Response to Amendment and Argument
1. This communication is in response to applicant's 08/06/2026 communications in the application of Zhou et al. for the "DISCONTINUOUS RECEPTION MODE COMMUNICA TION TECHNIQUES" filed 05/21/2024. This application is a National Stage entry of PCT/CN2022/073900, International Filing Date: 01/26/202. The amendment and response have been entered and made of record. Claims 1-30 are pending in the present application.
2. Applicant’s remarks and argument to the rejected claims are insufficient to distinguish the claimed invention from the cited prior arts or overcome the rejection of said claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed below. Applicant’s argument with respect to the pending claims have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive for at least the following reasons.
3. In response to applicant's argument that the combination of cited references fails to present a prima facie case of obviousness. In response, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of applicant’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). It is not necessary that a “prima facie” case of unpatentability exist as to the claim in order for “a substantial new question of patentability” to be present as to the claim. Thus, “a substantial new question of patentability” as to a patent claim could be present even if the examiner would not necessarily reject the claim as either fully anticipated by, or obvious in view of, the prior art patents or printed publications. As to the importance of the difference between “a substantial new question of patentability” and a “prima facie” case of unpatentability see generally In re Etter, 756 F.2d 852, 857 n.5, 225 USPQ 1, 4 n.5 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Also, See MPEP § 2141.01(a) for a discussion of analogous and nonanalogous art in the context of establishing a prima facie case of obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103. See MPEP § 2131.05 for a discussion of analogous and nonanalogous art in the context of 35 U.S.C. 102. 904.02. It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose, the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. See MPEP 2144.06 and In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
4. In response to Applicant’s argument that the reference does not teach or reasonably suggest the functionality upon which the Examiner relies for the rejection. The Examiner first emphasizes for the record that the claims employ a broader in scope than the Applicant’s disclosure in all aspects. In addition, the Applicant has not argued any narrower interpretation of the claim limitations, nor amended the claims significantly enough to construe a narrower meaning to the limitations. Since the claims breadth allows multiple interpretations and meanings, which are broader than Applicant’s disclosure, the Examiner is required to interpret the claim limitations in terms of their broadest reasonable interpretations while determining patentability of the disclosed invention. See MPEP 2111. In other words, the claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification and the interpretation that those skilled in the art would reach. See In re Hyatt, 211 F.3d 1367, 1372, 54 USPQ2d 1664, 1667 (Fed. Cir. 2000), In re Cortright, 165 F.3d 1353, 1359, 49 USPQ2d 1464, 1468 (Fed. Cir. 1999), and In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 2004 WL 1067528 (Fed. Cir. May 13, 2004). Any term that is not clearly defined in the specification must be given its plain meaning as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2111.01. See also In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989), Sunrace Roots Enter. Co. v. SRAM Corp., 336 F.3d 1298, 1302, 67 USPQ2d 1438, 1441 (Fed. Cir. 2003), Brookhill-Wilk 1, LLC v. Intuitive Surgical, Inc., 334 F.3d 1294, 1298 67 USPQ2d 1132, 1136 (Fed. Cir. 2003). The interpretation of the claims by their broadest reasonable interpretation reduces the possibility that, once the claims are issued, the claims are interpreted more broadly than justified. See In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-551 (CCPA 1969). Also, limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim are not read into the claim. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, the failure to significantly narrow definition or scope of the claims and supply arguments commensurate in scope with the claims implies the Applicant intends broad interpretation be given to the claims. The Examiner has interpreted the claims in parallel to the Applicant in the response and reiterates the need for the Applicant to distinctly define the claimed invention.
5. In response to Applicant’s argument that there is no suggestion to combine the references, i.e., Zhang et al. (US#11,564,170) in view of Reial et al. (US#11,647,464) as proposed in the office action. The Examiner recognizes that references cannot be arbitrarily combined and that there must be some reason why one skilled in the art would be motivated to make the proposed combination of primary and secondary references. In re Nomiya, 184 USPQ 607 (CCPA 1975). However, there is no requirement that a motivation to make the modification be expressly articulated. The test for combining references is what the combination of disclosures taken as a whole would suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re McLaughlin, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). It must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
6. Applicant's argument with respect to the rejected claims that the cited reference fails to teach or suggest the “configuration of a ramp window” (page 11, second - third paragraphs). In response to the above-mentioned argument, examiner respectively disagrees. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, as required by MPEP 2111, the reference of are applied herein for the teaching of a system and method for managing DRX mode communication techniques, according to the essential features of the claims. Applicant’s attention is directed to Fig. 2 & Col. 3, lines 21-28 of Zhang et al. (US#11,564,170) for the teaching of DRX cycle in the CDRX state 201, in which the UE may perform the following: wake up from a sleep 202, spend the time and energy on ramp up 203 from s sleep 202; monitor the PDCCH for ON duration 204; ramp down 205; and go back to sleep 202. Examiner interprets as the ramp window 203, 205 may be outside of the on-window 204 and a sleep window 202 of the DRX cycle. Furthermore, as seen in Fig. 7 & Col. 10, lines 7-37, where the UE may wake up its main receiver and ramp up its main receiver and get timing and frequency synchronized with gNB timing before the beginning of the DRX on duration in the DRX cycle (step 705). For example, the UE may perform inter-cell measurements after the ramp-up in step 705 (right before the beginning of its DRX on duration)(the UE may wake up its main receiver at ramp-up window before the DRX on duration, synchronize with the gNB in the DL, and detect for NR-PDCCHs in the DRX on duration).
