DETAILED ACTION
Responsive to the communication dated 05/21/2024
Claims 52-62 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-51 and 63 are withdrawn from consideration as per the Response to Restriction Requirement dated 06/16/2026
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS dated 05/21/2024 has been reviewed. See attached.
Drawings
The drawings dated 05/21/2024 have been reviewed. They are accepted.
Abstract
The abstract dated 05/21/2024 has been reviewed. It has 59 words, and contains no legal phraseology. It is accepted.
Claim Objections
Claims 52-62 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 52 recites “determine, using the BIM model, an installation order generating, using the optimal set of data, an installation order for cladding the structure and a fabrication specification for creating the panel blocks to a manufacturer;” This combination of limitations has several issues.
Firstly, there is no proper separation between “installation order” and “generating…” If these are meant to be separate limitations as suggested by the newline and indentation, it is suggested to add a semicolon after “installation order”
Even if the above punctuation issue is fixed, the combination of limitations here creates a potential issue with antecedent basis; see the 112(b) rejection below for further analysis and amendment recommendations.
Claim 52 recites “implement, using the digital scan, the optimum set of data, and the installation order…” As the term optimal set of data is used elsewhere in the claim, it is recommended to use this terminology here for the sake of consistency and to avoid potential issues with antecedent basis
Claim 52 recites “generating … a fabrication specification for creating the panel blocks to a manufacturer;” This limitation has grammatical issues. It is recommended to amend the limitation to instead read “generating … a fabrication specification for creating the panel blocks to manufacture;
Claim 55 recites “wherein the BIM comprises…” To maintain consistency and avoid potential issues with antecedent basis, it is recommend to amend the claim to instead read “wherein the BIM model comprises…”
Claim 56 recites “…convert the point cloud data into the BMI.” It is clear that “BMI” is meant to refer to the BIM model, as such it is recommended to amend the claim to instead read “…convert the point cloud data into the BIM model.”
Claim 57 recites “… determine the optimal set of standard and custom panel blocks …” To avoid potential issues with antecedent basis, it is recommended to amend the claim to instead read “… determine an optimal set of standard and custom panel blocks …”
Claim 59 recites “…subjected to specific aesthetic requirements.” To improve readability, it is recommended to amend the claim to instead read “…subject to specific aesthetic requirements.”
Claim 60 recites “…and generating the installation order for the panel blocks that maximize installation efficiency.” To improve readability, it is recommended to amend the claim to instead read “…and generate the installation order for the panel blocks such that the installation order maximizes installation efficiency.”
Claim 61 recites “… through the installation process.” As no ‘installation process’ was previously introduced, it is recommended to amend the claim to instead read “… through
Claim 62 recites “…the AR tool…” While claim 61 introduces an ‘AR tool’ claim 62 does not depend on claim 61, and therefore there is a potential issue with antecedent basis in the usage of this term in claim 62. As such it is recommended to either a) amend claim 62 to depend on claim 61, ensuring adjustments to claim language are made so as not to introduce new issues, or b) replace “… the AR tool …” with “… an AR tool …” in claim 62.
It should be noted that claim 52 refers to “a user…” claim 61 refers to “an installer…” and claim 62 refers to “an operator…” If these are intended to refer to the same entity, it is recommended to amend these claims to use consistent terminology.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 52-62 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 52 recites the limitation "generating, using the optimal set of data, an installation order for cladding the structure and a fabrication specification for creating the panel blocks to a manufacturer;" There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Particularly, the installation order was already created in the previous limitation reading “determine, using the BIM model, an installation order” and it is clear that this generated installation order is not meant to be a separate order from the previously determined one. To fix these issues along with the minor informalities discussed in the claim objections section above, it is recommended to either combine the two limitations or remove the “determine, using the BIM model, an installation order” as, by virtue of using the optimal set of data which itself was determined using the BIM model, the generating step is by extension already using the BIM model even if not explicitly recited. If an explicit recitation of using the BIM in the generation of the installation order is desired, it is recommended to combine the two limitations to read something along the lines of “ BIM model and the optimal set of data, an installation order for cladding the structure and a fabrication specification for creating the panel blocks to a manufacturer;”
Claim 52 recites the limitation "at least one of the manufactured panel blocks." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Although the previous limitation recites “generating … a fabrication specification for creating the panel blocks to a manufacturer;” given its broadest reasonable interpretation this limitation does not actually require any panel blocks to be manufactured, merely that specifications for doing so are created. (Further see the claim objections section above in relation to the minor informalities with this limitation) As such, an explicit recitation of manufacturing the panel blocks prior to guiding on-site installation of said panel blocks would be required to fix this issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 52-62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 52 (Statutory Category – Process)
Step 2A – Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes, the claim recites a mental process, specifically:
MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill): “Accordingly, the "mental processes" abstract idea grouping is defined as concepts performed in the human mind, and examples of mental processes include observations, evaluations, Judgments, and opinions.”
Further, the MPEP recites “The courts do not distinguish between mental processes that are performed entirely in the human mind and mental processes that require a human to use a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper or a slide rule) to perform the claim limitation.”
A system for installing panel blocks, the system comprising: … determine, using the BIM model, an optimal set of data for each of the panel blocks to clad the structure; determine, using the BIM model, an installation order generating, using the optimal set of data, an installation order for cladding the structure and a fabrication specification for creating the panel blocks to a manufacturer;
Given a design for a building, a person could mentally generate panels to cover a portion or the entirety of that building by observing the design and drawing schematics for such panels and a layout thereof using a pencil and paper. The person could optimize the size, positioning, and design of said panels to optimize the layout in some way, for example to use least number of panels to cover an entire surface.
Further, given these schematics for the sets of panels and their layout, a person could generate an installation order by coming up with a logical sequence in which to install the panels. For example, given a top panel that needs to be held up by the bottom panel below it, a person would recognize that the installation of the bottom panel should occur before the top panel.
Creating a fabrication specification is merely the act of adding information to guide fabrication to the drawn schematics such as drilling locations, cutting angles and depths, etc.
Doing this with a generic computing device and using a BIM model amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply.
implement, using the digital scan, the optimum set of data, and the installation order, an … installation process guiding a user to install at least one of the manufactured panel blocks.
Creating such a guide is a mental process equivalent to, given the information about the building geometry, panel schematics, and installation order, drawing a step by step visual guide showing a user how to install the various components.
Note that presenting such a guide in augmented reality amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply.
Should it be found that this is not a mental process, it is also an example of insignificant post-solution activity.
The claim also recites a mathematic concept, particularly:
translate the digital representation of the structure into a building information model (BIM);
Conversion between data types has been explicitly recognized by the courts as an example of a mathematic concept. See (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(A): “Examples of mathematical relationships recited in a claim include: … ii. a conversion between binary coded decimal and pure binary, Benson, 409 U.S. at 64, 175 USPQ at 674;”)
Should it be found that this is not a mathematic concept, this translation is also a part of the mere data gathering step.
Step 2A – Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Solution?
Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)) has found mere data gathering and
post solution activity to be insignificant extra-solution activity.
Data gathering:
perform a digital scan of a structure to produce a digital representation of the structure; translate the digital representation of the structure into a building information model (BIM);
Generating a BIM model from a digital scan, without any specificity as to how this scan is performed or how exactly the translation operates, is merely the act of gathering said model data and therefore amounts to no more than mere data gathering.
Post-Solution Activity:
implement, using the digital scan, the optimum set of data, and the installation order, an augmented reality (AR) installation process guiding a user to install at least one of the manufactured panel blocks.
This limitation merely presents the results of the abstract process, e.g. determining the design of the panels and how they should be installed, in a certain manner, and therefore amounts to no more than insignificant post-solution activity.
Mere Instructions to Apply (MPEP 2106.05(f)) has found that merely applying a judicial exception such as an abstract idea, as by performing it on a computer, does not integrate the claim into a practical solution.
Mere Instructions to Apply:
implement, using the digital scan, the optimum set of data, and the installation order, an augmented reality (AR) installation process guiding a user to install at least one of the manufactured panel blocks.
