DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office action is in response to amendment/reconsideration filed on 12/17/2025, the amendments have been considered. Claims 1, 5, and 6 have been amended. Claims 1-5 are pending for examination, the rejection cited as stated below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/17/2025, with respect to the Claim Objections of Claims 1, 2, 5, and 6 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Claim Objections of Claims 1, 2, 5, and 6 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with regards to the amendments, “determine a series of packets with consecutive Session IDs following the preceding packet…”, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that the prior arts of record fail to teach or suggest the above-mentioned limitation.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, as the prior art of Yamamoto discloses detecting abnormalities (Paragraphs 0033-0034). Paragraphs 0120-0122 disclose that based on the information stored in the field of Message ID, information is going to be relayed between the server ECU and the client ECU (e.g., automated driving ECU). After confirmation of the field of Message ID is performed (i.e., there are no abnormalities), then the communications to the client ECUs can be made. This means that the Message ID needs to be inspected before any communications can be performed. Also, the prior art of David discloses in Paragraphs 0035-0036 that malware attempts (i.e., abnormalities) are blocked/stopped based on a variety of information, such as the malware itself, the origin of the malware (i.e., session ID), and information identifying the code segment that provided the malware exploit.
Based on the rationale explained above, the Examiner disagrees with the prior art being silent to the claimed embodiment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yusuke Yamamoto et al (US 20220355750 A1), hereinafter “Yamamoto” in view of Tal Efraim Ben David et al (US 20180316698 A1), hereinafter “David”.
Regarding Claim, Yamamoto discloses monitoring device comprising:
processing circuitry configured to:
use a normal communication model of communication between Engine Control Unit (ECUs) of a vehicle and determine, for each of packets transmitted and received by the ECUs, whether or not the packet is abnormal (Yamamoto, Paragraph 0033, 0141, detecting abnormalities between ECU);
when any one of the packets is determined to be abnormal, determine a series of packets with consecutive Session IDs following the preceding packet determined to be abnormal as abnormal on a basis of a Session ID indicating a communication order included in header information of the packet determined to be abnormal (Yamamoto, Paragraph 0117, transfer management unit confirms whether or not the server ECU has permitted the client ECU to subscribe to the service, on the basis of the information stored in the field of Type in the service subscription propriety frame received from the transfer control unit. Paragraph 0141, on the basis of information stored in the field of time to live (TTL) in Entries Array of a target frame, e.g., a service provision frame, received from the transfer control unit , the transfer management unit detects, as abnormality of the target frame, that a validity period of a service from a server ECU to a client ECU has expired. Paragraph 0142, transfer management unit recognizes that the validity period of the service from the server ECU to the client ECU has expired, on the basis of the TTL in the service provision frame received from the transfer control unit )
However, Yamamoto fails to explicitly disclose and output information of a packet determined to be abnormal and information of a packet determined to be abnormal by the second determination unit.
David, from the same or similar field of endeavor, discloses and output information of a packet determined to be abnormal and information of a packet determined to be abnormal by the second determination unit (David, Paragraph 0036, controller logs information about its operation, including blocked malware attempts as well as information on secure operation of the controller over time. Paragraph 0037, management computer system receives reports from the controller as well as from multiple other controllers and devices, and can aggregate the reports into a central database system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto in view of David in order to further modify the method of detecting abnormalities in an in-vehicle communication from the teachings of Yamamoto with the method of centralized controller management and anomaly detection from the teachings of David.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because by using security policies in the electronic control units the system will be able to maintain a secure operation and prevent attacks to controller area network (David – Paragraphs 0003-0006).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Yamamoto and David disclose the monitoring device according to claim 1 above, wherein Yamamoto further discloses wherein the communication between the ECUs is a Publish/Subscribe type communication (Yamamoto, Paragraphs 0081-0083, 0117, ECUs are subscribed to services),
and in a case where it is determined that a number of simultaneous subscription clients in the Publish/Subscribe type communication exceeds a normal range, when determining that a packet of any one of subscription Sessions is abnormal, the processing circuitry is further configured to determine that a packet of a subscription client in the subscription Session determined to be abnormal is abnormal (Yamamoto, Paragraph 0116-0118, determining if ECU is subscribed or not to a service. Paragraph 0141, on the basis of information stored in the field of TTL in Entries Array of a target frame, e.g., a service provision frame, received from the transfer control unit, the transfer management unit 20 detects, as abnormality of the target frame, that a validity period of a service from a server ECU to a client ECU has expired).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Yamamoto and David disclose the monitoring device according to claim 2 above, where Yamamoto further discloses wherein in a case where it is determined that the number of simultaneous subscription clients in the Publish/Subscribe type communication exceeds the normal range, when determining that no packet of any one of the subscription Sessions is abnormal until all the subscription Sessions are terminated, the processing circuitry is further configured to specify a subscription Session in which a feature amount of a communication interval of each of the packets is most deviated from a normal communication model, and determine that a packet of a subscription client in the specified subscription Session is determined to be abnormal (Yamamoto, Paragraph 0116-0118, determining if ECU is subscribed to a service. Paragraph 0141, on the basis of information stored in the field of TTL in Entries Array of a target frame, e.g., a service provision frame, received from the transfer control unit, the transfer management unit 20 detects, as abnormality of the target frame, that a validity period of a service from a server ECU to a client ECU has expired).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Yamamoto and David disclose the monitoring device according to claim 2 above, wherein Yamamoto further discloses wherein the packet is a packet of SOME/IP protocol or SOME/IP-SD protocol (Yamamoto, Paragraphs 0070-0072, communication according to SOME/IP communication protocol).
Claim 5 carries similar limitations as discussed with regards to Claim 1 above and therefore is rejected for the same reason.
Claim 6 carries similar limitations as discussed with regards to Claim 1 and Claim 5 above and therefore is rejected for the same reason.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAVIER O GUZMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446