Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 10-12, and 14 is and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pureur (EP 3026455 A1).
Pureur discloses that the laser light source is configured to generate coherent electromagnetic radiation with a wavelength L1, “The laser beam F .sub.m is for example emitted in the infrared frequency band, for example at the central frequency of 1550 nanometers (nm)” (Paragraph 0030 Machine Translation). Pureur discloses that the detector element is configured for coherent detection of incoming electromagnetic radiation with the wavelength L1 as a function of a local oscillator signal, “The optical sensor 18 is arranged to receive both the reference laser beam F .sub.ref and the return laser beam F .sub.ret via the second face of the master laser 11.” (Paragraph 0044 Machine Translation) and Figure 6. Pureur discloses that the laser light source and the detector element are arranged opposite one another on different sides of the carrier in such a way that electromagnetic radiation generated by the laser light source during operation is coupled into the detector element via a first main surface through the carrier as the local oscillator signal and is coupled out via a second main surface, “The optical sensor 18 is arranged to receive both the reference laser beam F .sub.ref and the return laser beam F .sub.ret via the second face of the master laser 11.” (Paragraph 0044 Machine Translation) , Figure 6., and “The telescope 16 consists for example of a focusing lens or a group of lenses. The laser beam from the telescope 16 is called the measuring laser beam F .sub.mes . It is for example focused at a distance of the order of a few hundred meters.” (Paragraph 0034 Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 2, Pureur discloses the optoelectronic device according to claim 1, see claim 1 rejection. Pureur discloses that the detector element is configured to couple the incoming electromagnetic radiation as a received signal and the local oscillator signal into an active region in counter direction and to superimpose them coherently, “The figure 6 represents a fourth embodiment of a coherent pulsed lidar according to the invention. In this exemplary embodiment, the lidar 60 comprises a master laser 11 and an optical amplifier 13 formed on a single semiconductor substrate 51. The optical sensor 18 is arranged to receive both the reference laser beam F .sub.ref and the return laser beam F .sub.ret via the second face of the master laser 11.” (Paragraph 0044 Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 3, Pureur discloses the optoelectronic device according to claim 1, see claim 1 rejection. Pureur discloses that the detector element comprises a photodiode and/or a balanced photodiode, “The optical sensor 18 is for example a photodiode.” (Paragraph 0037 Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 6, Pureur discloses the optoelectronic device of claim 1. Pureur discloses that the laser light source comprises a surface-emitting semiconductor layer sequence, “The semiconductor laser is for example a laser diode. More specifically, it may comprise a vertical cavity surface-emitting laser (VCSEL) or vertical cavity laser surface-emitting laser (VCSEL), or an external cavity surface-emitting laser.” (Paragraph 0030 Machine Translation).Regarding claim 7, claim 7 is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 6, see claim 6 rejection.
Regarding claim 10, Pureur discloses a LiDAR module, comprising at least one an optoelectronic element according to any one of claims claim 1, see claim 1 rejection. Pureur discloses a beam guiding optics (3) arranged for directing a transmitted signal to an external object and for directing a received signal to a detector element, see claim 1 rejection and Figure 1.
Regarding claim 11, Pureur discloses a LiDAR module, comprising at least one an optoelectronic element according to any one of claims claim 1, see claim 1 rejection. Pureur discloses at least one laser light source comprising a coupling-out wedge, “The amplified laser beam F .sub.amp is directed to a first input-output of the circulator 15 and emerges on a second input-output to go to the telescope 16 to be focused or collimated. The circulator can be replaced by a polarization beam splitter, or "polarization beamsplitter" (PBS) in English. The telescope 16 consists for example of a focusing lens or a group of lenses. The laser beam from the telescope 16 is called the measuring laser beam F .sub.mes . It is for example focused at a distance of the order of a few hundred meters.” (Paragraph 0034 Machine Translation) and “The measuring laser beam F .sub.mes , when it reaches a target such as a particle, is partly reflected towards the lidar. This reflected part, called the return laser beam F .sub.ret , passes through the telescope 16, enters the circulator 15 through the second input-output and emerges through a third input-output to be directed to the combiner beams 17.” (Paragraph 0035 Machine Translation). The circulator here is the wedge. See Figure 1 also.
