Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 9, 11, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bowers (US 20020154287 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bowers teaches
A system for Frequency Angular Resolving (FAR) light detection and ranging (LIDAR), the system comprising: (the measuring device 200 is not limited to small size applications, and may be used in large automotive parts, industrial machinery, building inspection, Amplitude Modulated Light Detection and Ranging (AM LIDAR), distance measurement, modulated optical distance measurement, and survey instruments. (paragraph 0028))
a transmitter comprising: (a device comprising: a light source capable of transmitting an outgoing light beam toward a target; (paragraph 0004)
a source of electromagnetic radiation; (A light source (e.g., laser diode, LED, incandescent light) 212 either coherent (i.e., light waves all in phase with one another) (paragraph 0018))
a driver circuit configured to generate a drive signal at an oscillation frequency; (The AO deflector 222 may be actuated by the voltage controlled or digitally controlled radio frequency (RF) signal generator 226 (e.g., oscillator) coupled to the AO deflector 222. The RF signal generator 226 may operate in the range of approximately 1 MHz to approximately 10 GHz (paragraph 0019))
an acousto-optical beam steering device optically coupled with the source of electromagnetic radiation and the driver circuit and configured to emit electromagnetic radiation at an emission angle as a function of the oscillation frequency; (a periodic signal (e.g., sine wave, pulsed format) from signal generator 210 is modulated with the light beam from the light source 212 in the modulator 214. The periodic signal may be approximately 2 GHz or greater. The modulated light beam may then be transmitted through a fiber optic cable 215 to a remote head assembly 216. (paragraph 0018)The remote head assembly 216 includes beam shaping optics 218, an acousto-optical (AO) deflector 222, beam shaping optics 220 and a receiving lens 224. Radio frequency (RF) signal generator 226 may optionally be mounted inside or outside the remote head assembly. The first set of beam shaping optics 218 focus the light signal from the fiber optic cable 215 onto the AO deflector 222. The AO deflector 222 may contain a crystal and a piezoelectric transducer. The AO deflector 222 may be actuated by the voltage controlled or digitally controlled radio frequency (RF) signal generator 226 (e.g., oscillator) coupled to the AO deflector 222. This diffraction by the AO deflector 222 controls the light and causes the light to shift to a predetermined angle proportional to the driving frequency produced by the RF signal generator 226. The controller 233 may be used to control the RF signal generator 226 (paragraph 0019))
and a receiver comprising: (The reflected or diffused light 228 from the object 202 is captured by a receiving lens 224 (which also may be a fiber) and transmitted through a fiber optic cable 229 to a detector 230. (paragraph 0020))
a radiation sensor optically coupled with the source of electromagnetic radiation. (The diffracted light is transmitted to the second beam shaping optics 220 and a light beam 227 is created which forms a light spot 227a on the target 202 (paragraph 0019))
Regarding claim 2, Bowers teaches
The system of Claim 1, wherein the transmitter further comprises an electro-optic modulator optically coupled to the source of electromagnetic radiation, the electro- optic modulator configured to modulate a frequency of light emitted to the acousto-optical beam steering device. (A light source (e.g., laser diode, LED, incandescent light) 212 either coherent (i.e., light waves all in phase with one another) or incoherent may be modulated in external modulator 214 by a signal generator (or frequency source) 210 (e.g., oscillator). In an alternative embodiment, the light output from light source 212 may be directly modulated without the use of an external modulator 214. Modulator 214 may be, for example, from the group consisting of an acousto-optical (AO) modulator, electro-optical (EO) modulator, Mach-Zender modulator, peizoelectric switch, and a liquid crystal light valve. In operation, a periodic signal (e.g., sine wave, pulsed format) from signal generator 210 is modulated with the light beam from the light source 212 in the modulator 214. The periodic signal may be approximately 2 GHz or greater. The modulated light beam may then be transmitted through a fiber optic cable 215 to a remote head assembly 216. (paragraph 0018) The remote head assembly 216 includes beam shaping optics 218, an acousto-optical (AO) deflector 222 (paragraph 0019))
