DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) s 12-15, 20-22 and 26-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by ITO 12,400,492 in view of Sasaki et al 2013/0027476.
The Patent to ITO ‘492 discloses in Figure 4 supervisory information that includes two or more itens with a temp[oral relationship of the items arranged in columns. Figure 8 discloses the oldest items arranged at one end and the newest at the other. The description of Figures 4(paragraphs 35-41 and 8(paragraph 50) recited below describe the content of the Figures.
(35) FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating a display example of the display device 2, and illustrates an example of display data for indicating a sequence of a trouble in the vehicle V. In a display screen 21 illustrated in FIG. 4, the sequence of the trouble of the vehicle V is indicated on a table 211 in a calendar format. Furthermore, as the sequence of the trouble of the vehicle V, the stored situation of the trouble code and the like for every date is indicated on the table 211 in a calendar format. Hereinafter, display contents will be specifically described. Note that, in the following drawings, reference numerals of a plurality of illustrated component elements will be omitted in consideration of visibility of the drawings, in some cases.
(36) On the display screen 21 illustrated in FIG. 4, lighting information of a warning light, warning information of a multi-information display (MID), and the name of each trouble code are set as display items, and daily situations of these display items are listed on the table 211. Regarding the lighting information of the warning light, a date when the warning light was lit is indicated by a black circle 211a. In addition, regarding the warning information of the MID, a date when a warning message is displayed in the MID is indicated by the black circle 211a. Here, the warning light is represented by, for example, an engine warning light, a brake warning light, or a hydraulic warning light, and a corresponding mark lights on when a trouble or an abnormality is detected in the vehicle V. In addition, the warning information of the MID notifies a trouble or an abnormality in a character string such as “abnormality in electronically controlled parking brake”.
(37) In addition, in FIG. 4, a daily status is illustrated for every trouble code. In the present embodiment, the statuses “Pend”, “Pend.Conf”, and “Conf” are displayed in different modes (patterns 211b to 211d) for every trouble code. That is, occurrence situations of the troubles identified by the trouble codes are respectively displayed in different modes. Examples of the occurrence situations of the troubles include a situation corresponding to “Pend” with a possibility of a trouble, a situation corresponding to “Pend.Conf” with a trouble occurring at present having been decided, and a situation corresponding to “Conf” with a trouble having been decided in the past. Note that, here, the differences in the situation are indicated by differences in hatching pattern in squares, but the differences in the situation may be indicated by differences in color in the squares. The differences in the situation may be indicated by differences in shape of a mark, the presence or absence of filling in the mark, or the like. Note that in the present embodiment, on the table 211, dates are arranged horizontally, and the respective display items are arranged vertically, but the vertical and horizontal directions may be reversed. In addition, ruled lines on the table 211 may be appropriately omitted. Further, the displayed period may be changeable.
(38) It is possible to identify the situation of the vehicle V, based on in which status the trouble code is stored in the ECU 611. Therefore, it can be said that, as the sequence of the trouble of the vehicle V, a vehicle situation with a possibility of a trouble, a vehicle situation with a trouble that is occurring, and a vehicle situation with a trouble that has occurred in the past are displayed in different modes on the display screen 21.
(39) When viewed from another point of view, it is possible to identify the occurrence situation of the trouble to be identified by the trouble code, based on in which status the trouble code is stored in the ECU 611. Therefore, it can be said that, on the display screen 21, as the occurrence situation of the trouble, a situation with a trouble possibility, a situation with a trouble at present that has been decided, and a situation with a trouble that has been decided in the past are displayed in different modes.
(40) In addition, the display screen 21 is configured so that the date in the table 211 is selectable. Here, a column including the date selected in the table 211 is indicated by a thick frame 212. When a button 213 is selected in this state, the processing unit 11 displays the vehicle information in a calendar format for each storage time of the trouble code and the like (see FIG. 7). Further, when a button 214 is selected, the processing unit 11 ends displaying the vehicle information.
(41) By visualizing the sequence of the trouble of the vehicle V like the display screen 21 of FIG. 4, workers of the retailer or the like are able to easily confirm whether the trouble that has occurred in the vehicle V is temporary, intermittent, or still continuing. Accordingly, the workers are able to handle the repair or the like of the vehicle V in a more appropriate manner at the retailer or the like. This point will be specifically described below.
(50) FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating a display example of the display device 2, and illustrates detailed information of predetermined parameters of the vehicle V in a time-series manner before and after a specific time. That is, the processing unit 11 causes the display device 2 to display various parameters of the vehicle V for a predetermined period before and after the time identified by the date and time information. On a display screen 23, a lighting situation 231 of the warning light, a warning situation 232 of the MID, and stored situations 233a to 233c of the trouble codes of each ECU 611 are displayed in a time-series manner. In this example, the display is given such that the warning light is turned on and a warning by the MID is given in association with the trouble code being stored in the ECU 611a, and then the trouble code is additionally stored in the ECUs 611b and 611c. Accordingly, the worker is able to suppose that the root cause of the trouble is related to the process of the ECU 611a. In addition, when a button 234 is selected, the processing unit 11 proceeds to a display screen 24 in FIG. 9, and when a button 235 is selected, the processing unit 11 proceeds to a display screen 25 in FIG. 10. Further, when a button 236 is selected, the processing unit 11 returns to the display screen 22 of FIG. 7, and when a button 237 is selected, the processing unit 11 ends the display of the vehicle information. Note that, on the display screen 23, temporal changes of various parameters for 15 seconds before and after the time identified by the date and time information, that is, a total of 30 seconds are illustrated. However, the length of the displayed time can be appropriately changed. Further, here, for convenience, an ECU and reference numeral is used as a name like “ECU611a”. However, a system name, a trouble code, or the like of a control target of the ECU, such as IMG, BAT, or ENG, may be used as the name to be displayed on the display screen 23.
