DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment is made for the applicant’s response and amendment filed on 07/09/2026
Remarks
The claims are presented as follows:
Claims 4,12-13,15-19,22-23, and 25-32 are canceled.
Claims 1-3,5-11,14,20-21,24,33-34 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection made to claims 20-21 under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered and are not persuasive in light of the amendment made to the claims. The “X” need to be reparented, for example, wherein “X” is an integer or greater than 1, etc. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection is maintained.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 20-21 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims or amend these claims into their base claims, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20-21, recites “…the slot denoted as n0+X…”, the “n0” and “X” do not have a corresponding meaning or value. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3,5-11,14,20-21,24 and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAM et al. Publication No. (US 20200205138 A1) in view of He et al. Publication No. (US 2024/0388482 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nam teaches a method for determining number of slots, executed by a user equipment (UE 565 FIG.5), and comprising:
determining a first value denoted as X based on a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of a preset channel, wherein the first value is a total number of slots comprised in one multi-slot corresponding to a second type of search space (the user equipment (UE) receives a synchronization signal/physical broadcasting channel (SS/PBCH) block of an index i from a BS, and determine a slot index # as a sum of an offset value. The offset value is determined based on a first value O determined according to the index indicated in the MIB, wherein the index configures PDCCH monitoring occasions, and a second value μ indicated in the MIB, wherein the second value μ represents a subcarrier spacing (SCS) configuration, wherein M is a positive number determined according to the index indicated in the MIB to decode a PDCCH in the slot index number [0005-7] FIG.12), in response to that a radio resource control (RRC) state of the user equipment is an idle state (allows easier beam switching during the initial cell selection and IDLE mode of the UE [0115-116] FIG.12).
Nam does not explicitly teach one multi-slot group, wherein the determining the first value based on the subcarrier spacing of the preset channel comprises: determining the first value based on a SCS of a Type#0 common search space (CSS) channel.
He teaches one multi-slot group, wherein the determining the first value based on the subcarrier spacing of the preset channel (He: monitoring physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs) in a Type0-PDCCH common search space (CSS) set over one or two consecutive slots, starting from a slot index n_0, transmitting, the UE sends a report of a UE capability related to search space configurations for multi-slot PDCCH monitoring or performing a monitoring occasion (MO) shifting operation for a first group of search space (SS) sets in response to a determination that a second group of SS sets is updated. [0037-40] FIG.2) comprises: determining the first value based on a SCS of a Type#0 common search space (CSS) channel (FIG. 4A illustrates Type0-CSS Monitoring Occasions, wherein the two slots are two consecutive slots, the slot index n_0 corresponds to a first slot of the two consecutive slots, the one or more values include a first value O and a second value M, and the slot index n_0 is determined as: n_0=(O*2^μ+.Math.i*M.Math.)modN_slot^(frame,μ), wherein i is an index for a synchronization signal block (SSB) associated with the Type0-PDCCH CSS set, M∈{1,½,2}, and N_slot∧(frame,μ) denotes a number of slots per frame for an SCS configuration μ [0115-122] FIG.6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Nam by the teaching of He to include the number of slots in one multi-slot group while in the idle state so that the UE transitions back to an RRC Connected state and receive the data by updating SS sets and performing a MO shifting operation for a first group of SS sets based on the updated second group of SS sets. (He: [0174-176] FIG.6).
Regarding claim 2, Nam teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining the first value based on the subcarrier spacing of the preset channel comprises: determining the first value based on a SCS of a synchronization signal block (SSB) channel in response to that a radio resource control (RRC) state of the user equipment is an idle state (the UE behavior of transmitting UL signals on turned-on SSBs may further be controlled based on the type of SSB composition indication. For example, outside the SMTC window duration, the UE transmits UL signals on a “turned-on” SSB OFDM symbols based on RMSI indication or mobility measurement purpose indication of the SSB set composition, but the UE is not allowed to transmit UL signals on any of the “turned-on” SSB OFDM symbols based on RRC indication of the SSB set composition [0058-59] for IDLE mode intra-cell mobility, UE may need to acquire the “specific” information to find the CORESET corresponding to a newly selected SSB than the initially detected SSB [0115-116] FIG.10).
Regarding claim 3, Nam teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining the first value based on the subcarrier spacing of the preset channel comprises: determining that the first value is a total number of slots contained in one multi-slot group corresponding to a SCS of a synchronization signal block (SSB) channel in response to that a radio resource control (RRC) state of the user equipment is an idle state (Slot number to map SSB i.sub.ss, where the slot number is defined according to the SSB numerology. Δ.sub.ss: information about SSB-specific offset provided in the PBCH. The value of this parameter may be SSB specific, i.e., different values may be indicated in different SSBs [0131-132] FIG.16).
