DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of GR20220100019 filed 1/10/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 5/21/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “transmit the message indicating the radar waveform generation capability of the UE periodically, based at least in part on a geo-location of the UE, or both.” It is not understood what is meant by the phrase “or both”, i.e., it is not clear what the phrase “both” refers to. The applicant needs to clarify.
Claim 17 recites “receive the plurality of messages from the plurality of UEs periodically, based at least in part on respective geo-locations of the plurality of UEs, or both. It is not understood what is meant by the phrase “or both”, i.e., it is not clear what the phrase “both” refers to. The applicant needs to clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-9, 13-22 and 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2024/0004049 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al. (‘049) anticipates “an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (paragraph 2: a first user equipment (UE)), comprising:
a processor (paragraph 12: a first UE including a wireless interface and a processor coupled to the wireless interface; paragraph 42: the UE 102 also includes at least one processor 210 and computer-readable storage media 212 (CRM 212));
memory coupled with the processor (paragraph 42: the CRM 212, in at least some embodiments, includes any suitable memory or storage device such as random-access memory (RAM), static RAM (SRAM), dynamic RAM (DRAM), non-volatile RAM (NVRAM), read-only memory (ROM), or Flash memory useable to store device data 214 of the UE 102); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (paragraph 98: certain aspects of the techniques described above are implemented by one or more processors of a processing system executing software…the software includes one or more sets of executable instructions stored or otherwise tangibly embodied on a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium…the software can include the instructions and certain data that, when executed by the one or more processors, manipulate the one or more processors to perform one or more aspects of the techniques described above) to cause the apparatus to:
transmit a message indicating a radar waveform generation capability of the UE (paragraph 56: the UE 102 transmits a UE-capability message);
receive, from a network entity, control signaling indicating values for one or more radar waveform generation parameters common to a group of UEs including the UE associated with a geographic control area of the network entity in response to transmitting the message indicating the radar waveform generation capability of the UE (paragraph 58: a location of the coordinating UE can also be another factor for selecting a coordinating UE…the base station 104 identifies the location of the UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401 as previously described with respect to the formation of a UE-coordination set…the base station 104 selects a coordinating UE with a geographically central location in the UE-coordination set 401, as this may maximize the coordinating UE's capability to coordinate and communicate with the other UEs in the UE-coordination set 401…the coordinating UE 102 is not required to be in a central location of the UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401. Instead, the coordinating UE can be located at any location within the UE-coordination set 401 that allows the coordinating UE 102 to communicate and coordinate with the other UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401…the base station 104 continually monitors the UE-coordination set 401 and updates the coordinating UE 102 at any time based on updated factors, such as updated UE locations, UE battery-level state, and so on…the coordinating UE 102 can also transfer its joint processing responsibilities to another UE 102 based on factors such as processing power, battery level, and/or geographic location; paragraph 61: in addition to forming the UE-coordination set 401, the base station 104 determines and provides 404 an allocation 110 of air interface resources, such as transmission time and frequency resources, for the UE-coordination set 401 to perform coordinated radar sensing…the base station 104 allocates transmission frames/slot, frequency bands, frequencies, one or more waveforms, transmission power level, and the like for use by the UE-coordination set 401 when performing coordinated radar sensing…formation of the UE-coordination set 401 triggers allocation of the air interface resources…the base station 104 allocates resources in response to determining that the UE-coordination set should perform coordinated radar sensing…the base station 104 allocations air interface resource based on making an internal decision, receiving a request from a UE 102 that is part of the UE-coordination set 401, receiving a request from a UE 102 that is not part of the UE-coordination set 401 or receiving a request from another network component to perform coordinated radar sensing for object detection; paragraph 62: the base station 104…transmits the allocation 110 of air interface resources to the coordinating UE 102-1 via signaling and/or configuration mechanisms…the coordinating UE 102-1 receives the allocation 110 from the base station 104 and determines 406 a configuration 112 for the UE-coordination set 401 to perform coordinated radar sensing…the configuration 112 includes information such as identifiers of UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401, location information, cellular timing reference information, radar TX/RX information, radar waveform information, beamforming configuration, a number of coordinated radar sensing iterations, a TX UE selection and RX UE selection for each iteration, and the like. If the UE-coordination set 401 is to perform multiple iterations of coordinated radar sensing, the coordinating UE 102-1); and
transmit a radar waveform in accordance with the values for the one or more radar waveform generation parameters (paragraph 65: Radar waveform information, identifies the waveform to be used for the transmitted radar signal 118… any waveform having satisfactory self-correlation properties may be used for the radar signal 118…a separate radar signal is not required to be transmitted…the coordinating UE 102-1 can select a signal already configured to be transmitted by a TX UE, such as a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) or a Random Access Channel (RACH) signal…if the coordinating UE 102-1 determines a waveform for multiple iterations of a coordinated radar sensing instance, the waveform information can include an iteration identifier…the iteration identifier indicates the specific iteration of coordinated radar sensing for which a determined waveform is to be used by a TX UE for the radar signal waveform…the waveform information can also include a unique identifier for the TX UE to indicate which UE 102 of the UE-coordination set 401 is to implement the waveform for the given iteration…if the UE-coordination set 401 is to perform multiple iterations of coordinated radar sensing, the coordinating UE 102-1 selects the same waveform for all iterations or selects a different waveform for at least two of the iterations. Therefore, two or more different TX UEs can transmit the same or different waveforms for a different iteration of a given instance of coordinated radar sensing…the coordinating UE 102-2 determines different waveforms by using a different cyclic shift for a random sequence…if the base station 104 desires to combine SRS and coordinated radar sensing functions, the base station 104 provides the relevant portions of the configuration 112 to the coordinating UE 102-1).”
Regarding claim 2, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Wang et al. (‘049) anticipates the apparatus of claim 1. Wang et al. (‘049) further anticipates “the instructions to transmit the message are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit the message indicating values for a set of radar waveform generation capabilities supported by the UE (paragraph 65: Radar waveform information, identifies the waveform to be used for the transmitted radar signal 118…any waveform having satisfactory self-correlation properties may be used for the radar signal 118…a separate radar signal is not required to be transmitted…the coordinating UE 102-1 can select a signal already configured to be transmitted by a TX UE, such as a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) or a Random Access Channel (RACH) signal. If the coordinating UE 102-1 determines a waveform for multiple iterations of a coordinated radar sensing instance, the waveform information can include an iteration identifier…the iteration identifier indicates the specific iteration of coordinated radar sensing for which a determined waveform is to be used by a TX UE for the radar signal waveform… the waveform information can also include a unique identifier for the TX UE to indicate which UE 102 of the UE-coordination set 401 is to implement the waveform for the given iteration…if the UE-coordination set 401 is to perform multiple iterations of coordinated radar sensing, the coordinating UE 102-1 selects the same waveform for all iterations or selects a different waveform for at least two of the iterations. Therefore, two or more different TX UEs can transmit the same or different waveforms for a different iteration of a given instance of coordinated radar sensing…the coordinating UE 102-2 determines different waveforms by using a different cyclic shift for a random sequence…if the base station 104 desires to combine SRS and coordinated radar sensing functions, the base station 104 provides the relevant portions of the configuration 112 to the coordinating UE 102-1),
wherein the control signaling indicates the values for the one or more radar waveform generation parameters common to the group of UEs based at least in part on the values for the set of radar waveform generation capabilities (paragraph 2: a method, by a first user equipment (UE) of a group of UEs in a cellular network, includes the first UE determining a configuration to coordinate the group of UEs to detect one or more objects using radar. The first UE configures a second UE of the group of UEs, based on the determined configuration, to transmit a first radar signal and a third UE of the group of UEs to detect the first radar signal; paragraph 6: the first UE receiving an indication from a base station to form a user-equipment-coordination set (UECS) for coordinated radar sensing and object detection, and responsive to receiving the indication, the first UE forming the UECS with each remaining UE of the group of UEs…forming the UECS, in at least some implementations, includes the first UE establishing a local wireless connection with the other UEs in the UECS and synchronizing with each remaining UE of the group of UEs according to a cellular network timing reference; paragraph 9: a method, by a first user equipment (UE) of a group of UEs in a cellular network, includes the first UE receiving a configuration to detect a first radar signal transmitted by a second UE of the group of UEs. The first UE detects the first radar signal in a set of reflection states based on the configuration. The first UE generates first radar signal samples associated with the first radar signal responsive to detecting the first radar signal…the first UE filters the first radar signal samples to remove samples associated with interference from receiving the first radar signal in a first reflection state of the set of reflection states…the first UE transmits the filtered first radar signal samples to at least a third UE of the group of UEs…the configuration, in at least some implementations, includes a waveform attribute of the first radar signal and transmission timing attributes associated with the first radar signal. In at least some implementations, detecting the first radar signal includes the first UE configuring beamforming detection parameters based on the configuration to detect the first radar signal and mitigate interference from the second UE).”