Regarding claim 5, Bowers teaches
The system of claim 1, wherein the acousto-optical beam steering device comprises an acousto-optic deflector. (an acousto-optical (AO) deflector 222 (paragraph 0019))
Regarding claim 7, Bowers teaches
The system of claim 1, wherein the oscillation frequency is in a range from 0.1 GHz to 10 GHz. (The RF signal generator 226 may operate in the range of approximately 1 MHz to approximately 10 GHz (paragraph 0019))
Regarding claim 9, Bowers teaches
The system of claim 1, wherein the radiation sensor comprises a photodetector. (The reflected or diffused light 228 from the object 202 is captured by a receiving lens 224 (which also may be a fiber) and transmitted through a fiber optic cable 229 to a detector 230. (paragraph 0020))
Regarding claim 11, Bowers teaches
The system of claim 1, wherein: the drive signal is a first drive signal; (The AO deflector 222 may be actuated by the voltage controlled or digitally controlled radio frequency (RF) signal generator 226 (e.g., oscillator) coupled to the AO deflector 222. The RF signal generator 226 may operate in the range of approximately 1 MHz to approximately 10 GHz (paragraph 0019))
the oscillation frequency is a first oscillation frequency; (The AO deflector 222 may be actuated by the voltage controlled or digitally controlled radio frequency (RF) signal generator 226 (e.g., oscillator) coupled to the AO deflector 222. The RF signal generator 226 may operate in the range of approximately 1 MHz to approximately 10 GHz (paragraph 0019))
the emission angle is a first emission angle; (diffraction by the AO deflector 222 controls the light and causes the light to shift to a predetermined angle proportional to the driving frequency produced by the RF signal generator 226. (paragraph 0019))
the driver circuit is further configured to generate a second drive signal at a second oscillation frequency; (Since the device 200 is modular in format it is possible to combine a plurality of devices 200 into one modular system 300 that may scan many positions of the target 202 (paragraph 0027) The AO deflector 222 may be actuated by the voltage controlled or digitally controlled radio frequency (RF) signal generator 226 (e.g., oscillator) coupled to the AO deflector 222. The RF signal generator 226 may operate in the range of approximately 1 MHz to approximately 10 GHz (paragraph 0027))
and the acousto-optical beam steering device is further configured to emit electromagnetic radiation at a second emission angle as a function of the second oscillation frequency, the second emission angle different from the first emission angle. (light spot 227a from the light beam 227 may be used to conduct both substantially transverse measurement and substantially vertical measurement. The substantially transverse measurement direction may be defined as that direction that is approximately perpendicular to the optical propagation direction of light beam 227. The substantially vertical measurement direction may be defined as that direction that is approximately parallel to the optical propagation direction of the light beam 227. (paragraph 0024))
Regarding claim 16, Bowers teaches
The system of claim 1, wherein the transmitter comprises: a plurality of driver circuits including the driver circuit, wherein driver circuits of the plurality of driver circuits are configured to generate a drive signal at an oscillation frequency; (The AO deflector 222 may be actuated by the voltage controlled or digitally controlled radio frequency (RF) signal generator 226 (e.g., oscillator) coupled to the AO deflector 222. The RF signal generator 226 may operate in the range of approximately 1 MHz to approximately 10 GHz (paragraph 0019))
and a plurality of acousto-optical beam steering devices including the acousto-optical beam steering, (The AO deflector 222 may be actuated by the voltage controlled or digitally controlled radio frequency (RF) signal generator 226 (e.g., oscillator) coupled to the AO deflector 222. (paragraph 0019))