Applying a computer to perform a generic guidance implementation at a high level of generality is simply the act of instructing a computer to perform generic functions to perform that guidance, which is merely an instruction to apply a computer to the judicial exception. This limitation only recites the idea of a solution or outcome, that outcome being that an installation guide is “implemented” using augmented reality without reciting how this implementation is actually accomplished.
The courts have found that such mere instructions to apply are not indicative of integration into a practical application nor recitation of significantly more than the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(f) “Another consideration when determining whether a claim integrates a judicial exception into a practical application in Step 2A Prong Two or recites significantly more than a judicial exception in Step 2B is whether the additional elements amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or are more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer. As explained by the Supreme Court, in order to make a claim directed to a judicial exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do "‘more than simply stat[e] the [judicial exception] while adding the words ‘apply it’". Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, for example, claims that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea eligible. Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 223, 110 USPQ2d at 1983”)
Moreover, Mere Instructions To Apply An Exception (MPEP 2106.05(f)) has found that simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. In light of this, the additional generic computer component elements of “A system for installing panel blocks, the system comprising: one or more computing device processors; and one or more computing device memories, coupled to the one or more computing device processors, the one or more computing device memories storing instructions executed by the one or more computing device processors, wherein the instructions are configured to: … digital scan … digital representation of the structure; … building information model (BIM); … an augmented reality (AR) installation process” are not sufficient to integrate a judicial exception into a practical application nor provide evidence of an inventive concept.
Step 2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
No, as discussed with respect to Step 2A, the additional limitations are Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity and Mere Instructions To Apply An Exception and do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and therefore the claim does not provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)) has found mere data gathering and
post solution activity to be insignificant extra-solution activity.
Data gathering:
perform a digital scan of a structure to produce a digital representation of the structure; translate the digital representation of the structure into a building information model (BIM);
Generating a BIM model from a digital scan, without any specificity as to how this scan is performed or how exactly the translation operates, is merely the act of gathering said model data and therefore amounts to no more than mere data gathering.
A claim element that amounts to merely gathering data is not indicative of integration into a practical solution nor evidence that the claim provides an inventive concept or significantly more, as exemplified by ((MPEP 2106.05)(g)(Mere Data Gathering): “i. Performing clinical tests on individuals to obtain input for an equation, In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 839-40; 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1827-28 (Fed. Cir. 1989); … vi. Determining the level of a biomarker in blood, Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968. See also PerkinElmer, Inc. v. Intema Ltd., 496 Fed. App'x 65, 73, 105 USPQ2d 1960, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (assessing or measuring data derived from an ultrasound scan, to be used in a diagnosis).”)
Post-Solution Activity:
implement, using the digital scan, the optimum set of data, and the installation order, an augmented reality (AR) installation process guiding a user to install at least one of the manufactured panel blocks.
This limitation merely presents the results of the abstract process, e.g. determining the design of the panels and how they should be installed, in a certain manner, and therefore amounts to no more than insignificant post-solution activity.
This element merely acts on the results of the previous abstract steps. A claim element that merely acts on a series of previous abstract steps is not indicative of integration into a practical solution nor evidence that the claim provides an inventive concept, as exemplified by ((MPEP 2106.05)(g)(Insignificant application): “i. Cutting hair after first determining the hair style, In re Brown, 645 Fed. App'x 1014, 1016-1017 (Fed. Cir. 2016) and ii. Printing or downloading generated menus, Ameranth, 842 F.3d at 1241-42, 120 USPQ2d at 1854-55.”)
Mere Instructions to Apply (MPEP 2106.05(f)) has found that merely applying a judicial exception such as an abstract idea, as by performing it on a computer, does not integrate the claim into a practical solution.
Mere Instructions to Apply:
implement, using the digital scan, the optimum set of data, and the installation order, an augmented reality (AR) installation process guiding a user to install at least one of the manufactured panel blocks.
Applying a computer to perform a generic guidance implementation at a high level of generality is simply the act of instructing a computer to perform generic functions to perform that guidance, which is merely an instruction to apply a computer to the judicial exception. This limitation only recites the idea of a solution or outcome, that outcome being that an installation guide is “implemented” using augmented reality without reciting how this implementation is actually accomplished.
The courts have found that such mere instructions to apply are not indicative of integration into a practical application nor recitation of significantly more than the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(f) “Another consideration when determining whether a claim integrates a judicial exception into a practical application in Step 2A Prong Two or recites significantly more than a judicial exception in Step 2B is whether the additional elements amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or are more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer. As explained by the Supreme Court, in order to make a claim directed to a judicial exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do "‘more than simply stat[e] the [judicial exception] while adding the words ‘apply it’". Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, for example, claims that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea eligible. Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 223, 110 USPQ2d at 1983”)
Moreover, Mere Instructions To Apply An Exception (MPEP 2106.05(f)) has found that simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. In light of this, the additional generic computer component elements of “A system for installing panel blocks, the system comprising: one or more computing device processors; and one or more computing device memories, coupled to the one or more computing device processors, the one or more computing device memories storing instructions executed by the one or more computing device processors, wherein the instructions are configured to: … digital scan … digital representation of the structure; … building information model (BIM); … an augmented reality (AR) installation process” are not sufficient to integrate a judicial exception into a practical application nor provide evidence of an inventive concept.
The additional elements have been considered both individually and as an ordered combination in the consideration of whether they constitute significantly more, and have been determined not to constitute such.
The claim is ineligible.
Claim 53 recites “wherein the digital scan comprises a scanned three- dimensional image of the structure.”
This merely clarifies the form of the digital scan and is therefore merely an extension of the mere data gathering .
Claim 54 recites “wherein the digital representation is point cloud data.”
This merely clarifies the form of the digital representation and is therefore merely an extension of mere data gathering step of gathering the scan data to form that digital representation.
Claim 55 recites “wherein the BIM comprises position, dimension, and orientation of the structure.”
This merely clarifies what information is represented in the BIM model, and is therefore merely an extension of the mathematic concept of converting the digital representation data into the BIM model and the mere instructions to apply of storing and utilizing said BIM model.
Claim 56 recites “wherein while translating the digital representation of the structure, the instructions are configured to convert the point cloud data into the BMI.”
Conversion between data types has been explicitly recognized by the courts as an example of a mathematic concept. See (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(A): “Examples of mathematical relationships recited in a claim include: … ii. a conversion between binary coded decimal and pure binary, Benson, 409 U.S. at 64, 175 USPQ at 674;”)
Should it be found that this is not a mathematic concept, this conversion is also a part of the mere data gathering step.
Particularly, without any specificity as to how this conversion is performed, obtaining the BIM model from the point cloud data merely consists of gathering that point cloud data into a different container format, and therefore amounts to no more than mere data gathering.
Claim 57 recites “wherein while determining the optimal set of data, the instructions are configured to utilize a panelization tool to determine the optimal set of standard and custom panel blocks to fully clad the structure”
Determining an optimal set of panel blocks to clad a structure is a mental process, as is described in the analysis of claim 52.
Using a panelization tool to perform this process, without any specificity as to what exactly this panelization tool is or how it operates, amounts to no more than mere instructions apply.
Claim 58 recites “wherein while utilizing the panelization tool, the instructions are configured to create a cut list of standard and custom panel blocks that need to be manufactured.”
Creating such a cut list is a mental process that consists of determining a set of panels that should be fabricated, as by drawing schematics and fabrication details for a set of panels that were determined to best make up the cladding of the structure as described in the analysis of claim 52.
Claim 59 recites “wherein while determining the optimal set of data, the instructions are configured to utilize a linear programming multi-objective optimization algorithm to maximize material efficiency and minimize installed costs subjected to specific aesthetic requirements.”
Using a mathematic optimization algorithm to calculate the optimal balance of design attributes amounts to no more than the use of such a mathematic algorithm, and is therefore a mathematic concept. See (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C): “Examples of mathematical calculations recited in a claim include: … v. using an algorithm for determining the optimal number of visits by a business representative to a client, In re Maucorps, 609 F.2d 481, 482, 203 USPQ 812, 813 (CCPA 1979);”)
Claim 60 recites “wherein while generating the installation order, the instructions are configured to assign a unique identifier for each of the panel blocks and generating the installation order for the panel blocks that maximize installation efficiency.”
