DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation wherein “a compressor comprising boil-off gas generated from the liquefied gas” and “a reliquefication apparatus reliquefying the compressed gas compressed in the compressor by cooling the compressed gas through heat exchange with a refrigerant circulating in a refrigerant circulation part” in line 3-6 of claim 1 (see also claim 7) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a reliquefaction apparatus” in claim 1, line 4 is understood to be any art recognized liquefier (e.g., a heat exchanger).
“a typical pressure control unit” in claim 2 and 8, is unclear what structure constitute the unit, see the 112b below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 7 recites a reliquefaction apparatus that reliquefies compressed gas "through heat exchange with a refrigerant circulating in a refrigerant circulation part." The "refrigerant circulation part" is described in the specification only in general, non-limiting terms (paras. [0045]-[0047]). No specific refrigerant type, cycle architecture, or component configuration is required by the claim. As written, claims 1 and 7 reads on any refrigerant (nitrogen, mixed refrigerant, propane, etc.) and any cycle architecture. The specification demonstrates possession of a nitrogen Brayton cycle embodiment only, and does not reasonably convey to a person of ordinary skill in the art possession of the full claimed scope. Ariad Pharms., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2010).
Claims 2-6 and 8-10 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 7 (and all dependent claims) recite a "reliquefaction capacity controller" that "controls reliquefaction capacity." The term "reliquefaction capacity" is not defined anywhere in the specification. The specification states only that "reliquefaction capacity of the reliquefaction system may be carried out by adjusting the amount of cold heat in the reliquefaction cycle" (para. [0010]), but fails to identify any specific measurable parameter – whether refrigerant mass flow rate, compressor speed, nitrogen fill level, expansion valve position, or another variable -- that constitutes "reliquefaction capacity." A person of ordinary skill in the art cannot determine the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter with reasonable certainty. Nautilus, Inc. v. Biosig Instruments, Inc., 572 U.S. 898 (2014). Claims 1-10 are indefinite.
Claims 1 and 7 recite that the controller acts "when a pressure value sensed at a vapor header...is lower than a preset low pressure value." The specification provides no numerical value or range for the preset threshold (paras. [0010]-[0012], [0054]-[0055]). The term does not specify who presets it, when, or how. A person of ordinary skill in the art cannot determine what constitutes the preset value or whether it is operator-configurable, factory-set, or dynamically computed.
Claims 2, 3, 8 and 9, the adjective "typical" as used in "typical pressure control unit” renders the claim indefinite because it lacks technical meaning. It appears to be used as an informal label (abbreviated as NPC1/NPC2 in the spec, para. [0056]) rather than a definitive technical descriptor. The adjective "typical" is a relative, subjective qualifier that does not delineate with reasonable certainty the structural or functional scope of the claimed element. The word "typical" ordinarily means representative of a class or average, and does not, on its face, distinguish the claimed unit from any other pressure control unit. No structural or functional definition in the claim itself establishes what distinguishes a "typical" pressure control unit from any other pressure control unit. A person of ordinary skill in the art cannot determine whether "typical" characterizes the type of control algorithm, the mode of operation, or merely names the component. This ambiguity renders claims 2, 3, 8, and 9 indefinite.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the compressed gas" in line 4 lacks proper antecedent basis. Should at least read –the compressed boil-off gas--. Appropriate correction required throughout the claims.
Claims 2 and 8 each recite: "a low pressure controller controlling the reliquefaction capacity controller to forcibly reduce the reliquefaction capacity of the reliquefaction apparatus when a pressure value sensed by the second pressure transmitter is lower than the preset low pressure value." The term "forcibly" is indefinite because it is a relative and conclusory term that does not define a structural boundary or a measurable functional limit. The claim does not establish what operational characteristic distinguishes a "forcible" reduction from any other reduction in reliquefaction capacity. Whether "forcibly" refers to a priority override of a competing control signal, a minimum rate of capacity reduction, an absolute floor value, or some other characteristic cannot be determined from the claim language with reasonable certainty. See Nautilus, 572 U.S. at 901.
Claim 7 recites, in pertinent part: "a reliquefaction capacity controller adapted to control reliquefaction capacity of the reliquefaction apparatus is provided to maintain a pressure of the storage tank by reducing the reliquefaction capacity of the reliquefaction apparatus when a pressure value sensed at a vapor header through which the boil-off gas is discharged from the storage tank is lower than a preset low pressure value." The limitation "a reliquefaction capacity controller… is provided" is an apparatus recitation: it describes the presence of a structural element rather than a method step to be performed. Combined with the method steps recited earlier in Claim 7 (compression and reliquefaction of BOG), this creates an impermissible mixed-class claim. A claim that covers both an apparatus and a method of using that apparatus is indefinite because it is impossible to determine whether infringement occurs when a person makes or uses the apparatus, when a person performs the method steps, or only when both occur simultaneously. IPXL Holdings, L.L.C. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 430 F.3d 1377, 1384 (Fed. Cir. 2005).
