DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This action is written in response to applicant’s correspondence received 01/06/2025. Claims 1, 3, 11-20, 25-32 are currently pending and are examined herein.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 26 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). The claims are both drawn to a cell prepared by the method of claim 1 (claim 26) or a cell comprising the genomic sequence of claim 27 (wherein the genomic sequence comprises an edited base introduced by a method of claim 1). Both the specification (see para [0130]) and the claims (claim 31) indicate that the cell may be administered to and present in a human subject. As a result, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims encompass a human organism because it reads on one or more human cells (see paragraph 80). Amending the claim to recite “An isolated cell“ would obviate this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1, 3, 11-20, and 26-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the term “preferably”. The term "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 17 recites the phrase, “the protease cleavage site”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this phrase. Neither claim 17 itself nor claim 1, from which claim 17 depends, recite a protease cleavage site.
Those claims identified in the statement of rejection but not explicitly referenced in the rejection are also rejected for depending from a rejected claim but failing to remedy the indefiniteness therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
9951268 10006150
Claims 1, 3, 12-13, 19-20, and 25-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. PGPUB 20230080198 A1 to Beam Therapeutics, Inc. (priority filing date 02/13/2019, hereinafter ‘Beam’) in view of Joberty (Joberty et al. CRISPR J. 2020 Apr 21;3(2):123–134.) and NCBI Reference Sequence: NC_000019.10 (08/17/2020, CD33gene).
Regarding claim 1, Beam teaches a method for reducing the biological activity of the CD33 gene in a cell to reduce toxicity in a patient undergoing a therapy targeting a cell surface antigen on a cancer cell, comprising administering to the patient, comprising introducing into the cell a CRISPR-associated (Cas) protein, a nucleobase deaminase, a single-guide RNA (sgRNA):
The present invention features genetically modified immune cells comprising novel adenosine base editors (e.g., ABE8) having enhanced anti-neoplasia activity, resistance to immune suppression, and decreased risk of eliciting a graft- versus-host reaction or host-versus-graft reaction. or a combination thereof. The present invention also features methods for producing and using these modified immune cells. (Abstract)
Claim 1. A method for producing a modified immune cell, the method comprising expressing or introducing in an immune cell a nucleobase editor polypeptide and contacting the cell with two or more guide RNAs that target the nucleobase editor polypeptide to effect an alteration in a nucleic acid molecule encoding at least one polypeptide selected from the group consisting of….Cluster of Differentiation 33 (CD33)…wherein the nucleobase editor polypeptide comprises a nucleic acid programmable DNA binding protein (napDNAbp) and at least one base editor domain comprising an adenosine deaminase
Claim 51. A modified immune cell produced according to the method of any one of claim 1.
Claim 64. A method of modulating an immune response, treating a neoplasia or in a subject or treating graft-versus-host disease (GVHD) in a subject having or having a propensity to develop graft-versus-host disease, the method comprising administering an effective amount of a modified immune cell of claim 51.
In various embodiments of any aspect delineated herein, the napDNAbp comprises a nuclease dead Cas9 (dCas9), a Cas9 nickase (nCas9), or a nuclease Cas9. (para [0013])
Beam teaches a guide RNA comprising SEQ ID NO: 632, which has 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 10:
RESULT 1
US-17-430-676-632
(NOTE: this sequence has 2 duplicates in the database searched)
Sequence 632, US/17430676
Patent No. 12600971
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: BEAM THERAPEUTICS INC.
TITLE OF INVENTION: MODIFIED IMMUNE CELLS HAVING ADENOSINE DEAMINASE BASE EDITORS
TITLE OF INVENTION: FOR MODIFYING A NUCLEOBASE IN A TARGET SEQUENCE
FILE REFERENCE: 52885-814.601
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/17/430,676
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2021-08-12
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: PCT/US2020/018178
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2020-02-13
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/966,526
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2020-01-27
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/941,569
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2019-11-27
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/941,523
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2019-11-27
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/931,722
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2019-11-06
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/852,224
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2019-05-23
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/852,228
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2019-05-23
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/805,271
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2019-02-13
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 935
SEQ ID NO 632
LENGTH: 20
TYPE: DNA
ORGANISM: Artificial Sequence
FEATURE:
OTHER INFORMATION: Description of Artificial Sequence: Synthetic
oligonucleotide
Query Match 100.0%; Score 20; Length 20;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 20; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 ACAGGCCCAGGACACAGAGC 20
||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 ACAGGCCCAGGACACAGAGC 20
Please see also page 323 of the reference specification, which discloses several recommended CD33-targeting sgRNAs, including SEQ ID NO: 632.