Assigning a unique identifier to each panel block is merely the act of labeling the blocks as such when drawing the schematics and writing up the installation order.
Maximizing the efficiency of the installation order is a mental process equivalent to coming up with a particular order, estimating how much time it might take to construct the project, changing the order, and repeating the estimating and changing until an order that takes the least time is determined. Estimating the time it might take to perform a certain construction operation or series of operations is logically something an experienced construction worker or foreman would be capable of doing mentally.
Claim 61 recites “wherein while implementing the AR installation process, the instructions are configured to utilize an AR tool to guide an installer through the installation process.”
This merely clarifies how the AR system is used and is therefore merely an extension of the mental process, insignificant post-solution activity, and mere instructions to apply.
Claim 62 recites “wherein the AR tool comprises an immersive heads-up display that projects 3D holograms that an operator perceives to be in the real world.”
This merely clarifies the physical form of the augmented reality device and is therefore merely an extension of the mental process, insignificant post-solution activity, and mere instructions to apply.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(1) Claims 52-56 and 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dessel (US 20160001508 A1) in view of Babur (US 20220138366 A1)
Claim 52. Dessel teaches A system for installing panel blocks, the system comprising: one or more computing device processors; and one or more computing device memories, coupled to the one or more computing device processors, the one or more computing device memories storing instructions executed by the one or more computing device processors, wherein the instructions are configured to: ([Par 9] “According to the present invention, a three-dimensional (3D) laser-based scan of a façade of a structure is conducted. Based on data of the 3D laser-based scan, a 3D computer model of the façade is generated. Then, a design of insulation to be installed on the façade is determined based on the generated 3D computer model. According to the determined design, insulation is fabricated via an automated fabrication process. A system and a non-transitory computer-readable medium directed to the same are also provided.” [Par 24] “It is understood that a number of the below methods are executed by at least one controller. The term “controller” refers to a hardware device that includes a memory and a processor. The memory is configured to store program instructions and the processor is specifically configured to execute said program instructions to perform one or more processes which are described further below.”)
perform a digital scan of a structure to produce a digital representation of the structure; translate the digital representation of the structure into a building information model (BIM); ([Par 9] “According to the present invention, a three-dimensional (3D) laser-based scan of a façade of a structure is conducted. Based on data of the 3D laser-based scan, a 3D computer model of the façade is generated.” [Par 10] “Further, the method can include: programming a computer aided design (CAD) tool according to the data of the 3D laser-based scan; and generating the 3D computer model using the CAD tool. Moreover, according to the method, the generated 3D computer model can be a Building Information Model (BIM).”)
determine, using the BIM model, an optimal set of data for each of the panel blocks to clad the structure; ([Par 32-35] “Further, an aspect of the generated 3D computer model may be modified, such that a performance of the insulation can be improved. In this regard, the façade patterning may be optimized using various structural modeling tools, e.g., CAD tools. These tools allow for various design criteria to be considered in order to improve the performance of the insulation to be installed. For example, the generated 3D computer model of the façade may be modified to minimize joints or align cladding seams with existing façade elements, e.g., windows, doors, etc. … The disclosed design process may be semi-automated or fully automated based upon the particular retrofit process, whereby structural modeling tools, e.g., CAD tools, may be used to develop robust and highly customized façade designs. The design process may be semi-automated, for example, by using software tools that optimize façade patterning and implement standardized connection detailing. These tools may also be used for developing and implementing standardized connection details. Furthermore, BIMs can be developed that may be used during the procurement, fabrication, and installation stages. Additional steps may be taken during the insulation design stage 130. For instance, a cost of the determined insulation design may be estimated, e.g., using CAD tools and/or BIMs. Then, depending on the estimated cost, the determined design may be modified in order to reduce costs. Furthermore, insulation design data, containing connection details, for example, may be stored in a database. The database of insulation design data may be accessed, and the insulation design may be determined based on the stored insulation design data. Even further, a plurality of insulation design alternatives may be determined based on the generated 3D computer model, e.g., using CAD tools and/or BIMs. Then, one design of the plurality of insulation design alternatives may be selected based on one or more criteria, including but not limited to: cost estimation, energy efficiency, appearance, machinery limitations, and so forth.” [Par 10] “Further, according to the method, the automated fabrication process can include: forming casting cavities in a substrate, creating casting barriers in the substrate operable to contain a resin-based substance to be casted, casting the resin-based substance in the formed casting cavities, and processing at least one of the substrate and the casted resin-based substance to form an insulation panel.” [Par 51] “In addition to the above fabrication techniques, a secondary functionality component may be added to the insulation. That is, the disclosed fabrication techniques may be used to add new construction features to the retrofit façade system. For example, the panelized system can include structural members that are load bearing, and hence, the technology can be further developed into a complete building system.” [Fig. 6A] Shows an individual façade panel [Par 21] “FIG. 8 illustrates an example flow chart for a method for fabricating insulated cladding systems for retrofit applications according to an embodiment of the present invention.”)
([Par 37] “In the automated fabrication stage 140, insulation is fabricated via an automated fabrication process according to the design determined in the insulation design stage 130. The insulation may be fabricated by an automated fabrication tool, which may be a computer numerical control (CNC) manufacturing tool that is programmed according to the determined design. To enable the CNC manufacturing tool to be programmed, the determined design may be translated into a data format suitable for the CNC manufacturing tool.” [Par 34] “Furthermore, BIMs can be developed that may be used during the procurement, fabrication, and installation stages.” [Par 10] “According to the present invention, a method includes: conducting a three-dimensional (3D) laser-based scan of a façade of a structure; generating a 3D computer model of the façade based on data of the 3D laser-based scan; determining a design of insulation to be installed on the façade based on the generated 3D computer model; and fabricating insulation via an automated fabrication process according to the determined design. The method can further include: installing the fabricated insulation on the façade. Also, the method can include: programming a computer numerical control (CNC) manufacturing tool according to the determined design; and fabricating the insulation using the CNC manufacturing tool. Further, the method can include: translating the determined design into a format suitable for the programming of the CNC manufacturing tool. Further, the method can include: programming a computer aided design (CAD) tool according to the data of the 3D laser-based scan; and generating the 3D computer model using the CAD tool. Moreover, according to the method, the generated 3D computer model can be a Building Information Model (BIM). The method can further include: modifying an aspect of the generated 3D computer model, such that a performance of the insulation would be improved. Further, the method can include: estimating a cost of the determined design; and modifying the determined design based on the estimated cost. Additionally, the method can include: accessing a database of stored insulation design data; and determining the design further based on the stored insulation design data.” [Par 50] “The automated fabrication process 300 may produce a finalized insulation panel for installation on the façade. All panel dimensions and details may be easily customized using the automated fabrication techniques disclosed herein. In this regard, the finalized panel may include a number of structural and/or appearance-enhancing features based on the design determined in the insulation design stage 130.”)
implement, using the digital scan, the optimum set of data, and ([Par 34] “Furthermore, BIMs can be developed that may be used during the procurement, fabrication, and installation stages.”) ([Par 50] “The automated fabrication process 300 may produce a finalized insulation panel for installation on the façade. All panel dimensions and details may be easily customized using the automated fabrication techniques disclosed herein. In this regard, the finalized panel may include a number of structural and/or appearance-enhancing features based on the design determined in the insulation design stage 130.” [Par 53] “After the fabrication is complete, in the installation stage 150, the fabricated insulation may be installed on the façade. Because the above-referenced documentation, design, and fabrication stages are highly customized, the time and labor associated with on-site installation may be significantly reduced.”)