Claim 4 recites the limitation “a reliquefication capacity controller” in line 3 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how it relates with the previously cited limitation “a reliquefaction capacity” in line 7 of claim 1.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a reliquefaction capacity controller” in line 3 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how it relates with the previously cited limitation “a reliquefaction capacity” in line 7 of claim 7.
Claim limitation “a typical pressure control unit” as recited in claim 2 and 8 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. It is unclear from the drawing or the specification what structure constitute “control unit”. For examinations purpose, the typical pressure control unit is considered to be any art recognized pressure controller. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 2014/0075943 A1) in view Tezuka et al. (US 2019/0011179 A1).
In regard to claims 1 and 7, Jung teaches a boil-off gas reliquefaction system/method for ships (Abstract, ¶ 0001, 0066-0067; fig. 9A-15), comprising:
a storage tank (11) disposed in a ship and storing a liquefied gas (L4/L14/L41) (see fig. 9A-15);
a compressor (13) compressing boil-off gas (L1) generated from the liquefied gas (see fig. 9A-15);
a reliquefaction apparatus (20/120) reliquefying the compressed gas (L2/L12) compressed in the compressor (13) by cooling the compressed gas through heat exchange with a refrigerant circulating in a refrigerant circulation part (see ¶ 0140-0141, 0158-0163; fig. 9A-15: Jung expressly teaches that the reliquefaction apparatus utilizes a refrigerant in a closed refrigeration cycle); and
a reliquefaction capacity controller controlling reliquefaction capacity of the reliquefication apparatus (see Abstract, claim 1). Note that the ability to selectively interrupt or modulate operation of the reliquefaction apparatus establishes control over its capacity.
Jung does not explicitly teach when a pressure value sensed at a vapor header through which the boil-off gas is discharged from the storage tank is lower than a preset low pressure value, the reliquefaction capacity controller reduces the reliquefaction capacity of the reliquefaction apparatus to maintain a pressure in the storage tank.
However, Tezuka teaches reliquefaction capacity controller (51) configured to control a reliquefaction capacity of a boil-off gas from a storage tank (12), wherein when a pressure value sensed at a vapor header (P2) through which the boil-off gas is discharged from the storage tank is lower than a preset pressure value (threshold value ps2), the reliquefaction capacity controller reduces the reliquefaction capacity of the reliquefaction apparatus to maintain a pressure in the storage tank by decreasing the amount gas compressed by the compression mechanism (see ¶ 0047, 0057-0060, 0072; fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system/method of Jung by providing a reliquefaction capacity control capable of monitoring vapor header pressure against a preset low pressure value to reduce the reliquefaction capacity, in view of the teachings of Tezuka, in order to predictably regulate the storage tank pressure, while prevent unnecessary operation of the reliquefaction system at low vapor conditions, and thereby improve efficiency and performance of the system.
In regard to claim 7, See the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung and Tezuka as applied to claims 1 or 7 above, and further in view of Van Tassel (US 8,499,569 B2) and Shin and Lee, “Design of a boil-off natural gas reliquefaction control system for LNG carriers,” Applied Energy, vol. 86(1), pp. 37–44, 2009 (“Shin”).
In regard to claims 2 and 8, the combination of Jung and Tezuka as applied to claims 1 and 7 above further renders obvious the boil-off gas reliquefaction system/method according to claim 1 or 7, further comprising a first pressure transmitter sensing absolute pressure, a second pressure transmitter sensing gauge pressure, a typical pressure control unit, and a low pressure controller.
Tezuka discloses a first pressure sensor P1 detecting pressure on the discharge side of the first compression mechanism C1, and a second pressure sensor P2 detecting pressure within the storage tank 12 (See Tezuka, ¶¶ 0042–0044). The capacity control part 51 receives the signal from P1 and controls compression capacity toward a target pressure ps1, directly corresponding to the typical pressure control unit of claim 2 (See Tezuka, ¶ 0048). Further, when p2 falls below a preset threshold ps2, the capacity control part 51 forcibly decreases compression, directly corresponding to the low pressure controller of claim 2 (See Tezuka, ¶ 0047; Fig. 3, steps ST2–ST3).
Regarding the specific limitation of a first pressure transmitter sensing absolute pressure and a second pressure transmitter sensing gauge pressure, Tezuka does not explicitly characterize its sensors in those terms. However, Van Tassel discloses an LNG carrier BOG management system comprising multiple pressure transmitters — specifically a cargo tank vapor space pressure transmitter (26) and a BOG pipeline header pressure transmitter (27) — feeding into a PLC (28) that controls BOG compressor capacity, wherein compressor flow is reduced when vapor space pressure drops below a desired minimum pressure (See Van Tassel, col. 3, ll. 45–65; col. 4, ll. 1–15). Van Tassel thus confirms that multiple pressure transmitters serving distinct control functions — one for normal target-based capacity regulation and one for threshold-based low pressure override — are well established in the LNG carrier BOG management field. Shin further confirms that pressure-based multi-mode capacity control is standard practice in BOG reliquefaction systems for LNG carriers. See Shin, pp. 37–44. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the dual absolute/gauge pressure transmitter arrangement of claim 2 in the system of Jung as modified by Tezuka, wherein the first absolute pressure transmitter feeds the typical pressure control unit for normal capacity regulation and the second gauge pressure transmitter feeds the low pressure controller for threshold-based override, as this represents the straightforward application of known pressure sensing and control practices in the LNG carrier BOG management field to achieve predictable results. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
In regard to claim 8, see the rejection of claim 2 above.
