DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. The Amendment filed on May 20, 2026 has been entered. The examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 10 and 18.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101: Applicant argues that the claims are not directed to a method of organizing human activity. The Examiner disagrees, noting that the administration of a survey is an organized activity designed for a specific purpose to collect specific information. If not for rules and instructions governing the development and administration of a survey, the quality of responses would be subject to randomness across respondents and the quality of the data and results would be diminished.
Applicant argues the errant characterization of the claims as covering an exchange of questions and answers. The Examiner notes that the method of claim 1 states “administering, via a user interface, an electronic survey;”. Cambridge Dictionary defines “survey” as “an examination of opinions, behaviour, etc., made by asking people questions.”
Applicant argues that the claims integrate the (alleged) judicial exception into a practical application, and disputing the conclusion that the listed additional elements are mere tools. Applicant recites the actions of the additional elements as: "administering, via a user interface, an electronic survey," the Examiner notes that the user interface appears to perform a routine function, that being enabling communication between a user and a system, the applicant recites "receiving, via the user interface, one or more user inputs corresponding to the electronic survey," again, noted by the Examiner as a routine function, "responsive to the one or more user inputs and based on the correspondence between the first electronic survey question and the second electronic survey question, modifying the electronic survey by removing the second electronic survey question during administration of the electronic survey,” again, the Examiner notes that the receipt of input being analyzed by a processor to take an action to “remove” a question does not appear to be uncommon for a processor receiving input. Examiner further notes the absence of a unique or innovative application of the additional elements, or an obvious or stated improvement to technology beyond conventional application of the elements.
Applicant argues that the recitation of the claims “identify a particular way of modifying an electronic survey during administration…” Examiner notes that the statement “during administration” is particularly broad in nature. It appears that the claim is suggesting that modifying an electronic survey during administration includes a time component, referenced to the time taken “during administration” but any conclusion on an improvement resulting from that response time cannot be drawn out of the claim alone. A broadest reasonable interpretation of the statement could include an on-going back and forth dialog between the respondent and the electronic survey instrument (human or bot), thus mimicking an in-person or telephone interview. This does not appear to present an improvement to the technology.
Applicant further argues “the particular improvement [in a technical field] is real-time removal of redundant survey questions during administration of an electronic survey,” in response to user input. Examiner notes prior art already teaches this.
In view of the above discussion, the Examiner concludes that the claims as currently written do not demonstrate an improvement to the technology of survey administration, and thus, rejects the argument that the abstract ideas are integrated into a practical application. The rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101 will not be withdrawn.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102/103: Applicant’s arguments that prior art does not disclose "responsive to the one or more user inputs and based on the correspondence between the first electronic survey question and the second electronic survey question, modifying the electronic survey by removing the second electronic survey question during administration of the electronic survey," are overcome by prior art and the rejections will not be withdrawn.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed
to non-statutory subject matter. The claims, 1-20 are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, abstract idea) without providing significantly more.
Step 1
Step 1 of the subject matter eligibility analysis per MPEP § 2106.03, required the claims to be a process, machine, manufacture or a composition of matter. Claims 1-20 are directed to a process (method), machine (system), and product/article of manufacture, which are statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A
Claims 1-20 are directed to abstract ideas, as explained below.
Prong one of the Step 2A analysis requires identifying the specific limitation(s) in the claim under examination that the examiner believes recites an abstract idea, and determining whether the identified limitation(s) falls within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas of mathematical concepts, mental processes, and certain methods of organizing human activity.
Step 2A-Prong 1
The claims recite the following limitations that are directed to abstract ideas, which can be summarized as being directed to a method, the abstract idea, of deduplicating questions in electronic surveys based on natural language processing and question classification to produce modified surveys.
Claim 1 discloses A method comprising:
administering, a survey; (organizing human activity, following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion),
receiving, one or more user inputs corresponding to the survey, (following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion),
determining a plurality of domain classifications for a plurality of questions in the survey; (organizing human activity, following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion),
determining, based on semantic content for the plurality of survey questions, a correspondence between a first survey question of survey mapped to a domain classification and a second survey question of one or more prior surveys mapped to the domain classification; (organizing human activity, following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion),
responsive to the one or more user inputs and based on the correspondence between the first survey question and the second survey question, modifying the survey by removing the second survey question during administration of the survey, (organizing human activity, following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion), and
administering the modified survey, (organizing human activity, following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion).