Regarding claim 4, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Wang et al. (‘049) anticipates the apparatus of claim 1. Wang et al. (‘049) further anticipates “the instructions to transmit the message are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit the message indicating a capability to support one or more radar waveform configurations of a plurality of radar waveform configurations, wherein the control signaling indicates a first radar waveform configuration comprising the values for the one or more radar waveform generation parameters of the plurality of radar waveform configurations (paragraph 62: the base station 104…transmits the allocation 110 of air interface resources to the coordinating UE 102-1 via signaling and/or configuration mechanisms. the coordinating UE 102-1 receives the allocation 110 from the base station 104 and determines 406 a configuration 112 for the UE-coordination set 401 to perform coordinated radar sensing…the configuration 112 includes information such as identifiers of UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401, location information, cellular timing reference information, radar TX/RX information, radar waveform information, beamforming configuration, a number of coordinated radar sensing iterations, a TX UE selection and RX UE selection for each iteration, and the like. If the UE-coordination set 401 is to perform multiple iterations of coordinated radar sensing, the coordinating UE 102-1).”
Regarding claim 5, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Wang et al. (‘049) anticipates the apparatus of claim 1. Wang et al. (‘049) further anticipates “the instructions to transmit the message are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit the message indicating the radar waveform generation capability of the UE periodically, based at least in part on a geo-location of the UE, or both.
(paragraph 75: the second UE-102-2 determines that an object detection trigger has occurred and, in response, transmits 412 a radar signal 118-1 based on the TX configuration 116. Object detection triggers can be any type of trigger event suitable for causing the second UE-102-2 to transmit the radar signal 118-1. Examples of triggers include receiving a request from a user and/or application executing at the second UE 102-2 to perform object detection, receiving a request from another UE 102 to perform object detection, time, a current and/or expected location of the second UE 102-2, an environmental and/or operating context of the second UE 102-2, and the like. In at least some embodiments, the TX configuration 116 includes one or more triggers events based on time, location, velocity, a combination thereof, and the like that are to be monitored for by the second UE-102-2. For example, the TX configuration 116 can specify a specific time (e.g., 1:00:00 p.m.), elapsed time, or periodicity (e.g., every 30 seconds) that the UE-102-2 is to transmit a radar signal 118-1. Location triggers can identify geographical coordinates, geographical areas (e.g., neighborhood, city, etc.), road type (highway, local street, etc.), and the like. Velocity triggers can identify a speed threshold (e.g., over 30 kilometers per hour (kph)), a speed range (e.g., between 30 kph and 130 kph), and the like at which the UE-102-2 is to transmit a radar signal 118-1. Also, the second UE 102-2 can monitor for a combination of two or more object detection triggers. For example, the TX configuration 116 can define a trigger that causes the second UE 102-2 to transmit a radar signal 118-1 every 5 minutes when traveling between 0 and 1 kph, every 60 seconds when traveling between 2 to 15 kph, every 1 second when traveling between 15 to 100 kph, every 10 microseconds when traveling over 100 kph, and the like).”
Regarding claim 8, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Wang et al. (‘049) anticipates the apparatus of claim 1. Wang et al. (‘049) further anticipates “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive an indication of one or more updated radar waveform generation parameters; and transmit a second radar waveform in accordance with at least the one or more updated radar waveform generation parameters (paragraph 58: a location of the coordinating UE can also be another factor for selecting a coordinating UE. For example, the base station 104 identifies the location of the UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401 as previously described with respect to the formation of a UE-coordination set. In some embodiments, the base station 104 selects a coordinating UE with a geographically central location in the UE-coordination set 401, as this may maximize the coordinating UE's capability to coordinate and communicate with the other UEs in the UE-coordination set 401. However, the coordinating UE 102 is not required to be in a central location of the UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401. Instead, the coordinating UE can be located at any location within the UE-coordination set 401 that allows the coordinating UE 102 to communicate and coordinate with the other UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401. In at least some embodiments, the base station 104 continually monitors the UE-coordination set 401 and updates the coordinating UE 102 at any time based on updated factors, such as updated UE locations, UE battery-level state, and so on. The coordinating UE 102 can also transfer its joint processing responsibilities to another UE 102 based on factors such as processing power, battery level, and/or geographic location).”
Regarding claim 9, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Wang et al. (‘049) anticipates the apparatus of claim 1. Wang et al. (‘049) further anticipates “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive the control signaling indicating the values for the one or more radar waveform generation parameters periodically, or based at least in part on a change to the values for the one or more radar waveform generation parameters common to the group of UEs, or both (paragraph 75: the second UE-102-2 determines that an object detection trigger has occurred and, in response, transmits 412 a radar signal 118-1 based on the TX configuration 116. Object detection triggers can be any type of trigger event suitable for causing the second UE-102-2 to transmit the radar signal 118-1. Examples of triggers include receiving a request from a user and/or application executing at the second UE 102-2 to perform object detection, receiving a request from another UE 102 to perform object detection, time, a current and/or expected location of the second UE 102-2, an environmental and/or operating context of the second UE 102-2, and the like. In at least some embodiments, the TX configuration 116 includes one or more triggers events based on time, location, velocity, a combination thereof, and the like that are to be monitored for by the second UE-102-2. For example, the TX configuration 116 can specify a specific time (e.g., 1:00:00 p.m.), elapsed time, or periodicity (e.g., every 30 seconds) that the UE-102-2 is to transmit a radar signal 118-1. Location triggers can identify geographical coordinates, geographical areas (e.g., neighborhood, city, etc.), road type (highway, local street, etc.), and the like. Velocity triggers can identify a speed threshold (e.g., over 30 kilometers per hour (kph)), a speed range (e.g., between 30 kph and 130 kph), and the like at which the UE-102-2 is to transmit a radar signal 118-1. Also, the second UE 102-2 can monitor for a combination of two or more object detection triggers. For example, the TX configuration 116 can define a trigger that causes the second UE 102-2 to transmit a radar signal 118-1 every 5 minutes when traveling between 0 and 1 kph, every 60 seconds when traveling between 2 to 15 kph, every 1 second when traveling between 15 to 100 kph, every 10 microseconds when traveling over 100 kph, and the like).”
Regarding claim 13, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Wang et al. (‘049) anticipates the apparatus of claim 1. Wang et al. (‘049) further anticipates “the instructions to receive the control signaling are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive the control signaling comprising a frame delay indication for transmitting the radar waveform; and transmit the radar waveform in accordance with the frame delay indication (paragraph 73: the RX configuration 116, in at least some embodiments, configures one or more of the remaining assisting UEs 102-3, 102-4 as an RX UE for at least a first iteration 450 of coordinated radar sensing. For example, the RX configuration 116 includes information or parameters from the configuration 112 such as the location of other UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401, the timing reference information, radar transmission scheduling information such as frame/slot/symbol timing for receiving a radar signal, frequencies at which a radar signal is to be transmitted such as a specific frequency within sub-gigahertz bands, sub-GHz bands, millimeter mmWave bands, terahertz bands, etc., a beamforming configuration, an iteration identifier indicating which iteration of multiple iterations the UE 102-3, 102-4 is an RX UE, and the like; paragraph 78: the third UE 102-3 and the fourth UE 102-4 operate 414 (illustrated as 414-1 and 414-2) in a radar signal receiving mode and receive the transmitted radar signal 118. In at least some embodiments, the third UE 102-3 and the fourth UE 102-4 use information in the RX configuration 116, such as the radar transmission scheduling information, to determine when to operate in a radar signal receiving mode. For example, if coordinating UE 102-1 configures the second UE 102-2 to transmit a radar signal at frame m or time n, the third UE 102-3 and the fourth UE 102-4 operate to detect the radar signal at frame m or time n. The radar signal 118, in at least some embodiments, is received by the third UE 102-3 and the fourth UE 102-4 in one or more reflection states 120, such as a reflected state 120-1 and a non-reflected state 120-2).”
Regarding claim 14, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Wang et al. (‘049) anticipates the apparatus of claim 1. Wang et al. (‘049) further anticipates “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit a request for radar waveform coordination based at least in part on detecting an interfering radar waveform, wherein the control signaling is received in response to the request for radar waveform coordination (paragraph 2: The first UE receives first radar signal samples from the third UE based on the third UE receiving the first radar signal in a set of reflection states. The first UE filters first radar signal samples to remove samples associated with interference from the third UE receiving the first radar signal in a first reflection state of the set of reflection states. The first UE determines object location information, based on at least the filtered first radar signal samples, in response to filtering the first radar signal samples. In at least some implementations, the first reflection state of the set of reflection states is a direct reception state where the third UE receives the first radar signal directly from the second UE, and wherein a second reflection state of the set of reflection states is a reflected state where the third UE receives the first radar signal reflected by one or more objects; paragraph 5: e first UE sending a message to the third UE including a beamforming configuration to be utilized by the third UE to mitigate interference from the second UE when the second UE transmits the first radar signal; paragraph 9: a waveform attribute of the first radar signal and transmission timing attributes associated with the first radar signal. In at least some implementations, detecting the first radar signal includes the first UE configuring beamforming detection parameters based on the configuration to detect the first radar signal and mitigate interference from the second UE).”