Regarding claim 12, Pureur discloses the lidar module of claim 10, see claim 10 rejection. Pureur discloses that the beam guiding optics comprises a mirror, a prism and/or a lens, “The telescope 16 consists for example of a focusing lens or a group of lenses.” (Paragraph 34 Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 14, Pureur discloses transmitting a transmitted signal, wherein the transmitted signal comprises a frequency-modulated electromagnetic wave generated by the laser light source, which on the one hand passes through the carrier and is coupled as a local oscillator into the detector element and on the other hand is coupled out of the laser light source and is directed onto an external object, and is then at least partially reflected by the external object, “The beam splitter 12 makes it possible to form a measurement channel and a reference channel. It separates the master laser beam F .sub.m into a reference laser beam F .sub.ref , and a laser beam to be amplified F .sub.ta . The beam splitter 12 is here represented as a splitter cube. It may nevertheless be any optical element capable of dividing a laser beam into two distinct laser beams. The reference laser beam F .sub.ref is directed to the beam combiner 17, and the beam laser amplifier F .sub.ta is directed to the optical semiconductor amplifier 13.” (Paragraph 0031 Machine Translation) and “The amplified laser beam F .sub.amp is directed to a first input-output of the circulator 15 and emerges on a second input-output to go to the telescope 16 to be focused or collimated. The circulator can be replaced by a polarization beam splitter, or "polarization beamsplitter" (PBS) in English. The telescope 16 consists for example of a focusing lens or a group of lenses. The laser beam from the telescope 16 is called the measuring laser beam F .sub.mes . It is for example focused at a distance of the order of a few hundred meters.” (Paragraph 0034 Machine Translation). Pureur discloses receiving a received signal which comprises the transmitted signal at least partially reflected by an external object, the received signal being directed into the detector element and coupled in there and superimposed in the detector element with the counter directed transmitted signal as a local oscillator, whereby a standing electromagnetic wave is formed “The function of the beam combiner 17 is to mix the return laser beam F .sub.ret with the reference laser beam F .sub.ref , so as to achieve a coherent measurement by interferometry.” (Paragraph 0036 Machine Translation). Pureur discloses measuring of a beat frequency of the standing electromagnetic wave, “As is well known to those skilled in the art, the difference in frequency between the reference laser beam F .sub.ref and the return laser beam F .sub.ret , called the Doppler shift, makes it possible to determine the radial velocity of the target along the axis of the measuring laser beam F .sub.mes “ (Paragraph 0036 Machine Translation). F.sun.mes being the beat frequency. Pureur discloses determining of a distance to the external object from the beat frequency, “The processing unit 19 may be arranged to determine an average characteristic of the atmosphere at one or more distances given simultaneously, from several pulses of the measuring laser beam F .sub.mes .” (Paragraph 0038 Machine Translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 8-9, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pureur (EP 3026455 A1) in further view of Burroughs (US 20180301589 A1)
.
Regarding claim 4, Pureur discloses the optoelectronic device according to claim 3, see claim 3 rejection. Pureur does not disclose an epitaxial semiconductor layer sequence having at least two active layers which are configured to absorb electromagnetic radiation having the wavelength L1, the epitaxial semiconductor layer sequence having a first main surface and a second main surface opposite the first main surface, which are respectively configured for coupling in and for coupling out electromagnetic radiation, and at least three electrical connection contacts which are arranged for making electrical contact with the active layers, one electrical connection contact being arranged between two active layers.
