DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08/07/2026 has been entered. Claims 10 and 12-14 are amended. Claim 11 is canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Examiner disagrees with the presented arguments that prior art of record Jiang et al. (US 2021/0367655), hereinafter Jiang, does not teach (i) a “field” of SRS resource sets. (ii) transmitting capability information indicating support of multi-panel simultaneous transmission’ or controlling the mutli-panel simultaneous transmission using the two SRS resource sets and (iii) one SRS resource set is indicated by the field for controlling a single-panel transmission using the one SRS resource set.
Jiang teaches the following: (i) two SRS resource sets are indicated by the field: “if the value of the SRI indicated in the DCI corresponds to two SRS resources, for example, SRI=2, then two-panel transmission is performed” (Jiang ¶ 0102) which shows Jiang considers a field in the DCI, the SRI field, which indicates to use two SRS resources; this involves the following: “when the SRI indicated in the DCI corresponds to two or more SRS resources, the second set of CSRs is used” (Jiang ¶ 0102) which corresponds to the fig. 9B of the applicant’s specification showing the two panels for which an SRS resource is configured, thus two SRS resource sets are used, (ii) this claimed feature is taught for the same reason as stated for the first argument presented, and (iii): “If the value of the SRI indicated in the DCI corresponds to one SRS resource, for example, SRI=0 or SRI=1, then single-panel transmission is performed. In this case, the function of the CSR is to restrict some indicators about precoding information and number of layers” (Jiang ¶ 0102).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiang et al. (US 2021/0367655), hereinafter Jiang.
Regarding Claim 10, Jiang teaches: A terminal comprising: a receiver that receives downlink control information (DCI) that includes a field indicating one or two sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets: “To support dynamic switch between multi-panel transmission and single-panel transmission, the base station may indicate one SRS resource or multiple SRS resources, such as two, by using an SRI in the DCI. One SRS resource corresponds to single-panel transmission, multiple SRS resources correspond to a multi-panel transmission, and each resource is configured with two ports” (Jiang ¶ 0101); and a processor that, when transmitting capability information indicating support of multi-panel simultaneous transmission and when two SRS resource sets are indicated by the field, controls to perform the multi-panel simultaneous transmission using the two SRS resource sets: “if the value of the SRI indicated in the DCI corresponds to two SRS resources, for example, SRI=2, then two-panel transmission is performed” (Jiang ¶ 0102), and when transmitting the capability information and when one SRS resource set is indicated by the field, controls to perform a single-panel transmission using the one SRS resource set: “If the value of the SRI indicated in the DCI corresponds to one SRS resource, for example, SRI=0 or SRI=1, then single-panel transmission is performed. In this case, the function of the CSR is to restrict some indicators about precoding information and number of layers” (Jiang ¶ 0102).
Regarding Claim 12, Jiang teaches: A radio communication method for a terminal, comprising: receiving downlink control information (DCI) that includes a field indicating one or two sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets: “To support dynamic switch between multi-panel transmission and single-panel transmission, the base station may indicate one SRS resource or multiple SRS resources, such as two, by using an SRI in the DCI. One SRS resource corresponds to single-panel transmission, multiple SRS resources correspond to a multi-panel transmission, and each resource is configured with two ports” (Jiang ¶ 0101); and when transmitting capability information indicating support of multi-panel simultaneous transmission and when two SRS resource sets are indicated by the field, performs the multi-panel simultaneous transmission using the two SRS resource sets: “if the value of the SRI indicated in the DCI corresponds to two SRS resources, for example, SRI=2, then two-panel transmission is performed” (Jiang ¶ 0102), and when transmitting the capability information and when one SRS resource set is indicated by the field, performs a single-panel transmission using the one SRS resource set: “If the value of the SRI indicated in the DCI corresponds to one SRS resource, for example, SRI=0 or SRI=1, then single-panel transmission is performed. In this case, the function of the CSR is to restrict some indicators about precoding information and number of layers” (Jiang ¶ 0102).
Regarding Claim 13, Jiang teaches: A base station comprising: a transmitter that transmits downlink control information (DCI) that includes a field indicating one or two sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets: “To support dynamic switch between multi-panel transmission and single-panel transmission, the base station may indicate one SRS resource or multiple SRS resources, such as two, by using an SRI in the DCI. One SRS resource corresponds to single-panel transmission, multiple SRS resources correspond to a multi-panel transmission, and each resource is configured with two ports” (Jiang ¶ 0101); and a processor that, when receiving, from a terminal, capability information indicating support of multi-panel simultaneous transmission and when two SRS resource sets are indicated by the field, controls to perform the multi-panel simultaneous transmission using the two SRS resource sets: “if the value of the SRI indicated in the DCI corresponds to two SRS resources, for example, SRI=2, then two-panel transmission is performed” (Jiang ¶ 0102), and when receiving the capability information and when one SRS resource set is indicated by the field, controls to perform a single-panel transmission using the one SRS resource set: “If the value of the SRI indicated in the DCI corresponds to one SRS resource, for example, SRI=0 or SRI=1, then single-panel transmission is performed. In this case, the function of the CSR is to restrict some indicators about precoding information and number of layers” (Jiang ¶ 0102).
Regarding Claim 14, Jiang teaches: A system comprising a terminal and a base station, wherein the terminal comprises: a receiver that receives downlink control information (DCI) that includes a field indicating one or two sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets: “To support dynamic switch between multi-panel transmission and single-panel transmission, the base station may indicate one SRS resource or multiple SRS resources, such as two, by using an SRI in the DCI. One SRS resource corresponds to single-panel transmission, multiple SRS resources correspond to a multi-panel transmission, and each resource is configured with two ports” (Jiang ¶ 0101); and, when transmitting capability information indicating support of dynamic switching between multi-panel simultaneous transmission and when two SRS resource sets are indicated by the field, performs the multi-panel simultaneous transmission using the two SRS resource sets: “if the value of the SRI indicated in the DCI corresponds to two SRS resources, for example, SRI=2, then two-panel transmission is performed” (Jiang ¶ 0102), and when receiving the capability information and when one SRS resource set is indicated by the field, performs a single-panel transmission using the one SRS resource set: “If the value of the SRI indicated in the DCI corresponds to one SRS resource, for example, SRI=0 or SRI=1, then single-panel transmission is performed. In this case, the function of the CSR is to restrict some indicators about precoding information and number of layers” (Jiang ¶ 0102).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY D LYTLE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2473 /B.D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473