DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group restriction in the reply filed on 08 May 2026 is acknowledged. This is found persuasive therefore the restriction requirement is withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “paddles” and “nozzle that is directed into the oven” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
“turbo blower” was not in the original specification.
Nozzle directed into the oven was not in the original specification
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-5 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitation “fiber” and “thread” refer to the same structure based on the specification. It is recommended that applicant use the same term for the same structure in the claims.
In claim 13 line 3, it looks like there’s a typo -- “inter gas” should be “inert gas”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “which oven module” in line 2. It’s not clear as to if it refers to one of “at least one oven module”. Also the limitation “the oven module” in line 3 of claim 1 has the same problem. Examiner recommend applicant to amend claim 1 lines 2-3 to (and for examining purpose, examiner interprets this limitation is) “…at least one oven module having two openings in such a way that at least one precursor fiber may pass through the at least one oven module…”
Claim 1 recites “the blower, the radiative heater, the second heater, the optical detection means and the control unit” in line 9-10. It’s not clear as to if it refers to one of “at least one oven module”. Examiner recommend applicant to amend this limitation to (and for examining purpose, examiner interprets this limitation is) “the at least one blower, the at least one radiative heater, the at least one second heater, the at least one optical detection means and the at least one control unit”.
Claim 2 recites “the oven comprises several oven modules”. It’s not clear as to if the seven oven modules are in addition to “at least one oven module” from claim 1, or if the limitation means “the at least one oven module comprising several oven modules”.
Claim 3 recites “at least two modules”. It’s not clear as to if the at least two modules are part of the oven.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the radiative heater". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner recommend applicant to amend this limitation to (and for examining purpose, examiner interprets this limitation is) “the at least one tunable radiative heater”.
Claim 9 recites “nozzle which is directed”. It’s not clear as to if the limitation means nozzle directing air into the oven, or if it means nozzle is oriented or protrudes into the oven. Examiner recommend applicant to amend this limitation to (and for examining purpose, examiner interprets this limitation is) “nozzle which directs air”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the oven". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner recommend applicant to amend this limitation to (and for examining purpose, examiner interprets this limitation is) “the at least one oven”
Claim 12 recites “the heater” in line 10. It’s not clear which heater this limitation refers to because claim 1 recites plural heaters.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the blower". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner recommend applicant to amend this limitation to (and for examining purpose, examiner interprets this limitation is) “the at least one blower”. Note: claim 13 has the same problem.
Claim 13 recites “inter gas”. It’s not clear what “inter gas” is.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (US 20040149730) in view of Silidker (US 20190160529).
Regarding claim 1, Hayashi teaches a continuous oven (110 fig 5) comprising
a processing direction (from left to right) and at least one oven module (131, 141 & 151, fig 5) having two openings (an inlet and an outlet for material) positioned in such a way “that at least one precursor fiber may pass through the at least one oven module in the processing direction” (see fig 5), the at least one oven module further comprising at least one air delivery device (pump 167) suitable for producing a gas flow perpendicular to the processing direction (see fig 5-6, air is directed into the paper in fig 5), at least one tunable radiative heater (146, fig 5) radiating perpendicular to the processing direction for heating the at least one precursor fiber to a first temperature, at least one second heater (145, fig 5) “for heating the gas within the oven to a second temperature” (heater roller is capable of heating air in the oven), at least one optical detection means (113, fig 5. See [0135] “splice sensor 113 as a photo sensor”), as well as at least one control unit (114, fig 5), wherein “the at least one blower, the at least one radiative heater, the at least one second heater, the at least one optical detection means and the at least one control unit serve as regulatory means for the heat emitted by the at least one precursor fiber in order to keep the temperature difference between the first temperature and the second temperature less than 10C with the first temperature being higher than the second temperature” (This is intended function. The system is capable of performing this function. See fig 7B, the temperature of 1st medium and a temperature point of 2nd medium can be controlled within 10C of temperature difference).
Hayashi fails to teach the at least one air delivery device is a blower.
Silidker teaches that an air delivery can be a blower or a pump ([0084] “air may be supplied by a fan or air injection pump”. [0141] “vacuum pump/blower”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hayashi as taught by Silidker by substituting the pump with a blower fan since it’s been known that simple substitution a known device for another to perform the same function requires only routine skill in the art. Also Silidker shows that blower and pump are arts recognized equivalence for the same purpose (for delivering air flow).
Regarding claim 2, Hayashi in view of Silidker teaches the oven comprising several oven modules (131, 141 & 151).
Regarding claim 3, Hayashi in view of Silidker teaches the oven at a boundary between at least two modules comprises a guiding means for thread (figure shows that a roller in oven 141 is at a location/boundary between oven modules 131 and 151. A roller is the guiding means).
Regarding claim 4, Hayashi in view of Silidker teaches a drawing force of the guiding means for threads “can be measured and may additionally be used as regulatory means for the heat emitted by the at least one precursor fiber” (This is intended function. A drawing force can be measured with proper equipment).
Regarding claim 5, Hayashi in view of Silidker teaches “the at least one precursor fiber is at least one thread of polyacrylonitrile precursor thread” (This is intended use or function. Fiber is object to be worked upon and not part of the oven).
Regarding claim 9, Hayashi in view of Silidker teaches the at least one blower comprises a nozzle (outlet opening if blower housing) which directs air into the oven.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (US 20040149730) in view of Silidker (US 20190160529), further in view of Shah (US 20180274048).
Regarding claim 6, Hayashi in view of Silidker teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but fails to teach the at least one tunable radiative heater is an infrared laser.
Shah teaches a radiative heater using an infrared laser ([0021] “The heating oven (106) consists of an infrared emitter source such as an array of special quartz heating lamps, Infra Red Light Emitting Diode (IR LED), Infra Red Laser (IR Laser)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hayashi in view of Silidker as taught by Shah by using an infrared laser to provide radiative heating in order to achieve desired heating effect or provide desire heating temperature.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (US 20040149730) in view of Silidker (US 20190160529), further in view of Meinecke (US 20140026437).
Regarding claim 7, Hayashi in view of Silidker teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but fails to teach paddles suitable for guiding the gas flow within the oven.
Meinecke teaches paddles (40, fig 1) for guiding the gas flow within an oven (housing of 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hayashi in view of Silidker as taught by Meinecke by adding paddles/flaps in the oven in order to control amount of gas fed to the oven and controlling drying speed in the system.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (US 20040149730) in view of Silidker (US 20190160529), further in view of Sugihara (US 20120240424).
Regarding claim 8, Hayashi in view of Silidker teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but fails to teach the at least one blower is a turbo blower.
Sugihara teaches a turbo blower ([0105] “Each of the fans 74 is composed of, for example, a turbo fan”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hayashi in view of Silidker as taught by Sugihara by adding turbo fan/blower in the oven in order to provide air circulation in the oven to help even temperature distribution in the oven.
Claims 10-11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (US 20040149730) in view of Silidker (US 20190160529), further in view of Hiyama (US 20230313355).
Regarding claim 10, Hayashi in view of Silidker teaches the processing of using at least one oven according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection. The method of using is inherently performed by users). However Hayashi in view of Silidker fails to teach the method is done by using at least one self-learning artificial neural network.
Hiyama teaches a self-learning artificial neural network is used for a heating system ([0097] “machine learning methods using neural networks”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hayashi in view of Silidker as taught by Hiyama by using a machine learning neural networks to control the heating process in order to allow automatic controlling and adjusting of heating in the oven).
Regarding claim 11, Hayashi in view of Silidker and Hiyama teaches a recurrent neural network (see claim 10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-15 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
/KO-WEI LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762