DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (CN 113611774; see English machine translation) in view of Zhao (CN 106876492; see English machine translation) in view of Vais et al. (US 2014/0251817) in view of Emeraud et al. (WO 2014/128113).
Regarding claim 1, Lu discloses a preparation method for a solar cell (page 2), which method comprises:
step 101: sequentially forming a tunnel silicon oxide layer (5), an N-type doped polysilicon layer (6), and a back passivated anti-reflection film (7) on a back surface of an N-type silicon substrate (1) (page 6; see Figure 1); and
step 102: performing grooving on the back passivated anti-reflection film (contact window 8; step S3 on page 5), and forming a nickel metal layer (nickel layer 11) in a grooved region (it is disclosed nickel is plated on the seed layer; step S5 on page 5), and annealing the nickel metal layer for 10 s to 300 s to form a nickel silicon alloy layer between the nickel metal layer and the N-type doped polysilicon layer (it is disclosed the nickel layer is sintered for 5 minutes to form an ohmic contact with the doped polysilicon layer 6 of a silicon alloy; step S5 on page 5);
wherein the temperature of the annealing process is in a range of 200-400°C (it is disclosed the temperature is preferably 350 oC; page 5); and
step 103: printing a back fine gate electrode (copper electrode 12) on the nickel metal layer (it is disclosed the copper layer is plated on the nickel layer; step S6 on page 5; see Figure 6), but Lu does not expressly disclose printing a back main gate electrode on the back passivated anti-reflection film, wherein the back fine gate electrode is electrically connected to the back main gate electrode.
Zhao discloses printing a back fine gate electrode (7) and a back main gate electrode (9) on the back passivation film (see Figures 1 and 2), wherein the back fine gate electrode is electrically connected to the back main gate electrode (see Figure 2), wherein the back fine gate electrode can be made out of aluminum, silver, copper or nickel (page 2) and the back main gate electrode can be made out of silver (page 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated printing a back main gate electrode on the back passivated anti-reflection film wherein the back fine gate electrode is electrically connected to the back main gate electrode in the method of Lu, as taught by Zhao, as collection of fine grid electrode with a main grid line is well known in the art (page 1).
Modified Lu does not expressly disclose the thickness of the nickel-silicon layer is from 10 nm to 30 nm.
Vais discloses the use of a thin nickel barrier layer less than 500 nm thick being plated and sintered to form a nickel silicide to reduce contact resistance, improve adhesion, and also provides a barrier to the diffusion of copper electrode into the device where it can impact device performance ([0108]).
Emeraud discloses the use of a thin layer of nickel approximately 20 nm to 200 nm thick or thinner to be used to form a nickel silicide contact layer (pages 9 and 10).
As modified Lu is not limited to any specific examples of the thickness of the thin nickel layer and as a thickness of approximately 20 nm to 200 nm were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by Vais and Emeraud above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected any suitable thickness for the thin nickel layer, including a thickness approximately 20 nm to 200 nm in the method of modified Lu. Said combination would amount to nothing more than the use of a known process for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result.
It is noted that only part of the nickel layer is formed into the nickel silicide contact layer, such that the nickel silicide layer as a smaller thickness than the nickel layer.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 10, modified Lu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses a solar cell, prepared by the preparation method of claim 1 (as set forth above).
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (CN 113611774; see English machine translation) in view of Zhao (CN 106876492; see English machine translation) in view of Vais et al. (US 2014/0251817) in view of Emeraud et al. (WO 2014/128113) in view of Murakami et al. (EP 2905812).
Regarding claim 2, modified Lu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
Zhao further discloses the step 103 comprises:
step 3-1: printing the back fine gate electrode, and performing a first drying process (step 3 on page 5); and
step 3-2: printing the back main gate electrode, and performing a second drying process (step 2 on page 5), but Zhao does not expressly disclose the first drying process is in a range of 100-300°C and the temperature of the second drying process is in a range of 100-250°C.
Murakami discloses printing back electrode pattern and drying at a temperature between 150 to 250 oC.
As modified Lu is not limited to any specific examples of drying temperatures for the first and second drying processes and as drying temperatures for an electrode paste between 150 to 250 oC were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by Murakami above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use any suitable drying temperature for the two drying processes, including a temperature between 150 and 250 oC in the method of modified Lu. Said combination would amount to nothing more than the use of a known process for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Regarding claim 3, modified Lu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
Zhao further discloses the back fine gate electrode is made of an aluminum metal and the back main gate electrode is made of a silver metal (pages 5-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a back fine gate electrode made of aluminum and a back main gate electrode made of silver in the method of modified Lu, as taught by Zhao, so that the overall cost of manufacture can be reduced by using cheaper materials such as aluminum as the back fine gate electrode that has a larger surface area while still maintaining good ohmic contact with the more expensive and preferred silver material as the main gate electrode.
