DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US. Patent 10,593,426 to Amarasingham et al. in view of U.S. Patent 10,373,716 to Vleugels et al.
As to claims 1, , Amarasingham discloses a transitional care, comprising the following steps:
investigating readiness for hospital discharge of a patient to obtain an investigation result on
the readiness for hospital discharge (Amarasingham column 32 lines 51-61);
judging whether transitional care is necessary according to the investigation result on the
readiness for hospital discharge, and if the transitional care is necessary, performing the
transitional care according to the following steps (Amarasingham column 32 lines 51-61):
obtaining body weight and height of the patient within a first time period (Amarasingham column 7 lines 49-67; column 4 lines 3-11);
photographing the patient within the first time period to obtain a photo of the patient (Amarasingham column 20 lines 1-28); and
obtaining a skin color and/or a sclera color of the patient according to the photo (Amarasingham column 20 lines 1-28);
issuing a health education propaganda video to the patient and/or a guardian of the patient within a second time period, wherein the video is used for teaching the patient and/or the guardian of the patient to learn health education knowledge (Amarasingham column 28 lines 18-67); and
assessing the health education knowledge of the patient and/or the guardian of the patient within a third time period to obtain an assessment result on the health education knowledge (Amarasingham column 28 lines 18-67 see surveys);
medical personnel conducting a consultation according to the skin color of the patient and/or the sclera color of the patient, and providing a corresponding care plan (Amarsingham column 9 lines 1-44 and column 20 lines 1-28).
However, Amarsingham does not explicitly teach
sending the care plan to the patient and/or the guardian of the patient. method for children with liver diseases installing a monitoring device on the patient to recognize food eaten by the patient in real time, and judging whether the food eaten by the patient is edible; and
if the food is not edible, the monitoring device sending out reminding information that the food is not edible.
Vleugels discloses
sending the care plan to the patient and/or the guardian of the patient installing a monitoring device on the patient to recognize food eaten by the patient in real time, and judging whether the food eaten by the patient is edible (Vleugels column 8 lines 4-21; column 20 lines 3-31 and column 21 lines 44-67); and
if the food is not edible, the monitoring device sending out reminding information that the food is not edible (Vleugels column 8 lines 4-21; column 20 lines 3-31 and column 21 lines 44-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to monitor food intake as in Vleugels in the remote patient monitoring system of Amarsingham to improve patient care by assessing nutritional needs.
However, Amarsingham and Vleugels do not explicitly teach that this method is for children with liver diseases. This is an intended use of the claimed invention and does not patentably distinguish from the teachings of Amarsingham and Vleugels.
As to claim 2, see the discussion of claim 1, additionally, Amarasingham discloses the method wherein, the investigation on the readiness for hospital discharge comprises:
an investigation on discharge preparation (Amarasingham column 32 lines 25-67)
As to claim 3, see the discussion of claim 1, additionally, Amarasingham discloses the method wherein, the step of photographing the patient within the first time period to obtain the photo of the patient comprises the following steps:
photographing to obtain at least one first image including the skin of the patient within the first
time period(Amarasingham column 20 lines 1-28).
As to claim 4, see the discussion of claim 3, additionally, Amarasingham discloses the method wherein, the step of obtaining the skin color and/or the sclera color of the patient according to the photo comprises the following steps:
processing the first image and/or the second image based on a first preset network model to
obtain an image type (Amarasingham column 20 lines 1-28);
selecting a second preset network model according to the image type and processing the first
image to obtain the skin color of the patient (Amarasingham column 20 lines 1-28); and
selecting the second preset network model according to the image type and processing the
second image to obtain the sclera color of the patient (Amarasingham column 20 lines 1-28).
As to claim 5, see the discussion of claim 1, additionally, Vleugels discloses the method wherein, the step of installing the monitoring device on the patient to recognize the food eaten by the patient in real time and judging whether the food eaten by the patient is edible comprises the following steps:
installing the monitoring device on the patient to obtain a video image of the food eaten by the
patient in real time (Vleugels column 31 lines 1-67);
processing the video image based on a third preset network model to obtain a type of the food
eaten by the patient (Vleugels column 31 lines 1-67); and
judging whether the food type is edible according to recipe information preset in the monitoring
device; if the food type is within the preset recipe information, judging that the food type is
edible correspondingly; and if the food type is not within the preset recipe information, judging
that the food type is not edible correspondingly (Vleugels column 31 lines 1-67 and column 32 lines 1-10).
As to claim 6, see the discussion of claim 1, additionally, Vleugels discloses the method wherein, the method further comprises the following steps:
installing the monitoring device on the patient to obtain an amount of exercise of the patient (Vleugels column 21 lines 1-67); and
judging whether the amount of exercise exceeds a threshold, and if the amount of exercise exceeds the threshold, the monitoring device sending out reminding information that the amount of exercise exceeds the threshold (Vleugels column 21 lines 1-67).