Additional limitations employ the method generating a first classification indicating the domain classification for the first and second questions according to a first topic, and generating a second classification indicating an additional classification for a third question according to a second topic, (organizing human activity, mitigating risk, interactions between people, following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion – claim 2), where determining the correspondence between the first two questions is based on a determination of similar semantic content based on phrases in the two questions, and being mapped to the domain classification, (organizing human activity, mitigating risk, interactions between people, following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion – claim 3), determining that in response to the domain classification mapping, the first and second questions are semantically similar, (organizing human activity, mitigating risk, interactions between people, following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion – claim 4), determining the plurality of domain classifications is based on determining that first and second questions are mapped to the same domain based on similar semantic content, (organizing human activity, mitigating risk, interactions between people, following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion – claim 5), where modifying the survey involves selecting the first question to include in the modified survey based on the questions being mapped to the same domain and being semantically similar, (organizing human activity, mitigating risk, interactions between people, following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion – claim 6), where modifying the survey includes removing the second question based on the questions being mapped to the same domain and having similar content, (organizing human activity, mitigating risk, interactions between people, following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion – claim 7), where determining the plurality of classifications includes a determination of the first question mapping to the first survey and the second question mapping to the second survey, (organizing human activity, mitigating risk, interactions between people, following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion – claim 8), and where providing the modified survey includes providing the first question as part of the modified survey and excluding the second question from it, (organizing human activity, mitigating risk, interactions between people, following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion – claim 9),
Each of these claimed limitations employ mental processes involving organizing human activity, mitigating risk, following rules or instructions and observation, evaluation, judgement, and opinion.
Claims 10-20 recite similar abstract ideas as those identified with respect to claims 1-9.
Thus, the concepts set forth in claims 1-20 recite abstract ideas.
Step 2A-Prong 2
As per MPEP § 2106.04, while the claims 1-20 recite additional limitations which are hardware or software elements such as a computer, a user interface, an electronic survey, a machine-learning model, a natural language processing model, non-transitory computer-readable media comprising one or more machine-learning models, an administrator client device, these limitations are not sufficient to qualify as a practical application being recited in the claims along with the abstract ideas since these elements are invoked as tools to apply the instructions of the abstract ideas in a specific technological environment. The mere application of an abstract idea in a particular technological environment and merely limiting the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological field do not integrate an abstract idea into a practical application (MPEP § 2106.05 (f) & (h)).
Evaluated individually, the additional elements do not integrate the identified abstract ideas into a practical application. Evaluating the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually.
The claims do not amount to a “practical application” of the abstract idea because they neither (1) recite any improvements to another technology or technical field; (2) recite any improvements to the functioning of the computer itself; (3) apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine; (4) effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; (5) provide other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, claims 1-20 are directed to abstract ideas.
Step 2B
Claims 1-20 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
The analysis above describes how the claims recite the additional elements beyond those identified above as being directed to an abstract idea, as well as why identified judicial exception(s) are not integrated into a practical application. These findings are hereby incorporated into the analysis of the additional elements when considered both individually and in combination.
For the reasons provided in the analysis in Step 2A, Prong 1, evaluated individually, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than a judicial exception. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than a judicial exception.
Evaluating the claim limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. In addition to the factors discussed regarding Step 2A, prong two, there is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely amount to instructions to implement the identified abstract ideas on a computer.
Therefore, since there are no limitations in the claims 1-20 that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the exception itself, the claims are directed to non-statutory subject matter and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. §103
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-13, 15-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being taught by Long, (US 20200074294 A1), hereafter Long, “Machine-Learning-Based Digital Survey Creation and Management,” in view of Lewis, (AU 2021107225 A4), “System and Method for Facilitating Dispute Resolution.”