Dessel does not explicitly teach determine, using the BIM model, an installation order generating an installation order for constructing the structure; implement, using the installation order, an augmented reality (AR) installation process guiding a user to install components
Babur teaches determine, using the BIM model, an installation order generating an installation order for constructing the structure; ([Par 10] “The BIM framework can be integrated with augmented or virtual reality (AR/VR) tools to show modeled construction, commissioning, operations or maintenance activities at a particular site. … The digitalization tool further includes at least one of a schedule integration tool that incorporate temporal data into the BIM framework to determine construction sequencing of the project…”) implement, using the installation order, an augmented reality (AR) installation process guiding a user to install components ([Par 68] “ The augment or virtual reality (AR/VR) tools that integrate with the BIM model can show modeled construction, commissioning, operations or maintenance activities on the site at which the user is located. … Moreover, the AR/VR applications can project to the user the chronological construction of the infrastructure on the site from the ground up. … The user can be trained interactively with maintenance procedures, such as changing a valve, replacing components, diagnosing equipment, etc., all within an augmented or virtual reality.” [Par 72] “This tool also allows for asset information on multiple platforms and O&M training in an AR/VR environment. In this regard, the digital twin tools can use the AR/VR environment to instruct operators how to hook up, maintain or update the system. The digital twin tools create a digital representation of the as-built environment… The digital twin tools allow the infrastructure owner, operator, and/or maintainer to have a 3D model with all informational data layers integrated with it, which includes but is not limited to cost, schedule, sustainability, operations and maintenance data.”)
Babur is analogous art because it is within the field of augmented reality construction systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Babur with Dessel before the effective filing date. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to reduce the risk of cost and schedule overruns. Babur describes the issues with current building project lifecycle systems and how current methods and practices lend themselves to poor design decisions and poor coordination between designers, construction workers, owners, etc. which in turn leads to a great risk of projects going well over budget or taking longer than initially intended ([Par 3] “In a typical infrastructure project's lifecycle, off-the-shelf design software for CAD and GIS activities are used to prepare early feasibility designs with a low level of detail. Assumptions are made throughout the early design process about existing and future constraints as well as operations and maintenance requirements. A rough order of magnitude cost estimate and schedule is produced and provided to the project sponsor, owner, stakeholder, or public agency. As the project matures through the design, delivery, construction, commissioning, and operations and maintenance phases of the project lifecycle, the cost and schedule estimated in the early feasibility stage of the project is well exceeded. A major root cause to such cost overruns is that poor design decisions were made early on, and the associated cost and schedule estimates did not adequately quantify uncertainty and risks. It is possible to make better design decisions much earlier on in the lifecycle at very early stages of the project. The tools described in this disclosure enable well-informed early decisions to be made by automating strenuous and tedious design tasks, digitalizing multiple dimensions of data via integration with complex 3D design models, determining optimal designs by using complex mathematical algorithms and approaches to complex multi-dimensional geometries, and simulating operational and temporal data in complex 3D environments. Some of these tools improve upon existing off-the-shelf design software capabilities by integrating with API's, while others are developed from scratch. The current infrastructure industry does not use such an approach in early or even late stages of the project lifecycle. There is no incentive to engineering consultants or contractors in early stages of a project to use such an approach or methodology, as their contractual obligations are limited to their scope, and the amount of effort required to develop such capabilities is infeasible for them. Various delivery structures with project sponsors or owners further exacerbate the issue, as contractors and consultants will each be under separate contractual obligations with the owner, but not with each other. This leads to a lack of a cohesive incentive, which leads to cost and schedule overruns. However, this can also be mitigated by use of the tools in this disclosure by empowering the owner with the necessary level of detail and information very early on from the inception of the infrastructure project, allowing the owner to adequately quantify risk and uncertainty and develop contractual obligations that are in their best interest.”) To this end, Babur presents a system that better enables coordination between groups and tracking of a construction project through all phases of operation, from initial design to in-operation upkeep, reducing costs and overall improving the efficiency of building and the construction/maintenance process ([Par 3] “It is possible to make better design decisions much earlier on in the lifecycle at very early stages of the project. The tools described in this disclosure enable well-informed early decisions to be made by automating strenuous and tedious design tasks, digitalizing multiple dimensions of data via integration with complex 3D design models, determining optimal designs by using complex mathematical algorithms and approaches to complex multi-dimensional geometries, and simulating operational and temporal data in complex 3D environments.” [Par 6] “Aspects of the present disclosure are directed to a novel system for designing the lifecycle of infrastructure projects. The system utilizes various tools, including automation, digitalization, optimization and simulation tools, which allow for the acceleration of decisions and processes earlier in the project lifecycle and for avoidance of capital cost and schedule overruns. The tools can be software tools and can run iterative processes for fine tuning to achieve optimum results.” [Par 10] “In accordance with embodiments, the plurality of design and testing tools can include digitalization tools for creating representations of planned or existing conditions. The digitalization tools may incorporate a building information modeling (BIM) framework with at least one of schedule integration, cost integration, portal sustainability and digital twin tools. The BIM framework can be integrated with augmented or virtual reality (AR/VR) tools to show modeled construction, commissioning, operations or maintenance activities at a particular site. Moreover, at least one of: for construction, the AR/VR tools can be operable to project to a user a chronological construction from the ground up of the project over a view of the site where the user is located, or for commissioning and operations, the AR/VR tools can be operable to show animations of a maneuvering of a vehicle in at least one degree of freedom or moving or actuating of structural elements. The digitalization tool further includes at least one of a schedule integration tool that incorporate temporal data into the BIM framework to determine construction sequencing of the project, a cost integration tool for determining quantity takeoff, estimating, budgeting, forecasting and cash flow, or a portal sustainability tool to check the infrastructure of compliance with certification criteria to be environmentally friendly and energy and resource efficient.” [Par 68] “ The augment or virtual reality (AR/VR) tools that integrate with the BIM model can show modeled construction, commissioning, operations or maintenance activities on the site at which the user is located. … Moreover, the AR/VR applications can project to the user the chronological construction of the infrastructure on the site from the ground up. … The user can be trained interactively with maintenance procedures, such as changing a valve, replacing components, diagnosing equipment, etc., all within an augmented or virtual reality.” [Par 72] “This tool also allows for asset information on multiple platforms and O&M training in an AR/VR environment. In this regard, the digital twin tools can use the AR/VR environment to instruct operators how to hook up, maintain or update the system. The digital twin tools create a digital representation of the as-built environment… The digital twin tools allow the infrastructure owner, operator, and/or maintainer to have a 3D model with all informational data layers integrated with it, which includes but is not limited to cost, schedule, sustainability, operations and maintenance data.”) Overall, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that combining Babur with Dessel would allow the construction project to be significantly more organized at all phases of the project’s lifecycle, driving down costs and ensuring structures are completed on time.
Claim 53. Dessel teaches wherein the digital scan comprises a scanned three- dimensional image of the structure. ([Par 30] “In the 3D model generation stage 120, a 3D computer model of the façade is generated based on data of the 3D laser-based scan. The data of the 3D laser-based scan, e.g., 3D laser-scan point-cloud data, may be used by a model generating controller to generate the 3D computer model of the façade.”)
Claim 54. Dessel teaches wherein the digital representation is point cloud data. ([Par 30] “In the 3D model generation stage 120, a 3D computer model of the façade is generated based on data of the 3D laser-based scan. The data of the 3D laser-based scan, e.g., 3D laser-scan point-cloud data, may be used by a model generating controller to generate the 3D computer model of the façade.”)
Claim 55. Dessel teaches wherein the BIM comprises position, dimension, and orientation of the structure. ([Fig. 7] Shows an image of a screen displaying the BIM model [Par 31] “The 3D laser-based scan data may be imported into a computer aided design (CAD) tool, which can be used during the design, fabrication, and installation stages, as well as for estimating cost and developing design alternatives. The CAD tool may be programmed according to the 3D laser-based scan data, and the 3D computer model may be generated using the CAD tool. The generated 3D computer model may be of any format suitable for digital representation of physical and functional characteristics of a structure's façade, including, for example, a Building Information Model (BIM). Notably, the BIM model may support other processes, such as cost management, construction management, project management, and facility operation, which may enhance the efficiency of the retrofit process 100.”)
