DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC 102 and 35 USC 103 rejections set forth in the previously mailed office action have been considered but are moot because the amendments to the claim language have necessitated new grounds of rejection set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gonzalez et al. (US 20200324409 A1), hereinafter Gonzalez.
Regarding claim 1, Gonzalez discloses:
A device configured to verify an operation of an industrial machine that controls the operation based on detection data of a sensor (see at least [0022]: “Turning now to FIG. 1, an enhanced environmental analysis and robotic end effector control process 100 is illustrated. A robot may include sensor array 102, map and semantics generator 104, robot modeler 106, mission planner 108, end effector controller 128 and robotic end effector 132 (e.g., multi-fingered robot end-effectors).”)
the device comprising a processor configured to:
acquire the detection data detected by the sensor when executing an operation program including a plurality of instructions for causing the industrial machine to perform a plurality of the operations respectively; and associate the executed instruction and the detection data used for control of the operation performed by the executed instruction with each other (see at least [0123]: “Example 1 includes a computing system comprising one or more sensors to generate sensor data, the sensor data to include image data, a processor coupled to the one or more sensors, and a memory including a set of executable program instructions, which when executed by the processor, cause the computing system to generate a semantic labelled image based on image data from the sensor data, wherein the semantic labelled image is to identify a shape of an object and a semantic label of the object, associate a first set of actions with the object and generate a plan based on an intersection of the first set of actions and a second set of actions to satisfy a command from a user through actuation of one or more end effectors, wherein the second set of actions are to be associated with the command.”)
Regarding claim 2, Gonzalez discloses:
The device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to acquire the detection data as history data in which the detection data detected when executing the operation program is stored in chronological order (see at least [0080]: “The mission planner 390 may capture and unfold high-level directives from sensor data provided by the sensor array 386 (e.g., “clean the kitchen”). The mission planner 390 may decompose the directive into a fine granular sequence of physical atomic-actions or tasks (e.g., primary task, secondary task, target object part assertion, affordance list, etc.) to accomplish the high level directive. The tasks may be stored in the task information 392.”)
Regarding claim 3, Gonzalez discloses:
The device of claim 1, wherein the industrial machine includes:
the sensor configured to detect a workpiece by imaging the workpiece (see at least [0047]: “Imaging and/or range sensors 302 may provide sensor data 336 to the scene semantic spatial context generator 304. The sensor data may include imaging data (e.g., RGB-D data) and/or range data. Imaging sensors of the imaging and/or range sensors 302 may be devices contained within a composed sensor (e.g., RGB-D camera or camera module). For example, the imaging and/or range sensors 302 may provide three data streams capturing information regarding a content in a field-of view and the time-varying 6D pose of one or more objects.”)
and a robot configured to carry out a predetermined work on the workpiece by performing the operation (see at least [0039]: “The above process 100 may empower autonomous service robots to perform real-world physical-interaction tasks generating and capturing value in semi-structured environments.”)
wherein the operation program includes:
a first operation program including the instruction for causing the sensor to perform the operation of detecting the detection data by imaging the workpiece and a second operation program including the instruction for causing the robot to perform the operation for the predetermined work, based on the detection data detected by executing the first operation program wherein the processor is further configured to associate the instruction included in the second operation program and the detection data used for control of the operation for the predetermined work performed by the instruction included in the second operation program with each other (see at least [0123]: “Example 1 includes a computing system comprising one or more sensors to generate sensor data, the sensor data to include image data, a processor coupled to the one or more sensors, and a memory including a set of executable program instructions, which when executed by the processor, cause the computing system to generate a semantic labelled image based on image data from the sensor data, wherein the semantic labelled image is to identify a shape of an object and a semantic label of the object, associate a first set of actions with the object and generate a plan based on an intersection of the first set of actions and a second set of actions to satisfy a command from a user through actuation of one or more end effectors, wherein the second set of actions are to be associated with the command.”)
Regarding claim 9, Gonzalez discloses:
An industrial machine comprising the device of claim 1 (see at least [0039]: “The above process 100 may empower autonomous service robots to perform real-world physical-interaction tasks generating and capturing value in semi-structured environments.”)
