DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 9-12 recite, “the re-liquefaction device is a magnetic refrigerator that includes: a condenser provided in the re-liquefaction passage; and a heat dissipator provided in the delivery passage, cools the boil-off gas via the condenser by demagnetization, and releases heat generated during magnetization to hydrogen via the heat dissipator” which is unclear to the Examiner as the recitations of “cools the boil-off gas via the condenser by demagnetization” and “releases heat generated during magnetization to hydrogen via the heat dissipator” are worded as if they are method steps but are claimed as if they are components of the magnetic refrigerator. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to have a magnetic refrigerator capable of cooling the boil-off gas via the condenser by demagnetization and releasing heat generated during magnetization to hydrogen via the heat dissipator.
Claim 3, lines 6-7 recite, “in the delivery passage, the heat dissipator of the re-liquefaction device is disposed closer to the supply destination than the re-liquefaction passage is” which is unclear to the Examiner as the re-liquefaction passage is a separate passage and is not in the delivery passage. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to require the heat dissipator of the re-liquefaction device to be disposed closer to an outlet of the supply destination than to the split between the delivery passage and the re-liquefaction passage.
Claim 5, lines 7-11, recite, “the re-liquefaction device sets a temperature difference between the heat dissipator and the condenser to lower than or equal to 50 K by setting a temperature of the condenser to lower than a saturation temperature of the hydrogen and lower than or equal to 30 K and setting a temperature of the heat dissipator to higher than or equal to 20 K and higher than the temperature of the condenser” which is unclear to the Examiner as to how the re-liquefaction device is capable of setting a temperature difference the disclosed structure of the re-liquefaction device, per claim 1 from which claim 5 depends, only includes a condenser and a heat dissipator and does not include any controller or electronics capable of setting temperature differences between the condenser and the heat dissipator. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to simply require a temperature difference within the re-liquefaction device to be lower than or equal to 50 K with the condenser temperature being lower than a saturation temperature of the hydrogen and lower than or equal to 30 K and the heat dissipator temperature to higher than or equal to 20 K and higher than the temperature of the condenser.
Claims 2 and 4-5 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 3 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Irie et al. (JP 2005273681), hereinafter Irie in view of Nakamura et al. (JP 2018091391), hereinafter Nakamura.
Regarding claim 1, Irie discloses a hydrogen re-liquefaction system that re-liquefies boil-off gas produced in a liquid hydrogen tank into liquid hydrogen and returns the liquid hydrogen to the liquid hydrogen tank (Fig. 1, low temperature liquefied gas storage system 1, liquefied gas tank 10; Abstract, To provide a low temperature liquefied gas reservoir system suppressing generation of boil off gas by re-liquefying boil off gas), the hydrogen re-liquefaction system comprising:
a delivery passage through which hydrogen to be delivered from the liquid hydrogen tank to a supply destination flows (Fig. 1, pipe 81, pipe 84, pipe 86; Pg. 8, The boil-off gas G8 that is not liquefied by the gas-liquid separator 50 and is sucked into the blower 87 is: They merge at the branch pipe 90, flow through the pipe 86 as the boil-off gas G10, are heated to room temperature by the heater 60, and are sent out of the low-temperature liquefied gas storage system 1);
a re-liquefaction passage through which the boil-off gas flows (Fig. 1, branch pipe 80, pipe 82, pipe 83); and
a re-liquefaction device that cools the boil-off gas flowing through the re-liquefaction passage and condenses the boil-off gas (Fig. 1, first cooling heat exchanger 30, expansion valve 40, gas/liquid separator 50; Pg. 7, The boil-off gas G2 that has flowed into the pipe 82 is compressed by the compressor 20 and becomes high pressure, and the temperature rises. The boil-off gas G3 that has become high pressure and high temperature in the compressor 20 exchanges heat with the cooling boil-off gas G6 flowing through the pipe 84 in the first cooling heat exchanger 30. The cooling boil-off gas 84 substantially maintains the pressure and temperature evaporated in the liquefied gas tank 10, and therefore substantially maintains the saturation temperature of the liquefied gas (20.4 K for liquefied hydrogen). Therefore, the boil-off gas G3 whose temperature has been increased by the compressor 20 is cooled; Pg. 8, The boil-off gas G4, which has become low temperature at high pressure, is squeezed by the expansion valve 40 and then expanded by the gas-liquid separation device 50 immediately below, whereby the pressure decreases and the temperature also decreases. When the saturation temperature is reached, part of the boil-off gas J is liquefied again… The reliquefied boil-off gas L2 is returned to the liquefied gas tank 10 through the pipe 83. When the gas-liquid separator 50 is installed above the liquefied gas tank 10, a reflux means that is automatically configured in this way is configured).