wherein acousto-optical beam steering devices of the plurality of acousto-optical beam steering devices are optically coupled with the source of electromagnetic radiation and the driver circuit (a periodic signal (e.g., sine wave, pulsed format) from signal generator 210 is modulated with the light beam from the light source 212 in the modulator 214. The modulated light beam may then be transmitted through a fiber optic cable 215 to a remote head assembly 216. (paragraph 0018) The remote head assembly 216 includes beam shaping optics 218, an acousto-optical (AO) deflector 222, The AO deflector 222 may be actuated by the voltage controlled or digitally controlled radio frequency (RF) signal generator 226 (e.g., oscillator) coupled to the AO deflector 222. (paragraph 0019))
and configured to emit electromagnetic radiation at an emission angle as a function of the oscillation frequency, (This diffraction by the AO deflector 222 controls the light and causes the light to shift to a predetermined angle proportional to the driving frequency produced by the RF signal generator 226. (paragraph 0019))
and wherein a first acousto-optical beam steering device of the plurality of acousto-optical beam steering devices is positioned to emit electromagnetic radiation from a first portion of the transmitter and a second acousto-optical beam steering device of the plurality of acousto-optical beam steering devices is configured to emit electromagnetic radiation from a second portion of the transmitter. (Each of the modulation frequencies of the devices 200 may be different to avoid crosstalk between the devices 200 and allow for simultaneous operation. (paragraph 0027) The modulated light beam may then be transmitted through a fiber optic cable 215 to a remote head assembly 216. (paragraph 0018) The diffracted light is transmitted to the second beam shaping optics 220 and a light beam 227 is created which forms a light spot 227a on the target 202 and follows a predetermined pattern as it scans the target 202. (paragraph 0019))
Regarding claim 17, Bowers teaches
A module comprising: a first system according to claim 1,wherein the first system has a first major axis directed in a first orientation; (Since the device 200 is modular in format it is possible to combine a plurality of devices 200 into one modular system 300 that may scan many positions of the target 202 mounted in a target chamber 330 as shown in FIG. 3.Each of the mounting sections 302a, 302b may have a substantially arcuate shape as shown by FIG. 3. (paragraph 0027) The device 200 may be configured to scan in at least two directions which are substantially perpendicular allowing for an area scan without moving the object 202. The substantially transverse measurement direction may be defined as that direction that is approximately perpendicular to the optical propagation direction of light beam 227. The substantially vertical measurement direction may be defined as that direction that is approximately parallel to the optical propagation direction of the light beam 227. (paragraph 0024))
and a second system according to claim 1,wherein the second system has a second major axis directed in a second orientation, wherein the second orientation is different than the first orientation. (Since the device 200 is modular in format it is possible to combine a plurality of devices 200 into one modular system 300 that may scan many positions of the target 202 mounted in a target chamber 330 as shown in FIG. 3.Each of the mounting sections 302a, 302b may have a substantially arcuate shape as shown by FIG. 3. (paragraph 0027) The device 200 may be configured to scan in at least two directions which are substantially perpendicular allowing for an area scan without moving the object 202. The substantially transverse measurement direction may be defined as that direction that is approximately perpendicular to the optical propagation direction of light beam 227. The substantially vertical measurement direction may be defined as that direction that is approximately parallel to the optical propagation direction of the light beam 227. (paragraph 0024) Each of the mounting sections 302a, 302b may have a substantially arcuate shape as shown by FIG. 3. (paragraph 0027))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowers (US 20020154287 A1) in view of Safavi-Naeini et al.(US 20210341814 A1).
Regarding claim 6 Bowers teaches all of the elements of claim 5 as previously stated, however Bowers fails to teach wherein the acousto-optic deflector is configured to confine an acoustic wave generated by the driver circuit and an optical wave generated by the source of electromagnetic radiation in a planar waveguide structure of the acousto-optic deflector.
