DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1 - 5 in the reply filed on 10/30/2025 is acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 - 5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of the embodiments of the reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dilmaghanian et al. (U.S. PG Pub # 20180112778).
Regarding Claim 1, Dilmaghanian discloses a sealing system (fig 17), comprising: a lip seal comprising an inner lip portion ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 17 below) and an outer lip portion ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 17 below); a toroidal tensioning element (116) positioned between the inner lip portion and the outer lip portion for keeping the lip seal under tension (fig 17); and an annular thruster element (310) partially inserted into the lip seal between one of said inner and outer lip portions and the toroidal tensioning element ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 17 below), the annular thruster element forming an outer end portion axially protruding from the lip seal ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 17 below) to be engageable so as to cause an axial translation of the annular thruster element towards an inside of the lip seal (structure configured to cause an axial translation of the annular thruster element towards an inside of the lip seal), the annular thruster element comprising an inclined surface that directly engages one of said lip portions, such that ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 17 below) said axial translation of the annular thruster element along a translational axis causes said inclined surface to exert a radial force on said one of said lip portions, thereby causing a radial divarication of the lip seal (structure configured so that said axial translation of the annular thruster element causes a radial divarication of the lip seal).
Regarding Claim 2, Dilmaghanian discloses the sealing system, wherein the toroidal tensioning element is made with a helical spring (Para 0083- 116 is a canted coil spring).
Regarding Claim 3, Dilmaghanian discloses the sealing system, wherein a distal end portion of one between the inner and outer lip portions has a concave shape (distal end portion of outer lip portion 120 has a concave shape), and wherein the toroidal tensioning element is partially accommodated by shape coupling in said distal end portion (116 shape coupled in distal end portion of 120).
Regarding Claim 4, Dilmaghanian discloses the sealing system, wherein the annular thruster element forms a radially external wall that is substantially flat ( radially external wall which is radially external to the radially innermost wall of 310 as seen in examiner annotated fig 17 above), on which the toroidal tensioning element rests (116 rests on flat surface as seen in examiner annotated fig 17 above), and a radially internal wall which that is at least partially inclined ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 17 above).
Regarding Claim 5, Dilmaghanian discloses the sealing system, wherein the inner and outer lip portions form, on respective radially outer sides, convex distal surfaces (convex distal surfaces of 122 and 120) suitable to make respective points of contact with respective seal surfaces (fig 17).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.S.K/Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675