DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 6, 12, 16, 23, 25, 27, 31, 35, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “approximately” in claims 4, 6, 12, 16, 23, 25, 31, 35, and 37 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “approximately” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 27 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 13, and 20 objected to because of the following informalities:
The recitation in claims 1, 13, and 20 (line 1) of “constructed form” should be changed to --constructed from--.
Claim 13 should end with a period. The recitation in claim 13, line 9 of “central axis” should be changed to --central axis.--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-7, 9, 12-14, 16, 20-2123, 25, 27, 30-32, 35, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thurman (20210252356) in view of Phelan (20170165548).
Regarding claim 1, Thurman (Figures 1-56) teaches a sports implement comprising: a main body portion having a first contact surface (Fig. 1, Part No. 44) (Para. 0080) constructed form a first contact material (Para. 0085), a second contact surface (46) constructed from a second contact material (Para. 0085), a first core (Fig. 17, Part No. 1370) (Para. 0120-0121) constructed from a first core material and being positioned adjacent to the first contact surface (44), a second core (Fig. 17, Part No. 1370-2) (Para. 0121) constructed from a second core material and being positioned adjacent to the second contact surface (46), and a sidewall (48) (Para. 0080) positioned about a perimeter of each of the first and the second contact surfaces and the first and the second cores (See fig. 17); a handle portion (Fig. 1, Part No. 30; Para. 0077) (Fig. 2, Part No. 130; Para. 0088-0089) extending from the main body portion, the handle portion defining a handle central axis extending therethrough; and a grip member (Fig. 23A, Part No. 34; Para. 0078) (Fig. 2, part No. 134) (Para. 0105) including a grip body portion and a grip end portion forming a grip end plane, the grip body portion being operably coupled with the handle portion.
Thurman does not teach the grip end plane forms an obtuse angle with the handle central axis.
Phelan (Figures 1-7) teaches the grip end plane forms an obtuse angle with the handle central axis (Fig. 5, Part No. 5.5) (Para. 0087, 0093) (See fig. 3 and 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Thurman with the grip end plane forms an obtuse angle with the handle central axis as taught by Phelan as a means of providing a handle of a ball striking sports implement with a grip that provides a gripping and supporting surfaces for the little finger and the hypothenar of the athlete's gripping hand (Phelan: Para. 0087).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Thurman (Figures 1-56) teaches the first contact material comprises a carbon fiber material, and the second contact material comprises a fiberglass material (Para. 0085).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Thurman (Figures 1-56) teaches a first contact surface (Fig. 1, Part No. 44) (Para. 0080) constructed form a first contact material (Para. 0085), and a second contact surface (46) constructed from a second contact material (Para. 0085), the first and second contact materials inherently having a Young’s Modulus (Para. 0084-0085).
The modified Thurman does not teach the first contact material has a Young's Modulus of approximately 183 GPa, and the second contact material has a Young's Modulus of approximately 75 GPa.
It is noted that the prior art of Thurman teaches first and second contact surfaces that inherently have a Young’s Modulus. Thurman (Para. 0084) discloses: “in another implementation, plates 44 and 46 are different in chemical composition, thickness and/or stiffness characteristics.” It is noted that the prior art of Thurman teaches faceplates having different stiffness characteristics (i.e. Young’s Modulus), and the faceplates are made from different materials (Thurman: Para. 0085). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Thurman with the first contact material has a Young's Modulus of approximately 183 GPa as a means of finding optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Thurman (Figures 1-56) teaches the first contact material has a first contact elasticity value and the second contact material has a second contact elasticity value (Para. 0084-0085).
The modified Thurman does not teach a ratio of the first contact elasticity value to the second contact elasticity value is between approximately 1:5 and approximately 1:1.5.
It is noted that the prior art of Thurman teaches faceplates having different stiffness characteristics (i.e. Young’s Modulus), and the faceplates are made from different materials (Thurman: Para. 0085). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Thurman with a ratio of the first contact elasticity value to the second contact elasticity value is between approximately 1:5 and approximately 1:1.5 as a means of finding optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Thurman (Figures 1-56) teaches a plane extending through the sidewall (48), the plane separating the first core from the second core (Para. 0120-0121) (See fig. 17).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Thurman (Figures 1-56) teaches the plane is parallel to at least one of the first or the second contact surfaces (See fig. 17) (Para. 0120-0121).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Thurman (Figures 1-56) teaches the main body portion defines a main body length and the handle portion and the grip member define a grip length (See fig 1-2), the main body length and the grip length combining to define an overall length (See fig 1-2), wherein
The modified Thurman does not teach a ratio of the grip length to the main body length is between approximately 1:3 and approximately 3:5.