Claim 56. Dessel teaches wherein while translating the digital representation of the structure, the instructions are configured to convert the point cloud data into the BMI. ([Par 30-31] “In the 3D model generation stage 120, a 3D computer model of the façade is generated based on data of the 3D laser-based scan. The data of the 3D laser-based scan, e.g., 3D laser-scan point-cloud data, may be used by a model generating controller to generate the 3D computer model of the façade… The 3D laser-based scan data may be imported into a computer aided design (CAD) tool, which can be used during the design, fabrication, and installation stages, as well as for estimating cost and developing design alternatives. The CAD tool may be programmed according to the 3D laser-based scan data, and the 3D computer model may be generated using the CAD tool. The generated 3D computer model may be of any format suitable for digital representation of physical and functional characteristics of a structure's façade, including, for example, a Building Information Model (BIM)”)
Claim 61. Babur teaches wherein while implementing the AR installation process, the instructions are configured to utilize an AR tool to guide an installer through the installation process. ([Par 68] “ The augment or virtual reality (AR/VR) tools that integrate with the BIM model can show modeled construction, commissioning, operations or maintenance activities on the site at which the user is located. … Moreover, the AR/VR applications can project to the user the chronological construction of the infrastructure on the site from the ground up. … The user can be trained interactively with maintenance procedures, such as changing a valve, replacing components, diagnosing equipment, etc., all within an augmented or virtual reality.” [Par 72] “This tool also allows for asset information on multiple platforms and O&M training in an AR/VR environment. In this regard, the digital twin tools can use the AR/VR environment to instruct operators how to hook up, maintain or update the system. The digital twin tools create a digital representation of the as-built environment… The digital twin tools allow the infrastructure owner, operator, and/or maintainer to have a 3D model with all informational data layers integrated with it, which includes but is not limited to cost, schedule, sustainability, operations and maintenance data.”)
(2) Claims 57-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dessel (US 20160001508 A1) in view of Babur (US 20220138366 A1) in further view of BIM-Aided Prefabrication for Minimum Waste DIY Timber Houses (Hereinafter Ostrowska-Wawryniuk)
Claim 57. Dessel teaches wherein while determining the optimal set of data, ([Par 32-35] “Further, an aspect of the generated 3D computer model may be modified, such that a performance of the insulation can be improved. In this regard, the façade patterning may be optimized using various structural modeling tools, e.g., CAD tools. These tools allow for various design criteria to be considered in order to improve the performance of the insulation to be installed. For example, the generated 3D computer model of the façade may be modified to minimize joints or align cladding seams with existing façade elements, e.g., windows, doors, etc. … The disclosed design process may be semi-automated or fully automated based upon the particular retrofit process, whereby structural modeling tools, e.g., CAD tools, may be used to develop robust and highly customized façade designs. The design process may be semi-automated, for example, by using software tools that optimize façade patterning and implement standardized connection detailing. These tools may also be used for developing and implementing standardized connection details. Furthermore, BIMs can be developed that may be used during the procurement, fabrication, and installation stages. Additional steps may be taken during the insulation design stage 130. For instance, a cost of the determined insulation design may be estimated, e.g., using CAD tools and/or BIMs. Then, depending on the estimated cost, the determined design may be modified in order to reduce costs. Furthermore, insulation design data, containing connection details, for example, may be stored in a database. The database of insulation design data may be accessed, and the insulation design may be determined based on the stored insulation design data. Even further, a plurality of insulation design alternatives may be determined based on the generated 3D computer model, e.g., using CAD tools and/or BIMs. Then, one design of the plurality of insulation design alternatives may be selected based on one or more criteria, including but not limited to: cost estimation, energy efficiency, appearance, machinery limitations, and so forth.” [Par 10] “Further, according to the method, the automated fabrication process can include: forming casting cavities in a substrate, creating casting barriers in the substrate operable to contain a resin-based substance to be casted, casting the resin-based substance in the formed casting cavities, and processing at least one of the substrate and the casted resin-based substance to form an insulation panel.” [Par 51] “In addition to the above fabrication techniques, a secondary functionality component may be added to the insulation. That is, the disclosed fabrication techniques may be used to add new construction features to the retrofit façade system. For example, the panelized system can include structural members that are load bearing, and hence, the technology can be further developed into a complete building system.” [Fig. 6A] Shows an individual façade panel [Par 21] “FIG. 8 illustrates an example flow chart for a method for fabricating insulated cladding systems for retrofit applications according to an embodiment of the present invention.”)
The combination of Dessel and Babur does not explicitly teach the instructions are configured to utilize a panelization tool to determine a set of standard and non-standard panel blocks
Ostrowska-Wawryniuk makes obvious the instructions are configured to utilize a panelization tool to determine a set of standard and non-standard panel blocks ([Page 253 Col 1 Par 3 – Col 2 Par 1] “The aim of this study was to simulate the prefabricated structure and to optimize the panelization in terms of generated waste.” [Page 254 Col 1 Par 2 -Page 255 Col 2 Par 6] “The prototype was developed for the Autodesk Revit environment extended with Dynamo and custom scripts. It operates on a standard BIM model from which it extracts the information about the building structure… In the first phase, the algorithm computes the maximum sizes of prefabricated elements... In further phases the algorithm uses the calculated values as a boundary conditions for wall and slab panelization… Splitting and Panelization In the second phase the algorithm examines the model in order to obtain its geometric structure. The walls are simplified to their location lines (center lines). External wall location lines are then combined into polygons and partitions into open polylines. The openings are then projected onto location lines indicating the span of each opening in its host wall. The obtained data is organized according to the hierarchy of data in the base model. Afterwards the splitting routine generates a pre liminary division scheme containing a collection of split points on the wall polygons and polylines. The location of split points fits the aforementioned pre fabrication constraints. Due to prefabrication constraints the division might result in a number of non-standard panels. In the next phase the division scheme can be further optimized in order to minimize fabrication cost and construction waste. The division scheme is then appended with the pattern of wall foundations and caps, as well as opening caps and heads … The final panelized geometry was achieved by creating parts for each structural component. The parts were then split on the basis of the division scheme. Afterwards each panel is assigned with a unique id number necessary for on-site assembly. Finally, for each building wall the program generates a shop drawing and detailed schedule for fabrication and assembly.” [Figure 2] Shows an initial model of a portion of a building before panelization [Figure 6] Shows panelization results. As can be seen, the generated designs are a combination of standard and nonstandard panel blocks.)
Ostrowska-Wawryniuk is analogous art because it is within the field of panelization for building design. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Ostrowska-Wawryniuk with Dessel and Babur before the effective filing date. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to minimize waste material generated during construction. Ostrowska-Wawryniuk notes that traditional building methods can generate a considerable amount of waste material, driving up construction costs when housing shortages across the globe demand maximally efficient construction methods in order to stay affordable ([Abstract] “The continuous housing shortage demands efficient ways of design and construction. In the context of rising construction standards and shrinking manpower, one of the possible answers to the problem is prefabrication oriented towards do-it-yourself (DIY) construction methods, which could contribute to the low and middle income housing supply in the market.” [Page 253 Col 1 Par 3] “Simultaneously, timber construction, similarly to other building technologies, generates waste in the process in the form of unusable cut-off fragments.”) To this end, Ostrowska-Wawryniuk presents a system to optimize material use when generating a panelized structure, reducing wasted material ([Page 253 Col 1 Par 3 – Col 2 Par 1] “The aim of this study was to simulate the prefabricated structure and to optimize the panelization in terms of generated waste.” [Page 255 Col 2 Par 2-5] “The optimization is conducted based on the algorithm which balances the three criteria: 1. The maximum panel width: the algorithm prefers the highest width obtainable with the predefined weight constraint. 2. The minimum waste: the algorithm prefers the panelization where the most leftovers panels can be reused in other parts of the structure. 3. The minimum type count: the algorithm prefers the solutions with the most repeatable panelization.”) Overall, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that combining Ostrowska-Wawryniuk with Dessel and Babur would enable the designed retrofit layout to be further optimized for material use, reducing the required materials and therefore reducing construction costs.