Regarding independent claim 15, Wang et al. (‘049) anticipates “an apparatus for wireless communications at a network entity (paragraph 2: a first user equipment (UE) of a group of UEs in a cellular network, includes the first UE determining a configuration to coordinate the group of UEs to detect one or more objects using radar), comprising:
a processor (paragraph 12: a first UE including a wireless interface and a processor coupled to the wireless interface; paragraph 42: the UE 102 also includes at least one processor 210 and computer-readable storage media 212 (CRM 212));
memory coupled with the processor (paragraph 42: the UE 102 also includes at least one processor 210 and computer-readable storage media 212 (CRM 212). The processor 210, in at least some embodiments, is a single-core processor or a multiple-core processor composed of a variety of materials, such as silicon, polysilicon, high-K dielectric, copper, and so on…the computer-readable storage media described herein excludes propagating signals. The CRM 212, in at least some embodiments, includes any suitable memory or storage device); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus (paragraph 98: one or more processors of a processing system executing software…the software includes one or more sets of executable instructions stored or otherwise tangibly embodied on a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. The software can include the instructions and certain data that, when executed by the one or more processors, manipulate the one or more processors to perform one or more aspects of the techniques) to:
receive a plurality of messages from a plurality of user equipments (UEs), each message indicating one or more radar waveform generation capabilities of a respective UE of the plurality of UEs (paragraph 56: the UE 102 transmits a UE-capability message);
select values for a set of one or more radar waveform generation parameters that are common to a group of UEs comprising at least a subset of the plurality of UEs associated with a geographic control area of the network entity based at least in part on the plurality of messages (paragraph 58: a location of the coordinating UE can also be another factor for selecting a coordinating UE…the base station 104 identifies the location of the UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401 as previously described with respect to the formation of a UE-coordination set…the base station 104 selects a coordinating UE with a geographically central location in the UE-coordination set 401, as this may maximize the coordinating UE's capability to coordinate and communicate with the other UEs in the UE-coordination set 401…the coordinating UE 102 is not required to be in a central location of the UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401. Instead, the coordinating UE can be located at any location within the UE-coordination set 401 that allows the coordinating UE 102 to communicate and coordinate with the other UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401…the base station 104 continually monitors the UE-coordination set 401 and updates the coordinating UE 102 at any time based on updated factors, such as updated UE locations, UE battery-level state, and so on…the coordinating UE 102 can also transfer its joint processing responsibilities to another UE 102 based on factors such as processing power, battery level, and/or geographic location; paragraph 61: in addition to forming the UE-coordination set 401, the base station 104 determines and provides 404 an allocation 110 of air interface resources, such as transmission time and frequency resources, for the UE-coordination set 401 to perform coordinated radar sensing…the base station 104 allocates transmission frames/slot, frequency bands, frequencies, one or more waveforms, transmission power level, and the like for use by the UE-coordination set 401 when performing coordinated radar sensing…formation of the UE-coordination set 401 triggers allocation of the air interface resources…the base station 104 allocates resources in response to determining that the UE-coordination set should perform coordinated radar sensing…the base station 104 allocations air interface resource based on making an internal decision, receiving a request from a UE 102 that is part of the UE-coordination set 401, receiving a request from a UE 102 that is not part of the UE-coordination set 401 or receiving a request from another network component to perform coordinated radar sensing for object detection; paragraph 62: the base station 104…transmits the allocation 110 of air interface resources to the coordinating UE 102-1 via signaling and/or configuration mechanisms…the coordinating UE 102-1 receives the allocation 110 from the base station 104 and determines 406 a configuration 112 for the UE-coordination set 401 to perform coordinated radar sensing…the configuration 112 includes information such as identifiers of UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401, location information, cellular timing reference information, radar TX/RX information, radar waveform information, beamforming configuration, a number of coordinated radar sensing iterations, a TX UE selection and RX UE selection for each iteration, and the like. If the UE-coordination set 401 is to perform multiple iterations of coordinated radar sensing, the coordinating UE 102-1); and
transmit, to the group of UEs, control signaling indicating the values for the set of one or more radar waveform generation parameters common to the group of UEs (paragraph 65: Radar waveform information, identifies the waveform to be used for the transmitted radar signal 118… any waveform having satisfactory self-correlation properties may be used for the radar signal 118…a separate radar signal is not required to be transmitted…the coordinating UE 102-1 can select a signal already configured to be transmitted by a TX UE, such as a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) or a Random Access Channel (RACH) signal…if the coordinating UE 102-1 determines a waveform for multiple iterations of a coordinated radar sensing instance, the waveform information can include an iteration identifier…the iteration identifier indicates the specific iteration of coordinated radar sensing for which a determined waveform is to be used by a TX UE for the radar signal waveform…the waveform information can also include a unique identifier for the TX UE to indicate which UE 102 of the UE-coordination set 401 is to implement the waveform for the given iteration…if the UE-coordination set 401 is to perform multiple iterations of coordinated radar sensing, the coordinating UE 102-1 selects the same waveform for all iterations or selects a different waveform for at least two of the iterations. Therefore, two or more different TX UEs can transmit the same or different waveforms for a different iteration of a given instance of coordinated radar sensing…the coordinating UE 102-2 determines different waveforms by using a different cyclic shift for a random sequence…if the base station 104 desires to combine SRS and coordinated radar sensing functions, the base station 104 provides the relevant portions of the configuration 112 to the coordinating UE 102-1).”
Regarding claim 16, which is dependent on independent claim 15, Wang et al. (‘049) anticipates the apparatus of claim 15. Wang et al. (‘049) further anticipates “the instructions to receive the plurality of message are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, via a first message of the plurality of messages, an indication of a capability to support one or more radar waveform configurations of a plurality of radar waveform configurations, wherein the control signaling indicates a first radar waveform configuration comprising the values for the set of one or more radar waveform generation parameters of the plurality of radar waveform configurations (paragraph 9: a method, by a first user equipment (UE) of a group of UEs in a cellular network, includes the first UE receiving a configuration to detect a first radar signal transmitted by a second UE of the group of UEs…the first UE detects the first radar signal in a set of reflection states based on the configuration…the first UE generates first radar signal samples associated with the first radar signal responsive to detecting the first radar signal…the first UE filters the first radar signal samples to remove samples associated with interference from receiving the first radar signal in a first reflection state of the set of reflection states. The first UE transmits the filtered first radar signal samples to at least a third UE of the group of UEs…the configuration, in at least some implementations, includes a waveform attribute of the first radar signal and transmission timing attributes associated with the first radar signal…detecting the first radar signal includes the first UE configuring beamforming detection parameters based on the configuration to detect the first radar signal and mitigate interference from the second UE; paragraph 33: the first UE 102-1, in at least some embodiments, communicates with each of the remaining UEs 102, such as UEs 102-2 to 102-4, to configure each of these UEs 102 for performing coordinated radar sensing …based on the configuration 112, the first UE 102-1 transmits a TX configuration 114 to the second UE 102-2 (TX UE 102-2)…the TX configuration 114 configures the second UE 102-2 as a TX UE for at least a first iteration of coordinated radar sensing…the first UE 102-1 can transmit a message to the second UE 102-2 identifying a waveform to be utilized as the radar signal and further identifying transmission parameters for transmitting the radar signal).”
Regarding claim 17, which is dependent on independent claim 15, Wang et al. (‘049) anticipates the apparatus of claim 15. Wang et al. (‘049) further anticipates “the apparatus of claim 15. Wang et al. (‘049) further anticipates “the instructions to receive the plurality of message are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive the plurality of messages from the plurality of UEs periodically, based at least in part on respective geo-locations of the plurality of UEs, or both (paragraph 75: the second UE-102-2 determines that an object detection trigger has occurred and, in response, transmits 412 a radar signal 118-1 based on the TX configuration 116. Object detection triggers can be any type of trigger event suitable for causing the second UE-102-2 to transmit the radar signal 118-1. Examples of triggers include receiving a request from a user and/or application executing at the second UE 102-2 to perform object detection, receiving a request from another UE 102 to perform object detection, time, a current and/or expected location of the second UE 102-2, an environmental and/or operating context of the second UE 102-2, and the like. In at least some embodiments, the TX configuration 116 includes one or more triggers events based on time, location, velocity, a combination thereof, and the like that are to be monitored for by the second UE-102-2. For example, the TX configuration 116 can specify a specific time (e.g., 1:00:00 p.m.), elapsed time, or periodicity (e.g., every 30 seconds) that the UE-102-2 is to transmit a radar signal 118-1. Location triggers can identify geographical coordinates, geographical areas (e.g., neighborhood, city, etc.), road type (highway, local street, etc.), and the like. Velocity triggers can identify a speed threshold (e.g., over 30 kilometers per hour (kph)), a speed range (e.g., between 30 kph and 130 kph), and the like at which the UE-102-2 is to transmit a radar signal 118-1…the second UE 102-2 can monitor for a combination of two or more object detection triggers. For example, the TX configuration 116 can define a trigger that causes the second UE 102-2 to transmit a radar signal 118-1 every 5 minutes when traveling between 0 and 1 kph, every 60 seconds when traveling between 2 to 15 kph, every 1 second when traveling between 15 to 100 kph, every 10 microseconds when traveling over 100 kph, and the like).”