Regarding claim 10, Gonzalez discloses:
A method of verifying an operation of an industrial machine that controls the operation based on detection data of a sensor, the method comprising:
acquiring, by a processor, the detection data detected by the sensor when executing an operation program including a plurality of instructions for causing the industrial machine to perform a plurality of the operations respectively; and associating, by the processor, the executed instruction and the detection data used for control of the operation performed by the executed instruction with each other (see at least [0123]: “Example 1 includes a computing system comprising one or more sensors to generate sensor data, the sensor data to include image data, a processor coupled to the one or more sensors, and a memory including a set of executable program instructions, which when executed by the processor, cause the computing system to generate a semantic labelled image based on image data from the sensor data, wherein the semantic labelled image is to identify a shape of an object and a semantic label of the object, associate a first set of actions with the object and generate a plan based on an intersection of the first set of actions and a second set of actions to satisfy a command from a user through actuation of one or more end effectors, wherein the second set of actions are to be associated with the command.”)
Regarding claim 11, Gonzalez discloses:
The device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: acquire specifying information for specifying the detection data (see at least [0130]: “Example 8 includes the apparatus of Example 7, wherein the logic coupled to the one or more substrates is to apply a first label to a first portion of the object, and apply a second label to a second portion of the object, wherein the second label is to be different from the first label.”)
and store the specifying information in a data storage location designated by a register code included in the executed instruction to associate the executed instruction and the detection data used for the control of the operation performed by the executed instruction with each other via the register code and the specifying information (see at least [0109]: “FIG. 17 also illustrates a memory 270 coupled to the processor core 200. The memory 270 may be any of a wide variety of memories (including various layers of memory hierarchy) as are known or otherwise available to those of skill in the art. The memory 270 may include one or more code 213 instruction(s) to be executed by the processor core 200, wherein the code 213 may implement the process 100 (FIG. 1), the method 800 (FIG. 2), the process 300 (FIGS. 3A-3B, the process 350 (FIG. 4), the process 380 (FIG. 5), the method 400 (FIG. 6), the method 420 (FIG. 7) and the method 440 (FIG. 8) already discussed. The processor core 200 follows a program sequence of instructions indicated by the code 213. Each instruction may enter a front end portion 210 and be processed by one or more decoders 220. The decoder 220 may generate as its output a micro operation such as a fixed width micro operation in a predefined format, or may generate other instructions, microinstructions, or control signals which reflect the original code instruction. The illustrated front end portion 210 also includes register renaming logic 225 and scheduling logic 230, which generally allocate resources and queue the operation corresponding to the convert instruction for execution.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalez in view of Kang et al. (US 20180345557 A1), hereinafter Kang.
Regarding claim 4, Gonzalez discloses the device of claim 1.
Gonzalez does not explicitly disclose but Kang, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the operation program includes:
a first instruction for calculating a correction amount for correcting the operation of the industrial machine, using the detection data and a second instruction for correcting the operation of the industrial machine in accordance with the correction amount calculated by executing the first instruction, wherein the association generating unit is configured to associate the first instruction or the second instruction and the detection data with each other via the correction amount (see at least [0052]: “If error data is detected from the operation data of the take-out robots 110 and the information data on the injection molding received from the main sever 220 on the production site, further, the control pendent 300 analyzes the error data, corrects, adds or deletes the operation data of the take-out robots 110 and the information data on the injection molding through the connection to the main server 220, and automatically recovers the trouble of the injection molding machine 100, on the basis of the previously stored remote control access program stored in the memory unit.”)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to combine the invention of Gonzalez with the operation correction as taught by Kang. This is because, as stated by Kang [0006] of traditional industrial techniques: “… the conventional systems do not integrally control the processes, perfectly, and accordingly, they cannot immediately recognize and handle the malfunctions of the take-out robot and unexpected accidents happened by a worker's mistake, thereby undesirably reducing productivity, causing difficulties in production management and inconveniences in control, and remarkably lowering an industrial safety level.”
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Gonzalez and Kang teaches the device of claim 4.
Gonzalez does not explicitly disclose but Kang, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the operation program includes:
wherein the first instruction or the second instruction includes a register code representing a data storage location of the calculated correction amount, wherein the association generating unit is configured to: acquire information for specifying the detection data used for calculation of the correction amount, and associate the first instruction or the second instruction and the detection data with each other via the register code, the correction amount, and the information (see at least [0052]: “If error data is detected from the operation data of the take-out robots 110 and the information data on the injection molding received from the main sever 220 on the production site, further, the control pendent 300 analyzes the error data, corrects, adds or deletes the operation data of the take-out robots 110 and the information data on the injection molding through the connection to the main server 220, and automatically recovers the trouble of the injection molding machine 100, on the basis of the previously stored remote control access program stored in the memory unit.”)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to combine the invention of Gonzalez with the operation correction as taught by Kang. This is because, as stated by Kang [0006] of traditional industrial techniques: “… the conventional systems do not integrally control the processes, perfectly, and accordingly, they cannot immediately recognize and handle the malfunctions of the take-out robot and unexpected accidents happened by a worker's mistake, thereby undesirably reducing productivity, causing difficulties in production management and inconveniences in control, and remarkably lowering an industrial safety level.”