In the same field of endeavor, Safavi-Naeini teaches wherein the acousto-optic deflector is configured to confine an acoustic wave generated by the driver circuit and an optical wave generated by the source of electromagnetic radiation in a planar waveguide structure of the acousto-optic deflector. (Acoustic source 106 is a generator that is operative for generating acoustic energy 114 that couples into each antenna (i.e., high-confinement waveguide) of acousto-optic antenna array 102 in the form of a mechanical wave (paragraph 0038) an optical beam steering system comprising: a substrate; a plurality of surface waveguides disposed on the substrate, each surface waveguide conveying a light signal, and each surface waveguide being a high-confinement waveguide; an acoustic transducer that is operatively coupled with the plurality of surface waveguides (paragraph 0021) Acousto-optic antenna array 102 includes a linear array of surface waveguides 304.(paragraph 0053))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Safavi-Naeini into the invention of Bowers. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose acousto-optical devices. The combination of Bowers and Safavi-Naeini would improve reliability.
Regarding claim 15 Bowers teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however Bowers fails to teach wherein the emission angle is in a range from -90 degrees to +90 degrees relative to a normal vector of an emission surface of the acousto- optical beam steering device.
In the same field of endeavor, Safavi-Naeini teaches wherein the emission angle is in a range from -90 degrees to +90 degrees relative to a normal vector of an emission surface of the acousto- optical beam steering device. (Therefore, by controlling the phase relationship between mechanical wave 206 and guided optical wave 202, the magnitude of coupling angle θ can be controlled. (paragraph 0046))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Safavi-Naeini into the invention of Bowers. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose acousto-optical devices. The combination of Bowers and Safavi-Naeini would improve reliability of beam deflection.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowers (US 20020154287 A1) in view of Retterath et al.(US 20190079165 A1).
Regarding claim 8 Bowers teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however Bowers fails to teach wherein the radiation sensor is configured to sample incident radiation at a sampling frequency of 1 kHz or greater.
In the same field of endeavor, Retterath teaches wherein the radiation sensor is configured to sample incident radiation at a sampling frequency of 1 kHz or greater. (FIG. 16 shows a timing diagram for an embodiment with dual-frequency emitters and the detection of a single object. (paragraph 0163) Referring again to FIG. 16, as a practical example the system utilizes a sampling frequency of 500 MHz, a detector sampling clock 236 period of 2 nSec (paragraph 0170))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Retterath into the invention of Bowers. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose LIDAR distance measurement devices. The combination of Bowers and Retterath would improve resolution of the sensor.
Claims 3, 4, 10, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowers (US 20020154287 A1) in view of Maleki (US 20200209358 A1).
Regarding claim 3 Bowers teaches all of the elements of claim 2 as previously stated however Bowers fails to teach wherein the receiver further comprises a local oscillator positioned to receive incident electromagnetic radiation reflected off an object outside the system and electromagnetic radiation from the source of electromagnetic radiation, wherein the radiation sensor is configured to receive from the local oscillator the incident electromagnetic radiation reflected off the object outside the system and the electromagnetic radiation from the source of electromagnetic radiation.
In the same field of endeavor, Maleki teaches wherein the receiver further comprises a local oscillator positioned to receive incident electromagnetic radiation reflected off an object outside the system and electromagnetic radiation from the source of electromagnetic radiation, wherein the radiation sensor is configured to receive from the local oscillator the incident electromagnetic radiation reflected off the object outside the system and the electromagnetic radiation from the source of electromagnetic radiation. (a beam splitter 112 configured to split the frequency modulated optical signal(s) generated by the first laser 102 and/or the second laser 104 into a portion of the frequency modulated optical signal(s) to be transmitted into an environment from the lidar system 100 and a local oscillator portion of the frequency modulated optical signal(s). (paragraph 0038) The sensor 118 can be configured to mix the reflected optical signal received by the front end optics 114 with the local oscillator portion of the frequency modulated optical signal(s). (paragraph 0043))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Maleki into the invention of Bowers. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose LIDAR distance measurement devices. The combination of Bowers and Maleki would improve sensitivity.