Beam teaches that, “typically Cas9 proteins, such as Cas9 from S. pyogenes (spCas9), require a canonical NGG PAM sequence to bind a particular nucleic acid region, where the “N” in “NGG” is adenine (A), thymine (T), guanine (G), or cytosine (C), and the G is guanine. A PAM can be CRISPR protein-specific and can be different between different base editors comprising different CRISPR protein-derived domains. A PAM can be 5′ or 3′ of a target sequence.” (para [236]).
Beam does not teach introducing into the cell a helper single-guide RNA which comprises SEQ ID NO: 148.
Joberty teaches, “A Tandem Guide RNA-Based Strategy for Efficient CRISPR Gene Editing of Cell Populations with Low Heterogeneity of Edited Alleles” (Title). The strategy, “avoids subcloning and achieves fast and efficient gene silencing on cell pools, based on the synergistic combination of two guide RNAs mapping at close (40–300 bp) genomic proximity” (Abstract).
NCBI Reference Sequence: NC_000019.10 teaches the human CD33 gene sequence. As shown below, the coding sequence of the gene includes a target sequence for Beam’s SEQ ID NO: 632 (i.e., the reverse complement of Beam’s SEQ ID NO: 632) and includes another valid CRISPR Cas9 target sequence (5’-CCN-3’, which is the reverse complement of the required NGG PAM site on the non-target strand) within approximately 70 nucleotides of Beam’s target sequence, which is within Joberty’s recommended window
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Beam’s method of modifying an immune cell to decrease risk of eliciting a graft- versus-host reaction by editing the CD33 gene, comprising introducing into the cell (and administering the cell to a subject) a CRISPR Cas9 nuclease, a deaminase, and a sgRNA, by trying to introduce a second, “helper” guide RNA, as taught by Joberty. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success, based on Joberty’s teachings that the helper guide RNA avoided subcloning and achieved fast and efficient gene silencing on cell pools. Beam presents a finite number of identified, predictable potential sgRNAs together with a CRISPR base editing system to edit CD33, while Joberty provides a finite window of 40-300 nucleotides for the target site of the helper guide RNA. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had good reason to try the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that the product was not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
Regarding claim 3, NCBI Reference Sequence: NC_000019.10 teaches a 20 nucleotide CRISPR target site 5’-GGTTGTCAGCTGCCCCACC-3’ downstream of the target site of Beam’s SEQ ID NO: 632, the downstream target site being the reverse complement of SEQ ID NO: 139 (which itself comprises SEQ ID NO: 148).
Regarding claims 12 and 19-20, Beam teaches, “(384) Base editing system as provided herein provides a new approach to genome editing that uses a fusion protein containing a catalytically defective Streptococcus pyogenes Cas9, a cytidine deaminase,” (para [384]).
Regarding claim 13, Beam teaches wherein the cytidine deaminase is APOBEC1 (para [476]).
Regarding claims 25-32, insofar as the combination of Beam, Joberty and NCBI Reference Sequence: NC_000019.10 renders obvious editing the immune cell using the base editing system to produce a cell with an edited CD33 in its genome, from which a mRNA may be transcribed and translated into a protein, and administering the cell to a patient undergoing cancer therapy to reduce toxicity, they render obvious the limitations of claims 25-32, which merely recite these elements.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beam, Joberty and NCBI Reference Sequence: NC_000019.10, as applied to claims 1, 3, 12-13, 19-20 and 25-32 above, further in view of U.S. PGPUB 20220290160 A1 to Lydeard (hereinafter ‘Lydeard’, priority filing date 08/28/2019) and NCBI Reference Sequence: NC_000012.12 (05/16/2021, CLL1 gene).
Beam, Joberty and NCBI Reference Sequence: NC_000019.10 render obvious the method of claim 1, from which the instantly rejected claims depend, as described above.
Beam, Joberty and NCBI Reference Sequence: NC_000019.10 do not teach wherein the sgRNA and hsgRNA respectively comprise the sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 49 and 393.