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalez in view of Einecke (US 20150128547 A1), hereinafter Einecke.
Regarding claim 6, Gonzalez discloses the device of claim 1.
Gonzalez does not explicitly disclose, but Kang, in an analogous field of endeavor teaches:
an input receiving unit configured to receive an input for selecting one of the plurality of instructions, and a data output unit configured to output the detection data associated with the one of the plurality of instructions by the association generating unit, in response to the input for selecting the one of the plurality of instructions, received by the input receiving unit (see at least [0059]: “According to a further aspect of the invention a software program product in the form of e.g. a mobile application is proposed. The software program product is adapted to be installed on a remote smart device for operating an autonomous robot, such as an autonomous lawn mower. The software program product is adapted to control a communication interface for receiving an input image, a display for displaying the input image, and input means for allowing a user to input or select a remote control instruction. Therein the software program product is adapted to control the communication interface so as to transmit the remote control instruction inputted or selected via the input means.”)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to combine the invention of Gonzalez with the input collection as taught by Einecke. This is because, as discussed within the background of Einecke: “In view of the above-mentioned disadvantages of known autonomous mowers, the present invention is intended to improve the state of the art. A particular aim of the present invention is to provide images to a remote smart device of the user, like a smart phone, a tablet or any other user device. The lawn mower can stream camera images to the remote smart device to improve remote control and particularly to help the user to understand the situation of the mower.” One of ordinary skill in the robotics and industrial systems art would understand that the discussed improvements to household robotics could easily be applied to industrial robotics as well.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Gonzalez and Einecke teaches the device of claim 6.
Gonzalez further discloses wherein the device further comprises:
an image generating unit configured to generate setting image data for setting an operation parameter of the industrial machine, wherein the data output unit is configured to output image data of the detection data to the image generating unit, wherein the image generating unit is configured to generate the setting image data in which the image data of the detection data is displayed (see at least [0054]: “The free and occupied map generator 316 may generate sparse dual-space map that may capture and split the occupied and unfilled (free) spaces. This mapping may allow for: i) registering diverse 3D images while exploring various interaction (e.g., grasping) scenarios for a kinematic end effector, ii) determine possible collision-free manipulator 6D poses in the environment and iii) serve as an effective scaffolding data structure to store multiresolution local surface descriptors such as volumetric (e.g., with respect to voxels) semantic labels and other attributes.”)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Gonzalez and Einecke teaches the device of claim 7.
Gonzalez does not explicitly disclose, but Einecke, in an analogous field of endeavor teaches:
wherein the input receiving unit further receives an input for changing the operation parameter through the setting image data, wherein the device further includes a parameter setting unit configured to change the preset operation parameter in response to the input for changing the operation parameter (see at least [0058]: “The remote control instruction may correspond, as mentioned above, to an instruction regarding the moving means of the autonomous robot, and preferably regarding the driving (move forward or backward) and steering (turn left or right) means. The remote control instruction may also relate to the working means and e.g. the tool, e.g. activate or deactivate the working means or modify a working parameter of the tool. The remote control instruction may also relate to a parameter of the camera, such as the exposure, aperture, shutter, hue, zoom or focus, or to control the orientation of the camera.”)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to combine the invention of Gonzalez with the input collection as taught by Einecke. This is because, as discussed within the background of Einecke: “In view of the above-mentioned disadvantages of known autonomous mowers, the present invention is intended to improve the state of the art. A particular aim of the present invention is to provide images to a remote smart device of the user, like a smart phone, a tablet or any other user device. The lawn mower can stream camera images to the remote smart device to improve remote control and particularly to help the user to understand the situation of the mower.” One of ordinary skill in the robotics and industrial systems art would understand that the discussed improvements to household robotics could easily be applied to industrial robotics as well.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.R.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/JASON HOLLOWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658