Double Patenting
Claims 1-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of copending Application No. 18/712,050 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims claim the same polyisocyanate composition, two-component adhesives comprising the polyisocyanate composition and laminates prepared therefrom. All the elements of the application claims are found within the copending application. The difference between the application claims and the copending claims lies in the fact that the copending claims includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus, the invention of claimed in the copending applicationis in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the invention claimed in the application. The application claims are anticipated by the claims in the copending application and therefore are not patentably distinct.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the solid content" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 11, 13-15, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being JP-2007145988 to Yoshiyuki et al.
As to claims 1-3, 7, 11, 13, 15, 17, and 19, Yoshiyuki discloses a two component curable adhesive (0035) comprising a polyisocyanate component and a polyol component wherein the polyisocyanate component comprises polyisocyanate (X) derived from hexamethylene diisocyanate containing uretdione dimers with a molecular weight of 336, isocyanurate trimers with a molecular weight of 504 (0036-0037) and contains less than 0.5% by mass of hexamethylene diisocyanate monomer (molecular weight of 168, compound A2). This corresponds to claimed polyisocyanate composition (A1). Further, Yoshiyuki teaches a polyisocyanate (X) that is mixed with polyisocyanate (Y) that has average molecular weight of 700 to 3,000 and is the reaction product of hexamethylene diisocyanate and polycaprolactone triol to prepare a urethane containing prepolymer (component A1) (0044) containing less than 0.5% by weight of HDI monomer (component A2) (0027-0029).
As to claim 4, Yoshiyuki discloses polyisocyanate (X) that has uretdione groups in amounts of less than 40% (0009-0011).
As to claim 14, Yoshiyuki discloses the use of polyester or polyether polyols (0021-0023).
As to claim 18, Yoshiyuki discloses a number average molecular weight of the polyisocyanate (Y) ranges from 700 to 3,000 (0031).
As to claims 20-21, Yoshiyuki discloses two component adhesive composition comprising the polyisocyanate component and a polyol component (0053).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over unpatentable over JP-2007145988 to Yoshiyuki et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0002530 to Okubo et al.
As to claim 16, Yoshiyuki discloses a two component curable adhesive (0035) comprising a polyisocyanate component and a polyol component wherein the polyisocyanate component comprises polyisocyanate (X) derived from hexamethylene diisocyanate containing uretdione dimers with a molecular weight of 336, isocyanurate trimers with a molecular weight of 504 (0036-0037) and contains less than 0.5% by mass of hexamethylene diisocyanate monomer (molecular weight of 168, compound A2). This corresponds to claimed polyisocyanate composition (A1). Further, Yoshiyuki teaches a polyisocyanate (X) that is mixed with polyisocyanate (Y) that has average molecular weight of 700 to 3,000 and is the reaction product of hexamethylene diisocyanate and polycaprolactone triol to prepare a urethane containing prepolymer (component A1) (0044) containing less than 0.5% by weight of HDI monomer (component A2) (0027-0029).
Yoshiyuki discloses a two component adhesive comprising the polyisocyanate and a polyol component. However, Yoshiyuki does not expressly disclose wherein the polyol composition contains castor oil or derivatives thereof.
However, within the same field of endeavor Okubo discloses two component polyurethane adhesives comprising a polyisocyanate component and a polyol component with an amine value of 0.5 to 40 mgKOH/g (0042) that comprises a blend of 73.3 parts of castor oil, 18.3 parts of PPG-1000, and 6.6 parts of EDP 300 (N,N,N,N-tetrakis(2-hydroxypropyl)ethylene diamine or polypropylene glycol ethylene diamine (Table 1, 0098-0099).
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the polyol composition of Yoshiyuki with the polyol composition of Okubo to ensure excellent curability and practical packaging properties (0046).
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,410,011 to Konishi et al. in view of JP-2007145988 to Yoshiyuki et al.
As to claims 1-3, Konishi discloses a polyurethane adhesive comprising an isocyanate-terminated urethane prepolymer comprising the reaction product of an isocyanate component and a polyol component wherein the polyisocyanate component contains a polyisocyanate compound having at least one uretdione group and a polyisocyanate component having two or more isocyanate groups (Abstract, compound A1). Konishi discloses removing the free polyisocyanate monomer from the reaction mixture. However, the content of free isocyanate monomer is not disclosed (component A2, see Examples).
Yoshiyuki discloses a two component curable adhesive (0035) comprising a polyisocyanate component and a polyol component wherein the polyisocyanate component comprises polyisocyanate (X) derived from hexamethylene diisocyanate containing uretdione dimers with a molecular weight of 336, isocyanurate trimers with a molecular weight of 504 (0036-0037) and contains less than 0.5% by mass of hexamethylene diisocyanate monomer (molecular weight of 168, compound A2).
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to maintain the content of residual diisocyanate component (Claimed component A2) within values taught in Yoshiyuki in the composition of Konishi to improve curability of the polyisocyanate composition (0017-0018).
As to claim 4, Konishi discloses a uretdione content of 2.76% (14:9-31).
As to claims 5-12, Konishi discloses aromatic or aliphatic diisocyanate may be used (4:62-5:27).
As to claims 13-15, Konishi discloses the reaction of polyester polyols with the isocyanate composition as well as low molecular weight glycol or triols (See Examples, 7:40-50).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL L LEONARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763