It is noted that the claim recitation of “a ratio of the grip length to the main body length is between approximately 1:3 and approximately 3:5” is directed to the dimensions of the apparatus. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Thurman with a ratio of the grip length to the main body length is between approximately 1:3 and approximately 3:5 as a means of finding optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Regarding claim 13, Thurman (Figures 1-56) teaches a sports implement comprising: a main body portion having a forehand side (Fig. 1, Part No. 44) (Para. 0080) constructed form a first material (Para. 0085), a backhand side (46) constructed from a second material (Para. 0085), and a sidewall (48) (Para. 0080) positioned about a perimeter of each of the forehand and backhand sides; a handle portion (Fig. 1, Part No. 30; Para. 0077) (Fig. 2, Part No. 130; Para. 0088-0089) extending from the main body portion, the handle portion defining a handle central axis extending therethrough; and a grip member (Fig. 23A, Part No. 34; Para. 0078) (Fig. 2, part No. 134) (Para. 0105) including a grip body portion and a grip end portion forming a grip end plane, the grip body portion being operably coupled with the handle portion.
The modified Thurman does not teach the grip end plane forms an obtuse angle with the handle central axis .
Phelan (Figures 1-7) teaches the grip end plane forms an obtuse angle with the handle central axis (Fig. 5, Part No. 5.5) (Para. 0087, 0093) (See fig. 3 and 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Thurman with the grip end plane forms an obtuse angle with the handle central axis as taught by Phelan as a means of providing a handle of a ball striking sports implement with a grip that provides a gripping and supporting surfaces for the little finger and the hypothenar of the athlete's gripping hand (Phelan: Para. 0087).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Thurman (Figures 1-56) teaches the forehand side of the main body portion is constructed from a carbon fiber material (Para. 0085), and the backhand side of the main body portion is constructed from a fiberglass material (Para. 0085).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Thurman (Figures 1-56) teaches the forehand side of the main body portion has a first contact elasticity value and the backhand side of the main body portion has a second contact elasticity value (Para. 0084-0085).
The modified Thurman does not teach a ratio of the first contact elasticity value to the second contact elasticity value is between approximately 1:5 and approximately 1:1.5.
It is noted that the prior art of Thurman teaches faceplates having different stiffness characteristics (i.e. Young’s Modulus), and the faceplates are made from different materials (Thurman: Para. 0084-0085). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Thurman with a ratio of the first contact elasticity value to the second contact elasticity value is between approximately 1:5 and approximately 1:1.5 as a means of finding optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Regarding claim 20, Thurman (Figures 1-56) teaches a sports implement comprising: a main body portion having a first contact surface (Fig. 1, Part No. 44) (Para. 0080) constructed form a first contact material (Para. 0085), a second contact surface (46) constructed from a second contact material (Para. 0085), a first core (Fig. 17, Part No. 1370) (Para. 0120-0121) constructed from a first core material and being positioned adjacent to the first contact surface, a second core (Fig. 17, Part No. 1370-2) (Para. 0121) constructed from a second core material and being positioned adjacent to the second contact surface, and a sidewall (48) (Para. 0080) positioned about a perimeter of each of the first and the second contact surfaces and the first and the second cores (See fig. 17); a plane extending through the sidewall, the plane separating the first core from the second core (See fig. 17); a handle portion (Fig. 1, Part No. 30; Para. 0077) (Fig. 2, Part No. 130; Para. 0088-0089) extending from a lower end of the main body portion, the handle portion defining a handle central axis extending therethrough; and a grip member (Fig. 23A, Part No. 34; Para. 0078) (Fig. 2, part No. 134) (Para. 0105) including a grip body portion being operably coupled with the handle portion, a grip end portion forming a grip end plane, and a transition region between the grip body portion and the grip end portion.
The modified Thurman does not teach the transition region having a first side defining a dorsal cantle region and a second side defining a ventral cantle region; wherein the grip end plane forms an obtuse angle with the handle central axis, wherein at least one of the dorsal cantle region and the ventral cantle region bisects or divides the plane.
Phelan (Figures 1-7) teaches the transition region having a first side defining a dorsal cantle region (Fig. 5, Part No. 5.2) (Para. 0087) and a second side defining a ventral cantle region (5.1) (Para. 0087); wherein the grip end plane forms an obtuse angle with the handle central axis, wherein at least one of the dorsal cantle region and the ventral cantle region bisects or divides the plane (See fig. 3 and 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Thurman with the transition region having a first side defining a dorsal cantle region as taught by Phelan as a means of providing a handle of a ball striking sports implement with a grip that provides a gripping and supporting surfaces for the little finger and the hypothenar of the athlete's gripping hand (Phelan: Para. 0087).