Regarding Claim 1, A computer-implemented method comprising:
administering, via a user interface, an electronic survey; Long teaches, an environment 100 in which a digital survey system 118 operates, [ ], a survey administrator 102 is associated with the administrator device 104 and uses the administrator device 104 to manage the creation and distribution of a digital survey, [0039] and FIG. 1), receiving, via the user interface, one or more user inputs corresponding to the electronic survey, (Moreover, recipients 108a-108n are respectively associated with the recipient devices 110a-110n and use the recipient devices 110a-110nto provide responses to a digital survey, [0039] and FIG. 1),
determining, by at least one processor utilizing a machine-learning model, a plurality of domain classifications for a plurality of electronic survey questions in the electronic survey; (the survey-creation-machine learner 200 determines that an intent tag for the candidate-representative-survey question 304a matches an intent tag for the training survey question 302a. For instance, the survey-creation-machine learner 200 optionally comprises an RNN that compares an intent classification of the training survey question 302a to the intent classification of multiple candidate-representative-survey questions, [0063]),
determining, by the at least one processor and based on semantic content for the plurality of electronic survey questions, (in some implementations, the survey-creation-machine learner 200 extracts terms or words—or a combination of terms or words—from the training survey question 302a when identifying training textual features. For example, the survey-creation-machine learner 200 extracts terms and identifies an ordering of the extracted terms. To extract terms, in certain implementations, the digital survey system 118 uses an RNN or an RCNN as the survey-creation-machine learner 200. One such RNN and one such RCNN is described by Adrian Sanborn and Jacek Skryzalin, “Deep Learning for Semantic Similarity” (2015), [0059]), a correspondence [0063]matches intent tag between a first electronic survey question of electronic survey mapped to a domain classification and a second electronic survey question of one or more prior electronic surveys mapped to the domain classification; (For instance, the digital survey system may determine a survey category for the representative survey question from a correlation database that correlates representative survey questions with survey categories, [0054], and in some embodiments, each training survey question corresponds to a ground-truth-representative-survey question. Accordingly, in some cases, a training survey question correlates to annotated or tagged training data—that is, a corresponding ground-truth-representative-survey question. As shown in FIG. 3A, for instance, training survey questions 302a through 302n respectively correspond to ground-truth-representative-survey questions 308a through 308n. [0057], alternatively, the administrator device 104 may detect user input from the survey administrator 102 selecting the initial survey question 202 and the answer choices 204 (e.g., from a previous digital survey), [0052]),
responsive to the one or more user inputs, (the administrator device 104 sends (and the digital survey system 118 receives) user input to create an initial survey question 202. [0052].
Long does not teach, but Lewis teaches, based on the correspondence between the
first electronic survey question and the second electronic survey question, modifying the
electronic survey by removing the second electronic survey question during administration of the electronic survey and administering, via the user interface, the modified electronic survey, (the survey may be updated as a survey recipient enters answers to the one or more questions into the electronic interface. Preferably, as the survey recipient enters answers to the survey questions, the system for facilitating dispute resolution may add additional questions to the survey, substitute questions and/or delete questions from the survey based on the answers provided by the survey recipient. In this way, the survey may be updated substantially in real-time by the survey recipient in response to answers provided, [0022].
It would have been obvious before the earliest effective filing date of this application to modify Long’s survey deduplication method with the teachings of Lewis in the use of modifying the survey based on previous user input and during survey administration with the motivation to provide a faster and easier way to collect and analyze data that also had the potential to improve the quality of the data collected, [0006]. The claimed invention is a combination of existing elements and those elements, one of ordinary skill in the art recognizing the anticipated results and resulting benefit of the agile survey construct.
Claims 10 and 18 are rejected for reasons corresponding to those provided for Claim 1. In these claims, the addition of one or more non-transitory computer readable media, and at least one processor, does not change the rational for the rejections under 35 U.S.C § 103 or the referenced prior art (Long teaches the system comprises non-transitory computer readable media [0005], and at least one electronic processor, [0040]).
Regarding Claim 2, Long and Lewis teach, the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein determining the plurality of domain classifications comprises:
generating, utilizing a machine-learning model, Long teaches, (machine-learning techniques to facilitate the creation, timing of distribution, or follow-up actions for digital surveys, [0005]), a first classification indicating the domain classification for the first electronic survey question and the second electronic survey question according to a first topic; (For instance, the digital survey system 118 may determine a survey category for the representative survey question from a correlation database that correlates representative survey questions with survey categories. [0054] and
generating, utilizing the machine-learning model, a second classification indicating an
additional domain classification for a third electronic survey question of the one or more electronic surveys according to a second topic, (the suggested survey questions 206aand 206b correspond to a survey category matching the survey category that the digital survey system 118 determines for the initial survey question 202. Alternatively, in some embodiments, suggested survey questions correspond to different survey categories or to no identifiable survey categories, [0054]).
Claims 11 and 19 are rejected for reasons corresponding to those provided for Claim 2. In these claims, the addition of one or more non-transitory computer readable media, and at least one processor, does not change the rational for the rejections under 35 U.S.C § 103 or the referenced prior art (Long teaches the system comprises non-transitory computer readable media [0005], and at least one electronic processor, [0040]).
