Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 21, 2024 and September 4, 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kerofsky et al (US 2011/0001737).
As per claim 1 Kerofsky et al discloses: An image processing method, carried out by an image processing device, the method comprising:
analyzing brightness information of a portion of a source image {figure 6:60 & [0081] Some embodiments of the present invention may be described with reference to FIG. 6. In these embodiments, a sensor may be used to measure 60 a surround characteristic or condition. In some embodiments, the surround characteristic may be related to the intensity of light incident on a display. In some embodiments, the measured surround characteristic may be processed or used as input for a calculation that yields a more relevant surround characteristic. & [0082] The measured or calculated surround characteristic may then be input to a perceptual brightness model, which may be used to generate 62 a surround-specific display model};
calculating a luminance control value based on the brightness information of the portion of the source image { figure 6:62 & [0082] The measured or calculated surround characteristic may then be input to a perceptual brightness model, which may be used to generate 62 a surround-specific display model. The display model may comprise data that relates an input image code value to a display output value. In some embodiments, the display model may relate an input code value to a white point. In some embodiments, the display model may comprise a tonescale operation.}; and
adjusting a maximum display luminance of a display apparatus based on the luminance control value { figure 6:66 & [0083] In some embodiments, an input image may be received 64 and processed 66 with the display model. In some embodiments, this process may comprise mapping image data to a white point. In some embodiments, this process may comprise application of a tonescale operation to image data.}.
As per claim 2 Kerofsky et al discloses: The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the step of calculating the luminance control value based on the brightness information comprises: { [0058] Some embodiments of the present invention comprise methods and systems for constructing and applying a family of display models which yield similar perceived display values in different ambient viewing environments.}
calculating a first tone mapping function based on the brightness information of the portion of the source image; calculating a brightness compensation value by using the first tone mapping function; and determining the luminance control value based on the brightness compensation value { [0113] Some embodiments of the present invention may be described with reference to FIG. 15. In these embodiments, an ambient illumination sensor 162 provides input to a brightness preservation backlight selection and tonescale generation module (BPBT) 161. The BPBT 161 also receives input from the input image 160 as actual image data or image characteristic data derived from input image 160. In some embodiments, a separate module may analyze input image 160 and provide image analysis data, e.g., a histogram, average gray level or other data, to the BPBT 161. Based on the ambient conditions received from ambient sensor 162 and image data received from input image 160, the BPBT 161 may calculate an appropriate backlight selection that may be sent to the display backlight 163 for use in displaying input image 160 or an enhanced version thereof. The BPBT 161 may also generate a tone scale curve that is dependent on both the ambient conditions and the image content. The tone scale curve may be sent to a tone scale application module 164 for image modification. The image produced by applying the tone scale to the image 160 is an enhanced image 165, which may be displayed with the selected backlight level used in backlight 165.}.
As per claim 3 Kerofsky et al discloses: The method as claimed in claim 2, { [0058] Some embodiments of the present invention comprise methods and systems for constructing and applying a family of display models which yield similar perceived display values in different ambient viewing environments.}
wherein the brightness compensation value is the difference between function values of the first tone mapping function and a reference tone mapping curve {[0095] Based on reference display module 113 input, such as display panel limitations 112, and image analysis module 111 input, the BLS module 114 may select a backlight setting or level that is appropriate for the display and the image 110. This selected backlight setting 115 may then be sent to a BP tonescale or gain design module 116, which may generate a tonescale or gain function or operation that will compensate the image 110 for the change in backlight setting performed by the BLS module 114}.
As per claim 4 Kerofsky et al discloses: The method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: { [0058] Some embodiments of the present invention comprise methods and systems for constructing and applying a family of display models which yield similar perceived display values in different ambient viewing environments.} adjusting pixel data of the portion of the source image based on the brightness information; wherein the pixel data comprises a pixel value of each of a plurality of pixels of the portion of the source image {[0113] Some embodiments of the present invention may be described with reference to FIG. 15. In these embodiments, an ambient illumination sensor 162 provides input to a brightness preservation backlight selection and tonescale generation module (BPBT) 161. The BPBT 161 also receives input from the input image 160 as actual image data or image characteristic data derived from input image 160. In some embodiments, a separate module may analyze input image 160 and provide image analysis data, e.g., a histogram, average gray level or other data, to the BPBT 161. Based on the ambient conditions received from ambient sensor 162 and image data received from input image 160, the BPBT 161 may calculate an appropriate backlight selection that may be sent to the display backlight 163 for use in displaying input image 160 or an enhanced version thereof. Note: an image and image data includes pixels.}.