Regarding claim 21, the modified Thurman (Figures 1-56) teaches the first contact material comprises a carbon fiber material (Para. 0085), wherein the second contact material comprises a fiberglass material (Para. 0085).
Regarding claim 23, the modified Thurman (Figures 1-56) teaches a first contact surface (Fig. 1, Part No. 44) (Para. 0080) constructed form a first contact material (Para. 0085), a second contact surface (46) constructed from a second contact material (Para. 0084-0085).
The modified Thurman does not teach the first contact material has a Young's Modulus of approximately 183 GPa, wherein the second contact material has a Young's Modulus of approximately 75 GPa.
It is noted that the prior art of Thurman teaches faceplates having different stiffness characteristics (i.e. Young’s Modulus), and the faceplates are made from different materials (Thurman: Para. 0084-0085). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Thurman with the first contact material has a Young's Modulus of approximately 183 GPaas a means of finding optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Regarding claim 25, the modified Thurman (Figures 1-56) teaches the first contact material has a first contact elasticity value and the second contact material has a second contact elasticity value (Para. 0084-0085).
The modified Thurman does not teach a ratio of the first contact elasticity value to the second contact elasticity value is between approximately 1:5 and approximately 1:1.5.
It is noted that the prior art of Thurman teaches faceplates having different stiffness characteristics (i.e. Young’s Modulus), and the faceplates are made from different materials (Thurman: Para. 0084-0085). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Thurman with a ratio of the first contact elasticity value to the second contact elasticity value is between approximately 1:5 and approximately 1:1.5 as a means of finding optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Regarding claim 26, the modified Thurman (Figures 1-56) teaches a handle portion (Fig. 1, Part No. 30; Para. 0077) (Fig. 2, Part No. 130; Para. 0088-0089) extending from a lower end of the main body portion; and a grip member (Fig. 23A, Part No. 34; Para. 0078) (Fig. 2, part No. 134) (Para. 0105) including a grip body portion being operably coupled with the handle portion.
The modified Thurman does not teach the dorsal cantle region has a dorsal cantle radius of curvature and the ventral cantle region has a ventral cantle radius of curvature, wherein the ventral cantle radius of curvature is greater than the dorsal cantle radius of curvature.
Phelan (Figures 1-7) teaches the dorsal cantle region (Fig. 5, Part No. 5.2) (Para. 0087) has a dorsal cantle radius of curvature and the ventral cantle region (5.1) (Para. 0087) has a ventral cantle radius of curvature, wherein the ventral cantle radius of curvature is greater than the dorsal cantle radius of curvature (Para. 0087, 0093) (See fig. 3 and 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Thurman with the ventral cantle radius of curvature is greater than the dorsal cantle radius of curvature as taught by Phelan as a means of providing a handle of a ball striking sports implement with a grip that provides a gripping and supporting surfaces for the little finger and the hypothenar of the athlete's gripping hand (Phelan: Para. 0087).
Regarding claim 27, the modified Thurman (Figures 1-56) teaches the grip body portion (Fig. 23A, Part No. 34; Para. 0078) (Fig. 2, Part No. 134) (Para. 0105) has an elongated length having a substantially constant cross-sectional shape.
Regarding claim 30, Thurman (Figures 1-56) teaches a sports implement comprising: a main body portion having a first contact surface (Fig. 1, Part No. 44) (Para. 0080) constructed from a first contact material (Para. 0085), a second contact surface (46) constructed from a second contact material (Para. 0085), and a sidewall (48) (Para. 0080) positioned about a perimeter of each of the first and the second contact surfaces; a handle portion (Fig. 1, Part No. 30; Para. 0077) (Fig. 2, Part No. 130; Para. 0088-0089) extending from the main body portion, the handle portion defining a handle central axis extending therethrough; and a grip member (Fig. 23A, Part No. 34; Para. 0078) (Fig. 2, part No. 134) (Para. 0105) including a grip body portion and a grip end portion, the grip body portion being operably coupled with the handle portion, the grip end portion defining a first apex positioned on a first side and a second apex positioned on a second side, the first and second apexes forming a grip end plane.
The modified Thurman does not teach the grip end plane forms an obtuse angle with the handle central axis.