Regarding claim 18, which is dependent on independent claim 15, Wang et al. (‘049) anticipates the apparatus of claim 15. Wang et al. (‘049) further anticipates “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: broadcast a beacon signal associated with the geographic control area of the network entity; and receive, from a first UE of the plurality of UEs, a first message of the plurality of messages indicating that the first UE received the beacon signal (paragraph 3: determining the configuration includes at least one of the first UE (a) receiving the configuration from a base station or (b) generating the configuration locally at the first UE. Determining the configuration, in at least some implementations, further includes the first UE receiving an air interface resource allocation from a base station, the first UE determining a subset of air interface resources from the air interface resource allocation for transmission and reception of the first radar signal, and the first UE determining a waveform for the first radar signal; paragraph 6: the first UE receiving, from the second UE, second radar signal samples associated with the first radar signal transmitted by the second UE, wherein filtering the first radar signal samples includes the first UE canceling the second radar signal samples from the first radar signal samples. The method further includes, in at least some implementations, the first UE receiving an indication from a base station to form a user-equipment-coordination set (UECS) for coordinated radar sensing and object detection, and responsive to receiving the indication, the first UE forming the UECS with each remaining UE of the group of UEs. Forming the UECS, in at least some implementations, includes the first UE establishing a local wireless connection with the other UEs in the UECS and synchronizing with each remaining UE of the group of UEs according to a cellular network timing reference; paragraph 23: a transmitting (TX) UEs transmits a radar signal based on a radar sensing configuration received from the base station or another UE (e.g., coordinating UE). The TX UE, in at least some embodiments, transmits standard radar waveforms having satisfactory self-correlation properties…existing waveforms already transmitted by the TX UE, such as a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) and a Random Access Channel (RACH) signal, are utilized as the radar signal as well. In at least some embodiments, the TX UE transmits the radar signal using sub-gigahertz bands, sub-GHz bands, millimeter wavelength (mmWave) bands, terahertz bands, etc…the transmitted radar signal is reflected, scattered, and/or absorbed by one or more objects, and one or more receiving (RX) UEs receive one or more reflected radar signal. In addition to the reflected signal, the RX UEs may also receive the line-of-sight (LOS) radar signal from the TX UE. If the coordinating UE configured the TX UE and RX UEs with beamforming configurations, the TX UE can steer transmitted beams away from the TX UE and the RX UEs can tune their receivers away from the TX UE to mitigate interference).”
Regarding claim 19, which is dependent on independent claim 15, Wang et al. (‘049) anticipates the apparatus of claim 15. Wang et al. (‘049) further anticipates “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine one or more updated radar waveform generation parameters that are common to the group of UEs; and transmit an indication of the one or more updated radar waveform generation parameters to the group of UEs (paragraph 58: a location of the coordinating UE can also be another factor for selecting a coordinating UE. For example, the base station 104 identifies the location of the UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401 as previously described with respect to the formation of a UE-coordination set…the base station 104 selects a coordinating UE with a geographically central location in the UE-coordination set 401, as this may maximize the coordinating UE's capability to coordinate and communicate with the other UEs in the UE-coordination set 401. However, the coordinating UE 102 is not required to be in a central location of the UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401. Instead, the coordinating UE can be located at any location within the UE-coordination set 401 that allows the coordinating UE 102 to communicate and coordinate with the other UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401. In at least some embodiments, the base station 104 continually monitors the UE-coordination set 401 and updates the coordinating UE 102 at any time based on updated factors, such as updated UE locations, UE battery-level state, and so on. The coordinating UE 102 can also transfer its joint processing responsibilities to another UE 102 based on factors such as processing power, battery level, and/or geographic location).”
Regarding claim 20, which is dependent on independent claim 15, Wang et al. (‘049) anticipates the apparatus of claim 15. Wang et al. (‘049) further anticipates “the instructions to transmit the control signaling are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit the control signaling indicating the values for the set of one or more radar waveform generation parameters according to a periodicity of the control signaling (paragraph 75: the second UE-102-2 determines that an object detection trigger has occurred and, in response, transmits 412 a radar signal 118-1 based on the TX configuration 116. Object detection triggers can be any type of trigger event suitable for causing the second UE-102-2 to transmit the radar signal 118-1…examples of triggers include receiving a request from a user and/or application executing at the second UE 102-2 to perform object detection, receiving a request from another UE 102 to perform object detection, time, a current and/or expected location of the second UE 102-2, an environmental and/or operating context of the second UE 102-2, and the like. In at least some embodiments, the TX configuration 116 includes one or more triggers events based on time, location, velocity, a combination thereof, and the like that are to be monitored for by the second UE-102-2…the TX configuration 116 can specify a specific time (e.g., 1:00:00 p.m.), elapsed time, or periodicity (e.g., every 30 seconds) that the UE-102-2 is to transmit a radar signal 118-1…location triggers can identify geographical coordinates, geographical areas (e.g., neighborhood, city, etc.), road type (highway, local street, etc.), and the like. Velocity triggers can identify a speed threshold (e.g., over 30 kilometers per hour (kph)), a speed range (e.g., between 30 kph and 130 kph), and the like at which the UE-102-2 is to transmit a radar signal 118-1…the second UE 102-2 can monitor for a combination of two or more object detection triggers…the TX configuration 116 can define a trigger that causes the second UE 102-2 to transmit a radar signal 118-1 every 5 minutes when traveling between 0 and 1 kph, every 60 seconds when traveling between 2 to 15 kph, every 1 second when traveling between 15 to 100 kph, every 10 microseconds when traveling over 100 kph, and the like).”
Regarding claim 21, which is dependent on independent claim 15, Wang et al. (‘049) anticipates the apparatus of claim 15. Wang et al. (‘049) further anticipates “the instructions to select the values for the set of one or more radar waveform generation parameters are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: select the values for the set of one or more radar waveform generation parameters based at least in part on a capability that is common to each UE in the group of UEs (paragraph 36: the UEs 102 of the selected set of UEs synchronize to a common cellular timing reference. The third UE 102-3 and the fourth UR 102-4 determine when the second UE 102-2 is transmitting a radar signal based on the RX configuration 116 received from the first UE 102-1…when the second UE 102-2 transmits the radar signal, the third UE 102-3 and the fourth UE 102-4 operate in a radar signal detecting/sensing mode…the radar signal 118 is received by the third UE 102-3, and the fourth UE 102-4 in one or more reflection states 120… Figure 1 shows the transmitted radar signal 118-1 in a first reflection state 120-1 where the transmitted radar signal 118-1 is reflected by one or more objects 122 (e.g., vehicles, pedestrians, animals, obstacles, geographical features, and the like), thereby creating one or more reflected radar signals 118-2, 118-3. The reflected radar signals 118-2, 118-3 are received by one or more of the third UE 102-3 and the fourth UE 102-4. FIG. 1 further shows the radar signal 118 received by at least the third UE 102-3 in a second reflection state 120-2. In the second reflection state 120-2, no objects reflect the transmitted radar signal 118 …the non-reflected radar signal 118 is referred to as a line-of-sight (LOS) radar signal 118-4; paragraph 63: the cellular timing reference information of the configuration 112 synchronizes the UEs 102 of the UE-coordination set 401 based on a common cellular timing reference point so that the RX UEs are operating to detect/sense radar signals at the time when the TX UE transmits a radar signal. In one example, the UEs 102 of the UE-coordination set 401 are synchronized to system frame/slot/symbol timing from the base station 104 because each UE 102 is already synchronized with the base station 104…the UEs 102 of the UE-coordination set 401 synchronizes to Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) timing. However, it should be understood that other synchronization mechanisms are applicable as well).”
