DETAILED ACTION
Remark
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on July 23, 2026, which has been entered into the file.
By this amendment, the applicant has amended claims 1,7,10,15, has canceled claims 3-5, 8-9, 11-14, 16-18, 20 and has newly added claims 21-33.
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 10, 15, 19 and 21-33 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 10, 15, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication by Schultz et al (US 2022/0075195 A1) in view of the US patent application publication by DeLapp et al (US 2020/0166756 A1).
Claim 1 has been amended to necessitate the new grounds of rejection.
Schultz et al teaches, with regard to claim 1, an optical imaging light guide (20, Figures 1, 4A, 4B , 5A and 5B) serves as the waveguide device for generating an eyebox (please see paragraph [0025]) of a display, the waveguide device is comprised of a first diffraction grating (24) configured to selectively diffract incident light (WI) according to a wavelength and/or an angle of incidence on the first diffraction grating to incouple the diffracted incident light into the waveguide device, one or more second diffraction grating (26) configured to selectively diffract the incoupled light according to a wavelength and/or an angle of incidence to direct the incoupled light through the waveguide device and one or more third diffraction grating (28) configured to selectively diffract the light propagating in the waveguide device according a wavelength and/or an angle of incidence to outcouple said propagating light beam, wherein collectively each beam of the outcoupled light (WO) generates the eyebox, (please Figure 1).
This reference has met all the limitations of the claims with exception that it does not teach that the first, second and third diffraction gratings are each of a volume phase holographic grating (VPH). DeLapp et al in the same field of endeavor teaches a waveguide display that is comprised of input coupler (114, Figure 7) and output coupler (120) wherein each of the coupler comprises volume phase holographic grating (please see paragraph [0042]). It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of DeLapp et al to make each diffraction grating a volume phase holographic grating for the benefit of making each diffraction grating with high diffraction efficiency.
Claim 1 has been amended to include the phrase “wherein a wavelength and/or angle selectivity of the first, second an third VPH gratings provides a single optical path through the waveguide device for each wavelength and/or angle of incidence of a beam of light incident on the first VPH grating and a one-to-one input to exit system in which each beam of the incoupled light has a one-to-one correspondence with a corresponding beam of outcoupled light because of the wavelength and/or angle selectivity of the first, second and third VPH gratings wherein the incoupled light is full contributes to the eyebox”.
DeLapp et al teaches that the volume phase hologram grating (VPH) has a wavelength and/or angle selectivity wherein a single optical path through the waveguide device for each wavelength and/or angle of incidence of a beam of light incident on the first VPH (148A, Figure 7). It is noted that the incident beam (158, 160, 162) each has a different incident angle that incident on the first VPH (148A) that each of the light bean with a specific incidence angle follows a single optical path through the waveguide device, (please see Figure 7). As shown in Figure 7, each beam (158, 160, or 162) of the incoupled light has a one-one-one correspondence with a corresponding beam of outcoupled light (158’, 160’ or 162’) because of the wavelength and/or angle selectivity of the VPH gratings, so that the incoupled light in full contributes to the eyebox (90).
With regard to claim 2, DeLapp et al teaches that the volume phase holographic grating implicitly comprise Bragg grating, (please see paragraph [0023]), wherein the Bragg selectivity of the first, second and third volume phase holographic gratings determines a size of generated eyebox, (please see Figure 7).
With regard to claim 6, DeLapp et al teaches the volume phase holographic grating comprises linear volume phase holographic grating (please see Figures 4 and 6).
With regard to amended claim 7, Schultz et al in light of DeLapp et al teaches that the volume phase holographic grating may comprise more than one gratings multiplexed together, (please see Figures 9-11 of DeLapp et al).
With regard to amended claim 10, DeLapp et al teaches that the waveguide device may comprise a plurality of sets of first second and/or third volume phase holographic gratings (164, 166 and 168, please see Figure 7) that each set of the volume phase holographic gratings that are in tiled arrangement in the waveguide device for different field of view or different angle of incidence of the incident light. DeLapp et al in light of Schultz et al teaches that the pitches and orientation of the first, second and third VPH gratings in each set of the tiled arrangement differ from one another, (please see Figure 7).
With regard to amended claim 15, DeLapp et al teaches that the plurality sets of the volume phase holographic gratings (148-1, 148-2 and 148-3, Figure 9) may also be provided in stacked layers in the waveguide device, (please see Figure 9).
With regard to claim 19, DeLapp et al teaches an optical system for head-up display, (please see paragraph [0021]) wherein the optical system comprises an image projector (100, Figure 3) to project an image towards an eye of a user and a combiner element comprising the waveguide device (84) positioned in a field of view of the user and in an optical path between the image projector and the eye of the user(90, Figure 3).