Burroughs discloses an epitaxial semiconductor layer sequence having at least two active layers which are configured to absorb electromagnetic radiation having the wavelength L1, “the detector 1000 may include a first epitaxial layer 1001 and a second epitaxial layer 1005.” (Paragraph 0106). Burroughs discloses that the epitaxial semiconductor layer sequence having a first main surface and a second main surface opposite the first main surface, which are respectively configured for coupling in and for coupling out electromagnetic radiation, as this would be inherent to a epitaxial semiconductor layer. Burroughs discloses at least three electrical connection contacts which are arranged for making electrical contact with the active layers, one electrical connection contact being arranged between two active layers, “The first contact layers 1009 may be connected to anode 1011, and the second contact layer 1006 may be connected to cathode 1018.” (Paragraph 0106) and “Electrical interconnects 1012 may be connected to anode 1011 and cathode 1018 respectively.” (Paragraph 0106). Also see Figures 10A-B.
Pureur discloses the optoelectronic device of claim 3. Burroughs discloses the remainder of claim 4. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date could have combined the elements disclosed by both references as each are well known in the art and the results would have been predictable due to the fact that that each individual element is performing the same function as it does individually.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Pureur and Burroughs discloses the optoelectronic device of claim 4, see claim 4 rejection. Burroughs discloses that each active layer comprises at least one p-doped semiconductor layer and at least one n-doped semiconductor layer forming a photodiode and/or in which at least one active layer comprises a multiple quantum well structure, “Referring to FIG. 10A, the detector 1000 may include a first epitaxial layer 1001 and a second epitaxial layer 1005. In some embodiments, the first epitaxial layer 1001 may be a p-layer and the second epitaxial layer 1005 may be an n-epitaxial layer.” (Paragraph 0106) and “The second epitaxial layer 1005 may include well regions 1003. In some embodiments, the well regions 1003 may be p-type well regions.” (Paragraph 106).
Regarding claim 8, Pureur disclose the optoelectronic device of claim 1, see claim 1 rejection. Pureur does not disclose that a plurality of laser light sources and detector elements are arranged on the carrier in pairs facing each other.
Burroughs discloses a plurality of laser light sources and detector elements (10, 11) are arranged on the carrier (12) in pairs facing each other, see Figure 13B.
Pureur discloses the optoelectronic device of claim 1. Burroughs discloses the remainder of claim 8. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date could have combined the elements disclosed by both references as each are well known in the art and the results would have been predictable since each individual element is performing the same function as it does individually.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Pureur and Burroughs discloses the optoelectronic device of claim 8, see claim 8 rejection. Burroughs discloses that the laser light sources and detector elements of the plurality of laser light sources and detector elements are each arranged in pairs for generating and detecting electromagnetic radiation having a wavelength L1, ..., L5, while at least one other pair is arranged for generating and detecting electromagnetic radiation having a different wavelength, “In some embodiments, the detectors 1000 described herein may be configured to detect light emitted from laser diodes 200, 200′ having multiple wavelengths. Thus, in some embodiments, the detector 1000 described herein may be combined in heterogeneous arrays with laser diodes 200 and/or 200′. In some embodiments, a detector 1000′ may be configured to detect particular wavelengths.” (Paragraph 0129), (Figures 13B, and 14A-C), and for more information paragraphs 0126-0129.
Regarding claim 13, Pureur discloses the lidar module of claim 10, see claim 10 rejection. Pureur does not disclose a plurality of laser light sources and detector elements are arranged on the carrier as a one-dimensional or two-dimensional array.
Burroughs discloses a plurality of laser light sources and detector elements are arranged on the carrier as a one-dimensional or two-dimensional array, “In some embodiments, the detectors 1000 described herein may be configured to detect light emitted from laser diodes 200, 200′ having multiple wavelengths. Thus, in some embodiments, the detector 1000 described herein may be combined in heterogeneous arrays with laser diodes 200 and/or 200′. In some embodiments, a detector 1000′ may be configured to detect particular wavelengths.” (Paragraph 0129), (Figures 13B, and 14A-C), and for more information paragraphs 0126-0129.
Pureur discloses the lidar module of claim 10. Burroughs discloses the remainder of claim 13. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date could have combined the elements disclosed by both references as each are well known in the art and the results would have been predictable since each individual element is performing the same function as it does individually.
Conclusion
/JOSH C GARDINER/
Patent Examiner
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648