Regarding claim 4 Bowers additionally teaches further comprising a controller operatively coupled to the receiver and the transmitter, wherein the controller includes logic that, when executed, causes the system to perform operations including: modulating with the electro-optic modulator the frequency of light emitted to the acousto- optical beam steering device; (A light source (e.g., laser diode, LED, incandescent light) 212 either coherent (i.e., light waves all in phase with one another) or incoherent may be modulated in external modulator 214 by a signal generator (or frequency source) 210 (e.g., oscillator). In an alternative embodiment, the light output from light source 212 may be directly modulated without the use of an external modulator 214. Modulator 214 may be, for example, from the group consisting of an acousto-optical (AO) modulator, electro-optical (EO) modulator, Mach-Zender modulator, peizoelectric switch, and a liquid crystal light valve. In operation, a periodic signal (e.g., sine wave, pulsed format) from signal generator 210 is modulated with the light beam from the light source 212 in the modulator 214. The periodic signal may be approximately 2 GHz or greater. The modulated light beam may then be transmitted through a fiber optic cable 215 to a remote head assembly 216. (paragraph 0018) The remote head assembly 216 includes beam shaping optics 218, an acousto-optical (AO) deflector 222 (paragraph 0019)). Bowers does not teach beating with the local oscillator the incident electromagnetic radiation reflected off the object outside the system and the electromagnetic radiation from the source of electromagnetic radiation; measuring a frequency of the beating with the radiation sensor; and determining a distance between the system and the object outside the system based on the frequency of the beating.
In the same field of endeavor, Maleki teaches beating with the local oscillator the incident electromagnetic radiation reflected off the object outside the system and the electromagnetic radiation from the source of electromagnetic radiation; (a beat frequency can be generated due to mixing of each reflected optical signal field with its corresponding local oscillator signal. (paragraph 0059)) measuring a frequency of the beating with the radiation sensor; (For instance, signal due to λ.sub.1, reflected from the object 116 at distance R, can mix with the corresponding local oscillator portion to produce a beat that will appear as a peak at frequency f on the Fourier spectrum. (paragraph 0070)) and determining a distance between the system and the object outside the system based on the frequency of the beating. (For instance, signal due to λ.sub.1, reflected from the object 116 at distance R, can mix with the corresponding local oscillator portion to produce a beat that will appear as a peak at frequency f on the Fourier spectrum. (paragraph 0070) Moreover, the sensor 118 can mix the reflected optical signal with the local oscillator portion of the combined frequency modulated optical signal. The processing circuitry 120 can further compute the distance and velocity data 122 based on the reflected optical signal mixed with the local oscillator portion of the combined frequency modulated optical signal (e.g., the distance between the lidar system 100 and the object 116 and/or the velocity of the object 116 relative to the lidar system 100). (paragraph 0056))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Maleki into the invention of Bowers. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose LIDAR distance measurement devices. The combination of Bowers and Maleki would improve sensitivity.
Regarding claim 10 Bowers teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however Bowers fails to teach wherein the electromagnetic radiation is first electromagnetic radiation, and wherein the radiation sensor is configured to combine the first electromagnetic radiation coupled in from the source of electromagnetic radiation with second electromagnetic radiation as the reflection of the first electromagnetic radiation from an environment of the system.
In the same field of endeavor, Maleki teaches wherein the electromagnetic radiation is first electromagnetic radiation, and wherein the radiation sensor is configured to combine the first electromagnetic radiation coupled in from the source of electromagnetic radiation with second electromagnetic radiation as the reflection of the first electromagnetic radiation from an environment of the system. (a beam splitter 112 configured to split the frequency modulated optical signal(s) generated by the first laser 102 and/or the second laser 104 into a portion of the frequency modulated optical signal(s) to be transmitted into an environment from the lidar system 100 and a local oscillator portion of the frequency modulated optical signal(s). (paragraph 0038) The sensor 118 can be configured to mix the reflected optical signal received by the front end optics 114 with the local oscillator portion of the frequency modulated optical signal(s). (paragraph 0043))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Maleki into the invention of Bowers. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose LIDAR distance measurement devices. The combination of Bowers and Maleki would improve sensitivity.