Since no substantial amendments have been made and the Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, the claims are drawn to the same invention and the text of the prior art rejection can be found in the previous Office Action. Therefore, the Examiner maintains that the references cited and applied in the last office actions for the rejection of the claims are maintained in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claim 29, use(s) the word "means for receiving" and “means for monitoring” uses the phrase, "means for" or "step for" or a non-structural term coupled with functional language, but it is modified by some structure, material, or acts recited in the claim. It is unclear whether the recited structure, material, or acts are sufficient for performing the claimed function because it is not clear of what was applicant intend for function as said means.
If applicant wishes to have the claim limitation treated under 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may amend the claim so that the phrase "means for" or "step for" or the non-structural term is clearly not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function, or present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation is written as a function to be performed and the claim does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
If applicant does not wish to have the claim limitation treated under 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may amend the claim so that it will clearly not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, or present a sufficient showing that the claim recites sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function to preclude application of 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the
claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have
been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary
skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the
manner in which the invention was made.
11. Claims 1-7, 14-20, 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US#11,564,170) in view of Reial et al. (US#11,647,464).
Regarding claim 17, the references disclose an apparatus for DRX mode communication techniques, according to the essential features of the claim. Zhang et al. (US#11,564,170) discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor (see Fig. 11B for the structure of UE includes processor 118, memory 130); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a base station, signaling that indicates a configuration of a ramp window that is associated with a discontinuous reception cycle of the UE (Fig. 2; Col. 3, lines 21-28: In CDRX cycles, the UE may perform the wake up from a sleep 202; spend the time and energy on ramp-up 203 from sleep 202; monitor the PDCCH for ON duration 204; ramp down 205; and go back to sleep 202), the ramp window including a set of slots adjacent to a sleep window of the discontinuous reception cycle (Fig. 2; Col. 3, lines 21-28: on-duration slots 204, sleep slots 202), wherein the set of slots includes a first subset of wakeup slots during which the UE is in an on-state and a second subset of sleep slots during which the UE is in a sleep state (Fig. 1; Col. 3, lines 1-20: the DRX cycle comprising the ON duration and an OFF duration for controlling power saving function; and transmit a wake-up signal, to the wireless communication device, according to the wakeup signal timing offset and the group identifier).
However, Zhang reference does not disclose expressly wherein monitoring for transport block from the BS during the first subset of wakeup slots in accordance with the configuration of the ramp window. In the same field of endeavor, Reial et al. (US#11,647,464) discloses in Fig. 12 a flowchart illustrated a process in a wireless device for transitioning out of a mode or state based on a wake-up indication, in which upon detecting the PDCCH, WD 22 receives the PDSCH accordingly. If the WU-DCI contained an indication of the number of transport blocks that will be used for the pending DL data, i.e., how many independent (i.e. excluding HARQ retransmissions) DL transmissions would be used for the DL data, the WD 22 keeps the full receiver active until all the indicated (independent) PDSCH transmissions/transport blocks (including HARQ retransmissions) have been received (Col. 25, lines 13-32: monitoring for transport block from the BS during the wakeup signal WUS).
Thus, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Reial’s low power mode or connected Discontinuous Reception (DRX) mode based on the wake-up indication into Zhang’s Techniques for improved wake-up signal (WUS) operation in DRX cycle of a wireless communication system with the motivation being to provide a method and system for supporting DRX mode communications.
Regarding claim 18, Zhang in view of Reial teaches the apparatus of claim 1 examined above, Reial et al. (US#11,647,464) further teaches wherein receive the transport block during a wakeup slot of the first subset of wakeup slots based at least in part on the monitoring; and transition to an on-window of the discontinuous reception cycle based at least in part on receiving the transport block during the wakeup slot (Col. 25, lines 13-32: monitoring for transport block from the BS during the wakeup signal WUS).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang in view of Reial teaches the apparatus of claim 1 examined above, Reial et al. (US#11,647,464) further teaches wherein receive, from the base station, a control message that activates the monitoring of the transport block in accordance with the configuration of the ramp window (Col. 25, lines 13-32: monitoring for transport block from the BS during the wakeup signal WUS).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang in view of Reial teaches the apparatus of claim 1 examined above, Zhang et al. (US#11,564,170) further teaches wherein wakeup slots of the first subset of wakeup slots alternate with sleep slots of the second subset of sleep slots in time (Fig. 2; Col. 3, lines 21-28: on-duration slots 204, sleep slots 202).
Regarding claim 26, Zhang in view of Reial teaches the apparatus of claim 1 examined above, Zhang et al. (US#11,564,170) further teaches wherein an on-window of the discontinuous reception cycle corresponds to the ramp window comprising the first subset of wakeup slots and the second subset of sleep slots (Figs. 2, 4; Col. 3, lines 21-28 & Col. 4, lines 9-26: Wake-up Signal (WUS)/sleep slot in the DRX cycle).