Claim(s) 21-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication by Hilaire (US 2018/0067318 A1) in view of the US patent application publication by DeLapp et al (US 2020/0166756 A1).
Claims 21-27 have been newly added to necessitate the new grounds of rejection.
Hilaire teaches, with regard to newly added claim 21, a waveguide device for generating an eyebox of a display that is comprised of a first volume phase holographic grating (192, please see paragraph [0036]), VPH, grating servers as in-coupling grating, one or more second VPH grating (194), serves as orthogonal pupil expander and one or more third VPH (196), serves as exit pupil expander or out-coupling grating wherein collectively each beam of outcoupled light generates side eyebox.
This reference has met all the limitations of the claims. It does not teach explicitly concerning the VPH grating selectively diffract incident light according to wavelength and/or an angle of incidence on the VPH grating.
DeLapp et al in the same field of endeavor teaches a waveguide display that is comprised of input coupler (114, Figure 7) and output coupler (120) wherein each of the coupler comprises volume phase holographic grating (please see paragraph [0042]). DeLapp et al teaches specifically that a volume phase holographic grating (VPH) is configured to selectively diffract incident light according to a wavelength and/or an angle of incidence on the first VPH grating to incouple the diffracted incident light into the waveguide device. Specifically, DeLapp et al teaches that the first VPH grating (148A, Figure 7) configured to selectively diffract incident light according to a wavelength and/or an angle of incidence on the first VPH grating to incouple the diffracted incident light into the waveguide device. DeLapp et al also teaches that the one or more third VPH (148B) configured to selectively diffract the light propagating in the waveguide device according to a wavelength and/or an angle of incidence to outcoupled the propagating light. Furthermore, Hilaire in light of DeLapp et al teaches that the one or more second VPH gratings configured to selectively diffract the incoupled light according to a wavelength and/or a n angle of incidence to direct the incoupled light through the waveguide device.
It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of DeLapp et al to specifically make the first, second and third VPH gratings to each configured to diffract light according to wavelength and/or an angle of incidence in order for the incident light with different wavelength and/or different angle of incidence be incoupled, propagate through and outcoupled a waveguide to generate the eyebox.
DeLapp et al teaches that the volume phase holographic grating implicitly comprise Bragg grating, (please see paragraph [0023]), wherein the art well-known Bragg condition determines the diffraction efficiency, diffraction properties and therefore the selectivity of the Bragg grating. The diffraction properties including the diffraction angles which determine the size of the generated eyebox.
As shown in Figure 7 of DeLapp et al, the VPH gratings each has a positioned dependent angular and wavelength bandwidth to assign to each beam or incoupled light (158, 160 or 162) a single optical path from the first VPH to the coupled light (158’, 160’ or 162’) for the outcoupled light contributing to the eyebox.
With regard to newly added claim 22, DeLapp et al teaches the volume phase holographic grating comprises linear volume phase holographic grating (please see Figures 4 and 6).
With regard to newly added claim 23, DeLapp et al teaches that the volume phase hologram grating (VPH) has a wavelength and/or angle selectivity wherein a single optical path through the waveguide device for each wavelength and/or angle of incidence of a beam of light incident on the first VPH (148A, Figure 7).
With regard to newly added claim 24, Schultz et al in light of DeLapp et al teaches that the volume phase holographic grating may comprise more than one gratings multiplexed together, (please see Figure 10 of DeLapp et al).
With regard to newly added claim 25, DeLapp et al teaches that the waveguide device may comprise a plurality of sets of first second and/or third volume phase holographic gratings (164, 166 and 168, please see Figure 7) that each set of the volume phase holographic gratings that are in tiled arrangement in the waveguide device for different field of view or different angle of incidence of the incident light. DeLapp et al in light of Schultz et al teaches that the pitches and orientation of the first, second and third VPH gratings in each set of the tiled arrangement differ from one another, (please see Figure 7).
With regard to newly added claim 26, DeLapp et al teaches that the plurality sets of the volume phase holographic gratings (148-1, 148-2 and 148-3, Figure 9) may also be provided in stacked layers in the waveguide device, (please see Figure 9).
With regard to newly added claim 27, DeLapp et al teaches an optical system for head-up display, (please see paragraph [0021]) wherein the optical system comprises an image projector (100, Figure 3) to project an image towards an eye of a user and a combiner element comprising the waveguide device (84) positioned in a field of view of the user and in an optical path between the image projector and the eye of the user(90, Figure 3).