Regarding claim 22, which is dependent on independent claim 15, Wang et al. (‘049) anticipates “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: identify a plurality of sets of radar waveform generation parameters based at least in part on the plurality of messages, wherein the values for the set of one or more radar waveform generation parameters are selected from the plurality of sets of radar waveform generation parameters based at least in part on a minimum capability of each UE in the group of UEs (paragraph 3: determining the configuration includes at least one of the first UE (a) receiving the configuration from a base station or (b) generating the configuration locally at the first UE. Determining the configuration, in at least some implementations, further includes the first UE receiving an air interface resource allocation from a base station, the first UE determining a subset of air interface resources from the air interface resource allocation for transmission and reception of the first radar signal, and the first UE determining a waveform for the first radar signal; paragraph 9: a method, by a first user equipment (UE) of a group of UEs in a cellular network, includes the first UE receiving a configuration to detect a first radar signal transmitted by a second UE of the group of UEs…the first UE detects the first radar signal in a set of reflection states based on the configuration…the first UE generates first radar signal samples associated with the first radar signal responsive to detecting the first radar signal. The first UE filters the first radar signal samples to remove samples associated with interference from receiving the first radar signal in a first reflection state of the set of reflection states…the first UE transmits the filtered first radar signal samples to at least a third UE of the group of UEs…the configuration, includes a waveform attribute of the first radar signal and transmission timing attributes associated with the first radar signal…detecting the first radar signal includes the first UE configuring beamforming detection parameters based on the configuration to detect the first radar signal and mitigate interference from the second UE; paragraph 11: a method, by a first user equipment (UE) of a group of UEs in a cellular network, includes the first UE receiving, from a second UE of the group of UEs, a configuration to detect a radar signal transmitted by a third UE of the group of UE…the first UE detects a reflection of the radar signal by at least one object is based on the configuration …the first UE determines object location information associated with the at least one object…the first UE transmits the objection location information to at least a third UE of the group of UEs).”
Regarding claim 25, which is dependent on independent claim 15, Wang et al. (‘049) anticipates the apparatus of claim 15. Wang et al. (‘049) further anticipates “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to each UE of the group of UEs, an indication of a frame delay configuration for transmitting a radar waveform using the values for the set of one or more radar waveform generation parameters (paragraph 73: the RX configuration 116, in at least some embodiments, configures one or more of the remaining assisting UEs 102-3, 102-4 as an RX UE for at least a first iteration 450 of coordinated radar sensing. For example, the RX configuration 116 includes information or parameters from the configuration 112 such as the location of other UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401, the timing reference information, radar transmission scheduling information such as frame/slot/symbol timing for receiving a radar signal, frequencies at which a radar signal is to be transmitted such as a specific frequency within sub-gigahertz bands, sub-GHz bands, millimeter mmWave bands, terahertz bands, etc., a beamforming configuration, an iteration identifier indicating which iteration of multiple iterations the UE 102-3, 102-4 is an RX UE, and the like; paragraph 78: the third UE 102-3 and the fourth UE 102-4 operate 414 (illustrated as 414-1 and 414-2) in a radar signal receiving mode and receive the transmitted radar signal 118…the third UE 102-3 and the fourth UE 102-4 use information in the RX configuration 116, such as the radar transmission scheduling information, to determine when to operate in a radar signal receiving mode…if coordinating UE 102-1 configures the second UE 102-2 to transmit a radar signal at frame m or time n, the third UE 102-3 and the fourth UE 102-4 operate to detect the radar signal at frame m or time n…the radar signal 118, is received by the third UE 102-3 and the fourth UE 102-4 in one or more reflection states 120, such as a reflected state 120-1 and a non-reflected state 120-2).”
Regarding claim 26, which is dependent on claim 25, Wang et al. (‘049) anticipates the apparatus of claim 15. Wang et al. (‘049) further anticipates “the instructions to transmit the indication of the frame delay are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit a groupcast message to the group of UEs, wherein the frame delay configuration for each UE of the group of UEs is indicated based at least in part on a respective radar identifier for each UE (paragraph 72: the TX configuration 114, in at least some embodiments, configures the second UE 102-2 as a TX UE for at least a first iteration 450 of coordinated radar sensing. For example, the TX configuration 114 includes information or parameters from the configuration 112 such as the location of other UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401, the timing reference information, scheduling information such as frame/slot/symbol timing for transmitting a radar signal, transmission frequencies such as a specific frequency within sub-gigahertz bands, sub-GHz bands, millimeter mmWave bands, terahertz bands, etc., a beamforming configuration; an iteration identifier indicating which iteration of multiple iterations the UE 102-2 is a TX UE, and the like; paragraph 73: the RX configuration 116, configures one or more of the remaining assisting UEs 102-3, 102-4 as an RX UE for at least a first iteration 450 of coordinated radar sensing …the RX configuration 116 includes information or parameters from the configuration 112 such as the location of other UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401, the timing reference information, radar transmission scheduling information such as frame/slot/symbol timing for receiving a radar signal, frequencies at which a radar signal is to be transmitted such as a specific frequency within sub-gigahertz bands, sub-GHz bands, millimeter mmWave bands, terahertz bands, etc., a beamforming configuration, an iteration identifier indicating which iteration of multiple iterations the UE 102-3, 102-4 is an RX UE, and the like).”
Regarding claim 27, which is dependent on independent claim 15, Wang et al. (‘049) anticipates the apparatus of claim 15. Wang et al. (‘049) further anticipates “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: indicate a duration for the group of UEs to apply the values for the set of one or more radar waveform generation parameters common to the group of UEs (paragraph 58: a location of the coordinating UE can also be another factor for selecting a coordinating UE…the base station 104 identifies the location of the UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401 as previously described with respect to the formation of a UE-coordination set…the base station 104 selects a coordinating UE with a geographically central location in the UE-coordination set 401, as this may maximize the coordinating UE's capability to coordinate and communicate with the other UEs in the UE-coordination set 401…the coordinating UE 102 is not required to be in a central location of the UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401. Instead, the coordinating UE can be located at any location within the UE-coordination set 401 that allows the coordinating UE 102 to communicate and coordinate with the other UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401…the base station 104 continually monitors the UE-coordination set 401 and updates the coordinating UE 102 at any time based on updated factors, such as updated UE locations, UE battery-level state, and so on…the coordinating UE 102 can also transfer its joint processing responsibilities to another UE 102 based on factors such as processing power, battery level, and/or geographic location; paragraph 61: in addition to forming the UE-coordination set 401, the base station 104 determines and provides 404 an allocation 110 of air interface resources, such as transmission time and frequency resources, for the UE-coordination set 401 to perform coordinated radar sensing…the base station 104 allocates transmission frames/slot, frequency bands, frequencies, one or more waveforms, transmission power level, and the like for use by the UE-coordination set 401 when performing coordinated radar sensing…formation of the UE-coordination set 401 triggers allocation of the air interface resources…the base station 104 allocates resources in response to determining that the UE-coordination set should perform coordinated radar sensing…the base station 104 allocations air interface resource based on making an internal decision, receiving a request from a UE 102 that is part of the UE-coordination set 401, receiving a request from a UE 102 that is not part of the UE-coordination set 401 or receiving a request from another network component to perform coordinated radar sensing for object detection; paragraph 62: the base station 104…transmits the allocation 110 of air interface resources to the coordinating UE 102-1 via signaling and/or configuration mechanisms…the coordinating UE 102-1 receives the allocation 110 from the base station 104 and determines 406 a configuration 112 for the UE-coordination set 401 to perform coordinated radar sensing…the configuration 112 includes information such as identifiers of UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401, location information, cellular timing reference information, radar TX/RX information, radar waveform information, beamforming configuration, a number of coordinated radar sensing iterations, a TX UE selection and RX UE selection for each iteration, and the like. If the UE-coordination set 401 is to perform multiple iterations of coordinated radar sensing, the coordinating UE 102-1).”
Regarding claim 28, which is dependent on independent claim 15, Wang et al. (‘049) anticipates the apparatus of claim 15. Wang et al. (‘049) further anticipates “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from one or more UEs of the plurality of UEs, a request for radar waveform coordination, wherein the control signaling is transmitted in response to the request for radar waveform coordination (paragraph 35: after the UEs 102 have been configured, the UEs 102 perform coordinated radar sensing…the second (TX) UE 102-2 determines that an object detection trigger has occurred based on, for example, the TX configuration 114, an environmental context of the second UE 102-2, data received from at least one sensor of the second UE 102-2, a request received from a user of the second UE 102-2, a request and/or data received from an application executing on the second UE 102-2, a request and/or data received from one or more of the other UEs 102, a request and/or operating parameters of a vehicle associated with the one or more of the UEs 102, a combination thereof, and the like…the second UE 102-2 transmits a radar signal 118 based on the object detection trigger and the TX configuration 114.