Phelan (Figures 1-7) teaches the grip end plane forms an obtuse angle with the handle central axis (See fig. 3 and 5) (Para. 0087).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Thurman with t the grip end plane forms an obtuse angle with the handle central axis as taught by Phelan as a means of providing a handle of a ball striking sports implement with a grip that provides a gripping and supporting surfaces for the little finger and the hypothenar of the athlete's gripping hand (Phelan: Para. 0087).
Regarding claim 31, the modified Thurman (Figures 1-56) teaches a grip member (Fig. 23A, Part No. 34; Para. 0078) (Fig. 2, part No. 134) (Para. 0105) including a grip body portion and a grip end portion, the grip end portion defining a first apex positioned on a first side and a second apex positioned on a second side, the first and second apexes forming a grip end plane.
The modified Thurman does not teach the angle formed between the grip end plane and the handle central axis is between approximately 150 and approximately 55°.
Phelan (Figures 1-7) teaches the angle formed between the grip end plane and the handle central axis is between approximately 150 and approximately 55° (Para. 0089, 0087, 0032-0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Thurman with the angle formed between the grip end plane and the handle central axis is between approximately 150 and approximately 55°as taught by Phelan as a means of providing a handle of a ball striking sports implement with a grip that provides a gripping and supporting surfaces for the little finger and the hypothenar of the athlete's gripping hand (Phelan: Para. 0089, 0087).
Regarding claim 32, the modified Thurman (Figures 1-56) teaches a first core (Fig. 17, Part No. 1370) (Para. 0120-0121) constructed from a first core material and being positioned adjacent to the first contact surface; and a second core (Fig. 17, Part No. 1370-2) (Para. 0121) constructed from a second core material and being positioned adjacent to the second contact surface.
Regarding claim 35, the modified Thurman (Figures 1-56) teaches a first contact surface (Fig. 1, Part No. 44) (Para. 0080) constructed from a first contact material (Para. 0085), a second contact surface (46) constructed from a second contact material (Para. 0085).
The modified Thurman does not teach the first contact material has a Young's Modulus of approximately 183 GPa, wherein the second contact material has a Young's Modulus of approximately 75 GPa.
It is noted that the prior art of Thurman teaches faceplates having different stiffness characteristics (i.e. Young’s Modulus), and the faceplates are made from different materials (Thurman: Para. 0084-0085). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Thurman with the first contact material has a Young's Modulus of approximately 183 GPa as a means of finding optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Regarding claim 37, the modified Thurman (Figures 1-56) teaches the first contact material has a first contact elasticity value and the second contact material has a second contact elasticity value (Para. 0084-0085).
The modified Thurman does not teach a ratio of the first contact elasticity value to the second contact elasticity value is between approximately 1:5 and approximately 1:1.5.
It is noted that the prior art of Thurman teaches faceplates having different stiffness characteristics (i.e. Young’s Modulus), and the faceplates are made from different materials (Thurman: Para. 0085). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Thurman with a ratio of the first contact elasticity value to the second contact elasticity value is between approximately 1:5 and approximately 1:1.5 as a means of finding optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thurman in view of Phelan, further in view of Cho (6305051).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Thurman (Figures 1-56) teaches a grip member (Fig. 23A, Part No. 34; Para. 0078) (Fig. 2, part No. 134) (Para. 0105) including a grip body portion and a grip end portion forming a grip end plane.
The modified Thurman does not teach the grip body portion includes at least one finger positioning member extending therealong.
Cho (Figure 9) teaches the grip body portion includes at least one finger positioning member (Fig. 9, part No. 88, 89) (Col. 5, Lines 52-56; Col. 6, Lines 8-13) extending therealong.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Thurman with the grip body portion includes at least one finger positioning member as taught by Cho as a means of providing a grip for a sports implement with ridges sized to receive fingers of a user along the body of the grip (Cho: Col. 5, Lines 52-56; Col. 6, Lines 8-13).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Thurman (Figures 1-56) teaches a grip member (Fig. 23A, Part No. 34; Para. 0078) (Fig. 2, part No. 134) (Para. 0105).
The modified Thurman does not teach the grip body portion includes at least one finger positioning member extending therealong.
Cho (Figure 9) teaches the grip body portion includes at least one finger positioning member (Fig. 9, part No. 88, 89) (Col. 5, Lines 52-56; Col. 6, Lines 8-13) extending therealong.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Thurman with the grip body portion includes at least one finger positioning member as taught by Cho as a means of providing a grip for a sports implement with ridges sized to receive fingers of a user along the body of the grip (Cho: Col. 5, Lines 52-56; Col. 6, Lines 8-13).
Conclusion
/C.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3711
/JOSEPH B BALDORI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711