Claim(s) 28-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication by Hilaire (US 2018/0067318 A1) in view of the US patent application publication by DeLapp et al (US 2020/0166756 A1).
Claims 28-33 have been newly added to necessitate the new grounds of rejection.
Hilaire teaches, with regard to newly added claim 28, a waveguide device for generating an eyebox of a display, wherein the waveguide device is comprised of a first volume phase holographic grating (192, please see paragraph [0036]), VPH, grating serves as in-coupling grating, one or more second VPH grating (194), serves as orthogonal pupil expander and one or more third VPH (196), serves as exit pupil expander or out-coupling grating wherein collectively each beam of outcoupled light generates the eyebox.
This reference has met all the limitations of the claims. It does not teach explicitly concerning the VPH grating selectively diffract incident light according to wavelength and/or an angle of incidence on the VPH grating.
DeLapp et al in the same field of endeavor teaches a waveguide display that is comprised of input coupler (114, Figure 7) and output coupler (120) wherein each of the coupler comprises volume phase holographic grating (please see paragraph [0042]). DeLapp et al teaches specifically that a volume phase holographic grating (VPH) is configured to selectively diffract incident light according to a wavelength and/or an angle of incidence on the first VPH grating to incouple the diffracted incident light into the waveguide device. Specifically, DeLapp et al teaches that the first VPH grating (148A, Figure 7) configured to selectively diffract incident light according to a wavelength and/or an angle of incidence on the first VPH grating to incouple the diffracted incident light into the waveguide device. DeLapp et al also teaches that the one or more third VPH (148B) configured to selectively diffract the light propagating in the waveguide device according to a wavelength and/or an angle of incidence to outcoupled the propagating light. Furthermore, Hilaire in light of DeLapp et al teaches that the one or more second VPH gratings configured to selectively diffract the incoupled light according to a wavelength and/or a n angle of incidence to direct the incoupled light through the waveguide device.
It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of DeLapp et al to specifically make the first, second and third VPH gratings to each configured to diffract light according to wavelength and/or an angle of incidence in order for the incident light with different wavelength and/or different angle of incidence be incoupled, propagate through and outcoupled a waveguide to generate the eyebox.
Hilaire et al in light of DeLapp et al teaches that the first, second and third VPH gratings are designed to control by their selectivity, a selective propagation according to angle and/or wavelength of each beam from the incoupled light (158, 160 or 162, Figure 7 of DeLapp et al) to the outcoupled light (158’, 160’ or 162’), effecting a one-to-one input to exit in which each beam of the incoupled light has a one-to-one correspondence with a corresponding beam of the outcoupled light.
With regard to newly added claim 29, DeLapp et al teaches that the volume phase holographic grating implicitly comprise Bragg grating, (please see paragraph [0023]), wherein the art well-known Bragg condition determines the diffraction efficiency, diffraction properties and therefore the selectivity of the Bragg grating. The diffraction properties including the diffraction angles which determine the size of the generated eyebox.
With regard to newly added claim 30, DeLapp et al teaches that the volume phase hologram grating (VPH) has a wavelength and/or angle selectivity wherein a single optical path through the waveguide device for each wavelength and/or angle of incidence of a beam of light incident on the first VPH (148A, Figure 7).
With regard to newly added claim 31, Schultz et al in light of DeLapp et al teaches that the volume phase holographic grating may comprise more than one gratings multiplexed together, (please see Figure 10 of DeLapp et al).
With regard to newly added claim 32, DeLapp et al teaches that the waveguide device may comprise a plurality of sets of first second and/or third volume phase holographic gratings (164, 166 and 168, please see Figure 7) that each set of the volume phase holographic gratings that are in tiled arrangement in the waveguide device for different field of view or different angle of incidence of the incident light. DeLapp et al in light of Schultz et al teaches that the pitches and orientation of the first, second and third VPH gratings in each set of the tiled arrangement differ from one another, (please see Figure 7).
With regard to newly added claim 33, DeLapp et al teaches an optical system for head-up display, (please see paragraph [0021]) wherein the optical system comprises an image projector (100, Figure 3) to project an image towards an eye of a user and a combiner element comprising the waveguide device (84) positioned in a field of view of the user and in an optical path between the image projector and the eye of the user(90, Figure 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The newly amended and newly added claims have been fully considered and they are rejected for the reasons set forth above.
Applicant’s arguments are mainly drawn to the newly amended and/or added features that have been fully addressed in the reasons for rejection set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AUDREY Y. CHANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/AUDREY Y CHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872