DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-12 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 17 June 2026.
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are examined herein on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 9, 13-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2018/156589 to McMenamin et al.
In the specification and figures, McMenamin discloses the apparatus as claimed by Applicant. With regard to claims 1, 9, 13-16, 19, McMenamin discloses a medical device assembly comprising a case 1 with a generally cylindrical or rectangular hollow
tubular body 26 a with a closed first end 28 and an open collar end 36 with a hinged 42 cap 14 and a varying outer diameter (see FIG 1 and accompanying text). The interior surface comprises a chamber with ribs 19 and 20, as well as a removable hydrophilic catheter 22 with a funnel 24, drainage member and a tube (see FIGS 7, 12, and accompanying text, ¶00101, 00116). Because the catheter 22 with its drainage slot is within the case, it is in fluid communication with the area between the ribs. McMenamin further discloses that the apparatus may comprise a hydration liner 16, which carries hydrating liquid such as water (see ¶00100, 00116).
With regard to claims 2, 4, 7, McMenamin discloses that the case insert may have a radially extending foot that engages a flange of the drainage funnel insert (see ¶0019).
With regard to claim 17, McMenamin discloses that the case may flare outwardly (see ¶00170).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 6, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 2018156589 to McMenamin et al.
In the specification and figures, McMenamin teaches the apparatus substantially as claimed by Applicant (see rejections above). With regard to claim 3, McMenamin illustrates only a single slot on catheter 22. However, It has been held that the mere duplication of the parts of an apparatus found in the prior art is not patentably significant unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP § 2144.04 (VI)(B). In the instant case, providing multiple drainage slots would not produce an unexpected result.
With regard to claim 5, McMenamin discloses a plug, which Applicant discloses is equivalent to the instantly claimed grommet, teaching the limitations of the claims (see Specification at ¶0037).
With regard to claims 6 and 20, McMenamin discloses that the interior of the case comprises threads, flanges, lips, groves, seals, and the like are hidden under both one of the sleeve and the cap to accommodate the catheter and the various other components within the case, suggesting the limitations of the claim.
With regard to claim 18, McMenamin discloses that ribs 19 and 21 extend from the bottom of the neck of the interior of the case to the top end of the collar (see ¶00107), teaching that the ribs taper towards an interior surface as the ribs extend in a proximal direction.
Conclusion
/LESLIE R DEAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 30 June 2026