Regarding claim 27, Zhang in view of Reial teaches the apparatus of claim 1 examined above, Zhang et al. (US#11,564,170) further teaches wherein the set of slots is adjacent to an on-window of the discontinuous reception cycle (Fig. 2; Col. 3, lines 21-28: on-duration slots 204, sleep slots 202 in DRX cycle).
Regarding claim 28, Zhang in view of Reial teaches the apparatus of claim 1 examined above, Zhang et al. (US#11,564,170) further teaches wherein a quantity of slots included in the set of slots is based at least in part on a statistical probability that a downlink message scheduled for reception during an on-window of the discontinuous reception cycle is received outside of the on-window (Fig. 1; Col. 3, lines 1-20).
Regarding claims 1-7, 11, 14-16, they are method claims corresponding to the apparatus claims 17-20, 23, 26-28 examined above. Therefore, claims 1-7, 11, 14-16 are analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claims 17-20, 23, 26-28 above.
Regarding claim 29, it is a means claims corresponding to the apparatus claim 1 examined above. Therefore, claim 29 is analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 30, this claim differs from claims Zhang et al. (US#11,564,170) in view of Reial et al. (US#11,647,464) in that the claims recited a computer program product for performing the same basis of steps and apparatus of the prior arts as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement a computer program product in Zhang in view of Reial for performing the steps and apparatus as recited in the claim with the motivation being to provide the efficient enhancement for performing DRX mode communication techniques, and easy to maintenance, upgrade.
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claims 8, 9, 11, 12 & 21-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10, 13, 25 depend on the objected claims above.
13. The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest wherein the ramp window includes a first duration and a second duration, the first duration closer in time to an on-window of the discontinuous reception cycle than the second duration, and the first duration includes a first quantity of wakeup slots of the first subset of wakeup slots that is greater than a second quantity of wakeup slots of the first subset of wakeup slots included in the second duration based at least in part on the first duration being closer in time to the on-window of the discontinuous reception cycle; wherein a location of the first subset of wakeup slots within the ramp window and a location of the second subset of sleep slots within the ramp window are based at least in part on a jitter of an uplink message transmitted by the UE, the jitter of the uplink message corresponding to a difference between an arrival time of the uplink message and a scheduled reception time of the uplink message; wherein the configuration for the ramp window indicates a location of a first group of slots of the set of slots comprising a greater quantity of wakeup slots than sleep slots, and wherein wakeup slots of the first subset of wakeup slots and excluded from the first group of slots alternate in time with sleep slots of the second subset of sleep slots and excluded from the first group of slots; wherein the signaling indicates a second configuration of a second ramp window associated with the discontinuous reception
cycle, the second ramp window including a second set of slots outside the sleep window of the discontinuous reception cycle, and wherein the second set of slots includes a third subset of wakeup slots and a fourth subset of sleep slots, as specifically recited in the claims.
Conclusion
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is indicated in PTO form 892.
15. Applicant's future amendments need to comply with the requirements of MPEP § 714.02, MPEP § 2163.04 and MPEP § 2163.06.
"with respect to newly added or amended claims, applicant should show support in the original disclosure for the new or amended claims." See MPEP § 714.02 and § 2163.06 ("Applicant should * * * specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure."); and MPEP § 2163.04 ("If applicant amends the claims and points out where and/or how the originally filed disclosure supports the amendment(s), and the examiner finds that the disclosure does not reasonably convey that the inventor had possession of the subject matter of the amendment at the time of the filing of the application, the examiner has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasoning to explain why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims."). See In re Smith, 458 F.2d 1389, 1395, 173 USPQ 679, 683 (CCPA 1972) In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d at 262,191 USPQ at 96 (emphasis added). "The use of a confusing variety of terms for the same thing should not be permitted.
New claims and amendments to the claims already in the application should be scrutinized not only for new matter but also for new terminology. While an applicant is not limited to the nomenclature used in the application as filed, he or she should make appropriate amendment of the specification whenever this nomenclature is departed from by amendment of the claims so as to have clear support or antecedent basis in the specification for the new terms appearing in the claims. This is necessary in order to insure certainty in construing the claims in the light of the specification." Ex parte Kotler, 1901 C.D. 62, 95 O.G. 2684 (Comm'r Pat. 1901). See 37 CFR 1.75, MPEP § 608.01 (i) and § 1302.01.
Note that examiners should ensure that the terms and phrases used in claims presented late in prosecution of the application (including claims amended via an examiner's amendment) 07find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description, see 37 CFR 1,75(d)(1 ). If the examiner determines that the claims presented late in prosecution do not comply with 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1), applicant will be required to make appropriate amendment to the description to provide clear support or antecedent basis for the terms appearing in the claims provided no new matter is introduced"
"USPTO personnel are to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure." In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023,1027-28 (Fed. Cir. 1997). MPEP § 2106. "
16. THIS ACTION THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP ' 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
Mphan
Sept 14, 2026
/MAN U PHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477