Lydeard teaches a guide RNA targeting CLL1 in “CLL1-modified cells” which are “resistant to…anti-CLL1 cancer therapy” (p. 1 ln 20-22), the gRNA comprising SEQ ID NO: 99, which is one of a finite number of recommended exemplary CLL1-targeting gRNAs (see Table 6, which lists approximately 100 possible gRNAs) and has 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 49, as shown below:
RESULT 2
US-17-638-607-99
(NOTE: this sequence has 5 duplicates in the database searched)
Sequence 99, US/17638607
Publication No. US20220290160A1
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: VOR BIOPHARMA INC.
TITLE OF INVENTION: COMPOSITIONS AND METHODS FOR CLL1 MODIFICATION
FILE REFERENCE: V0291.70005US02
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/17/638,607
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2022-02-25
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: PCT/US2020/048617
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2020-08-28
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 62/962,133
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2020-01-16
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 62/892,868
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2019-08-28
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 272
SEQ ID NO 99
LENGTH: 20
TYPE: DNA
ORGANISM: Homo sapiens
Query Match 100.0%; Score 20; Length 20;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 20; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 CAAATCCATCTCCTTGGACA 20
||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 CAAATCCATCTCCTTGGACA 20
While Lydeard does not teach the helper gRNA or its sequence, these elements are rendered obvious in combination with Joberty and NCBI Reference Sequence: NC_000012.12 . NCBI Reference Sequence: NC_000012.12 , for essentially the same rationale applied to SEQ ID NO: 139 above. NCBI Reference Sequence: NC_000012.12 is the gene sequence for CLL1 (a.k.a. CLEC12A), and it comprises a suitable target sequence downstream of the target (i.e., reverse complement) of Lydeard’s SEQ ID NO: 99, as shown below:
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have tried any of the identified, predictable gRNAs suggested by Lydeard, including the gRNA comprising SEQ ID NO: 99, to modify a target immune cell and render it resistant to cancer therapy, as also suggested by Lydeard. The ordinary artisan would further have been motivated to try adding a helper guide RNA using any of the identified, predictable target sequences (i.e., those located near a NGG PAM site, as described above) in Joberty’s 40-300 nucleotide window from the main guide RNA, based on Joberty’s teachings that the helper guide RNA avoided subcloning and achieved fast and efficient gene silencing on cell pools and aided by the known CLL1 sequence represented by NCBI Reference Sequence: NC_000012.12. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had good reason to try the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that the product was not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
Claims 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beam, Joberty and NCBI Reference Sequence: NC_000019.10, as applied to claims 1, 3, 12-13, 19-20 and 25-32 above, further in view of WIPO Publication 2020156575 A1 to Chen (published 08/06/202, priority filing date 02/02/2019).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. However, the applied reference names an additional inventor not named in the instant application. Based upon the earlier publication and effectively filed dates of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Beam, Joberty and NCBI Reference Sequence: NC_000019.10 render obvious the method of claim 1, from which the instantly rejected claims depend, as described above.
Beam, Joberty and NCBI Reference Sequence: NC_000019.10 do not teach the method further comprising introducing into the cell an inhibitory domain of a cytidine deaminase fused to the deaminase via a protease cleavage site (relevant to claims 14-16), and introducing into the cell a protease capable of cleaving at the protease cleavage site (relevant to claim 17) , such as TEV protease (relevant to claim 18).
Chen teaches, “Provided are fusion proteins and related molecules useful for conducting base editing with reduced or no off-target mutations. The fusion proteins may include a first fragment comprising a nucleobase deaminase or a catalytic domain thereof, a second fragment comprising a nucleobase deaminase inhibitory domain, and a protease cleavage site between the first fragment and the second fragment.” (Abstract).
Chen further teaches, “…a nCas9-D10A construction is packaged in an AAV vehicle. Another AAV vehicle can package the nucleic acids…for encoding: (a) a fusion protein that includes MCP, UGI, APOBEC, a TEV recognition site (TEV site), and mA3CDA2…(c) a standalone TEVn” (para [0184]). Please note that, per para [0054], mA3CDA2 is a cytidine deaminase inhibitor.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught by Beam, Joberty and NCBI Reference Sequence: NC_000019.10 to comprise an inhibitory domain of a cytidine deaminase inhibitor fused to the deaminase via a TEV protease cleavage site, and introduce a TEV protease to release the inhibitor and activate the deaminase, as taught by Chen. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so and would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on Chen’s teachings that this fusion protein was useful for conducting base editing with reduced or no off-target mutations.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed at this time.
/AMANDA M ZAHORIK/Examiner, Art Unit 1636
/BRIAN WHITEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636