Claims 1-17 are presented for examination.
Claim 18 is withdrawn from examination.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 04/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 18 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/07/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dudhara et al. (US 7,776,345 submitted by the applicant) in view of JP201753604.
The claims are drawn to A gastro-retentive oral dosage unit having a weight of 150-1,000 mg, said dosage unit comprising 70-100 wt.% of a core unit and 0-30 wt.% of a coating, the core unit comprising:
(a) 15-50 wt.% local anesthetic;
(b) 2-20 wt.% of effervescent;
(c) 8-30 wt.% of hydrophilic polymer;
(d) 5-75 wt.% of excipient.
Regarding claim 1, Dudhara teaches a gastric retention controlled drug delivery system comprising: (a) a controlled release core comprising a drug, a highly swellable polymer and a gas generating agent, said core being capable of swelling and achieving floatation rapidly while maintaining its physical integrity in gastrointestinal fluids for prolonged periods, and (b) a rapidly releasing coat composition comprising the same drug as in the core and pharmaceutically acceptable excipients, wherein the coating composition surrounds the core such that the system provides a biphasic release of the drug in gastrointestinal fluids. See column 4, lines 14-25. The use of an anesthetic, such lidocaine is taught in column 5, lines 15-18. Dudhara teaches a gastric retention controlled drug delivery system comprising: (a) a controlled release core comprising a drug, a highly swellable polymer and a gas generating agent, said core being capable of swelling and achieving floatation rapidly while maintaining its physical integrity in gastrointestinal fluids for prolonged periods, and (b) a rapidly releasing coat composition comprising the same drug as in the core and pharmaceutically acceptable excipients, wherein the coating composition surrounds the core such that the system provides a biphasic release of the drug in gastrointestinal fluids. See column 4, lines 14-25. The use of effervescent, such as a gas generating compound is taught in Para (4). The use of a hydrophilic polymer, such as, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose is taught in column 10, lines 30-35. The concentration of hydrophilic polymer is taught to be 5-25%, which falls within the scope of the claimed range. See column 11, lines 31-40.. The concentration of disintegrants is taught to be 5-50% of the core. Column 11, lines 3-17. Dudhara teaches that HPMC K4M grade is used as the swelling polymer in an amount ranging from about 5% to about 25% by weight of the core, more preferably from about 10% to about 15% by weight of the core. See column 11, lines 31-40. Dudhara teaches that the gastric retention controlled drug delivery system of the present invention may also include various pharmaceutically acceptable excipients, for example disintegrants such as starch, cellulose derivatives, gums, crosslinked polymers; binders such as starch, gelatin, sugars, cellulose derivatives, polyvinyl pyrrolidone; lubricants such as talc, magnesium stearate, colloidal silicon dioxide, polyethylene glycol, cellulose derivatives; and mixtures thereof. See column 12, lines 36-45. The use of excipients, such as microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol and starch is taught in table 1. The determination of optimum proportions or amounts is considered to be within the skill of artisan in the absence of evidence to the contrary. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), where the court states “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”.
Regarding claim 2, mixing the ingredients is part of the process of making and not the composition.
Regarding claim 3, the determination of optimum proportions or amounts of a local anesthetic is considered to be within the skill of artisan in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claims 4-6, Dudhara teaches the anesthetics are adrenaline, bupivacaine, chloroprocaine, desflurane, etidocaine, levobupivacaine, lidocaine, midazolam, propofol, ropivacaine and their salts. See column5, lines 15-18
Regarding claim 7, Dudhara teaches gas generating components that may be used in the present invention include carbonates such as calcium carbonate, bicarbonates such as sodium or potassium bicarbonate. See column 11, lines 55-58.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Dudhara teaches the use of a hydrophilic polymer, such as, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose is taught in column 10, lines 30-35.
Regarding claim 10, Dudhara teaches the use of excipients, such as microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol and starch is taught in table 1.
Regarding claim 11, the determination of optimum proportions or amounts of the filler is considered to be within the skill of artisan in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Dudhara teaches the swelling agent is a superdisintegrant such as cross-linked polyvinylpyrrolidone, cross-linked carboxymethylcellulose and sodium starch glycolate. See column 11 lines 3-17. The amount is taught to be 5-50% of the core.
Regarding claim 14, the determination of optimum proportions or amounts is considered to be within the skill of artisan in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 15 and 16, Dudhara teaches the use of acrylic acid polymers such as methacrylate and methyl methacrylate copolymers. See column 13, lines 15-18. Dudhara does not teach the use of dimethyaminoethyl methacrylate. JP Patent 201753604 teaches a gastric retentive sustained release suspension composition comprising an active ingredient and a suspending base, wherein there is no substantial change in in vitro dissolution release profile upon storage for at least 7 days. See claim 1. JP patent teaches the gastric retentive sustained release suspension composition, wherein the active ingredient is in the form of a multilayer core coated with a controlled release polymer. See claim 2. JP Patent teaches The controlled release polymer used to form the sustained release coating is selected from the group comprising pH dependent polymers, pH independent polymers, or mixtures thereof.
Examples of suitable pH-dependent polymers are copolymers of methacrylic acid and methyl methacrylate (e.g. “Eudragit” ® L100 and “Eudragit” ® S100), copolymers of methacrylic acid and ethyl acrylate (E.g. "Eudragit" (registered trademark) L100-55 and "Eudragit" (registered trademark) L30D-55), copolymers of dimethylaminoethyl methacrylate. See Description of Embodiment and claims. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to add dimethylaminoethyl methacrylate to the coating of Dudhara, motivated by the JP patent, which teaches the use of such polymer in a coating of a gastro-retentive composition as old and well known. The determination of optimum proportion or amounts is considered to be within the skill of artisan in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 17, the intended use of a dosage unit does not create a patentably distinct dosage unit.
/ZOHREH A FAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617