[0051] In one example, the formation of a UE-coordination set 401 is based on (or triggered by), a determination to have UEs 102 perform coordinated radar sensing. For example, the base station 104 (or a UE 102) can make an internal decision to have a set of UEs 102 perform coordinated radar sensing, receive a request or indication from a UE 102 to perform coordinated radar sensing, receive a request from another network component to perform coordinated radar sensing, and the like. In other embodiments, a UE-coordination set 401 is formed independently of deciding that UEs 102 are to perform coordinated radar sensing. In an embodiment where a UE 102 sends a request to the base station 104 for coordinated radar sensing, the UE 102 can be triggered to send the request based on, for example, receiving a request from a user and/or application executing at the UE 102, receiving a request from another UE 102 to perform coordinated radar sensing, receiving a request from a vehicle to perform coordinated radar sensing, historical requests made by the UE 102 for performing coordinated radar sensing, time, a current and/or expected location of the UE 102, an environmental and/or operating context of the UE 102, and the like. In some embodiments, the UE 102 requesting coordinated radar sensing is a UE that is unable to perform coordinated radar sensing itself; paragraph 54: the base station 104, in at least some embodiments, sends layer-2 messages (e.g., Media Access Control layer) and/or layer-3 (e.g., Service Data Adaptation Protocol layer) messages to UEs 102 to direct or request those UEs 102 to join the UE-coordination set 401…the base station 104 provides, additional data to the UEs 102 within the UE-coordination set 401 to enable the UEs 102 to communicate with a coordinating UE and/or others UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401…the additional data includes, an identity of the coordinating UE and/or an identity of the other UEs, security information, and/or local wireless network information…the base station 104 receives a response message from a UE 102 in the UE-coordination set 401 acknowledging the request message…the base station 104 receives a response message (not shown) from at least two of the UEs 102, acknowledging that a UE 102 has joined the UE-coordination set 401…the response message indicates, for example, that a user has approved the request message of the UE 102).”
Regarding independent claim 29, Wang et al. (‘049) anticipates “a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (paragraph 2: a first user equipment (UE) of a group of UEs in a cellular network, includes the first UE determining a configuration to coordinate the group of UEs to detect one or more objects using radar), comprising:
transmitting a message indicating a radar waveform generation capability of the UE (paragraph 56: the UE 102 transmits a UE-capability message);
receiving, from a network entity, control signaling indicating values for one or more radar waveform generation parameters common to a group of UEs including the UE associated with a geographic control area of the network entity in response to transmitting the message indicating the radar waveform generation capability of the UE (paragraph 58: a location of the coordinating UE can also be another factor for selecting a coordinating UE…the base station 104 identifies the location of the UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401 as previously described with respect to the formation of a UE-coordination set…the base station 104 selects a coordinating UE with a geographically central location in the UE-coordination set 401, as this may maximize the coordinating UE's capability to coordinate and communicate with the other UEs in the UE-coordination set 401…the coordinating UE 102 is not required to be in a central location of the UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401. Instead, the coordinating UE can be located at any location within the UE-coordination set 401 that allows the coordinating UE 102 to communicate and coordinate with the other UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401…the base station 104 continually monitors the UE-coordination set 401 and updates the coordinating UE 102 at any time based on updated factors, such as updated UE locations, UE battery-level state, and so on…the coordinating UE 102 can also transfer its joint processing responsibilities to another UE 102 based on factors such as processing power, battery level, and/or geographic location; paragraph 61: in addition to forming the UE-coordination set 401, the base station 104 determines and provides 404 an allocation 110 of air interface resources, such as transmission time and frequency resources, for the UE-coordination set 401 to perform coordinated radar sensing…the base station 104 allocates transmission frames/slot, frequency bands, frequencies, one or more waveforms, transmission power level, and the like for use by the UE-coordination set 401 when performing coordinated radar sensing…formation of the UE-coordination set 401 triggers allocation of the air interface resources…the base station 104 allocates resources in response to determining that the UE-coordination set should perform coordinated radar sensing…the base station 104 allocations air interface resource based on making an internal decision, receiving a request from a UE 102 that is part of the UE-coordination set 401, receiving a request from a UE 102 that is not part of the UE-coordination set 401 or receiving a request from another network component to perform coordinated radar sensing for object detection; paragraph 62: the base station 104…transmits the allocation 110 of air interface resources to the coordinating UE 102-1 via signaling and/or configuration mechanisms…the coordinating UE 102-1 receives the allocation 110 from the base station 104 and determines 406 a configuration 112 for the UE-coordination set 401 to perform coordinated radar sensing…the configuration 112 includes information such as identifiers of UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401, location information, cellular timing reference information, radar TX/RX information, radar waveform information, beamforming configuration, a number of coordinated radar sensing iterations, a TX UE selection and RX UE selection for each iteration, and the like. If the UE-coordination set 401 is to perform multiple iterations of coordinated radar sensing, the coordinating UE 102-1); and
transmitting a radar waveform in accordance with the values for the one or more radar waveform generation parameters (paragraph 65: Radar waveform information, identifies the waveform to be used for the transmitted radar signal 118… any waveform having satisfactory self-correlation properties may be used for the radar signal 118…a separate radar signal is not required to be transmitted…the coordinating UE 102-1 can select a signal already configured to be transmitted by a TX UE, such as a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) or a Random Access Channel (RACH) signal…if the coordinating UE 102-1 determines a waveform for multiple iterations of a coordinated radar sensing instance, the waveform information can include an iteration identifier…the iteration identifier indicates the specific iteration of coordinated radar sensing for which a determined waveform is to be used by a TX UE for the radar signal waveform…the waveform information can also include a unique identifier for the TX UE to indicate which UE 102 of the UE-coordination set 401 is to implement the waveform for the given iteration…if the UE-coordination set 401 is to perform multiple iterations of coordinated radar sensing, the coordinating UE 102-1 selects the same waveform for all iterations or selects a different waveform for at least two of the iterations. Therefore, two or more different TX UEs can transmit the same or different waveforms for a different iteration of a given instance of coordinated radar sensing…the coordinating UE 102-2 determines different waveforms by using a different cyclic shift for a random sequence…if the base station 104 desires to combine SRS and coordinated radar sensing functions, the base station 104 provides the relevant portions of the configuration 112 to the coordinating UE 102-1).”
Regarding independent claim 30, Wang et al. (‘049) anticipates “a method for wireless communications at a network entity (paragraph 2: a first user equipment (UE) of a group of UEs in a cellular network, includes the first UE determining a configuration to coordinate the group of UEs to detect one or more objects using radar), comprising:
receiving a plurality of messages from a plurality of user equipments (UEs), each message indicating one or more radar waveform generation capabilities of a respective UE of the plurality of UEs (paragraph 56: the UE 102 transmits a UE-capability message);
selecting values for a set of one or more radar waveform generation parameters that are common to a group of UEs comprising at least a subset of the plurality of UEs associated with a geographic control area of the network entity based at least in part on the plurality of messages (paragraph 58: a location of the coordinating UE can also be another factor for selecting a coordinating UE…the base station 104 identifies the location of the UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401 as previously described with respect to the formation of a UE-coordination set…the base station 104 selects a coordinating UE with a geographically central location in the UE-coordination set 401, as this may maximize the coordinating UE's capability to coordinate and communicate with the other UEs in the UE-coordination set 401…the coordinating UE 102 is not required to be in a central location of the UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401. Instead, the coordinating UE can be located at any location within the UE-coordination set 401 that allows the coordinating UE 102 to communicate and coordinate with the other UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401…the base station 104 continually monitors the UE-coordination set 401 and updates the coordinating UE 102 at any time based on updated factors, such as updated UE locations, UE battery-level state, and so on…the coordinating UE 102 can also transfer its joint processing responsibilities to another UE 102 based on factors such as processing power, battery level, and/or geographic location; paragraph 61: in addition to forming the UE-coordination set 401, the base station 104 determines and provides 404 an allocation 110 of air interface resources, such as transmission time and frequency resources, for the UE-coordination set 401 to perform coordinated radar sensing…the base station 104 allocates transmission frames/slot, frequency bands, frequencies, one or more waveforms, transmission power level, and the like for use by the UE-coordination set 401 when performing coordinated radar sensing…formation of the UE-coordination set 401 triggers allocation of the air interface resources…the base station 104 allocates resources in response to determining that the UE-coordination set should perform coordinated radar sensing…the base station 104 allocations air interface resource based on making an internal decision, receiving a request from a UE 102 that is part of the UE-coordination set 401, receiving a request from a UE 102 that is not part of the UE-coordination set 401 or receiving a request from another network component to perform coordinated radar sensing for object detection; paragraph 62: the base station 104…transmits the allocation 110 of air interface resources to the coordinating UE 102-1 via signaling and/or configuration mechanisms…the coordinating UE 102-1 receives the allocation 110 from the base station 104 and determines 406 a configuration 112 for the UE-coordination set 401 to perform coordinated radar sensing…the configuration 112 includes information such as identifiers of UEs 102 in the UE-coordination set 401, location information, cellular timing reference information, radar TX/RX information, radar waveform information, beamforming configuration, a number of coordinated radar sensing iterations, a TX UE selection and RX UE selection for each iteration, and the like. If the UE-coordination set 401 is to perform multiple iterations of coordinated radar sensing, the coordinating UE 102-1); and
transmitting, to the group of UEs, control signaling indicating the values for the set of one or more radar waveform generation parameters common to the group of UEs (paragraph 65: Radar waveform information, identifies the waveform to be used for the transmitted radar signal 118… any waveform having satisfactory self-correlation properties may be used for the radar signal 118…a separate radar signal is not required to be transmitted…the coordinating UE 102-1 can select a signal already configured to be transmitted by a TX UE, such as a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) or a Random Access Channel (RACH) signal…if the coordinating UE 102-1 determines a waveform for multiple iterations of a coordinated radar sensing instance, the waveform information can include an iteration identifier…the iteration identifier indicates the specific iteration of coordinated radar sensing for which a determined waveform is to be used by a TX UE for the radar signal waveform…the waveform information can also include a unique identifier for the TX UE to indicate which UE 102 of the UE-coordination set 401 is to implement the waveform for the given iteration…if the UE-coordination set 401 is to perform multiple iterations of coordinated radar sensing, the coordinating UE 102-1 selects the same waveform for all iterations or selects a different waveform for at least two of the iterations. Therefore, two or more different TX UEs can transmit the same or different waveforms for a different iteration of a given instance of coordinated radar sensing…the coordinating UE 102-2 determines different waveforms by using a different cyclic shift for a random sequence…if the base station 104 desires to combine SRS and coordinated radar sensing functions, the base station 104 provides the relevant portions of the configuration 112 to the coordinating UE 102-1).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2024/0004049 A1), and further in view of Gulati et al. (US 2020/0025866 A1).