Regarding claim 4 (cancelled).
Regarding claim 5, Nam teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining the first value based on the subcarrier spacing of the preset channel comprises: determining that the first value is a total number of slots contained in one multi-slot group corresponding to the SCS of the Type#0 common search space (CSS) channel in response to that a radio resource control (RRC) state of the user equipment is an idle state (The common search space (CSS) CORESETs may come as a burst set #1) frequency resources; #2) OFDM symbol numbers in each slot; and #3) RMSI slot timing e.g., in terms of slot offset and periodicity. Information #1 and #2 can be reused for type 0 CSS, i.e., at least for SIBx transmissions for x>1 [0110-111] FIG.16).
Regarding claims 6-7 (allowable subject matter). However, they are rejected since they depend on a rejected base claim.
Regarding claim 8, Nam teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining the first value based on the subcarrier spacing of the preset channel comprises: in response to that a radio resource control (RRC) state of the user equipment is a connected state and a network device does not configure the first value for the user equipment, determining that the first value is a default number of slots corresponding to a SCS of a bandwidth part (BWP) currently activated by the user equipment (The FDM can be supported by allowing to configure the frequency location for the single BW in terms of frequency offset to the SS block BW. If the candidate frequency offset values to be indicated in the MIB includes ‘0’ and other values corresponding to BWPs non-overlapping with the SS block BW, then both TDM and FDM of the SS block and the single BW will naturally be supported [0119] a UE with minimum capability will see initial active BWP of 25 PRBs corresponding to the BW carrying RMSI, RAR and Open System Interconnection (OSI), and an eMBB UE will see initial active BWP of 50 PRBs, corresponding to the aggregated BW of SSB BW and RMSI/RAR/OSI BW [0124-125] FIG.14).
Regarding claim 9, Nam teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: determining that the first value is the first value configured by a network device for the user equipment in response to that a radio resource control (RRC) state of the user equipment is a connected state (the UE transmits UL signals on a “turned-on” SSB OFDM symbols based on RMSI indication or mobility measurement purpose indication of the SSB set composition, but the UE is not allowed to transmit UL signals on any of the “turned-on” SSB OFDM symbols based on RRC indication of the SSB set composition [0059-60] FIG.11).
Regarding claim 10, Nam teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
determining that a duration of the multi-slot group corresponding to the second type of group of search space is a product of a duration of a single slot and the first value (When the full SSBs are mapped (according to the value of L), up to 5 msec duration is occupied. Hence, a common offset value, o.sub.RMSI, that can always be used for TDM mapping is the slot number corresponding to 5 msec. If mapping of both SSBs and RMSIs in a same half-frame is desired, the slot number corresponding to 2 or 3 msec in the RMSI numerology can also be considered to be signaled. This second number may be necessary for 5 msec SSB periodicity and TDM is desired by the network [0153-154] FIG.11).
Regarding claim 11, Nam teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein the duration of the single slot is a duration of a single slot corresponding to the SCS of the Type#0 common search space (CSS) channel (The common search space (CSS) CORESETs may come as a burst set #1) frequency resources; #2) OFDM symbol numbers in each slot; and #3) RMSI slot timing e.g., in terms of slot offset and periodicity. Information #1 and #2 can be reused for type 0 CSS, i.e., at least for SIBx transmissions for x>1 [0110-111] FIG.11).
Claims 12.-13. (Cancelled).
Regarding claim 14, Nam teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein the determining the first value based on the subcarrier spacing of the preset channel comprises: determining the first value based on the SCS of the Type#0 common search space (CSS) channel in response to that a radio resource control (RRC) state of the user equipment is an idle state (The common search space (CSS) CORESETs may come as a burst set #1) frequency resources; #2) OFDM symbol numbers in each slot; and #3) RMSI slot timing e.g., in terms of slot offset and periodicity. Information #1 and #2 can be reused for type 0 CSS, i.e., at least for SIBx transmissions for x>1 [0110-111] FIG.11).
Claims 15-19. (Cancelled).
Regarding claims 20-21 (allowable subject matter). However, they are rejected since they depend on a rejected base claim.
Claims 22-23. (Cancelled).
Regarding claim 24 (allowable subject matter). However, they are rejected since they depend on a rejected base claim.
Claims 25-32. (Cancelled).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kevin Bates, can be reached on 571-2723980. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ABDELNABI O MUSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472