DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 05/21/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 05/21/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 8-13, 15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gad et al. (US 20240430164 A1), hereinafter “Gad”; and in further view of Ranganath et al. (US 20240259879 A1)”, hereinafter “Ranganath”.
Regarding claim 1, Gad teaches An apparatus associated with a network controller in an Open-Radio Access Network (0-RAN) [Gad: Fig. 1; Par. 61 teaches system and device operating in O-RAN] , the apparatus being configured to: receive a request from a RAN function application from among a plurality of RAN function applications associated with the network controller [Gad: Figs. 2- 3; Par. 69 – 113 teaches of receiving requests from xApps], the request being indicative of a change in one or more parameters associated with the plurality of RAN function applications [Gad: Figs. 2- 3; Par. 69 – 113 teaches of requests for changing operation of RAN features];
determine, based on a parameter dependency model associated with the apparatus, whether a conflict will occur as a result of the change in the one or more parameters, wherein the parameter dependency model defines dependencies among a plurality of parameters associated with the plurality of RAN function applications [Gad: Figs. 2- 3; Par. 69 – 113 teaches of configure mitigation conflict and change based on the features of RAN]; and
However, Gad does not teach trigger, based on a set of mitigation rules associated with the parameter dependency model, one or more reconciliation actions upon a determination that the conflict will occur as a result of the change in the one or more parameters.
Nevertheless, Ranganath, in the similar field of endeavor, teaches trigger, based on a set of mitigation rules associated with the parameter dependency model, one or more reconciliation actions upon a determination that the conflict will occur as a result of the change in the one or more parameters [Ranganath: Par. 48 , 173 teaches modified by deployment of different models optimized to individual operator policies and optimization objectives to optimize a specific metric [Par. 189].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Ranganath to deploy dependency model. One in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Ranganath in the Gad system with a motivation to make this modification in order to improve O-RAN deployment.
Regarding claim 4, the combined Gad in view of Ranganath teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Gad in view of Ranganath further teaches wherein the network controller is one of a Near-Real Time Radio Access Network Intelligent Controller (near RT-RIC) or a Non-Real Time Radio Access Network Intelligent Controller (non RT-RIC),when the network controller is the near RT-RIC, the plurality of RAN function applications include xApps, and when the network controller is the non RT-RIC, the plurality of RAN function applications include rApps [Gad: Fig. 10 and Par. 38 teaches controller is RT-RIC and application is xApps ; Ranganath: Par. 32 teaches rApps].
Regarding claim 5, the combined Gad in view of Ranganath teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Gad in view of Ranganath further teaches wherein the apparatus is further configured to accept the change in the one or more parameters upon a determination that the conflict will not occur as a result of the change in the one or more parameters [Gad: Figs. 9 & 10; Par. 164- 188].
Regarding claim 8, the combined Gad in view of Ranganath teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Gad in view of Ranganath further teaches determine, based on the set of mitigation rules, that an acceptance of the change in the one or more parameters is disallowed; and reject the change in the one or more parameters [Gad: Figs. 9 & 10; Par. 164- 188].
Regarding claim 9, the combined Gad in view of Ranganath teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Gad in view of Ranganath further teaches when the network controller is the near RT-RIC, the apparatus is included in the near- RT RIC at one of a framework level or an application level [Ranganath: Par. 72- 73 teaches he xApp manager 425 provides closed control loop functions in real time or near real-time by accepting run-time priority levels of each of the xApps], and the parameter dependency model defines dependencies among E2 parameters and 01 parameters Ranganath: Par. 72- 73
Regarding claim 10, the combined Gad in view of Ranganath teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Gad in view of Ranganath further teaches when the network controller is the near RT-RIC, the apparatus is included in the non- RT RIC at one of a framework level or an application level [Ranganath: Par. 72- 73 teaches he xApp manager 425 provides closed control loop functions in real time or near real-time by accepting run-time priority levels of each of the xApps] and the parameter dependency model defines dependencies among O2 parameters and A1 parameters [Ranganath: Par. 27].
Regarding claim 11, the combined Gad in view of Ranganath teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Gad in view of Ranganath further teaches generated and linked to the apparatus during network design by an operator [Ranganath: Par. 292 teaches These tasks may include AI processing].
Regarding claim 12, the combined Gad in view of Ranganath teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Gad in view of Ranganath further teaches wherein the one or more reconciliation actions include one or more of stopping one or more of the plurality of RAN function applications, adjusting a configuration of one or more of the plurality of RAN function applications, and adjusting an operation of E2 nodes associated with the network controller [Gad: Par. 93 teaches configured to adjust xApp].