Regarding claim 13 Bowers teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however Bowers fails to teach wherein the electromagnetic radiation comprises photons having an energy outside an energy range that is visible to humans.
In the same field of endeavor, Maleki teaches wherein the electromagnetic radiation comprises photons having an energy outside an energy range that is visible to humans. (The lidar system 100 (e.g., the controller 110) can switch between the lasers 102-104 depending on characteristics of the wavelengths such as eye safety, range, and performance in various environmental conditions. Pursuant to an illustration, the first wavelength can be one of 905 nm, 1550 nm, or 3 μm (paragraph 0044))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Maleki into the invention of Bowers. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose LIDAR distance measurement devices. The combination of Bowers and Maleki would improve sensitivity.
Regarding claim 14 Bowers teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however Bowers fails to teach wherein the electromagnetic radiation comprises photons having an energy in an energy range that is visible to humans.
In the same field of endeavor, Maleki teaches wherein the electromagnetic radiation comprises photons having an energy in an energy range that is visible to humans. (The lidar system 100 (e.g., the controller 110) can switch between the lasers 102-104 depending on characteristics of the wavelengths such as eye safety, range, and performance in various environmental conditions. Pursuant to an illustration, the first wavelength can be one of 905 nm, 1550 nm, or 3 μm (paragraph 0044))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Maleki into the invention of Bowers based on routine experimentation. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose LIDAR distance measurement devices. The combination of Bowers and Maleki would improve sensitivity.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowers (US 20020154287 A1) in view of Zhang et al.(US 20150338718 A1).
Regarding claim 12 Bowers teaches all of the elements of claim 11 as previously stated, however Bowers fails to teach wherein the acousto-optical beam steering device is further configured to emit electromagnetic radiation at the first emission angle and at the second emission angle concurrently.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the acousto-optical beam steering device is further configured to emit electromagnetic radiation at the first emission angle and at the second emission angle concurrently. (As described herein a single acousto-optic deflector (AOD) may be used to provide beam steering in two directions simultaneously. (paragraph 0020))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Zhang into the invention of Bowers. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose acousto-optical devices. The combination of Bowers and Zhang would improve beam deflection efficiency and steering accuracy.
Claims 18 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowers (US 20020154287 A1) in view of O'Meara (US 4906092 A).
Regarding claim 18, Bowers teaches [Note: what Bowers fails to clearly disclose is strike-through]
A method of Frequency Angular Resolving (FAR), the method comprising: (the measuring device 200 is not limited to small size applications, and may be used in large automotive parts, industrial machinery, building inspection, Amplitude Modulated Light Detection and Ranging (AM LIDAR), distance measurement, modulated optical distance measurement, and survey instruments. (paragraph 0028)) generating electromagnetic radiation using a source of electromagnetic radiation; (A light source (e.g., laser diode, LED, incandescent light) 212 either coherent (i.e., light waves all in phase with one another) or incoherent may be modulated in external modulator 214 by a signal generator (or frequency source) 210 (e.g., oscillator). a periodic signal (e.g., sine wave, pulsed format) from signal generator 210 is modulated with the light beam from the light source 212 in the modulator 214. (paragraph 0018)) generating a drive signal using driver circuitry, the drive signal comprising an alternating current electrical signal at an oscillation frequency; (The AO deflector 222 may be actuated by the voltage controlled or digitally controlled radio frequency (RF) signal generator 226 (e.g., oscillator) coupled to the AO deflector 222. The RF signal generator 226 may operate in the range of approximately 1 MHz to approximately 10 GHz (paragraph 0019)) actuating an acousto-optic deflector at the oscillation frequency using the drive signal, the acousto-optic deflector being optically coupled with the source of electromagnetic radiation; (The remote head assembly 216 includes beam shaping optics 218, an acousto-optical (AO) deflector 