However, Irie does not disclose wherein the re-liquefaction device is a magnetic refrigerator that includes: a condenser provided in the re-liquefaction passage; and a heat dissipator provided in the delivery passage, cools the boil-off gas via the condenser by demagnetization, and releases heat generated during magnetization to hydrogen via the heat dissipator.
Nakamura teaches wherein the re-liquefaction device is a magnetic refrigerator that includes: a condenser provided in the re-liquefaction passage; and a heat dissipator provided in the delivery passage, cools the boil-off gas via the condenser by demagnetization, and releases heat generated during magnetization to cryogen via the heat dissipator (Fig. 1, magnetic refrigerator 14, magnetic field forming unit 17, magnetic working material 18, cooling unit 22, warm end portion 20; Fig. 3; Pg. 3, The magnetic refrigerator 14 includes a magnetic field forming unit 17 that can be excited and
demagnetized. The magnetic field forming unit 17 is configured by, for example, a coil that forms a
magnetic field by passing an electric current. When a magnetic field is formed by the magnetic field
forming unit 17, the magnetic working material 18 existing in the magnetic field generates heat, and
when the magnetic field disappears, an endothermic action occurs. The heat Q .sub.H of the magnetic
working material 18 generated by applying the magnetic field is stored in the warm end portion 20.
Further, the magnetic working material 18 is demagnetized and absorbs the heat Q .sub.L from the
cooling unit 22. Thus, heat is stored by the temperature increase of the magnetic working material 18 at the warm end portion 20, and is stored by the temperature decrease of the magnetic working material 18 at the cooling portion 22. The magnetic refrigerator 14 cools the BOG with the cooling unit 22 and liquefies it. In one embodiment, as shown in FIG. 3, in the magnetic refrigerator 14, heat transfer between the magnetic working material 18, the warm end 20, and the cooling unit 22 is controlled by thermal switches 24 and 26; As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above).
Irie fails to teach wherein the re-liquefaction device is a magnetic refrigerator that includes: a condenser provided in the re-liquefaction passage; and a heat dissipator provided in the delivery passage, cools the boil-off gas via the condenser by demagnetization, and releases heat generated during magnetization to hydrogen via the heat dissipator, however Nakamura teaches that it is a known method in the art of cryogenic boil off gas re-liquefaction to include wherein the re-liquefaction device is a magnetic refrigerator that includes: a condenser provided in the re-liquefaction passage; and a heat dissipator provided in the delivery passage, cools the boil-off gas via the condenser by demagnetization, and releases heat generated during magnetization to cryogen via the heat dissipator. This is strong evidence that modifying Irie as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. recovery of thermal energy for the re-liquefaction of a cryogen to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Irie by Nakamura and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of recovery of thermal energy for the re-liquefaction of a cryogen to improve overall system efficiencies. Further, the magnetic refrigerator of Nakamura will maintain the heat transfer direction as described by Irie when modified as described herein.