Regarding claim 3, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Wang et al. (‘049) discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Wang et al. (‘049) does not explicitly disclose “the instructions to transmit the message are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit the message indicating whether the UE is capable of applying a frame delay to the radar waveform.”
Gulati et al. (‘866) relates to wireless communication and performing target detection in the presence of multiple radar sources. Gulati et al. (‘866) teaches “the instructions to transmit the message are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit the message indicating whether the UE is capable of applying a frame delay to the radar waveform (paragraph 78: a common set of radar transmission parameters may be used for a set of chirps within one radio frame. For a subsequent frame, one or more of the parameters may be varied and the resulting change of various parameters (e.g., delay or Doppler) may be monitored to identify interfering signals. Once identified, a set of parameters that effectively suppresses the interfering signals may then be used for subsequent frames).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang et al. (‘049) with the teaching of Gulati et al. (‘866) for more reliable side link communication for radar detection (Gulati et al. (‘866) – paragraph 77). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Wang et al. (‘049) and Gulati et al. (‘866)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, network assisted radar communication.
Claims 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2024/0004049 A1), and further in view of Gulati et al. (US 2019/0293748 A1).
Regarding claim 6, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Wang et al. (‘049) discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Wang et al. (‘049) does not explicitly disclose “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the network entity, a broadcast signal; and transmit the message to the network entity based at least in part on receiving the broadcast signal.”
Gulati et al. (US ‘748) relates to wireless communication and performing target detection in the presence of multiple radar sources. Gulati et al. (US ‘748) teaches “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the network entity, a broadcast signal; and transmit the message to the network entity based at least in part on receiving the broadcast signal (paragraph 116: the UE may receive information indicating a set of codewords being used in the proximity of the UE (e.g., by direct or relayed communication with a network entity)…step 1050 involves the UE broadcasting a signal such as a beacon or a coded discovery message using a side-communication channel (e.g., to indicate the presence and/or location of the UE)).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang et al. (‘049) with the teaching of Gulati et al. (US ‘748) for more reliable side link communication for radar detection (Gulati et al. (US ‘748) – paragraph 6). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Wang et al. (‘049) and Gulati et al. (US ‘748)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, network assisted radar communication.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2024/0004049 A1)/Gulati et al. (US 2019/0293748 A1), and further in view of Xu et al. (US 2020/0145835 A1).
Regarding claim 7, which is dependent on claim 6, Wang et al. (‘049)/Gulati et al. (US ‘748) discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Wang et al. (‘049)/Gulati et al. (US ‘748) does not explicitly disclose “the broadcast signal triggers the UE to transmit the message based at least in part on the UE entering the geographic control area of the network entity.”
Xu et al. (‘835) relates to wireless communication. Xu et al. (‘835) teaches “the broadcast signal triggers the UE to transmit the message based at least in part on the UE entering the geographic control area of the network entity (paragraph 111: the redirection (or switching) of the UE to the unlicensed band cell may be based on any, any combination of, and/or all of a network policy, network load (and/or network traffic conditions), a capability of the UE, and/or position (e.g., geographic location) of the UE).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang et al. (‘049)/Gulati et al. (US ‘748) with the teaching of Xu et al. (‘835) for more reliable UE communication (Xu et al. (‘835) – paragraph 57). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Wang et al. (‘049), Gulati et al. (US ‘748) and Xu et al. (‘835)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, network assisted user equipment communication.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2024/0004049 A1), and further in view of Kim (US 2022/00222279 A1).
Regarding claim 10, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Wang et al. (‘049) discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Wang et al. (‘049) does not explicitly disclose “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: initiate a timer based at least in part on detecting radio link failure; and transmit a second radar waveform using one or more default radar waveform generation parameters based at least in part on the timer expiring.”
Kim (‘279) relates to wireless communication. Kim (‘279) teaches “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: initiate a timer based at least in part on detecting radio link failure; and transmit a second radar waveform using one or more default radar waveform generation parameters based at least in part on the timer expiring (paragraph 216: the preset condition may mean a case in which a timer expires and/or a counter (e.g., the number of failed receptions) reaches a preset threshold; paragraph 217-223: when a radio link problem of the sidelink and/or Uu interface is detected (or occurs)…the radio link problem refers to a case in which a beam failure detection, beam failure recovery, or radio link failure (RLF) for a radio link of the sidelink and/or Uu interface occurs…when the terminal enters a new cell or a new zone for direct communication service…when the terminal is out of a service area (out of coverage) [0221] When the terminal fails to maintain physical layer synchronization (out of synchronization) or loses a source of a sidelink synchronization reference…222…the source of the synchronization reference may refer to a synchronization signal of the base station, a signal such as GNSS, and/or a synchronization signal block (SSB), sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS), physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH), or the like from another direct communication terminal; paragraph 223: when a radio quality (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, SINR, or RSSI) of a sidelink channel does not satisfy a preset condition; paragraph 224: the radio quality of the sidelink channel may refer to a radio channel quality of the SSB, SLSS, PSBCH, PSCCH, or PSCCH of the sidelink, and/or a reference signal (RS) of the sidelink channel; paragraph 225: when a channel complexity (e.g., channel busy ratio (CBR)), a sidelink channel occupancy ratio (e.g., SL CR), and/or an interference signal for the allocated or selected sidelink radio resource satisfies a preset condition; paragraph 226: when a control message indicating to stop the SL-DRX operation or release a corresponding sidelink bearer is received from the base station and/or the counterpart terminal).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang et al. (‘049) with the teaching of Kim (‘279) for more reliable side link communication (Kim (‘279) – paragraph 6). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Wang et al. (‘049) and Kim (‘279)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, network assisted communication.
Regarding claim 11, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Wang et al. (‘049) discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Wang et al. (‘049) does not explicitly disclose “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: initiate a timer based at least in part on detecting radio link failure; and transmit a second radar waveform using the values for the one or more radar waveform generation parameters based at least in part on the timer expiring.”
Kim (‘279) relates to wireless communication. Kim (‘279) teaches “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: initiate a timer based at least in part on detecting radio link failure; and transmit a second radar waveform using the values for the one or more radar waveform generation parameters based at least in part on the timer expiring (paragraph 216: the preset condition may mean a case in which a timer expires and/or a counter (e.g., the number of failed receptions) reaches a preset threshold; paragraph 217-223: when a radio link problem of the sidelink and/or Uu interface is detected (or occurs)…the radio link problem refers to a case in which a beam failure detection, beam failure recovery, or radio link failure (RLF) for a radio link of the sidelink and/or Uu interface occurs…when the terminal enters a new cell or a new zone for direct communication service…when the terminal is out of a service area (out of coverage) [0221] When the terminal fails to maintain physical layer synchronization (out of synchronization) or loses a source of a sidelink synchronization reference…222…the source of the synchronization reference may refer to a synchronization signal of the base station, a signal such as GNSS, and/or a synchronization signal block (SSB), sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS), physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH), or the like from another from another direct communication terminal; paragraph 223: when a radio quality (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, SINR, or RSSI) of a sidelink channel does not satisfy a preset condition; paragraph 224: the radio quality of the sidelink channel may refer to a radio channel quality of the SSB, SLSS, PSBCH, PSCCH, or PSCCH of the sidelink, and/or a reference signal (RS) of the sidelink channel; paragraph 225: when a channel complexity (e.g., channel busy ratio (CBR)), a sidelink channel occupancy ratio (e.g., SL CR), and/or an interference signal for the allocated or selected sidelink radio resource satisfies a preset condition; paragraph 226: when a control message indicating to stop the SL-DRX operation or release a corresponding sidelink bearer is received from the base station and/or the counterpart terminal).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang et al. (‘049) with the teaching of Kim (‘279) for more reliable side link communication (Kim (‘279) – paragraph 6). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Wang et al. (‘049) and Kim (‘279)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, network assisted communication.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2024/0004049 A1), and further in view of Telang et al. (US 2021/0185589 A1).
