DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 09/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Asami does not disclose the limitation as presented in claim 1. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Asami et al. (figure 4) discloses a display system as claimed including the display panel is configured to provide first image light representative of a displayed image to the first reflector and provide second image light representative of at least a portion of the displayed image to the second reflector without first being reflected by the first reflector (P or S; some of the light rays may become stray lights); the first reflector is configured to reflect the first image light from the display panel toward the second reflector (500 and 270; figure 4); the second reflector is configured to reflect the first image light from the first reflector toward an observation point (270; figure 4); and the second image light incident on the second reflector is a p-polarized with respect to the second reflector (The image projection device 100 thus configured allows incident light 110 of p-polarized light emitted from the display unit 300 to be incident on the optical laminate 200 at an incidence angle of Brewster's angle θ.sub.B; see at least paragraph 0024); the second reflector is positioned such that the second image light incident is on the second reflector at or near the Brewster angle of the second reflector (S and P polarized light; figure 4; The image projection device 100 thus configured allows incident light 110 of p-polarized light emitted from the display unit 300 to be incident on the optical laminate 200 at an incidence angle of Brewster's angle θ.sub.B; see at least paragraph 0024). The applicant should note that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The limitation, “the second reflector is positioned such that the second image light incident is on the second reflector at or near the Brewster angle of the second reflector” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Sung et al. discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
The claim language therefore does not patentably distinguish over the applied reference[s], and the previous rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asami et al. (WO 2019/177027).
Regarding claim 1, Asami et al. (figure 4) discloses a display system comprising:
a display panel (310);
a first reflector (500); and
a second reflector (270); wherein:
the display panel is configured to provide first image light representative of a displayed image to the first reflector and provide second image light representative of at least a portion of the displayed image to the second reflector without first being reflected by the first reflector (P or S; some of the light rays may become stray lights);
the first reflector is configured to reflect the first image light from the display panel toward the second reflector (500 and 270; figure 4);
the second reflector is configured to reflect the first image light from the first reflector toward an observation point (270; figure 4); and
the second image light incident on the second reflector is a p-polarized with respect to the second reflector (The image projection device 100 thus configured allows incident light 110 of p-polarized light emitted from the display unit 300 to be incident on the optical laminate 200 at an incidence angle of Brewster's angle θ.sub.B; see at least paragraph 0024);
the second reflector is positioned such that the second image light incident is on the second reflector at or near the Brewster angle of the second reflector (S and P polarized light; figure 4; The image projection device 100 thus configured allows incident light 110 of p-polarized light emitted from the display unit 300 to be incident on the optical laminate 200 at an incidence angle of Brewster's angle θ.sub.B; see at least paragraph 0024).
The limitation, “the second reflector is positioned such that the second image light incident is on the second reflector at or near the Brewster angle of the second reflector” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Sung et al. discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
Regarding claim 2, Asami et al. (figure 4) discloses wherein the second reflector is a silicon mirror (The first intermediate film 220 and the second intermediate film 240 function as a pressure-sensitive adhesive or adhesive for maintaining the adhesion between the first base 210 and the second base 250 and the optical layer 230 and the material which has adhesiveness excellent in rework property is preferable, for example, a silicone adhesive or an acrylic adhesive etc. are preferable).
Regarding claim 12, Asami et al. (figure 4) implicitly discloses a polarizer that linearly polarizes the second image light provided by the display panel prior to the second image light reaching the second reflector (An image projection device (100) according to the present invention comprises: a display (300) projecting display light representing a display image in a state where the display light is converted into S polarized light or P polarized light; see at least abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Asami et al. (figure 4) implicitly discloses a polarization rotator that rotates the polarization direction of the second image light from a second orientation to a first orientation, wherein in the first orientation the second image light incident on the second reflector is p-polarized with respect to the second reflector (The display (300) includes a polarization direction converting unit capable of freely switching between the S polarized light and the P polarized light; see at least abstract).
Regarding claim 14, Asami et al. (figure 4) implicitly discloses wherein the display panel modulates source light emitted from a backlight to provide the first image light (n such a display 310, S-polarized light or P-polarized light projected from the display 310 is preset by a light source, or in addition to the light source).
The limitation, “wherein the display panel modulates source light emitted from a backlight to provide the first image light” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Sung et al. discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
Regarding claim 15, Asami et al. (figure 4) implicitly discloses a light control device positioned behind the display panel and configured to control a distribution angle of the first image light and the second image light provided by the display panel (n such a display 310, S-polarized light or P-polarized light projected from the display 310 is preset by a light source, or in addition to the light source; see at least page 6, last paragraph).
Regarding claim 16, Asami et al. (figure 4) implicitly discloses the backlight (n such a display 310, S-polarized light or P-polarized light projected from the display 310 is preset by a light source, or in addition to the light source; see at least page 6, last paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asami et al. (WO 2019/177027).
Regarding claim 3, Asami et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the second reflector is positioned relative to the second image light such that an angle of incidence of the second image light on the second reflector ranges from about 63° to about 83°. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second reflector being positioned relative to the second image light such that an angle of incidence of the second image light on the second reflector ranges from about 63° to about 83°, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 4, Asami et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the second reflector is positioned relative to the second image light such that an angle of incidence of the second image light on the second reflector ranges from about 72° to about 80°. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second reflector being positioned relative to the second image light such that an angle of incidence of the second image light on the second reflector ranges from about 72° to about 80°, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 5, Asami et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the second reflector is positioned relative to the second image light such that an angle of incidence of the second image light on the second reflector ranges from about 75° to about 78°. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second reflector being positioned relative to the second image light such that an angle of incidence of the second image light on the second reflector ranges from about 75° to about 78°, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 6, Asami et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the second reflector is positioned relative to the first image light from the first reflector such that an angle of incidence of the first image light from the first reflector on the second reflector is greater than about 86°. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second reflector being positioned relative to the first image light from the first reflector such that an angle of incidence of the first image light from the first reflector on the second reflector is greater than about 86°, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 7, Asami et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the second reflector is positioned relative to the first image light from the first reflector such that a minimum reflectance of the first image light reflected from the second reflector is greater than about 40%. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second reflector being positioned relative to the first image light from the first reflector such that a minimum reflectance of the first image light reflected from the second reflector is greater than about 40%, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 9, Asami et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the second reflector is positioned relative to the second image light such that a maximum reflectance of the second image light reflected from the second reflector is less than about 20%. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second reflector being positioned relative to the second image light such that a maximum reflectance of the second image light reflected from the second reflector is less than about 20%, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 10, Asami et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the second reflector is positioned relative to the second image light such that a maximum reflectance of the second image light reflected from the second reflector is less than about 10%. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second reflector being positioned relative to the second image light such that a maximum reflectance of the second image light reflected from the second reflector is less than about 10%, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAUREN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871