As per claim 11 Kerofsky et al discloses: An image processing device, comprising:
a content analyzer module, configured to analyze brightness information of a portion of a source image {figure 6:60 & [0081] Some embodiments of the present invention may be described with reference to FIG. 6. In these embodiments, a sensor may be used to measure 60 a surround characteristic or condition. In some embodiments, the surround characteristic may be related to the intensity of light incident on a display. In some embodiments, the measured surround characteristic may be processed or used as input for a calculation that yields a more relevant surround characteristic. & [0082] The measured or calculated surround characteristic may then be input to a perceptual brightness model, which may be used to generate 62 a surround-specific display model}; and
a luminance control module, configured to calculate a luminance control value based on the brightness information of the portion of the source image { figure 6:62 & [0082] The measured or calculated surround characteristic may then be input to a perceptual brightness model, which may be used to generate 62 a surround-specific display model. The display model may comprise data that relates an input image code value to a display output value. In some embodiments, the display model may relate an input code value to a white point. In some embodiments, the display model may comprise a tonescale operation.}, and
to adjust a maximum display luminance of a display apparatus based on the luminance control value { figure 6:66 & [0083] In some embodiments, an input image may be received 64 and processed 66 with the display model. In some embodiments, this process may comprise mapping image data to a white point. In some embodiments, this process may comprise application of a tonescale operation to image data.}.
As per claim 12 Kerofsky et al discloses: The image processing device as claimed in claim 11, wherein the luminance control module is further configured { [0058] Some embodiments of the present invention comprise methods and systems for constructing and applying a family of display models which yield similar perceived display values in different ambient viewing environments.}
to calculate a first tone mapping function based on the brightness information of the portion of the source image; wherein the luminance control module is further configured to calculate a brightness compensation value by using the first tone mapping function; and wherein the luminance control module is further configured to determine the luminance control value based on the brightness compensation value { [0113] Some embodiments of the present invention may be described with reference to FIG. 15. In these embodiments, an ambient illumination sensor 162 provides input to a brightness preservation backlight selection and tonescale generation module (BPBT) 161. The BPBT 161 also receives input from the input image 160 as actual image data or image characteristic data derived from input image 160. In some embodiments, a separate module may analyze input image 160 and provide image analysis data, e.g., a histogram, average gray level or other data, to the BPBT 161. Based on the ambient conditions received from ambient sensor 162 and image data received from input image 160, the BPBT 161 may calculate an appropriate backlight selection that may be sent to the display backlight 163 for use in displaying input image 160 or an enhanced version thereof. The BPBT 161 may also generate a tone scale curve that is dependent on both the ambient conditions and the image content. The tone scale curve may be sent to a tone scale application module 164 for image modification. The image produced by applying the tone scale to the image 160 is an enhanced image 165, which may be displayed with the selected backlight level used in backlight 165.}.
As per claim 13 Kerofsky et al discloses: The image processing device as claimed in claim 12, wherein the brightness compensation value is the difference between function values of the first tone mapping function and a reference tone mapping curve {[0095] Based on reference display module 113 input, such as display panel limitations 112, and image analysis module 111 input, the BLS module 114 may select a backlight setting or level that is appropriate for the display and the image 110. This selected backlight setting 115 may then be sent to a BP tonescale or gain design module 116, which may generate a tonescale or gain function or operation that will compensate the image 110 for the change in backlight setting performed by the BLS module 114}.
As per claim 14 Kerofsky et al discloses: The image processing device as claimed in claim 11, further comprising: a pixel data control module, configured to { [0058] Some embodiments of the present invention comprise methods and systems for constructing and applying a family of display models which yield similar perceived display values in different ambient viewing environments.} adjust pixel data of the portion of the source image based on the brightness information; wherein the pixel data comprises a pixel value of each of a plurality of pixels of the portion of the source image {[0113] Some embodiments of the present invention may be described with reference to FIG. 15. In these embodiments, an ambient illumination sensor 162 provides input to a brightness preservation backlight selection and tonescale generation module (BPBT) 161. The BPBT 161 also receives input from the input image 160 as actual image data or image characteristic data derived from input image 160. In some embodiments, a separate module may analyze input image 160 and provide image analysis data, e.g., a histogram, average gray level or other data, to the BPBT 161. Based on the ambient conditions received from ambient sensor 162 and image data received from input image 160, the BPBT 161 may calculate an appropriate backlight selection that may be sent to the display backlight 163 for use in displaying input image 160 or an enhanced version thereof. Note: an image and image data includes pixels.}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerofsky et al (US 2011/0001737) in view of Kang et al (US 2018/0082661).
