DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 13 and 23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,447,400 B2. Claim 1 of the instant application recites: A solar vapor generation system, comprising: a substrate configured to wick solution from a reservoir, wherein the substrate comprises a first planar sheet at least a portion of which is configured to be in contact with the solution, and wherein the first planar sheet has a first end connected to a first end of a second planar sheet at an angle of between 1.0 and 90.0 degrees; and a support, configured to support the substrate at a position above the solution. Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,447,400 B2 recites: A solar vapor generation system, comprising: an open-topped vessel for holding a water-based solution; a substrate configured to wick solution from the open-topped vessel, wherein the substrate comprises two planar sheets connected to one another along an adjoining edge, and wherein the two planar sheets connect at an angle of between 10.0 and 90.0 degrees; and a support, configured to support the substrate. Claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,447,400 B2 recites: An apparatus for improved salt separation in an evaporation pond, comprising: a substrate configured to wick solution from the evaporation pond, wherein the substrate comprises two planar sheets connected to one another along an adjoining edge, and wherein the two planar sheets connect at an angle of between 10.0 and 90.0 degrees; a support, configured to support the substrate; and wherein a temperature of the substrate is maintained substantially at or below an ambient temperature. Claim 23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,447,400 B2 recites: A method for solar evaporation, comprising: providing a substrate configured to wick solution, wherein the substrate comprises two planar sheets connected to one another along an adjoining edge, and wherein the two planar sheets connect at an angle of between 10.0 and 90.0 degrees; exposing the substrate to solar energy; and maintaining a temperature of the substrate substantially at or below a temperature of the atmosphere.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because a species will anticipate a claim to a genus. A generic claim cannot be allowed to an applicant if the prior art discloses a species falling within the claimed genus. The species in that case will anticipate the genus. In re Slayter, 276 F.2d 408,411,125 USPQ 345,347 (CCPA 1960); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 10 USPQ2d 1614 (Fed. Cir. 1989)." In the alternative, the claims recite essentially the same, or equivalent, structure worded in a different manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites, in part, “wherein the second planar sheet and the third planar sheet are arranged on opposite sides of the first planar sheet from each other.” This recitation is grammatically confusing which caused the claim to be indefinite. In the interest of advancing prosecution, the recitation in question is interpreted as if amended as follows:
-- wherein the second planar sheet and the third planar sheet are arranged opposite from each other on opposite sides of the first planar sheet
Claims 9-30 are rejected due to their dependency, directly or indirectly, from Claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,172,767 A (hereinafter “SEAR”).
Regarding Claim 1, SEAR discloses a solar vapor generation system, comprising: a substrate configured to wick solution from a reservoir (indicated in annotated Fig. 4 above), wherein the substrate comprises a first planar sheet (indicated in annotated Fig. 4 above) at least a portion of which is configured to be in contact with the solution (indicated in annotated Fig. 4 above), and wherein the first planar sheet has a first end connected to a first end of a second planar sheet (indicated in annotated Fig. 4 above) at an angle of between 1.0 and 90.0 degrees (see Fig. 4); and a support (50), configured to support the substrate at a position above the solution (see Col. 4, Lns. 34-49: “In the modified forms of the invention shown in FIGS. 3 and 4 the water evaporation tank 10 is of the same construction as that set forth in FIG. 1 as are the pipe line and the like. However, as shown in the drawings means are provided to increase the evaporating area. Such means are illustrated in the form of cloth covered baffles 50 dispersed at random throughout the tank. These can serve as additional supports for the transparent covering. Primarily, however, when the baffles are covered with the porous material such as nylon cloth or burlap, they become saturated as a result of the capillary action by the sea water. As a consequence, without enlarging the space involved there is an increase in the evaporating area and a consequent increase in the rate of evaporation.”).
Claims 1-2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2,813,063 A (hereinafter “BJORKSTEN”).
Regarding Claims 1-2 and 7, BJORKSTEN discloses a solar vapor generation system, comprising: a substrate (17) configured to wick solution from a reservoir (see 20, 25), wherein the substrate comprises a first planar sheet (indicated in annotated Fig. 3 above) at least a portion of which is configured to be in contact with the solution (see annotated Fig. 3 above), and wherein the first planar sheet has a first end connected to a first end of a second planar sheet (indicated in annotated Fig. 3 above) at an angle of between 1.0 and 90.0 degrees (see Fig. 3); and a support (15), configured to support the substrate at a position above the solution (25); wherein the second planar sheet is configured to not directly contact the solution (see Fig. 3); further comprising a non-wicking member (14) disposed between the substrate (17) and the support (15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEAR or BJORKSTEN in view of US 2012/0264069 A1 (hereinafter “RAMIREZ”).
Regarding Claims 3-6, SEAR or BJORKSTEN do not disclose wherein the first planar sheet and/or the second planar sheet comprise more than one layer; wherein the first planar sheet and/or the second planar sheet comprise more than five layers or more than ten layers; wherein each layer is made from a same material as each other layer; wherein at least one layer is made from a different material as at least one other layer.
RAMIREZ teaches a first planar sheet and/or the second planar sheet (20A) which comprises more than one layer; wherein the first planar sheet and/or the second planar sheet comprise more than five layers or more than ten layers; wherein each layer is made from a same material as each other layer; wherein at least one layer is made from a different material as at least one other layer (see para. [0023]: “The candle wick may comprise a single layer or two or more layers of perforated or non-perforated paper material or other material as described above, wherein the same or different material may be used with multiple layer constructions.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify SEAR or BJORKSTEN wherein the first planar sheet and/or the second planar sheet comprise more than one layer; wherein the first planar sheet and/or the second planar sheet comprise more than five layers or more than ten layers; wherein each layer is made from a same material as each other layer; wherein at least one layer is made from a different material as at least one other layer as taught and/or suggested by RAMIREZ, since all of the references teach planar sheets of wicking material, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute one planar sheet of wicking material for the other to achieve the predictable result of wicking a liquid.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-30 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because the references are either in the same field of endeavor or are reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned. Please see form PTO-892 (Notice of References Cited) attached to, or included with, this Office Action.
/JORGE A PEREIRO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799