Regarding claim 2, Irie as modified discloses the hydrogen re-liquefaction system according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein:
the boil-off gas that is the hydrogen to be delivered from the liquid hydrogen tank to the supply destination flows through the delivery passage (Irie, Fig. 1, pipe 84, pipe 86; Pg. 8, The boil-off gas G8 that is not liquefied by the gas-liquid separator 50 and is sucked into the blower 87 is: They merge at the branch pipe 90, flow through the pipe 86 as the boil-off gas G10, are heated to room temperature by the heater 60, and are sent out of the low-temperature liquefied gas storage system 1); and
the magnetic refrigerator releases the heat to the boil-off gas flowing through the delivery passage via the heat dissipator (Irie, Pg. 11, A part of hydrogen gas G1 (2.7 g / sec) boiled off at atmospheric pressure (saturation temperature of 20.4 K) in the liquefied gas tank 10 is set to a compressor 20 (adiabatic efficiency 60%). To 4 atm (discharged gas temperature 44K). The compression work in the compressor 20 at this time is about 200 W. The compressed hydrogen gas G3 enters the first cooling heat exchanger 30 and is cooled to a saturated liquid state (4 atm, 26.1 K). Subsequently, when adiabatic expansion to 1 atm is performed by the expansion valve 40, 0.6 g / sec of hydrogen corresponding to about 20% of the boil-off gas G1 (2.7 g / sec) is reliquefied. Therefore, 0.1 g / sec of hydrogen gas G8 is separated by the gas-liquid separator 50. The boil-off gas that has not been passed to the compressor 20, that is, the cooling boil-off gas G6 (2.0 g / sec) is introduced into the first cooling heat exchanger 30 as a cooling source, and the cooling boil-off gas G7 is up to 42K. The temperature is raised. The hydrogen gas G8 is sent to the heater 60 together with the cooling boil-off gas G7; Nakamura, Pg. 3, The magnetic refrigerator 14 includes a magnetic field forming unit 17 that can be excited and demagnetized. The magnetic field forming unit 17 is configured by, for example, a coil that forms a magnetic field by passing an electric current. When a magnetic field is formed by the magnetic field forming unit 17, the magnetic working material 18 existing in the magnetic field generates heat, and when the magnetic field disappears, an endothermic action occurs. The heat Q .sub.H of the magnetic working material 18 generated by applying the magnetic field is stored in the warm end portion 20. Further, the magnetic working material 18 is demagnetized and absorbs the heat Q .sub.L from the cooling unit 22. Thus, heat is stored by the temperature increase of the magnetic working material 18 at the warm end portion 20, and is stored by the temperature decrease of the magnetic working material 18 at the cooling portion 22. The magnetic refrigerator 14 cools the BOG with the cooling unit 22 and liquefies it. In one embodiment, as shown in FIG. 3, in the magnetic refrigerator 14, heat transfer between the magnetic working material 18, the warm end 20, and the cooling unit 22 is controlled by thermal switches 24 and 26). Further, the limitations of claim 2 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, Irie as modified discloses the hydrogen re-liquefaction system according to claim 2 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 2 above), wherein:
the delivery passage is connected to the liquid hydrogen tank (Irie, Fig. 1, pipe 81; Pg. 5, A pipe 81 for conveying boil-off gas is connected to the upper part of the liquefied gas tank 10);
the re-liquefaction passage is connected to the liquid hydrogen tank via the delivery passage (Irie, Fig. 1, branch pipe 80; Pg. 5, The pipe 81 is bifurcated by a branch pipe 80 as a branch part that divides the flow of the boil-off gas. That is, a pipe 82 that reaches the first cooling heat exchanger 30 through the compressor 20 and a pipe 84 that reaches the first cooling heat exchanger 30 without passing through the compressor 20); and
in the delivery passage, the heat dissipator of the re-liquefaction device is disposed closer to the supply destination than the re-liquefaction passage is (Fig. 1 of Irie depicts the hot side (heat dissipator) of the first cooling heat exchanger to be located closer to closer to an outlet of the supply destination than to the branch pipe 80; Further, the magnetic refrigerator of Nakamura will maintain the same arrangement when modified as described herein; As best understood, see 112(b) rejection above). Further, the limitations of claim 3 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 5, Irie as modified discloses the hydrogen re-liquefaction system according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein:
the delivery passage includes a first insulation structure that shuts off heat input to the hydrogen (Irie, Pg. 7, In the above description, it has been described that only the liquefied gas tank 10 and the gas-liquid separator 50 are provided with a heat insulating layer or a heat insulating material, but other devices and pipes are also provided with a heat insulating layer or a heat insulating material. The heat insulating layer or the heat insulating material suppresses heat input to the low-temperature liquefied gas in the low-temperature liquefied gas storage system 1, and when a worker or the like contacts a part of the low-temperature liquefied gas storage system 1, The risk of waking up is avoided; Further, the teachings of Irie at least imply the delivery passage includes a first insulation structure that shuts off heat input to the hydrogen since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01));