Regarding claim 12, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Wang et al. (‘049) discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Wang et al. (‘049) does not explicitly disclose “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: initiate a timer based at least in part on detecting radio link failure; and transmit a second radar waveform using one or more default radar waveform generation parameters based at least in part on the timer expiring.”
Telang et al. (‘589) relates to wireless communication and performing target detection in the presence of multiple sensors including radar. Telang et al. (‘589) teaches “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit a second radar waveform with a reduced transmit power based at least in part on detecting radio link failure (paragraph 62: the control plane 404 includes a radio resource control layer 420 (RRC layer 420) and a non-access stratum layer 422 (NAS layer 422)…the RRC layer 420 establishes and releases radio connections and radio bearers, broadcasts system information, or performs performs power control. For example, during registration with one of PLMN 104 or PLMN 106, the UE 102 may request an RRC connection by sending an RRC Connection Request message to one of base stations 108 through 114 (e.g., an eNB or cell) with an establishment cause field (e.g., “mobile originating signaling” value) to request an ATTACH, a DETACH, or perform a TAU…the UE 102 may then use the RRC connection to initiate registration with the PLMN 104 or the PLMN 106, such as by transmitting an ATTACH request message or TAU message to a network core via the NAS layer 422…poor cell coverage or weak signal for the connection may result in failure of a registration attempt, which may be detected as a release of the RRC connection by the network or a registration failure due to lower layer causes (e.g., radio link failure) or the like).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang et al. (‘049) with the teaching of Telang et al. (‘589) for more reliable communication (Telang et al. (‘589) – paragraph 50). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Wang et al. (‘049) and Telang et al. (‘589)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, network assisted communication.
Claims 23-24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2024/0004049 A1), and further in view of Ibras Casas et al. (US 2022/0385509 A1).
Regarding claim 23, which is dependent on independent claim 15, Wang et al. (‘049) discloses the apparatus of claim 15. Wang et al. (‘049) does not explicitly disclose “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: select second values for a second set of one or more radar waveform generation parameters that is common to a second group of UEs comprising at least a second subset of the plurality of UEs based at least in part on the plurality of messages, wherein the second group of UEs is different from the group of UEs; and transmit, to the second group of UEs, second control signaling indicating the second values for the second set of one or more radar waveform generation parameters common to the second group of UEs.”
Ibras Casas et al. (‘509) relates to wireless communications. Ibras Casas et al. (‘509) teaches “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: select second values for a second set of one or more radar waveform generation parameters that is common to a second group of UEs comprising at least a second subset of the plurality of UEs based at least in part on the plurality of messages, wherein the second group of UEs is different from the group of UEs; and transmit, to the second group of UEs, second control signaling indicating the second values for the second set of one or more radar waveform generation parameters common to the second group of UEs (paragraph 193: Transmitting such that at least one of the number of transmission beams includes transmissions for only the first group of user equipment operating using the legacy protocol; paragraph 194: transmitting such that at least one of the number of transmission beams includes transmissions for only the second group of user equipment operating using the OTFS protocol; paragraph 195]: transmitting such that at least one of the number of transmission beams includes transmission for both the first group of user equipment and the second group of user equipment…transmitting such that the at least one transmission beam multiplexes transmissions for the first group of user equipment and the second group of user equipment use disjoint time-frequency resources…performing transmissions while sharing the time-frequency resources…some time/frequency resources on a transmission beam may be exclusively used for OTFS transmissions, while other time/frequency resources of the same transmission beams may be exclusively used for legacy transmissions…alternatively, a scheduler may use all time/frequency resources for OTFS or legacy transmissions, as indicated by the schedules; paragraph 198: transmitting control and broadcast signals without precoding (e.g., Figure 11, Figure 12); paragraph 199: transmitting first group of data packets using subframes that are all normal subframes of the LTE protocol; paragraph 200: transmitting control signals according to the LTE protocol in a control region of the OFDM scheme, transmitting common reference signals according to the LTE protocol, transmitting cell discovery signals according to the LTE protocol, and transmitting system information blocks according to the LTE protocol) .”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang et al. (‘049) with the teaching of Ibras Casas et al. (‘509) for more reliable communication for radar detection (Ibras Casas et al. (‘509) – paragraph 213). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Wang et al. (‘049) and Ibras Casas et al. (‘509)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, network assisted radar communication.
Regarding claim 24, which is dependent on claim 23, Wang et al. (‘049) discloses the apparatus of claim 23. Wang et al. (‘049) does not explicitly disclose “the group of UEs is associated with a first radar waveform generation capability level, and the second group of UEs is associated with a second radar waveform generation capability level.”
Ibras Casas et al. (‘509) relates to wireless communications. Ibras Casas et al. (‘509) teaches “the group of UEs is associated with a first radar waveform generation capability level, and the second group of UEs is associated with a second radar waveform generation capability level (paragraph 193: Transmitting such that at least one of the number of transmission beams includes transmissions for only the first group of user equipment operating using the legacy protocol; paragraph 194: transmitting such that at least one of the number of transmission beams includes transmissions for only the second group of user equipment operating using the OTFS protocol; paragraph 195]: transmitting such that at least one of the number of transmission beams includes transmission for both the first group of user equipment and the second group of user equipment. Herein, transmitting such that the at least one transmission beam multiplexes transmissions for the first group of user equipment and the second group of user equipment use disjoint time-frequency resources…performing transmissions while sharing the time-frequency resources…some time/frequency resources on a transmission beam may be exclusively used for OTFS transmissions, while other time/frequency resources of the same transmission beams may be exclusively used for legacy transmissions…alternatively, a scheduler may use all time/frequency resources for OTFS or legacy transmissions, as indicated by the schedules; paragraph 198: transmitting control and broadcast signals without precoding (e.g., FIG. 11, FIG. 12); paragraph 199: transmitting first group of data packets using subframes that are all normal subframes of the LTE protocol; paragraph 200: transmitting control signals according to the LTE protocol in a control region of the OFDM scheme, transmitting common reference signals according to the LTE protocol, transmitting cell discovery signals according to the LTE protocol, and transmitting system information blocks according to the LTE protocol) .”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang et al. (‘049) with the teaching of Ibras Casas et al. (‘509) for more reliable communication for radar detection (Ibras Casas et al. (‘509) – paragraph 213). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Wang et al. (‘049) and Ibras Casas et al. (‘509)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, network assisted radar communication.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yerramalli et al. (US 2020/0154446 A1) describes a user equipment (UE) to receive a set of synchronization signal block (SSB) configurations for a corresponding set of frequency resources (e.g., BWPs, sub-channels, sub bands) configured for communications in a shared (e.g., unlicensed or shared licensed) frequency spectrum band…the UE, base station, or a combination thereof may perform a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure (e.g., a clear channel assessment (CCA)) for the frequency resource sets, for example individually, in groups, or across an operating bandwidth containing multiple frequency resource sets…if the result of the LBT procedure indicates at least one of the frequency resource sets is available, the UE may select and communicate with a base station on the corresponding frequency resource set…the UE may select multiple frequency resource sets to communicate with the base station based on each frequency resource set having a successful LBT procedure…the UE may identify or otherwise determine frequency resources (e.g., time and frequency resources) to monitor for SSBs transmitted by the base station based on the selected frequency resource sets…the UE may receive one or more SSBs from the base station on the selected frequency resource sets based on an SSB configuration that corresponds to the selected frequency resource set or sets…the SSB configurations may indicate a floating configuration for SSBs in measurement windows of the corresponding frequency resource sets or a fixed configuration for SSBs outside of measurement windows in the corresponding frequency resources sets (paragraph 5).
Ahmed et al. (US 2023/0060414 A1) describes system for distributed dual-function radar-communication comprises a plurality of M dual-function radar transmitters positioned within a region of interest, each configured to transmit at least one radar waveform, with each m-th transmitter for m=1, . . . , M having a minimum transmit power, a maximum transmit power, and a working transmit power, a plurality of radar receivers positioned within the region of interest, each configured to receive the radar waveforms, (paragraph 7); the at least one controller is communicatively connected to all of the dual-function radar transmitters. In one embodiment, the steps further comprise receiving an updated target location having a second target localization accuracy, and recalculating the vector of transmit powers. In one embodiment, the steps further comprise, when the target location is outside the region of interest, switching the system into a communication-only mode, and when the target location is inside the region of interest, switching the system into a dual-function radar-communication mode. In one embodiment, the system further comprises a time synchronization system communicatively connected to the dual-function radar transmitters and radar receivers, configured to synchronize clocks of the dual-function radar transmitters and radar receivers (paragraph 8).
Contact Information
/NUZHAT PERVIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648