The patent to Ito lacks the specifics of the information being displayed in the field of view of thee driver. The PG Pub to Sasaki et al. discloses the specifics of temporal relationships of two or more items items in the field of view of the driver. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the patent of Ito with the information displayed in real time in the field of view of the driver in order to adapt to the supervisory information as taught by Sasaki ‘426
12. (New) A method for displaying supervisory information in the field of view of a driver of a vehicle, comprising:displaying two or more items of supervisory information in an arrangement of adjacent display fields; anddisplaying a temporal relationship between the occurrences of the two or more items of supervisory information via positions of the two or more items of supervisory information within the arrangement. (Figure 4 and the description)
13. (New) The method as claimed in claim 12, further comprising displaying a newest item of supervisory information at one end of the arrangement and displaying an oldest item of supervisory information at another end of the arrangement. (figure 4 and the description)
14. (New) The method as claimed in claim 13, further comprising displaying the oldest item of supervisory information or the newest item of supervisory information from the two or moreitems of supervisory information always at the same absolute position in the field of view of the driver. (figure 4 and its description)
15. (New) The method as claimed in claim 14, wherein the arrangement of adjacent display fields are arranged in a column. (figure 4)
20. (New) The method as claimed in claim 12, comprising building up the displayed supervisory information over the adjacent display fields in succession in a direction predefined by the arrangement of the display fields. (figure 4)
21. (New) The method as claimed in claim 12, wherein displaying the two or more items of supervisory information in the arrangement of adjacent display fields comprises displaying at least one of the two or more items of supervisory information as a representative graphic symbol.(Figure 8)
22. (New) The method as claimed in claim 21, further comprising displaying a newest item of supervisory information at one end of the arrangement and displaying an oldest item of supervisory information at another end of the arrangement. (figure 4)
26. (New) The method as claimed in claim 12, wherein the supervisory information comprises one or more elements from the group comprising a tire pressure warning signal, a warning signal from an anti-lock braking system, an airbag warning signal, an engine warning signal, a steering warning signal, a proximity warning signal, a performance warning signal, a battery warning signal and a handbrake warning signal. (figure 8)
27. (New) A non-transitory storage medium storing a computer program, wherein the computer program performs the method as claimed in claim 12 when the computer program run on a computer, a processor or a programmable hardware component.(follows from the method)
28. (New) A device for a vehicle, having a control unit that is configured to perform the method of claim 12. (follows from the method)
29. (New) A vehicle having a device as claimed in claim 28.
30. (New) The method as claimed in claim 12, wherein:displaying the two or more items of supervisory information in an arrangement of adjacent display fields further comprises using a controller of the vehicle to cause displaying of the two or more items of supervisory information on a display mounted in a dashboard of the vehicle or on a windshield of the vehicle. (see Sasaki for a heads up display of two or more items of supervisory information displayed in a temporal relationship Figs 2a and 2b)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-19, 23, 24, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ITO ‘492 in view of Sasaki et al. ‘426in view of LEE 20200391593.
The modified patent to Ito discloses all features of the claimed inventio, but for the specifics of the clearing of the display to dynamically remove information from the arrangement and close a gap in the arrangement.
The PG Pub to Lee discloses in paragraph 319 the use of clearing information from a display to close the gap in the information. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of ITO with the ability to clear the information in order to be efficient and inherently clear the Gap in the information as it is not needed.
[0319] More specifically, a speed range may be calculated in consideration of fuel efficiency, and a graphic object corresponding to the calculated speed range may be displayed on the speedometer. However, when the vehicle 100 is not travelling within the calculated speed range for a predetermined time, the output of the graphic object may be cleared from the speedometer. That is, the output of the graphic object may be terminated considering energy-efficiency.
0409] In addition or alternatively, each of the speed ranges may be displayed as a graphic object with a different color, shape, and size on a speedometer in a clear and simple manner, so that the driver can easily recognize (or check) the recommended speed range.
16. (New) The method as claimed in claim 14, further comprising clearing a display of supervisory information that is no longer relevant from the arrangement.(paragraph 319 above)
17. (New) The method as claimed in claim 16, comprising closing a gap in the arrangement that has arisen due to the display being cleared by dynamically moving remaining supervisory information.()paragraph 319)
18. (New) The method as claimed in claim 13, further comprising clearing a display of supervisory information that is no longer relevant from the arrangement.(paragraph 319)
19. (New) The method as claimed in claim 18, comprising closing a gap in the arrangement that has arisen due to the display being cleared by dynamically moving remaining supervisory information.(paragraph 319)
23. (New) The method as claimed in claim 22, further comprising clearing a display of supervisory information that is no longer relevant from the arrangement.(paragraph 319)
24. (New) The method as claimed in claim 23, comprising closing a gap in the arrangement that has arisen due to the display being cleared by dynamically moving remaining supervisory information.(paragraph 319)
25. (New) The method as claimed in claim 24, wherein the supervisory information comprises one or more elements from the group comprising a tire pressure warning signal, a warning signal from an anti-lock braking system, an airbag warning signal, an engine warning signal, a steering warning signal, a proximity warning signal, a performance warning signal, a battery warning signal and a handbrake warning signal.(figure 8 of ITO warning signal)
/RICHARD M CAMBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661