DETAILED ACTION
The communication of 5 August 2026 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 2-10 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group 1 (claims 2-10 and 17-18) in the reply filed on 5 August 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claims are so interrelated that a search of one group will reveal art to the other. This is not found persuasive because as shown below the common technical feature is not special common and references which teach claim 17 may not teach claim 20 or 11
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-16 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-10 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schreck (US 5,866,246).
Schreck teaches a film composed of a thermoplastic polymer and at least one vacuole containing layer. The vacuole-containing layer comprises a particulate body formed from an incompatible polymer. Abstract. Schreck teaches the matrix polymer may be a polyolefin, such as LDPE (3:45-65). Schreck teaches the incompatible polymer may be a polyester such as PET or PBT (6:25-55). Schreck teaches the size of the particles is 0.2-20 microns in at least 90% of the particles (5:45-50). Schreck teaches the film comprises 80-98% of the matrix polymer (3:45-55) and 1-20% of the particles (4:25-45).
Schreck fails to teach the size of the particles with sufficient specificity so as to be anticipatory of claim 17 however, the reference does teach an overlapping range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 18 and 4, Schreck teaches LDPE.
Regarding claim 2-3 and 8-9, Schreck teaches the film can be co-extruded and include multiple layers in particular a three layer embodiment which is all oriented (12:45-55, claim 4, example 7).
Regarding claim 6, Schreck teaches the use of stabilizers (12:5-20).
Regarding claim 5, Schreck teaches the melting point of the thermoplastic film is chosen based upon the desired properties and processing conditions (4:1-15)) and the melting point of the incompatible polymer is also chosen by the processing temperature of the matrix polymer (6:5-25). Although Schreck fails to teach does not teach a specific melting point for the incompatible polymer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the melting point since it has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The burden is upon the Applicant to demonstrate that the claimed melting point is critical and has unexpected results. In the present invention, one would have been motivated to optimize the melting point motivated by the desire to provide a particle which is stable at the extrusion temperature of the thermoplastic resin.
Regarding claim 7, Schreck teaches the use of polyester but not that it is post-industrial or post-consumer recycled polyester. However, there is no evidence of any difference in virgin vs. recycled polyester so as to differentiate a product formed by polymerizing monomers to arrive at polyester vs. recycling polyester to arrive at the polyester. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 10, Schreck teaches the film can be used for packaging (4:40-45)
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schreck (US 5,866,246) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Nosker (US 5,951,940).
As discussed above, Schreck teaches claim 17.
Nosker teaches a method of recycling mixed post-consumer plastics waste. Nosker teaches combining mixed post-consumer plastics waste including polyolefin and non-polyolefin components, such as PET, and melt-compounding to form a continuous phase including a blend of the polyolefin components with the non-polyolefin components microdispersed therein. Preferably, the waste also includes one or more intrinsic compatibilizers, and the method includes the intrinsic compatibilizers at least partially compatibilizing the microdispersed components in the continuous phase. Abstract and 4:1-10.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use as the PET of Schreck a recycled PET for the benefit of environmental friendliness. It further would have been obvious to include a compatibilizer to promote bonding of the minor phase to the major.
Conclusion
/FRANK J VINEIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1781