Regarding claim 3, Long and Lewis teach, the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein determining the correspondence between the first electronic survey question and the second electronic survey question Long teaches, (the digital survey system provides selectable options
for suggested survey questions that correspond to a survey category, [0027]), comprises:
determining, utilizing a natural language processing model, that the first electronic survey question and the second electronic survey question comprise semantically similar content based on words or phrases included in the first electronic survey question and the second electronic survey question; (in some instances, the digital survey system uses a recursive neural network trained to identify textual similarity between survey questions or to determine intent of survey questions. As another example, in some embodiments, the digital survey system uses a recurrent neural network (“RNN”) or a Naive Bayes Support Vector Machine(“NBSVM”) to categorize or determine the intent of survey questions, [0028]), and
determining the correspondence
in response to the first electronic survey question and the second electronic survey question comprising the semantically similar content and being mapped to the domain classification, (the survey-creation-machine learner 200 selects the candidate-representative-survey question 304a (from among multiple candidate-representative-survey questions) as having the same intent classification as the training survey question 302a, [0063], [ ] and
the survey-creation-machine learner 200 determines that a reciprocal intent of the candidate-representative-survey question 304a corresponds to the intent of the training survey question 302a, [0063]. In some cases, the survey-creation-machine learner 200 comprises an RNN that determines a probability score that a given training survey question belongs in a same category as a candidate-representative-survey question [0062]).
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected for reasons corresponding to those provided for Claim 3. In these claims, the addition of one or more non-transitory computer readable media, and at least one processor, does not change the rational for the rejections under 35 U.S.C § 103 or the referenced prior art (Long teaches the system comprises non-transitory computer readable media [0005], and at least one electronic processor, [0040]).
Regarding claim 4, Long and Lewis teach, the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein determining the correspondence comprises determining, utilizing the natural language processing model, that the first electronic survey question and the second electronic survey question comprise the semantically similar content in response to determining that the first electronic survey question and the second electronic survey question are mapped the domain classification. Long teaches, (the digital survey system 118 may use any of the machine-learning models mentioned above as the survey-creation-machine learner 200. [0058],
the survey-creation-machine learner 200 determines a semantic meaning of the training survey question 302a. [0060], the survey-creation-machine learner 200 comprises an RNN that determines a probability score that a given training survey question belongs in a same category as a candidate-representative-survey question, [0062].
Claim 13 is rejected for reasons corresponding to those provided for Claim 4. In this claim, the addition of one or more non-transitory computer readable media, and at least one processor, does not change the rational for the rejections under 35 U.S.C § 103 or the referenced prior art (Long teaches the system comprises non-transitory computer readable media [0005], and at least one electronic processor, [0040].
Regarding claim 5, Long and Lewis teach, the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein determining the plurality of domain classifications comprises determining, utilizing the machine-learning model, Long teaches, (the digital survey system 118 may use any of the machine-learning models mentioned above as the survey-creation-machine learner 200, [0058]), that the first electronic survey question and the second electronic survey question are mapped to the domain classification, (the survey-creation-machine learner 200 comprises an RNN that determines a probability score that a given training survey question belongs in a same category as a candidate-representative-survey question, [0062]), in response to determining that the first electronic survey question and the second electronic survey question comprise the semantically similar content, (the survey-creation-machine learner 200 optionally comprises an RNN that compares an intent classification of the training survey question 302a to the intent classification of multiple candidate-representative-survey questions, [0063]).
Regarding claim 6, Long and Lewis teach, the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein modifying the electronic survey comprises selecting the first electronic survey question to include in the modified electronic survey in response to determining that the first electronic survey question and the second electronic survey question are mapped to the domain classification and comprise the semantically similar content. Long teaches, (a survey-creation-machine learner to identify textual features of the initial survey question and to select a representative survey question based on the identified features, [0006]. For instance, the survey-creation-machine learner 200 optionally comprises an RNN that compares an intent classification of the training survey question 302a to the intent classification of multiple candidate-representative-survey questions, [0063], Based on the representative survey question, the systems use the survey-creation-machine learner to determine a suggested survey question, [0006].