Regarding per claims 8 and 18 Kerofsky et al is silent as to: The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the step of adjusting maximum display luminance of the display apparatus based on the luminance control value comprises: generating a pulse-width modulation (PWM) signal based on the luminance control value; and transmitting the PWM signal to a backlight layer of a display panel of the display apparatus. With respect to claims 8 and 18 Kang et al discloses: [0050] The third control signal BCONT may include a pulse width modulation (PWM) signal, and/or the like. & [0053] The backlight circuit 500 provides light LI to the display panel 100 based on the third control signal BCONT. For example, the backlight circuit 500 may include a plurality of light sources, for example, light emitting diodes (LEDs). The backlight circuit 500 may operate based on a global dimming scheme and/or a local dimming scheme.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the method of the display of Kerofsky et al with the step of adjusting maximum display luminance of the display apparatus based on the luminance control value comprises: generating a pulse-width modulation (PWM) signal based on the luminance control value; and transmitting the PWM signal to a backlight layer of a display panel of the display apparatus as taught by Kang et al . The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a method of a display with the step of adjusting maximum display luminance of the display apparatus based on the luminance control value comprises: generating a pulse-width modulation (PWM) signal based on the luminance control value; and transmitting the PWM signal to a backlight layer of a display panel of the display apparatus to control the maximum display luminance of the display.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerofsky et al (US 2011/0001737) in view of Kimura (US 2015/0243228).
Regarding claims 9 and 19 Kerofsky et al is silent as to: The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the brightness information comprises one or more of the following: an average pixel value, a maximum pixel value, a medium pixel value, a distribution of pixel brightness, a cumulative distribution function of pixel brightness, a probability density function of pixel brightness, and a pixel count ratio between brightness areas. With respect to claims 9 and 19 Kimura discloses: [0062] To display all the pixels within the correspondence region at a brightness corresponding to the pixel values, the emission brightness of each correspondence region is set such that the image is displayed at a brightness corresponding to the maximum value of the pixel value in the correspondence region.
[0077] In some exemplary embodiments, the first value may be substantially the same as the number of pixels having the first peak luminance in the input image. Similarly, the second value may be substantially the same as the number of pixels having the second peak luminance in the input image, and the third value may be substantially the same as the number of pixels having the average luminance in the input image.}
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide a method of Kerofsky et al with the brightness information comprises one or more of the following: an average pixel value, a maximum pixel value, a medium pixel value, a distribution of pixel brightness, a cumulative distribution function of pixel brightness, a probability density function of pixel brightness, and a pixel count ratio between brightness areas as taught by Kimura. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a method with the brightness information comprises one or more of the following: an average pixel value, a maximum pixel value, a medium pixel value, a distribution of pixel brightness, a cumulative distribution function of pixel brightness, a probability density function of pixel brightness, and a pixel count ratio between brightness areas so as to “increase rate of the emission brightness of the light-emitting device based on the input image data.” See [0060].
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerofsky et al (US 2011/0001737) in view of Li et al (US 2021/0020140).
Regarding claims 10 and 20 Kerofsky et al discloses: The method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: lowering the maximum display luminance of the display apparatus regardless of the brightness information in response to the display apparatus being in a power saving mode. With respect to claims 10 and 20 Li et al discloses: [0044] In low power mode, control circuitry 12 may lower the current display brightness setting, may impose a cap on the brightness level, and/or may reduce the luminance of specular highlights or may make other adjustments that help reduce the power consumption of display.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the method of Kerofsky et al with lowering the maximum display luminance of the display apparatus regardless of the brightness information in response to the display apparatus being in a power saving mode as taught by Li et al. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a method with lowering the maximum display luminance of the display apparatus regardless of the brightness information in response to the display apparatus being in a power saving mode so as to save energy.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DAVID D DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627
DDD