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 8.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 12.
Regarding claim 20, the combined Gad in view of Ranganath teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Gad in view of Ranganath further teaches the policy parameters, the configuration parameters, and the control parameters are exposed as parameters through one or more open interfaces, the one or more open interfaces including one or more of Al interface, 01 interface, and E2 interface Ranganath: Par. 72- 73,
the network controller is one of a Near-Real Time Radio Access Network Intelligent Controller (near RT-RIC) or a Non-Real Time Radio Access Network Intelligent Controller (non RT-RIC) [Ranganath: Par. 72- 73 teaches he xApp manager 425 provides closed control loop functions in real time or near real-time by accepting run-time priority levels of each of the xApps],
the plurality of RAN function applications includes one of xApps and rApps,
the parameter dependency model and the set of mitigation rules are encoded in a machine-readable data format Ranganath: Par. 292 teaches These tasks may include AI processing], and
the parameter dependency model is configured to be one of automatically generated by one or more of plurality of RAN function applications based on a generative Artificial Intelligence (AI) model or generated during network design by an operator [Ranganath: Par. 292 teaches These tasks may include AI processing].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 6-7, 14, 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowable subject matter:
A full search was conducted and the features of the instant Claims 2-3, 6-7, 14, 16-17 were not found to be in any reasonable combination of the closest prior art in combination of Gad/ Ranganath system.
With respect to exemplary, the prior arts in above teach of method and devices for conflict mitigation of O-RAN [Gad: Figs. 9-10], and using models with AI processing for RAN [Ranganath: Par. 48, 173].
However, the combined Gad/ Ranganath system does not disclose, suggest or render obvious the limitations of the instant claims 2-3 reciting;
“Wherein to determine whether the conflict will occur, the apparatus is configured to: identify, based on the received request from the RAN function application, the one or more parameters associated with the request; determine whether the identified one or more parameters are present in the parameter dependency model;
identify, based on the parameter dependency model, whether the identified one or more parameters has a dependency on one or more of Key Performance Indicators (KPIs), policy parameters, configuration parameters, and control parameters associated with at least one of the apparatus, the controlled network functions (E2 nodes) and the plurality of RAN function applications running in the network controller; and
determine whether the conflict will occur based on the dependency of the one or more parameters on one or more of the KPIs, the policy parameters, the configuration parameters, and the control parameters”
Moreover, the combined Gad/ Ranganath system does not disclose, suggest or render obvious the limitations of the instant claims 6-7 reciting;
“wherein to trigger the one or more reconciliation actions, the apparatus is configured to:
determine, based on the set of mitigation rules, that an acceptance of the change in the one or more parameters is allowed;
determine a requirement of a change in a related parameter associated with at least one other RAN function application from among the plurality of RAN function applications; send, to the at least one other RAN function application, a related parameter request indicative of a request to accept the change in the related parameter; receive, from the at least one other RAN function application, a related parameter accept response indicating that the change in the related parameter is accepted; and accept the change in the one or more parameters in response to receiving the related parameter accept response”
Moreover, the combined Gad/ Ranganath system does not disclose, suggest or render obvious the limitations of the instant claim 14 reciting;
“wherein determining whether the conflict will occur comprises: identifying, based on the received request from the RAN function application, the one or more parameters associated with the request; determining whether the identified one or more parameters are present in the parameter dependency model; identifying, based on the parameter dependency model, whether the identified one or more parameters has a dependency on one or more of Key Performance Indicators (KPIs), policy parameters, configuration parameters, and control parameters associated with at least one of the network controller and the plurality of RAN function applications running in the network controller; and determining whether the conflict will occur based on the dependency of the one or more parameters on one or more of the KPIs, the policy parameters, the configuration parameters, and the control parameters”
Moreover, the combined Gad/ Ranganath system does not disclose, suggest or render obvious the limitations of the instant claims 16-17 reciting;
“wherein triggering the one or more reconciliation actions comprises:
determining, based on the set of mitigation rules, that an acceptance of the change in the one or more parameters is allowed;
determining a requirement of a change in a related parameter associated with at least one other RAN function application from among the plurality of RAN function applications;
sending, to the at least one other RAN function application, a related parameter request indicative of a request to accept the change in the related parameter;
receiving, from the at least one other RAN function application, a related parameter accept response indicating that the change in the related parameter is accepted; and
accepting the change in the one or more parameters in response to receiving the related parameter accept response”
Therefore, Claims 2-3, 6-7, 14, 16-17 are indicated as containing allowable subject matter and allowed over the closest Prior Art references.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412