclitly disclose:
in the operation period of one cycle, the controller causes, between the first emission period and the third emission period, no first non-emission period during which the first light source, the second light source, and the third light source emit no excitation light toward the first wavelength converter, the second wavelength converter, and the third wavelength converter, and the controller causes, in a second non-emission period between the third emission period and the second emission period and in the third non- emission period after the second emission period, the first light source, the second light source, and the third light source to emit no excitation light toward the first wavelength converter, the second wavelength converter, and the third wavelength converter, and the second non-emission period is longer than the third non-emission period.
Lethellier discloses a multi-channel LED system wherein the pulse width on time and pulse width off time are determined for each individual channel and may be different; and are proportional to predetermined brightness corresponding to the selected channel. (Lethellier ¶103L1-12)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the on/off time of each channel of LED disclosed by Van/Yao so that there is a period of time where all 3 LED are off.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because the on/off time of the channel is art recognized as result effective variable, and thus finding the optimum value for said value is routine in the art.
Regarding claim 11, Van/Yao discloses the illumination system according to claim 10,
Van/Yao does not expclitly disclose:
in the operation period of one cycle, the controller causes, after the second emission period, no non-emission period during which the first light source, the second light source, and the third light source emit no excitation light toward the first wavelength converter, the second wavelength converter, and the third wavelength converter.
Lethellier discloses a multi-channel LED system wherein the pulse width on time and pulse width off time are determined for each individual channel and may be different; and are proportional to predetermined brightness corresponding to the selected channel. (Lethellier ¶103L1-12)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the on/off time of each channel of LED disclosed by Van/Yao so that there is a period of time where all 3 LED are off.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because the on/off time of the channel is art recognized as result effective variable, and thus finding the optimum value for said value is routine in the art.
Regarding claim 13, Van/Yao discloses the illumination system according to claim 12,
Van/Yao does not expclitly disclose:
the controller causes, in the operation period of one cycle, the first light source, the second light source, and the third light source to emit no excitation light toward the first wavelength converter, the second wavelength converter, and the third wavelength converter in a non-emission period between the first emission period and the second emission period and between the third emission period and the second emission period.
Lethellier discloses a multi-channel LED system wherein the pulse width on time and pulse width off time are determined for each individual channel and may be different; and are proportional to predetermined brightness corresponding to the selected channel. (Lethellier ¶103L1-12)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the on/off time of each channel of LED disclosed by Van/Yao so that there is a period of time where all 3 LED are off.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because the on/off time of the channel is art recognized as result effective variable, and thus finding the optimum value for said value is routine in the art.
Conclusion
/Raymond R Chai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844