As to claim 7, Amarasingham discloses a transitional cacomprising a server, a monitoring device, a medical terminal and a patient terminal (Amarsingham figure 1); wherein
the server is used for investigating readiness for hospital discharge of a patient to obtain an
investigation result on the readiness for hospital discharge (Amarasingham column 32 lines 51-61);
the server is further used for judging whether transitional care is necessary according to the
investigation result on the readiness for hospital discharge (Amarasingham column 32 lines 51-61):
the server is further used for obtaining a skin color and/or a sclera color of the patient according
to a photo (Amarasingham column 20 lines 1-28);
the server is further used for issuing a health education propaganda video to the patient and/or
a guardian of the patient within a second time period, wherein the video is used for teaching
the patient and/or the guardian of the patient to learn health education knowledge; and assessing
the health education knowledge of the patient and/or the guardian of the patient within a third
time period to obtain an assessment result on the health education knowledge (Amarasingham column 28 lines 18-67); and
the patient terminal is used for obtaining body weight and height of the patient within a first
time period, and photographing the patient within the first time period to obtain the photo of
the patient; (Amarasingham column 7 lines 49-67; column 4 lines 3-11);
and
the medical terminal is used for medical personnel to conduct a consultation according to the
skin color of the patient
and/or the sclera color of the patient (Amarsingham column 9 lines 1-44 and column 20 lines 1-28).
However, Amarsingham does not explicitly teach
the server is further used for sending a care plan to the patient and/or the guardian of the patient;
the monitoring device is used for recognizing food eaten by the patient in real time, judging
whether the food eaten by the patient is edible, and sending out reminding information that the
food is not edible if the food is not edible;
the monitoring device is further used for obtaining an amount of exercise of the patient, judging
whether the amount of exercise exceeds a threshold, and sending out reminding information
that the amount of exercise exceeds the threshold if the amount of exercise exceeds the
threshold;
Vleugels discloses
the server is further used for sending a care plan to the patient and/or the guardian of the patient (Vleugels column 8 lines 4-21; column 20 lines 3-31 and column 21 lines 44-67);
the monitoring device is used for recognizing food eaten by the patient in real time, judging
whether the food eaten by the patient is edible, and sending out reminding information that the
food is not edible if the food is not edible (Vleugels column 8 lines 4-21; column 20 lines 3-31 and column 21 lines 44-67);
the monitoring device is further used for obtaining an amount of exercise of the patient, judging
whether the amount of exercise exceeds a threshold, and sending out reminding information
that the amount of exercise exceeds the threshold if the amount of exercise exceeds the
threshold (Vleugels column 21 lines 1-67);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to monitor food intake as in Vleugels in the remote patient monitoring system of Amarsingham to improve patient care by assessing nutritional needs.
However, Amarsingham and Vleugels do not explicitly teach that this method is for children with liver diseases. This is an intended use of the claimed invention and does not patentably distinguish from the teachings of Amarsingham and Vleugels.
As to claim 8, see the discussion of claim 1, additionally, Amarsingham discloses the system wherein, the server comprises:
a patient investigation module for investigating readiness for hospital discharge of a patient to
obtain an investigation result on the readiness for hospital discharge (Amarasingham column 32 lines 51-61):
a care judgment module for judging whether transitional care is necessary according to the
investigation result on the readiness for hospital discharge (Amarasingham column 32 lines 51-61):
a color obtaining module for obtaining a skin color and/or a sclera color of the patient according
to a photo (Amarasingham column 20 lines 1-28);
a training assessment module for issuing a health education propaganda video to the patient
and/or a guardian of the patient within a second time period, wherein the video is used for
teaching the patient and/or the guardian of the patient to learn health education knowledge (Amarasingham column 28 lines 18-67); and
assessing the health education knowledge of the patient and/or the guardian of the patient within
a third time period to obtain an assessment result on the health education knowledge (Amarasingham column 28 lines 18-67); and
However, Amarsingham does not explicitly teach a plan sending module for sending a care plan to the patient and/or the guardian of the patient.
Vleugels discloses sending module for sending a care plan to the patient and/or the guardian of the patient (Vleugels column 8 lines 4-21; column 20 lines 3-31 and column 21 lines 44-67).
As to claim 9, see the discussion of claim 7, additionally, Vleugels discloses the method wherein, the monitoring device comprises:
a food judgment module for recognizing food eaten by the patient in real time, judging whether
the food eaten by the patient is edible, and sending out reminding information that the food is not edible if the food is not edible (Vleugels column 31 lines 1-67); and and
a judgment module on an amount of exercise for obtaining an amount of exercise of the patient
and judging whether the amount of exercise exceeds a threshold, wherein the monitoring device
sends out reminding information that the amount of exercise exceeds the threshold if the amount of exercise exceeds the threshold (Vleugels column 31 lines 1-67 and column 32 lines 1-10).
As to claim 10, Shengjing Hospital of China Medical University discloses A computer-readable storage medium, on which a computer program is stored, wherein, the computer program is executed by a processor to implement the transitional care method for children with liver diseases according claim 1.
As to claims 11-15, see the discussion of claims 2-6, Amarasingham and Vleugels disclose a computer-readable storage medium (Amarasingham column 6 lines 39-58 and Vleugels column 49 lines 1-24)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 112802595A to Shengjing Hospital of China Medical University.
U.S. Patent Application Publication 20090319298 to Weiss et al.
/ELIZA A LAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3681