222. The AO deflector 222 may be actuated by the voltage controlled or digitally controlled radio frequency (RF) signal generator 226 (e.g., oscillator) coupled to the AO deflector 222. The RF signal generator 226 may operate in the range of approximately 1 MHz to approximately 10 GHz (paragraph 0019) a periodic signal (e.g., sine wave, pulsed format) from signal generator 210 is modulated with the light beam from the light source 212 in the modulator 214. The periodic signal may be approximately 2 GHz or greater. The modulated light beam may then be transmitted through a fiber optic cable 215 to a remote head assembly 216. (paragraph 0018)) irradiating the acousto-optic deflector with a first portion of the electromagnetic radiation, thereby generating a steered beam at an emission angle, the emission angle being a function of the oscillation frequency; (The first set of beam shaping optics 218 focus the light signal from the fiber optic cable 215 onto the AO deflector 222. This diffraction by the AO deflector 222 controls the light and causes the light to shift to a predetermined angle proportional to the driving frequency produced by the RF signal generator 226. (paragraph 0019)) receiving reflected electromagnetic radiation at a radiation sensor optically coupled with the source of electromagnetic radiation, the reflected electromagnetic radiation originating from an interaction of a surface in an environment of the radiation sensor with the steered beam; (The diffracted light is transmitted to the second beam shaping optics 220 and a light beam 227 is created which forms a light spot 227a on the target 202 and follows a predetermined pattern as it scans the target 202. (paragraph 0019) The reflected or diffused light 228 from the object 202 is captured by a receiving lens 224 (which also may be a fiber) and transmitted through a fiber optic cable 229 to a detector 230. (paragraph 0020))
O’Meara teaches,
generating an interference signal using the reflected electromagnetic radiation and a second portion of the electromagnetic radiation; (In the particular embodiment of FIG. 3a the reflections are received by the system 100 in the order R0, R1, R2 and R3 (col. 5 ln. 62-65) The modulator 120 is driven by an acoustical generator 130 at a frequency f.sub.o and thus shifts the frequency of the reflection R0 by f.sub.o to create a reference reflection R0'. the reference reflection R0' is divided into the three portions R0", R0"' and R0"" (col. 6 ln. 8-15) The portions of the reference reflection R0"", R0"' and R0" respectively combine with the reflections R1, R2 and R3 to form first, second and third interference patterns (col. 6 ln. 29-32)) and determining one or more characteristics of the surface using the interference signal. (These envelopes contain Doppler shift information pertaining to the relative motion (if any) of the target with respect to the range bins associated with the reflections R1, R2 and R3. (col. 6 ln. 42-45))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in O’Meara into the invention of Bowers. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose LIDAR distance measurement devices. The combination of Bowers and O’Meara would improve sensitivity.
Regarding claim 26, Bowers teaches [Note: what Bowers fails to clearly disclose is strike-through]
A non-transitory machine-readable memory storing instructions that, when executed by a machine, cause the machine to perform operations comprising: (Controller 233 may be a microprocessor or circuitry configured to control the frequency setting of the signal generator 210, receive readings from the phase detector 232 and perform calculations to determine the one-way distance D. Controller 233 may also be connected to a workstation 234 to display the distance measurements. In alternative embodiments, the controller 233 may be removed and the workstation 234 may be used to control the device 200. (paragraph 0021)) generating electromagnetic radiation using a source of electromagnetic radiation; (A light source (e.g., laser diode, LED, incandescent light) 212 either coherent (i.e., light waves all in phase with one another) or incoherent may be modulated in external modulator 214 by a signal generator (or frequency source) 210 (e.g., oscillator). a periodic signal (e.g., sine wave, pulsed format) from signal generator 210 is modulated with the light beam from the light source 212 in the modulator 214. (paragraph 0018)) generating a drive signal using driver circuitry, the drive signal comprising an alternating current electrical signal at an oscillation frequency; (The AO deflector 222 may be actuated by the voltage controlled or digitally controlled radio frequency (RF) signal generator 226 (e.g., oscillator) coupled to the AO deflector 222. The RF signal generator 226 may operate in the range of approximately 1 MHz to approximately 10 GHz (paragraph 0019)) actuating an acousto-optic deflector at the oscillation frequency using the drive signal, the acousto-optic deflector being optically coupled with the source of electromagnetic radiation; (The remote head assembly 216 includes beam shaping optics 218, an acousto-optical (AO) deflector 222. The AO deflector 222 may be actuated by the voltage controlled or digitally controlled radio frequency (RF) signal generator 226 (e.g., oscillator) coupled to the AO deflector 222. The RF signal generator 226 may operate in the range of approximately 1 MHz to approximately 10 GHz (paragraph 0019) a periodic signal (e.g., sine wave, pulsed format) from signal generator 210 is modulated with the light beam from the light source 212 in the modulator 214. The periodic signal may be approximately 2 GHz or greater. The modulated light beam may then be transmitted through a fiber optic cable 215 to a remote head assembly 216. (paragraph 0018)) irradiating the acousto-optic deflector with a first portion of the electromagnetic radiation, thereby generating a steered beam at an emission angle, the emission angle being a function of the oscillation frequency; (The first set of beam shaping optics 218 focus the light signal from the fiber optic cable 215 onto the AO deflector 222. This diffraction by the AO deflector 222 controls the light and causes the light to shift to a predetermined angle proportional to the driving frequency produced by the RF signal generator 226. (paragraph 0019)) receiving reflected electromagnetic radiation at a radiation sensor optically coupled with the source of electromagnetic radiation, the reflected electromagnetic radiation originating from an interaction of a surface in an environment of the radiation sensor with the steered beam; (The diffracted light is transmitted to the second beam shaping optics 220 and a light beam 227 is created which forms a light spot 227a on the target 202 and follows a predetermined pattern as it scans the target 202. (paragraph 0019) The reflected or diffused light 228 from the object 202 is captured by a receiving lens 224 (which also may be a fiber) and transmitted through a fiber optic cable 229 to a detector 230. (paragraph 0020))
O’Meara teaches,
generating an interference signal using the reflected electromagnetic radiation and a second portion of the electromagnetic radiation; (In the particular embodiment of FIG. 3a the reflections are received by the system 100 in the order R0, R1, R2 and R3 (col. 5 ln. 62-65) The modulator 120 is driven by an acoustical generator 130 at a frequency f.sub.o and thus shifts the frequency of the reflection R0 by f.sub.o to create a reference reflection R0'. the reference reflection R0' is divided into the three portions R0", R0"' and R0"" (col. 6 ln. 8-15) The portions of the reference reflection R0"", R0"' and R0" respectively combine with the reflections R1, R2 and R3 to form first, second and third interference patterns (col. 6 ln. 29-32)) and determining one or more characteristics of the surface using the interference signal. (These envelopes contain Doppler shift information pertaining to the relative motion (if any) of the target with respect to the range bins associated with the reflections R1, R2 and R3. (col. 6 ln. 42-45)
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in O’Meara into the invention of Bowers. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose LIDAR distance measurement devices. The combination of Bowers and O’Meara would improve sensitivity.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowers (US 20020154287 A1) in view of O'Meara (US 4906092 A) in further view of Steever et al.(US 20180143320 A1).
Regarding claim 19 modified Bowers teaches all of the elements of claim 18 as previously stated, however modified Bowers fails to teach wherein determining the one or more characteristics of the surface comprises determining an angular position of the surface relative to the acousto-optic deflector.
In the same field of endeavor, Steever teaches wherein determining the one or more characteristics of the surface comprises determining an angular position of the surface relative to the acousto-optic deflector. (Determining the surface parameters based on the pixel parameters S340 functions to characterize the scene's surfaces. The surface parameters can include: surface presence, distance (e.g., relative to the sensing system), angular position relative to the system (e.g., azimuthal, polar, etc.), (paragraph 0113))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Steever into the invention of modified Bowers. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose LIDAR distance measurement devices. The combination of modified Bowers and Steever would improve detection sensitivity.
Conclusion
/ETHAN JAKOB SLAUGHTER/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648