Regarding claim 8, Long and Lewis teach the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein determining the plurality of domain classifications comprises:
determining that the first electronic survey question is mapped to the domain classification from a first electronic survey; and
determining that the second electronic survey question is mapped to the domain
classification from a second electronic survey, Long teaches, (the digital survey system 118 determines suggested survey questions that correspond to one or more survey categories as recommendations. In some such embodiments, the digital survey system 118 identifies a survey category for each survey question from within the correlation database, [0076].
Regarding claim 15, Long and Lewis teach the system of claim 10, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the system to:
receive response data from one or more client devices in response to the modified
electronic survey; Long teaches, (the digital survey system 118 receives a response 820 from the recipient device, [0158]),
determine that the response data lacks a response to an electronic survey question of the modified electronic survey; (the digital survey system 118 uses a loss function 306 to compare candidate-representative-survey questions and ground-truth-representative-survey questions, [0065],
determine a loss based on the response data lacking the response to the electronic survey question; (the digital survey system 118 may use a variety of loss functions as a means of comparison, including, but not limited to, mean squared error, mean squared logarithmic error, mean absolute error, cross entropy loss, negative logarithmic likelihood loss, or L2 loss. For instance, in some embodiments, the digital survey system 118 uses a cross-entropy-loss function as the loss function 306 when using an RNN to determine textual similarity (e.g., by using a probability score for sentence categories). As another example, the digital survey system 118 optionally uses a mean-squared-error function as the loss function 306 when using an RNN to determine intent of training survey questions and candidate-representative-survey questions. [0065], and
modify parameters of the one or more machine-learning models to classify the electronic survey question based on the loss, (the digital survey system 118 adjusts machine-learning parameters of the survey-creation-machine learner 200 based on the loss determined from the loss function 306. For instance, the digital survey system 118 adjusts the machine-learning parameters based on an object to decrease a loss in a subsequent training iteration, Long, [0066].
Regarding claim 16, Long and Lewis teach the system of claim 10, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the system to:
receive response data from a plurality of client devices m response to the modified
electronic survey; Long teaches, (the digital survey system 118 receives a response 820 from the recipient device, [0158]),
determine that an electronic survey question mapped to a first domain classification by the one or more machine-learning models is associated with a second domain classification based on the response data; (For instance, the digital survey system 118 may determine a survey category for the representative survey question from a correlation database that correlates representative survey questions with survey categories, [ ], and
in some embodiments, suggested survey questions correspond to different survey categories or to no identifiable survey categories, [0054]) and
modify parameters of the one or more machine-learning models to map the electronic
survey question to the second domain classification, (the digital survey system 118 adjusts machine-learning parameters of the survey-creation-machine learner 200 based on the loss determined from the loss function 306. For instance, the digital survey system 118 adjusts the machine-learning parameters based on an object to decrease a loss in a subsequent training iteration, Long, [0066]).
Claims 7, 9, 14, and 17, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being taught by Long, (US 20200074294 A1), “Machine-Learning-Based Digital Survey Creation and Management,” in view of Lewis, (AU 2021107225 A4), “System and Method for Facilitating Dispute Resolution,” and in further view of Smith, (US 20180122256 A1), “Guiding Creation of an Electronic Survey.”
Regarding claim 7, Long and Lewis teach, the computer-implemented method of claim 3, but,
Long does not teach, Smith teaches, wherein modifying the electronic survey comprises removing the second electronic survey question from the one or more electronic surveys in response to determining that the first electronic survey question and the second electronic survey question are mapped to the domain classification and comprise the semantically similar content, (the Electronic survey system 118 provide an option to accept or reject a suggested electronic survey question, including a suggested portion of an electronic survey question, [0120], and in some embodiments, the electronic survey system 118 filters electronic survey questions to identify and eliminate duplicate or near-duplicate electronic survey questions within a list of identified suggested electronic survey questions, [0099].
It would have been obvious before the earliest effective filing date of this application to modify the Long and Lewis survey deduplication method with the teachings of Smith in the use of question removal based on duplication to avoid providing the same or similar suggested electronic survey questions, [0099]. The claimed invention is a combination of existing elements and those elements, one of ordinary skill in the art recognizing the anticipated results and resulting benefit of the agile survey construct.
Regarding claim 9, Long and Lewis teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, but
Long does not teach, Smith teaches, providing the modified electronic survey comprises providing the first electronic survey question with the modified electronic survey and excluding the second electronic survey question from the modified electronic survey, (the electronic survey system 118 applies NLP to electronic survey questions within the database of categorized electronic survey questions—or a subset of electronic survey questions within the database of categorized electronic survey questions—to identify duplicate or near-duplicate electronic survey questions, [0100]).
