DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isoda et al. (JP2020176085, disclosed by applicant) in view of Miyahara et al. (US Patent Pub. 20190029932).
Isoda et al. disclose oil-in-water skin composition for wrinkle improvement and antiaging ([0001], example 20 and 32) (components E and F). Isoda et al. disclose the composition comprises a cyclic carboxamide derivative including 1-(2-hydroxyethyl)-2-imidazolidinone, which meets the limitation of component (A) at a concentration of 0.1 to 5% by mass ([0060] and [0069]). Isoda et al. disclose the composition comprises UV absorbers ([0074]). Isoda et al. disclose the composition comprises ceteth-30, isoceteth-30, PEG-25 stearate and beheneth-20 (component (B)) and higher fatty acids such as oleic acid, isostearic acid, lauric acid, myristic acid, palmitic acid, stearic acid, bechenic acid, and undesylene acid; cetyl alcohol, stearyl alcohol, isostearyl alcohol, behenyl alcohol, octyldodeca (component (C)), propylene glycol fatty acid esters (propylene glycol monostearate, etc.) (component D) Hardened castor oil derivative, glycerin alkyl ether, POE sorbitan fatty acid esters (POE sorbitan monooleate, polyoxyethylene sorbitan monostearate, etc.), (component G), nicotinic acid derivative, nicotinamide, nicotinic acid ester and the like are preferable, and as the nicotinic acid ester, tocopherol nicotinate, benzyl nicotinate, methyl nicotinate, ethyl nicotinate and the like are preferable (component H), ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate at a concentration of 50% or less and water (examples 20 and 32).
Isoda et al. differs from the instant claims insofar as they do not disclose a composition comprising component (A) - (F).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the components (A) - (F) of Isoda. The motivation to incorporate the components (A) - (F) is because Isoda teaches the variables that are compatible for making the oil-in-water formulation include a cyclic carboxamide derivative, ceteth-30, isoceteth-30, PEG-25 stearate and beheneth-20 , higher fatty acids, propylene glycol fatty acid esters, nicotinic acid deriv., oil and water. A skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation of successfully achieving similar efficacy and results. With respect to the amounts, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (MPEP § 2144.05(1)) Moreover, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (MPEP § 2144.05(Il)) “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.” In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18695084 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both comprise the cyclic carboxamide derivative, ceteth-30, isoceteth-30, PEG-25 stearate and beheneth-20 , higher fatty acids, propylene glycol fatty acid esters, nicotinic acid deriv., oil and water. The claims are rendered obvious over 18695084.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/LAYLA SOROUSH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622