DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2022-0054492, filed on 05/03/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 05/21/2024 and 04/24/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a charge and discharge inspection part (Claim 1, 6, 11-13, 16); current applying part (4, 6, 14-15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “a charge and discharge inspection part” as detailed in Claim 1, 6, 11-13, and 16 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is silent on the structure of the charge and discharge inspection part, only detailing the function of it. Furthermore, Figure 1 shows the charge and discharge inspection part (label 500) as a black box. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Examiner interprets the charge and discharge part as an electrical testing device.
Claims 2-10 and 12-15 are rejected due to dependence on Claims 1 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 11-12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (KR20140020660A) in view of Jeung (US20180074130).
In regards to Claim 1, Jeong teaches “a supporting member configured to support a battery module and transfer the battery module (Figure 2 shows upper case 120 on top of the lower case 130, and sensing structure 170 on the bottom side of the lower case 120);
a first fixing member provided on a top of one side of the supporting member (Figure 2 shows upper case 120 on top of the lower case 130, and sensing structure 170 on the bottom side of the lower case 120);
a second fixing member provided at a bottom of one side of the supporting member (Figure 2 shows upper case 120 on top of the lower case 130, and sensing structure 170 on the bottom side of the lower case 120);
a connecting pin disposed to pass through the first fixing member, the supporting member, and the second fixing member, respectively (bus bar 150 passes through the side of the upper case and connects to the lower case and the sensing module 170 below it as shown in Figure 2); and
a inspection part configured to inspect the battery module (battery management system 300 is a system for monitoring the state of the battery module by receiving state information from the connector 172 – Paragraph 39),
wherein the first fixing member is configured to be connected to a first wire harness extending from the battery module (front case of the upper case 120 is provided with an input/output terminal 121 electrically connected to the outside and the input/output terminal 121 is connected to the bus bar for connecting to the electrode terminal 142 of the battery cell stack body – Paragraph 28, Figure 2), and
wherein the second fixing member is configured to be connected to a second wire harness extending from the charge and discharge inspection part (sensing module 170 is connected to the connection unit 171 and connected to an external battery management system – Paragraph 32, Figure 2).”
Jeong is silent with regards to the language of “a charge and discharge inspection part configured to inspect whether or not the battery module is abnormal through charging and discharging of the battery module”
Jeung teaches “a charge and discharge inspection part configured to inspect whether or not the battery module is abnormal through charging and discharging of the battery module (“Meanwhile, one of the most important factors in producing secondary batteries is quality control to determine whether secondary batteries exhibit desired performance and safety. Quality control is determining whether secondary batteries exhibit normal charge and discharge performance to sort good products from defective products. High-quality secondary batteries may be manufactured through such quality control” – [0005]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeong to incorporate the teaching of Jeung to perform quality control on a battery to determine whether the battery exhibit normal charge and discharge performance. By doing quality control on batteries this is an improvement that yields predictable results in ensuring that batteries are not defective.
In regards to Claim 2, Jeong in view of Jeung discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Jeong further teaches “wherein the first fixing member and the second fixing member are provided so as to face each other vertically in a thickness direction of the supporting member (Figure 2 shows upper case 120 on top of the lower case 130, and sensing structure 170 on the bottom side of the lower case 120).”
In regards to Claim 4, Jeong in view of Jeung discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Jeong further teaches “a current applying part configured to apply a current while being in contact with a terminal block of the battery module (charge/discharge device 200 is connected to the battery module 100 with the output terminal 121 of the battery module – Paragraph 36).”
In regards to Claim 5, Jeong in view of Jeung discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Jeong further teaches “wherein the terminal block comprises a positive electrode and a negative electrode (input / output terminal 121 includes a negative terminal and a positive terminal – Paragraph 28).”
In regards to Claim 6, Jeong in view of Jeung discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Jeong further teaches “wherein a connection between the current applying part and the terminal block and a connection between the second fixing member and the charge and discharge inspection part are automatically performed (The front case of the upper case 120 is provided with an input / output terminal 121 electrically connected to the outside, and the input / output terminal 121 includes a negative terminal and a positive terminal. A bus bar 150 for connecting the electrode terminal 142 of the battery cell stack body 140 to the input / output terminal 121 is exposed on the front surface of the upper case 120. When the upper case 120 and the lower case 130 are coupled to each other, the top of the bus bar 150 has a recess recessed to be coupled to the input / output terminal 121 provided on one side of the upper case 120. Is formed. - Paragraph 28).”
In regards to Claim 7, Jeong in view of Jeung discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Jeong further teaches “a plurality of battery cells (battery module includes a plurality of battery cells – Abstract).”
In regards to Claim 8, Jeong in view of Jeung discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Jeong further teaches “wherein the battery cell is a secondary battery (battery module with charger/discharger capability [i.e. secondary battery] – Abstract).”
In regards to Claim 11, Jeong teaches “a coupling process of forming a first wire harness and connecting a battery module seated in a fixing part and the first wire harness (Figure 2 shows upper case 120 on top of the lower case 130, and sensing structure 170 on the bottom side of the lower case 120); and
an inspection process of the battery module transferred through the fixing part (battery management system 300 is a system for monitoring the state of the battery module by receiving state information from the connector 172 – Paragraph 39), wherein the fixing part comprises:
a supporting member configured to support the battery module and transfer the battery module (Figure 2 shows upper case 120 on top of the lower case 130, and sensing structure 170 on the bottom side of the lower case 120),
a first fixing member provided on a top of one side of the supporting member (Figure 2 shows upper case 120 on top of the lower case 130, and sensing structure 170 on the bottom side of the lower case 120),
a second fixing member provided at a bottom of one side of the supporting member (Figure 2 shows upper case 120 on top of the lower case 130, and sensing structure 170 on the bottom side of the lower case 120), and
a connecting pin disposed to pass through the first fixing member, the supporting member, and the second fixing member, respectively (bus bar 150 passes through the side of the upper case and connects to the lower case and the sensing module 170 below it as shown in Figure 2),
wherein the first fixing member in the coupling process is connected to the first wire harness extending from the battery module (front case of the upper case 120 is provided with an input/output terminal 121 electrically connected to the outside and the input/output terminal 121 is connected to the bus bar for connecting to the electrode terminal 142 of the battery cell stack body – Paragraph 28, Figure 2), and
wherein the second fixing member in the inspection process is connected to a charge and discharge inspection part (sensing module 170 is connected to the connection unit 171 and connected to an external battery management system – Paragraph 32, Figure 2).”