Claim 58. Dessel teaches wherein ([Par 37] “In the automated fabrication stage 140, insulation is fabricated via an automated fabrication process according to the design determined in the insulation design stage 130. The insulation may be fabricated by an automated fabrication tool, which may be a computer numerical control (CNC) manufacturing tool that is programmed according to the determined design. To enable the CNC manufacturing tool to be programmed, the determined design may be translated into a data format suitable for the CNC manufacturing tool.” [Par 34] “Furthermore, BIMs can be developed that may be used during the procurement, fabrication, and installation stages.” [Par 10] “According to the present invention, a method includes: conducting a three-dimensional (3D) laser-based scan of a façade of a structure; generating a 3D computer model of the façade based on data of the 3D laser-based scan; determining a design of insulation to be installed on the façade based on the generated 3D computer model; and fabricating insulation via an automated fabrication process according to the determined design. The method can further include: installing the fabricated insulation on the façade. Also, the method can include: programming a computer numerical control (CNC) manufacturing tool according to the determined design; and fabricating the insulation using the CNC manufacturing tool. Further, the method can include: translating the determined design into a format suitable for the programming of the CNC manufacturing tool. Further, the method can include: programming a computer aided design (CAD) tool according to the data of the 3D laser-based scan; and generating the 3D computer model using the CAD tool. Moreover, according to the method, the generated 3D computer model can be a Building Information Model (BIM). The method can further include: modifying an aspect of the generated 3D computer model, such that a performance of the insulation would be improved. Further, the method can include: estimating a cost of the determined design; and modifying the determined design based on the estimated cost. Additionally, the method can include: accessing a database of stored insulation design data; and determining the design further based on the stored insulation design data.” [Par 50] “The automated fabrication process 300 may produce a finalized insulation panel for installation on the façade. All panel dimensions and details may be easily customized using the automated fabrication techniques disclosed herein. In this regard, the finalized panel may include a number of structural and/or appearance-enhancing features based on the design determined in the insulation design stage 130.” [Par 38] “As shown in FIG. 2, the CNC manufacturing system 200 includes a CNC router 210…”)
The combination of Dessel and Babur does not explicitly teach while utilizing the panelization tool, the instructions are configured to create a set of standard and non-standard panel blocks for fabrication.
Ostrowska-Wawryniuk makes obvious while utilizing the panelization tool, the instructions are configured to create a set of standard and non-standard panel blocks for fabrication. ([Page 253 Col 1 Par 3 – Col 2 Par 1] “The aim of this study was to simulate the prefabricated structure and to optimize the panelization in terms of generated waste.” [Page 254 Col 1 Par 2 -Page 255 Col 2 Par 6] “The prototype was developed for the Autodesk Revit environment extended with Dynamo and custom scripts. It operates on a standard BIM model from which it extracts the information about the building structure… In the first phase, the algorithm computes the maximum sizes of prefabricated elements... In further phases the algorithm uses the calculated values as a boundary conditions for wall and slab panelization… Splitting and Panelization In the second phase the algorithm examines the model in order to obtain its geometric structure. The walls are simplified to their location lines (center lines). External wall location lines are then combined into polygons and partitions into open polylines. The openings are then projected onto location lines indicating the span of each opening in its host wall. The obtained data is organized according to the hierarchy of data in the base model. Afterwards the splitting routine generates a pre liminary division scheme containing a collection of split points on the wall polygons and polylines. The location of split points fits the aforementioned pre fabrication constraints. Due to prefabrication constraints the division might result in a number of non-standard panels. In the next phase the division scheme can be further optimized in order to minimize fabrication cost and construction waste. The division scheme is then appended with the pattern of wall foundations and caps, as well as opening caps and heads … The final panelized geometry was achieved by creating parts for each structural component. The parts were then split on the basis of the division scheme. Afterwards each panel is assigned with a unique id number necessary for on-site assembly. Finally, for each building wall the program generates a shop drawing and detailed schedule for fabrication and assembly.” [Figure 2] Shows an initial model of a portion of a building before panelization [Figure 6] Shows panelization results. As can be seen, the generated designs consist of a set of standard and nonstandard panel blocks.)
(3) Claim 59 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dessel (US 20160001508 A1) in view of Babur (US 20220138366 A1) in further view of Optimization approach of balancing life cycle cost and environmental impacts on residential building design (Hereinafter Islam)
Claim 59. Dessel teaches wherein while determining the optimal set of data, ([Par 32-35] “Further, an aspect of the generated 3D computer model may be modified, such that a performance of the insulation can be improved. In this regard, the façade patterning may be optimized using various structural modeling tools, e.g., CAD tools. These tools allow for various design criteria to be considered in order to improve the performance of the insulation to be installed. For example, the generated 3D computer model of the façade may be modified to minimize joints or align cladding seams with existing façade elements, e.g., windows, doors, etc. … The disclosed design process may be semi-automated or fully automated based upon the particular retrofit process, whereby structural modeling tools, e.g., CAD tools, may be used to develop robust and highly customized façade designs. The design process may be semi-automated, for example, by using software tools that optimize façade patterning and implement standardized connection detailing. These tools may also be used for developing and implementing standardized connection details. Furthermore, BIMs can be developed that may be used during the procurement, fabrication, and installation stages. Additional steps may be taken during the insulation design stage 130. For instance, a cost of the determined insulation design may be estimated, e.g., using CAD tools and/or BIMs. Then, depending on the estimated cost, the determined design may be modified in order to reduce costs. Furthermore, insulation design data, containing connection details, for example, may be stored in a database. The database of insulation design data may be accessed, and the insulation design may be determined based on the stored insulation design data. Even further, a plurality of insulation design alternatives may be determined based on the generated 3D computer model, e.g., using CAD tools and/or BIMs. Then, one design of the plurality of insulation design alternatives may be selected based on one or more criteria, including but not limited to: cost estimation, energy efficiency, appearance, machinery limitations, and so forth.”) ([Par 32] “In this regard, the façade patterning may be optimized using various structural modeling tools, e.g., CAD tools. These tools allow for various design criteria to be considered in order to improve the performance of the insulation to be installed. For example, the generated 3D computer model of the façade may be modified to minimize joints or align cladding seams with existing façade elements, e.g., windows, doors, etc.” [Par 35] “Additional steps may be taken during the insulation design stage 130. For instance, a cost of the determined insulation design may be estimated, e.g., using CAD tools and/or BIMs. Then, depending on the estimated cost, the determined design may be modified in order to reduce costs. … Even further, a plurality of insulation design alternatives may be determined based on the generated 3D computer model, e.g., using CAD tools and/or BIMs. Then, one design of the plurality of insulation design alternatives may be selected based on one or more criteria, including but not limited to: cost estimation, energy efficiency, appearance, machinery limitations, and so forth.”)
The combination of Dessel and Babur does not explicitly teach the instructions are configured to utilize a linear programming multi-objective optimization algorithm to optimize the design.
Islam makes obvious the instructions are configured to utilize a linear programming multi-objective optimization algorithm to optimize the design.([Abstract] “This paper describes an optimization approach of balancing life cycle cost and environmental impacts for typical Australian houses. It evaluates the effects of various alternative wall, floor and roofing assemblages to select an optimized house design. A Base House was modified with 18 alternative wall, 4 floor and 8 roofing designs. Each design was varied in such a way that it achieved specific star rating based on materials and assemblages. Two sets of objective functions, namely life cycle cost and environmental impacts were evaluated for each design using life cycle costing and life cycle assessment approaches, respectively. The use of Linear Programming helped to identify alternative best designs depending on single-objective (SOO) or multi-objective optimization (MOO). Outcomes from SOO depended on the choice of particular objective function, while outcomes from MOO depended on the decision-makers preferences in terms of weightings.” [Page 286 Col 2 Par 1 – Page 287 Col 1 Par 7] “Linear Programming (LP) algorithm was used in this study for optimization. Objective functions were minimized or maximized as a linear function of the output activities. The simulation software Linear Interactive and Discrete Optimizer (LINDO) was used for this optimization. The LP model of a single objective optimization (SOO) has the form [11]:
where Z = objective function, zi= coefficients in objective function and xi= output of activity, aj,i= input/output coefficient of a process, ej= effective target or constraint. The ej is the constraint in the system where aj,i is the component j of the LCC or LCEI, i. The constraint ej reflects maxima such as the house owner’s maximum budget. The xi represent variables or output activities such as alternative house designs. It represents quantitative measures of material and energy flows including inputs, flows within the economic system, and outputs. If multiple objective functions are to be minimized then Eq. (3) can be re-written as:
where z∗ i xi is the normalized objective function of zixi, wi is a weighting, and w1+ w2+ · · · + wI= 1. Solving a MOO problem with the objective functions for a given weighted vector wi= {w1, w2, . . ., wI} yields a single optimized solution [35].”)
