DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Haran (US 20180287437) in view of Cao et al. (US 2015/0318742).
Regarding claim 7, Haran discloses:
A rotor for a rotating electric machine (abstract) including
a magnetic ring (para 42) comprising a predetermined number of pairs of poles (para 42, Figs 3A, 3B),
the magnetic ring being formed by an oriented-flux magnet segmented into at least two sub-magnets (Figs 3A, 3B),
Haran does not explicitly appear to teach wherein the minimum value out of an outer perimeter of the ring and the axial length of the ring is greater than the minimum value out of the value of a predetermined reference length and twice the value Pi, or wherein the reference length is equal to the maximum value selected out of the axial length, the height or the perimeter of the ring.
However, since Haran teaches to reduce the overall size of the motor (para 41), choose a radial thickness and length for the magnetic ring (para 42) and to choose inner and outer diameters of a rotor (para 85), and although increasing motor size can increase efficiency, it also corresponds to a substantial increase in weight, which may generally prevent substantial increases in motor size for some applications (e.g., aviation -para 83), to reduce size (para 72), choosing conductor wire sizes (para 53), selecting magnets based on size (para 62). Therefore, a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of wherein the minimum value out of the outer perimeter of the ring and the axial length of the ring is greater than the minimum value out of the value of a predetermined reference length and twice the value Pi, and wherein the reference length is equal to the maximum value selected out of the axial length, the height or the perimeter of the ring, in order to achieve weight savings and direct flux as wanted (para 42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Haran wherein the minimum value out of the outer perimeter of the ring and the axial length of the ring is greater than the minimum value out of the value of a predetermined reference length and twice the value Pi and wherein the reference length is equal to the maximum value selected out of the axial length, the height or the perimeter of the ring.
The motivation to do so would be to achieve weight savings and direct flux as wanted (paras 3, 42,53), cost (paras 36,37), desired overall size of the motor (paras 41,62,72,83 of Haran).
Haran does not teach a first sub-magnet of the at least two sub-magnets is formed from a first material and a second sub- magnet of the at least two sub-magnets is formed from a second material different from the first material.
Cao et al. discloses a device wherein a first magnet of the at least two magnets is formed from a first material and a second magnet of the at least two magnets is formed from a second material different from the first material (para 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Haran to have a first sub-magnet of the at least two sub-magnets is formed from a first material and a second sub- magnet of the at least two sub-magnets is formed from a second material different from the first material, as Cao et al. discloses.
The motivation to do so is that it would allow one to achieve a second rated full-load efficiency (para 8) and desired level of size and flux (para 34 of Cao et al.).
Regarding claim 7, If the “acts” of a claimed process manipulate only numbers, abstract concepts or ideas, or signals representing any of the foregoing, the acts are not being applied to appropriate subject matter. Schrader, 22F.3d at 294-95, 30USPQ2d at 1458-59. Thus, a process consisting solely of mathematical operations, i.e., converting one set of numbers into another set of numbers, does not manipulate appropriate subject matter and thus cannot constitute a statutory process. MPEP 2106.
In the instant case, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Haran wherein the minimum value out of the outer perimeter of the ring and the axial length of the ring is greater than the minimum value out of the value of a predetermined reference length and twice the value Pi and wherein the reference length is equal to the maximum value selected out of the axial length, the height or the perimeter of the ring.
The motivation to do so would be to achieve weight savings and direct flux as wanted (paras 3, 42,53), cost (paras 36,37), desired overall size of the motor (paras 41,62,72,83 of Haran).
Regarding claim 8/7, Haran discloses a rotating electric machine including a rotor according to claim 7 (para 77).
Regarding claim 9/7, Haran discloses an aircraft including a rotating electric machine according to claim 8 (para 76).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 7-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 for details.
NAISHADH N. DESAI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2834
/NAISHADH N DESAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834