Jeong is silent with regards to the language of “an inspection process of performing a charge and discharge inspection of the battery module transferred through the fixing part”
Jeung teaches “an inspection process of performing a charge and discharge inspection of the battery module transferred through the fixing part (“Meanwhile, one of the most important factors in producing secondary batteries is quality control to determine whether secondary batteries exhibit desired performance and safety. Quality control is determining whether secondary batteries exhibit normal charge and discharge performance to sort good products from defective products. High-quality secondary batteries may be manufactured through such quality control” – [0005]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeong to incorporate the teaching of Jeung to perform quality control on a battery to determine whether the battery exhibit normal charge and discharge performance. By doing quality control on batteries this is an improvement that yields predictable results in ensuring that batteries are not defective.
In regards to Claim 12, Jeong in view of Jeung discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Jeong further teaches “wherein a second wire harness extending from the charge and discharge inspection part is included, and wherein the second fixing member is coupled to the second wire harness in the inspection process (sensing module 170 is connected to the connection unit 171 and connected to an external battery management system – Paragraph 32, Figure 2).”
In regards to claim 16, Jeong teaches “the pallet comprising:
a supporting member configured to support the battery module (Figure 2 shows upper case 120 on top of the lower case 130, and sensing structure 170 on the bottom side of the lower case 120);
a first fixing member provided on a top of one side of the supporting member (Figure 2 shows upper case 120 on top of the lower case 130, and sensing structure 170 on the bottom side of the lower case 120);
a second fixing member provided at a bottom of one side of the supporting member (Figure 2 shows upper case 120 on top of the lower case 130, and sensing structure 170 on the bottom side of the lower case 120); and
a connecting pin disposed to pass through the first fixing member, the supporting member, and the second fixing member, respectively (bus bar 150 passes through the side of the upper case and connects to the lower case and the sensing module 170 below it as shown in Figure 2),
wherein in a coupling process in which a first wire harness is formed and coupled, the first fixing member is configured to be connected to the first wire harness extending from the battery module (front case of the upper case 120 is provided with an input/output terminal 121 electrically connected to the outside and the input/output terminal 121 is connected to the bus bar for connecting to the electrode terminal 142 of the battery cell stack body – Paragraph 28, Figure 2), and
wherein in a inspection process performed after the coupling process (battery management system 300 is a system for monitoring the state of the battery module by receiving state information from the connector 172 – Paragraph 39),
the second fixing member is configured to be connected to a second wire harness extending from a charge and discharge inspection part (sensing module 170 is connected to the connection unit 171 and connected to an external battery management system – Paragraph 32, Figure 2).”
Jeong is silent with regards to the language of “wherein in a charge and discharge inspection process performed after the coupling process”
Jeung teaches “wherein in a charge and discharge inspection process performed after the coupling process (“Meanwhile, one of the most important factors in producing secondary batteries is quality control to determine whether secondary batteries exhibit desired performance and safety. Quality control is determining whether secondary batteries exhibit normal charge and discharge performance to sort good products from defective products. High-quality secondary batteries may be manufactured through such quality control” – [0005]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeong to incorporate the teaching of Jeung to perform quality control on a battery to determine whether the battery exhibit normal charge and discharge performance. By doing quality control on batteries this is an improvement that yields predictable results in ensuring that batteries are not defective.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 9-10, and 13-15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to Claim 3, Jeong in view of Jeung discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Jeong in view of Jeung are silent with regards to the language of “wherein the connecting pin extends along a laminating direction of the first fixing member, the supporting member, and the second fixing member, and wherein an extension length of the connecting pin is greater than a total combined thickness
In regards to Claim 9, Jeong in view of Jeung discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Jeong in view of Jeung are silent with regards to the language of “wherein the first wire harness comprises: a first connector inserted into an insertion part of the battery module; a second connector coupled to the first fixing member and configured to be electrically connected to the connecting pin; and a first connection part configured to connect the first connector and the second connector.”
Claim 10 is dependent on Claim 9.
In regards to Claim 13, Jeong in view of Jeung discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Jeong in view of Jeung are silent with regards to the language of “wherein the first wire harness comprises a first connection part that is ductile, wherein a connection between the first wire harness and the first fixing member in the coupling process is manually performed, and wherein a connection between the charge and discharge inspection part and the second fixing member in the inspection process is automatically performed.”
Claim 14-15 are dependent on Claim 13.
Examiner’s Note
The following prior art is considered to be of interest to the instant application:
Chen (CN207662939) teaches a power battery wraps automatic charging and discharging system, with Figure 1 showing the battery on a tray with a plurality of plugs.
Smith (US20160072112) teaches a battery cell interconnection system.
Hiyashi (JP2017107667) teaches a rechargeable battery inspection device with structure of the testing device.
Niwa (US20160079635) teaches a battery charging and discharging inspection device.
Ishizuka (WO2012093652) teaches a battery charge/discharge inspection device.
Conclusion
/YOSSEF KORANG-BEHESHTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857