Islam is analogous art because it is within the field of building design with a focus on optimization in terms of energy efficiency. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Islam with Dessel and Babur before the effective filing date. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to better optimize the design of the retrofitted building. In particular, Islam notes the importance of taking into account the entire lifecycle of a building during design optimization, and the limited scope of previous optimization systems ([Page 282 Col 1 Par 1] “Evaluating the life cycle cost (LCC) and life cycle environmental impacts (LCEI) of a whole building requires assessment of all of its elements (i.e. wall, floor and roof) and all of its life cycle stages (i.e. construction, operation, maintenance and disposal). For example, the heating/cooling requirements have a significant effect not only on its operation but also on its construction and maintenance, due to the thermal characteristics of the building material and its assemblages. Life cycle costing and life cycle assessment (LCA) are established approaches used to evaluate the life cycle cost and life cycle environmental impacts, respectively.” [Page 283 Col 1 Par 2] “The accuracy of optimization depends on optimization model. It also depends on the choice of constraints, the optimization algorithm as well as the objective functions [10,11]. A wide range of objective functions, constraints and variables are considered when optimizing a building design. Several optimization studies on buildings focused on minimizing cost and environmental impacts without considering whole building and whole life cycle as objective functions [4–8]. Others focussed on minimizing cost or environment impacts and maximizing performances to a building or building materials [2,12,13]. The concerned stakeholders may be interested in either one or both of the environmental and economic aspects. Nowadays the demand for low environmental impacts and low cost housing is growing. So research into the most cost-effective design of the buildings based on life cycle cost and environmental impacts is needed.”) To this end, Islam presents a system that allows for the efficient, accurate optimization of building designs while considering the entire lifecycle of the building and multiple objectives ([Page 283 Col 1 Par 4] “In this study, a case study house built in Brisbane, Australia, was selected as a Base House. It was modified with 18 alternative wall, 4 floor and 8 roofing designs with different star rating, typical of the Australian building industry, making a total of 31 designs including Base House. These were compared to identify the best wall, floor and roofing design. This best combination of wall, floor and roofing will produce the best building design. The envelope characteristics and results of LCC and LCEI for the 31 designs are presented in this paper. The set of optimum wall, floor and roofing designs were identified using a MOO approach.”) Overall, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that combining the accurate, multi-objective, lifecycle-aware design optimization system of Islam with Dessel and Babur would result in a system capable of more accurately determining optimal retrofit designs that best reduce costs and improve energy efficiency.
(4) Claim 60 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dessel (US 20160001508 A1) in view of Babur (US 20220138366 A1) in further view of Li (CN 109577654 A)
Claim 60. Dessel teaches ([Par 50] “The automated fabrication process 300 may produce a finalized insulation panel for installation on the façade. All panel dimensions and details may be easily customized using the automated fabrication techniques disclosed herein. In this regard, the finalized panel may include a number of structural and/or appearance-enhancing features based on the design determined in the insulation design stage 130.” [Par 53] “After the fabrication is complete, in the installation stage 150, the fabricated insulation may be installed on the façade. Because the above-referenced documentation, design, and fabrication stages are highly customized, the time and labor associated with on-site installation may be significantly reduced…Also, during the design phase, certain aspects of the design may be modified in order to optimize the installation process. For example, panel sizes can be optimized to reduce the need for scaffolding.” [Par 54] “Further, the thermal performance of such customized cladding may be much improved, as insulation panels will fit the building more precisely.”) ([Par 50] “The automated fabrication process 300 may produce a finalized insulation panel for installation on the façade. All panel dimensions and details may be easily customized using the automated fabrication techniques disclosed herein. In this regard, the finalized panel may include a number of structural and/or appearance-enhancing features based on the design determined in the insulation design stage 130.” [Par 53] “After the fabrication is complete, in the installation stage 150, the fabricated insulation may be installed on the façade. Because the above-referenced documentation, design, and fabrication stages are highly customized, the time and labor associated with on-site installation may be significantly reduced…Also, during the design phase, certain aspects of the design may be modified in order to optimize the installation process. For example, panel sizes can be optimized to reduce the need for scaffolding.” [Par 54] “Further, the thermal performance of such customized cladding may be much improved, as insulation panels will fit the building more precisely.”)
Babur makes obvious wherein while generating the installation order, ([Par 10] “The BIM framework can be integrated with augmented or virtual reality (AR/VR) tools to show modeled construction, commissioning, operations or maintenance activities at a particular site. … The digitalization tool further includes at least one of a schedule integration tool that incorporate temporal data into the BIM framework to determine construction sequencing of the project…”) ([Par 10] “The BIM framework can be integrated with augmented or virtual reality (AR/VR) tools to show modeled construction, commissioning, operations or maintenance activities at a particular site. … The digitalization tool further includes at least one of a schedule integration tool that incorporate temporal data into the BIM framework to determine construction sequencing of the project…”)
The combination of Dessel and Babur does not explicitly teach while generating the installation order, the instructions are configured to assign a unique identifier for each of the components and generating an order that maximize installation efficiency.
Li makes obvious while generating the installation order, the instructions are configured to assign a unique identifier for each of the components and generating an order that maximize installation efficiency. ([Page 2 Par 4-10] “The invention is based on assembly typed concrete member logistics tissue lifting method of BIM technology, wherein it comprises: (1) firstly by BIM technology, component, the component generating the ID number of each component; (2) then according to construction, process arrangement and field actual situation, to determine relative schedule information of each component, comprising: a component model, b component member transport route loading progress, c, d member transport speed, e component hoisting progress; after determining the information, recording the information in an encoded form of the ID number of each component; (3) immediately according to the coding information including progress information to the prefabricated component loading, transporting, hoisting, construction progress simulation checking component transportation, hoisting and whether other construction process interfere with each other can be further compressed progress time; (4) the optimized form new coded information, then re-performing process simulation and checking, if transportation, hoisting and construction process has no mutual interference, and related logistics, difficult lifting process to further compression time is determined to be the final optimization progress information; if not, entering the step (2); stream (5) according to the final optimized schedule information, forms the visible is strong, easy to understand, hoisting progress map; the logistics optimized”)
Li is analogous art because it is within the field of construction planning and optimization. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Li with Dessel and Babur before the effective filing date. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to more efficiently construct the project. Li notes how current construction processes can become increasingly complex to manage, particularly in the case of prefabricated components that must be transported to the worksite, which increases the cost and amount of time required to complete a project ([Page 2 Par 1-2] “For the existing assembly type concrete component, the general lifting method is: after component carrier approach, utilizing the component unloading to the appointed storage yard and fixedly frame. then according to on-site progress, then tower crane, hanging the precast component to the installation to install. this component to be the secondary hoisting and lifting efficiency, cannot meet the increasingly intense period. In addition, the approach of component to be yard, occupying a large site area, but also the need to set management staff management, is troublesome. and development project current local small plot field cannot find yard with large area. In addition, the increase of the personnel and the labour cost of construction”) To this end, Li presents a system that allows for the iterative optimization of construction sequencing when using prefabricated parts ([Page 2 Par 3-11] “The invention aims at overcoming the defects of the existing technology, provided based on assembling type concrete component logistics organization method of the BIM technology. The invention greatly improves the construction efficiency and reduces the requirements and construction cost of the field. … The invention is based on assembly typed concrete member logistics tissue lifting method of BIM technology, wherein it comprises: (1) firstly by BIM technology, component, the component generating the ID number of each component; (2) then according to construction, process arrangement and field actual situation, to determine relative schedule information of each component, comprising: a component model, b component member transport route loading progress, c, d member transport speed, e component hoisting progress; after determining the information, recording the information in an encoded form of the ID number of each component; (3) immediately according to the coding information including progress information to the prefabricated component loading, transporting, hoisting, construction progress simulation checking component transportation, hoisting and whether other construction process interfere with each other can be further compressed progress time; (4) the optimized form new coded information, then re-performing process simulation and checking, if transportation, hoisting and construction process has no mutual interference, and related logistics, difficult lifting process to further compression time is determined to be the final optimization progress information; if not, entering the step (2); stream (5) according to the final optimized schedule information, forms the visible is strong, easy to understand, hoisting progress map; the logistics optimized … The invention combines the actual engineering, effectively solves the problem that the assembling type building component secondary problems. hoisting order and loading logistics order component is combined to realize the component approach not unloading, directly hanging on the vehicle of the method. Adopting this method can reduce one component, unloading lifting reduction component generated due to collision risk, and saves time of once hoisting and saves one time when hoisting tower crane generated charge, saves component stacking field, and improves the efficiency of the whole lifting process, it plays a positive role.”) Overall, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that combining Li with Dessel and Babur would result in a system capable of generating optimal construction schedules, ultimately reducing the cost of the project in terms of both time and money.