In regard to claims 3 and 9, the combination of Jung, Tezuka, Van Tassel, and Shin as applied to claims 2 and 8 above further renders obvious the reliquefaction system/method according to claim 2 or 8, wherein the typical pressure control unit comprises a first typical pressure controller, a second typical pressure controller, a selector, and wherein the typical pressure control unit and the reliquefaction capacity controller are connected in a cascade.
Tezuka’s control architecture functionally discloses a multi-input pressure-based scheme wherein the capacity control part 51 processes inputs from both P1 (normal capacity regulation) and P2 (low-pressure override) using branching priority logic — checking the P2-based low-pressure condition first (step ST2) before proceeding to P1-based normal regulation (steps ST4–ST6) (See Tezuka, Fig. 3). This is functionally equivalent to a first pressure controller outputting an operation signal based on P1, a second pressure controller outputting an operation signal based on P2, and a selector choosing between those signals — precisely the structural architecture of claim 3.
Van Tassel further confirms this architecture by disclosing a PLC-based BOG compressor control system that receives inputs from multiple pressure transmitters and automatically selects among competing control conditions, reducing compressor capacity when vapor space pressure drops below a minimum threshold while otherwise maintaining capacity toward a target pressure (See Van Tassel, col. 3–4). Shin additionally confirms that multi-mode pressure-driven control with multiple actuators activated across different BOG load regimes is standard in BOG reliquefaction control system design for LNG carriers, and that cascade control is a well-established technique in this field (See Shin, pp. 37–44). Implementing the typical pressure control unit as the outer loop of a cascade connection generating an operation signal to the inner-loop reliquefaction capacity controller is the standard structural realization of Tezuka’s multi-input pressure control logic. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the cascade architecture of claim 3 in the system/method of Jung as modified by Tezuka, as this represents merely the routine application of known multi-controller selection and cascade control techniques confirmed as standard practice by Van Tassel and Shin, yielding entirely predictable results. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
In regard to claim 9, see the rejection of claim 3 above.
Claim(s) 4-6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung, Tezuka, Van Tassel and Shin as applied to claims 3 or 9 above, and further in view of Coward (US 8,783,061 B2).
In regard to claims 4-6 and 10, the modified Jung teaches the boil-off gas reliquefication system according to claim 3, Jung, as modified above, discloses a reliquefaction apparatus comprising a capacity controller configured to control the reliquefaction process, wherein the capacity controller adjusts reliquefaction capacity based on pressure sensed within the system. but does not explicitly teach providing the reliquefaction apparatus in plural units, each installed as an independent train in the ship and each provided with a reliquefaction capacity controller (claim 4), a train capacity controller for each individual train that controls the reliquefaction capacity controller of the apparatus on that train, and the ability to operate each train independently of the typical pressure control unit (as recited in claim 5 and 6). Claim 10 is the method counterpart of Claims 4–6.
However, Coward discloses a liquefied natural gas facility comprising a plurality of natural gas liquefaction trains (100a–100n), wherein each individual train is provided with its own dedicated set of process controllers (e.g., first process controller 206a, second process controller 208a, and nth process controller 210a for Train A; and corresponding controllers 206b, 208b, 210b for Train B, etc.) (See Coward, Col. 5, ll. 25–45; Fig. 2). Each train controller independently controls process variables specific to that train, including mass flow rate of feed gas and refrigerant loop conditions (see Col. 5, ll. 46–65). Furthermore, Coward discloses the use of compressor pressure as a manipulated variable within each train’s control scheme. Specifically, Coward teaches that compressor pressure of compressor 124, as well as the suction pressure of compressor 178 associated with the nitrogen cooling loop, are manipulated by the controller to maintain desired operating conditions within the liquefaction train (see Coward, Col. 7, ll. 40–45; Table 1). While Coward employs compressor pressure primarily to control temperature differences within the heat exchanger rather than directly as a capacity control input, the use of sensed pressure values as a basis for controller adjustment is expressly contemplated within Coward’s control architecture.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reliquefaction apparatus/ method of Jung to incorporate a plurality of independent trains each having its own dedicated train capacity controller, as taught by Coward, in order to increase production capacity to achieve maximum output of liquefied product while using minimum employed power, to provide operational redundancy and flexible capacity management. (see Coward Col. 6, ll. 1–35).
In regard to claim 10, see the rejection of claim 4-6 above.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WEBESHET MENGESHA whose telephone number is (571)270-1793. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thurs 7-4, alternate Fridays, EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached at 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/W.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763