It would have been obvious before the earliest effective filing date of this application to modify the Long and Lewis survey deduplication method with the teachings of Smith in the use of question removal based on duplication with the motivation to avoid providing the survey administrator with same or similar suggested electronic survey questions, [0099]. The claimed invention is a combination of existing elements and those elements, one of ordinary skill in the art recognizing the anticipated results and resulting benefit of the efficient survey construct.
Regarding claim 14, Long and Lewis teach the system of claim 10, and Long teaches, determining the correspondence between the first electronic survey question and the second electronic survey question based on the deduplication confidence score, (the survey-creation-machine learner 200 comprises an RNN that determines a probability score that a given training survey question belongs in a same category as a candidate-representative-survey question, [0062], and the survey-creation-machine learner 200 optionally comprises an RNN that compares an intent classification of the training survey question 302a to the intent classification of multiple candidate-representative-survey questions, [0063]).
But Long does not teach, Smith teaches, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the system to determine the correspondence between the first electronic survey question and the second electronic survey question by:
generating a deduplication confidence score for the first electronic survey question and the second electronic survey question based on the domain classification and semantic similarities between the first electronic survey question and the second electronic survey question; (the electronic survey system 118 filters electronic survey questions to identify and eliminate duplicate or near-duplicate electronic survey questions within a list of identified suggested electronic survey questions. In other embodiments, the electronic survey system 118 filters the available electronic survey questions to be used as suggested electronic survey questions within the database of categorized electronic survey questions (e.g., a pre-filter process that reduces the number of questions within the database of electronic survey questions). By filtering electronic survey questions to eliminate duplicate or near-duplicate electronic survey questions, [0099].
It would have been obvious before the earliest effective filing date of this application to modify the Long and Lewis survey deduplication method with the teachings of Smith in the use of suggested replacement electronic survey questions with the motivation to avoid providing the survey administrator with redundant electronic survey questions, [0099]. The claimed invention is a combination of existing elements and those elements, one of ordinary skill in the art recognizing the anticipated results and resulting benefit of the efficient survey construct.
Regarding claim 17, Long and Lewis teach the system of claim 10, Long teaching,
receive, from the administrator client device, feedback data indicating that the deduplicated electronic survey question was incorrectly deduplicated and modify parameters of the one or more machine-learning models based on the feedback data, (the digital survey system 118 uses a loss function 306 to compare candidate-representative-survey questions and ground-truth-representative-survey questions, [ ] and in some embodiments, the digital survey system 118 uses a cross-entropy-loss function as the loss function 306 when using an RNN to determine textual similarity (e.g., by using a probability score for sentence categories), [0065]. In general, the digital survey system 118 compares candidate-representative-survey questions and ground-truth-representative-survey questions as a basis for adjusting machine-learning parameters, [0064], and the digital survey system 118 adjusts machine-learning parameters of the survey-creation-machine learner 200 based on the loss determined from the loss function 306. For instance, the digital survey system 118 adjusts the machine-learning parameters based on an object to decrease a loss in a subsequent training iteration, [0066]).
Long does not teach, but Smith teaches, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the system to:
provide, for display at an administrator client device, an indication of a deduplicated
electronic survey question corresponding to the modified electronic survey; (the electronic survey system 118 filters electronic survey questions to identify and eliminate duplicate or near-duplicate electronic survey questions within a list of identified suggested electronic survey questions. By filtering electronic survey questions to eliminate duplicate or near-duplicate electronic survey questions, the electronic survey system 118 avoids providing the same or similar suggested electronic survey questions to a survey administrator, Smith, [0099]).
It would have been obvious before the earliest effective filing date of this application to modify the Long and Lewis survey deduplication method with the teachings of Smith in the use of using a display for indicating deduplicated questions, with the motivation to assist the survey administrator in survey question management and avoiding redundant electronic survey questions, [0099]. The claimed invention is a combination of existing elements and those elements, one of ordinary skill in the art recognizing the anticipated results and resulting benefit of the efficient survey construct and administrator tools.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure or directed to the state of the art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
examiner should be directed to MICHAEL BOROWSKI whose telephone number is (703) 756-1822, (michael.borowski@uspto.gov). The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8-4:30.
/MB/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3624
/MEHMET YESILDAG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624