(5) Claim 62 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dessel (US 20160001508 A1) in view of Babur (US 20220138366 A1) in further view of Cady (US 20210358201 A1)
Claim 62. Babur teaches wherein the AR tool ([Par 10] “The BIM framework can be integrated with augmented or virtual reality (AR/VR) tools to show modeled construction, commissioning, operations or maintenance activities at a particular site. Moreover, at least one of: for construction, the AR/VR tools can be operable to project to a user a chronological construction from the ground up of the project”)
The combination of Dessel and Babur does not explicitly teach wherein the AR system comprises an immersive heads-up display that projects 3D holograms that an operator perceives to be in the real world.
Cady makes obvious wherein the AR system comprises an immersive heads-up display that projects 3D holograms that an operator perceives to be in the real world. ([Par 38] “It is appreciated by those skilled in the art that the display components can include different configurations and types depending on the types of devices 108 (e.g., mobile devices, tablets, laptops, VR devices, AR, devices, MR devices, and so on)… In some examples, image and display interfaces 270 are configured to display images of a real physical space with an overlay view of holographic graphical elements of a digital model (e.g., digital model 112) to facilitate construction.” [Par 51] “As mentioned, the construction visualization processes of this disclosure can be performed by construction visualization system 106, one or more devices 108, and/or combinations thereof. In the context of FIG. 4, the construction visualization operations performed by a local device present at the construction site—e.g., a mixed reality headset or device 108.” [Par 61] “In operation, device 108 renders holographic model markers 402d/404d on a display interface as an overlay to the physical space. For example, device 108 can include a transparent interface that displays holographic overlay elements and/or device 108 can display real-time images/video of the physical space with overlaid graphical elements.”)
Cady is analogous art because it is within the field of AR-enabled construction systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Cady with Dessel and Babur before the effective filing date. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to further drive down costs, increase construction precision, and reduce the chance of mistakes. Cady notes how, among other issues when dealing with prefabricated components, the earliest steps of construction can be difficult to complete in a precise manner due to the absence of other prefabricated elements that could otherwise help orient the installation of a particular component. ([Par 3-5] “Conventional construction often involves extensive collaboration between architects, tradespeople, laborers, professionals, inspectors, and so on. For example, a number of people often work simultaneously at the same site during construction and on the same structure (e.g., framing, plumbing, heating/cooling, electrical, etc.). The nature of this extensive collaboration in combination with multiple people working at the same time presents challenges relating to efficiency, quality control, and the like. In fact, the cost of labor to build a given structure often contributes to a significant portion of the total construction costs. In an effort to control costs, construction professionals increasingly use prefabricated components in early stages of construction. Prefabricated components typically have specific dimensions and specific installation positions and orientations. However, installing prefabricated components may be difficult during early construction because structural features (e.g., studs, walls, counters, etc.) for orienting, locating, and installing a prefabricated component may not be constructed. Accordingly, proper installation of prefabricated components during early construction demands scrutiny and careful consultation with building plans. But even with such scrutiny, installing prefabricated parts often proves challenging due to the absence of intuitive surrounding structures. Moreover, referencing construction building plans to install any component is often a slow and tedious process. For example, understanding how 2D building plans represent a 3D structure can be difficult, which leads to installation errors. In order to properly install or construct any component, a builder needs to accurately understand the given component's installation position and orientation in the 2D building plan and translate its 2D position and orientation into the 3D physical space. However, referencing and translating construction building plans can be time consuming and is often error prone, leading to increased labor costs. Finally, discrepancies between building plans (e.g., ideal models) and real-world structures can result in design changes, onsite adjustments and plan revisions, which also leads to increased labor costs, installation errors, and delay. In sum, conventional construction presents a myriad of complex challenges. These challenges, in turn, present opportunities to develop and employ new technologies that reduce costs, improve collaboration, and ensure proper component installation.”) To this end, Cady presents a system that uses an augmented/mixed reality headset to assist workers in referencing building designs and projecting the exact location parts should be installed ([Par 7] “The method includes operations for generating a digital model of a structure for construction in a physical space. Notably, the digital model includes at least one model marker, and the physical space including at least one physical marker. The method also includes operations for determining a viewing orientation of the digital model for display relative to the physical space based on the at least one model marker and the at least one physical marker; identifying a model position of a model part that corresponds to a physical position of a physical part of the structure; and displaying at least a portion of the digital model based on the viewing orientation to indicate the model position of the model part relative to the physical space.” [Par 23] “In general, the construction visualization process discussed herein facilitates efficient construction at a construction site by for example, providing operations for scanning and detecting physical parts of a structure, and providing real-time graphical displays or views of digital models relative to a physical space. As disclosed in detail below, the construction visualization process can be configured to operate with any number of devices, computer software/media, apparatus, and/or systems including, but not limited to mobile devices, software instructions, tablets, Virtual Reality (VR) devices, Augmented Reality (AR) devices, Mixed Reality (MR) devices, and so on.” [Par 42] “Accordingly, the construction visualization processes and techniques herein provide a comprehensive solution that addresses the challenges presented by modern construction. For example, the construction visualization processes generate accurate digital models of a physical structure that account for real conditions or dimensions, display real-time images of a physical space, align orientation views of digital building models relative to a device displaying the real-time images, provide overlay graphical displays of component parts, and generate intuitive wayfinding interfaces that guide and facilitate component part installation in correct locations and orientations.” [Par 51] “In the context of FIG. 4, the construction visualization operations performed by a local device present at the construction site—e.g., a mixed reality headset or device 108.”) Overall, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that combining the comprehensive, headset based AR construction assistance system of Cady with Dessel and Babur would result in a system that allows workers to more intuitively and easily perform design-accurate construction work, especially in the case of mixed prefabricated and non-prefabricated geometries, as is commonly the case on retrofits of existing buildings. In turn, this smoother building process would have been recognized to reduce the chance of mistakes and rework, and therefore further reduce costs.
Conclusion
The following references are made of record but not relied upon:
The R-STRIPE Deep Energy Retrofit System – Based on the surviving documentation of the project and outside coverage of the project, the R-Stripe Deep Energy Retrofit System appears to be extremely relevant and features many of the same features as the present claims such as 3D scanning a building to generate a custom panelized retrofit as well as generating a construction plan to install the panelized retrofit. However, the main body of this work is a YouTube video that has since been made private with no archived or otherwise accessible version. Attached to this action is the original R-Stripe submission for the DOE E-Robot prize competition, minus the YouTube video, as well as a blurb from the DOE giving an overview of the project.
/M.P.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 2187
/EMERSON C PUENTE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2187