Claim(s) 4 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (CN 113611774; see English machine translation) in view of Zhao (CN 106876492; see English machine translation) in view of Vais et al. (US 2014/0251817) in view of Emeraud et al. (WO 2014/128113) in view of Zhang (CN 113594296; see English machine translation).
Regarding claim 4, modified Lu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but the reference does not expressly disclose before the step 101, the method further comprises:
sequentially subjecting the back surface of the N-type silicon substrate to a texturing process and a polishing process.
Zhang discloses texturing the back surface of an N-type silicon substrate followed by a polishing process (pages 2 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have textured and polished the back surface of the N-type silicon substrate of modified Lu prior to step 101 in the method, as taught by Zhang, so that the tunnel oxide layer can be formed with an improved density on the back surface, which leads to an enhanced back passivation with a good back contact, thus, improving the working performance of the solar cell (page 2).
Regarding claim 6, modified Lu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses
step 104: forming a P+ emitter (2) on a front surface of the N-type silicon substrate (page 6);
step 105: forming a front passivated anti-reflection film (3) on the front surface of the N-type silicon substrate, the front passivated anti-reflection film covering the P+ emitter (see Figure 1); and
step 106: printing a front metal electrode (4) on the front passivated anti-reflection film (page 5; see Figure 2), but the reference does not expressly disclose forming the p+ emitter comprises subjecting a front surface of the N-type silicon substrate to a boron diffusion process to form a P+ emitter.
Zhang discloses step 1: subjecting a front surface of the N-type silicon substrate to a boron diffusion process to form a P+ emitter (2; pages 8 and 9).
As modified Lu is not limited to any specific examples of forming a p+ emitter and as p+ emitters formed through the diffusion of born were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by Zhang above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use any suitable method to form the p+ emitter, including a boron diffusion process in the method of modified Lu. Said combination would amount to nothing more than the use of a known process for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Regarding claim 7, modified Lu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
Zhang further discloses after the step 104, the method further comprises:
subjecting the front surface of the N-type silicon substrate to winding plating cleaning (page 10; see Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a winding plate cleaning step after step 104 in the method of modified Lu, as taught by Zhang, so that leakage current between the upper and lower electrodes of the solar cell can be reduced (pages 8 and 9).
Regarding claim 8, modified Lu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the back passivated anti-reflection film includes at least one of aluminum oxide, silicon oxide, gallium oxide, silicon nitride, aluminum nitride, and silicon oxynitride, and the front passivated anti-reflection film includes at least one of aluminum oxide, silicon oxide, gallium oxide, silicon nitride, aluminum nitride, and silicon oxynitride (SiNx antireflection film; page 6).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (CN 113611774; see English machine translation) in view of Zhao (CN 106876492; see English machine translation) in view of Vais et al. (US 2014/0251817) in view of Emeraud et al. (WO 2014/128113) in view of Lin et al. (CN 107968127; see English machine translation).
Regarding claim 5, modified Lu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the step 101 comprises:
step 1-1: forming the tunnel silicon oxide layer on the back surface of the N-type silicon substrate (page 6);
step 1-3: forming the N-type doped polysilicon layer (page 6); and
step 1-4: forming the back passivated anti-reflection film on the N-type doped polysilicon layer (page 6),
but the reference does not expressly disclose
step 1-2: forming an intrinsic polysilicon layer on the tunnel silicon oxide layer; and
step 1-3: subjecting the intrinsic polysilicon layer to N-type doping to form the N-type doped polysilicon layer.
Lin discloses the formation of a n+ doped polysilicon layer (16) by growing intrinsic polysilicon layer on the tunnel oxide layer (15) and annealing the substrate with phosphorus to form n+ doped polysilicon layer (page 2).
As modified Lu is not limited to any specific examples of forming the n + doped polysilicon layer and as a method of forming an n+ doped polysilicon layer in the manner as disclosed above was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by Lin above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use any suitable method to form the n+ type doped polysilicon layer, including forming an intrinsic polysilicon layer on the tunnel silicon oxide layer and subjecting the intrinsic polysilicon layer to N-type doping in the method of modified Lu. Said combination would amount to nothing more than the use of a known process for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (CN 113611774; see English machine translation) in view of Zhao (CN 106876492; see English machine translation) in view of Vais et al. (US 2014/0251817) in view of Emeraud et al. (WO 2014/128113) in view of Adachi et al. (US 2016/0308079).
Regarding claim 11, modified Lu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses grooving on the back passivated anti-reflection film is performed by laser (step S3, as set forth above), but the reference does not expressly disclose the laser is an ultraviolet picosecond laser with a wavelength of 355 nm.
Adachi discloses using a YAG laser having a wavelength of 355 nm for forming a groove in the solar cell ([0175]).
As modified Lu is not limited to any specific examples of lasers used for grooving and as the use of a YAG laser having a wavelength of 355 nm was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by Adachi above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected any suitable laser to be used for the grooving of the solar cell, including a YAG laser having a wavelength of 355 nm in the method of modified Lu. Said combination would amount to nothing more than the use of a known process for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 and 10-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA CHERN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722