the re-liquefaction passage includes a second insulation structure that shuts off heat input to the boil-off gas (Irie, Pg. 7, In the above description, it has been described that only the liquefied gas tank 10 and the gas-liquid separator 50 are provided with a heat insulating layer or a heat insulating material, but other devices and pipes are also provided with a heat insulating layer or a heat insulating material. The heat insulating layer or the heat insulating material suppresses heat input to the low-temperature liquefied gas in the low-temperature liquefied gas storage system 1, and when a worker or the like contacts a part of the low-temperature liquefied gas storage system 1, The risk of waking up is avoided; Further, the teachings of Irie at least imply the re-liquefaction passage includes a second insulation structure that shuts off heat input to the boil-off gas since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)); and
the re-liquefaction device sets a temperature difference between the heat dissipator and the condenser to lower than or equal to 50 K by setting a temperature of the condenser to lower than a saturation temperature of the hydrogen and lower than or equal to 30 K and setting a temperature of the heat dissipator to higher than or equal to 20 K and higher than the temperature of the condenser (Irie, Pg. 11, A part of hydrogen gas G1 (2.7 g / sec) boiled off at atmospheric pressure (saturation temperature of 20.4 K) in the liquefied gas tank 10 is set to a compressor 20 (adiabatic efficiency 60%). To 4 atm (discharged gas temperature 44K). The compression work in the compressor 20 at this time is about 200 W. The compressed hydrogen gas G3 enters the first cooling heat exchanger 30 and is cooled to a saturated liquid state (4 atm, 26.1 K). Subsequently, when adiabatic expansion to 1 atm is performed by the expansion valve 40, 0.6 g / sec of hydrogen corresponding to about 20% of the boil-off gas G1 (2.7 g / sec) is reliquefied. Therefore, 0.1 g / sec of hydrogen gas G8 is separated by the gas-liquid separator 50. The boil-off gas that has not been passed to the compressor 20, that is, the cooling boil-off gas G6 (2.0 g / sec) is introduced into the first cooling heat exchanger 30 as a cooling source, and the cooling boil-off gas G7 is up to 42K. The temperature is raised. The hydrogen gas G8 is sent to the heater 60 together with the cooling boil-off gas G7; Further, the magnetic refrigerator of Nakamura would be responsible for enacting the temperature difference described by Irie to achieve re-liquefaction of the boil off gas; As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above). Further, the limitations of claim 5 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Irie as modified by Nakamura as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tanaka et al. (US 20170291486), hereinafter Tanaka.
Regarding claim 4, Irie as modified discloses the hydrogen re-liquefaction system according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Irie as modified does not disclose wherein:
the liquid hydrogen that is the hydrogen to be delivered from the liquid hydrogen tank to the supply destination flows through the delivery passage; and
the re-liquefaction device releases the heat to the liquid hydrogen flowing through the delivery passage via the heat dissipator.
Tanaka teaches wherein:
the liquid hydrogen that is the hydrogen to be delivered from the liquid hydrogen tank to the supply destination flows through the delivery passage (Fig. 3, hydrogen fuel supply system 1A', tank 2, use point 3, supply line 4, pipe 41, heat exchanger 40); and
the re-liquefaction device releases the heat to the liquid hydrogen flowing through the delivery passage via the heat dissipator (Pg. 4, paragraph 43, In this case, for example, as shown in FIG. 3, the heat exchanger 40 which performs heat exchange between the liquid hydrogen having been taken out of the tank 2 in the supply line 4 and the BOG with the pressure having been increased by the compressor 72 in the BOG pressurization line 7 may be provided. In the heat exchanger 40, the liquid hydrogen having been taken out of the tank 2 in the supply line 4 is vaporized, and the BOG with the pressure having been pressurized by the compressor 72 in the BOG pressurization
line 7 is cooled).
Irie as modified fails to teach the liquid hydrogen that is the hydrogen to be delivered from the liquid hydrogen tank to the supply destination flows through the delivery passage; and the re-liquefaction device releases the heat to the liquid hydrogen flowing through the delivery passage via the heat dissipator, however Tanaka teaches that it is a known method in the art of hydrogen fuel supply to include the liquid hydrogen that is the hydrogen to be delivered from the liquid hydrogen tank to the supply destination flows through the delivery passage; and the re-liquefaction device releases the heat to the liquid hydrogen flowing through the delivery passage via the heat dissipator. This is strong evidence that modifying Irie as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. supplying gaseous hydrogen to a supply destination). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Irie as modified by Tanaka and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of supplying gaseous hydrogen to a supply destination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Grenier et al. (CA 2044847) discloses a similar hydrogen re-liquefaction system.
White et al. (US Patent No. 6,336,331) discloses as similar magnetic refrigerator for use in cryogenic BOG re-liquefaction.
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 January 27th, 2026
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763