DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the input pressure” in line 4. It is unclear whether the input pressure recited in line 4 refers to the input negative pressure recited in claim 3 line 2 or the input atmospheric pressure recited in line 2-3. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret “the input pressure” as the input negative pressure or the input atmospheric pressure. However, clarification and correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sawase (US20180134033).
Regarding claim 1, Sawase teaches a three-dimensional printer (printing unit 5 in Figure 1; [0241] The liquid discharge apparatus may be, for example, an image forming apparatus to form an image on a sheet by discharging ink, or a three-dimensional fabricating apparatus to discharge a fabrication liquid to a powder layer in which powder material is formed in layers, so as to form a three-dimensional fabrication object) comprising:
an ejection head (head 100; Figure 5) configured to eject ink ([0041] The head 100 includes a nozzle plate 101 and [0042] The nozzle plate 101 includes multiple nozzles 104 to discharge liquid);
a head tank (first sub tank 220, a second sub tank 210, a third sub tank 290; Figure 5) configured to store the ink (liquid 300; Figure 5) to be supplied to the ejection head ([0057] The main tank 201 stores liquid 300 to be discharged by the heads 100 and [0059] The third supply pump 209 supplies the liquid to the third sub tank 290 from the main tank 201 via a liquid channel 289);
an ink tank (main tank 201; Figure 5) configured to store the ink to be supplied into the head tank ([0059] The third supply pump 209 supplies the liquid to the third sub tank 290 from the main tank 201 via a liquid channel 289);
a pipe that connects the head tank and the ink tank ([0059] The third supply pump 209 supplies the liquid to the third sub tank 290 from the main tank 201 via a liquid channel 289);
a negative pressure generating device (first supply pump 202; Figure 5) configured to generate a negative pressure ([0115] controller 500 may apply a negative pressure to the first sub tank 220 and control the negative pressure in the second sub tank 210);
a first pressure line (liquid channel 284; Figure 5) that connects the head tank and the negative pressure generating device ([0063] The third sub tank 290 and the first sub tank 220 are connected by a liquid channel 284. The first supply pump 202 is provided on the liquid channel 284); and
a control section (controller 500; Figure 6) configured to, when supplying the ink from the ink tank into the head tank via the pipe, cause the negative pressure generated by the negative pressure generating device to be applied to the head tank via the first pressure line ([0115] the controller 500 applies a positive pressure to the first sub tank 220. However, the controller 500 may apply a negative pressure to the first sub tank 220 and control the negative pressure in the second sub tank 210 to be greater than the negative pressure in the first sub tank 220 to generate a differential pressure for liquid circulation).
Regarding claim 2, Sawase teaches the three-dimensional printer according to claim 1, wherein the head tank is divided into a first chamber (first sub tank 220; Figure 5) and a second chamber (second sub tank 210; Figure 5),
the first chamber is connected to the ink tank via the pipe ([0059] The third supply pump 209 supplies the liquid to the third sub tank 290 from the main tank 201 via a liquid channel 289 that includes a filter 205 and [0063] The third sub tank 290 and the first sub tank 220 are connected by a liquid channel 284), is connected to the negative pressure generating device via the first pressure line ([0063] The third sub tank 290 and the first sub tank 220 are connected by a liquid channel 284. The first supply pump 202 is provided on the liquid channel 284), and
is further connected to a first end portion of an ink flow path (nozzle plate 101; Figure 4) in the ejection head via a first opening and closing device (solenoid valve 272; Figure 5), and
the control section is configured to, when supplying the ink from the ink tank to the first chamber in the head tank, cause the first opening and closing device to be in a closed state, and then cause the negative pressure to be applied to the first chamber of the head tank via the first pressure line ([0093] –[0095]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The closest prior art is Sawase (US20180134033) and Tsukahara et al. (US20190016056).
Regarding claim 3, Sawase teaches the three-dimensional printer according to claim 2, further comprising:
a first switching device configured to receive input of the negative pressure and an atmospheric pressure and switch between the input negative pressure and the input atmospheric pressure to supply the input pressure to the first pressure line ([0199] the controller 500 closes the solenoid valves 271 and 272 and opens the solenoid valves 212 and 222 provided on each air release mechanisms of the first sub tank 220 and the second sub tank 210 in the liquid supply apparatus 200 to atmospheric pressure),
wherein the second chamber (second sub tank 210; Figure 5) is connected to the negative pressure generating device via a second pressure line ([0091] The controller 500 supplies the liquid from the second sub tank 210 to the third sub tank 290 via the liquid channel 283 by driving the second supply pump 203 and [0093] controller 500 supplies the liquid to the third sub tank 290 by driving the second supply pump 203 until the pressure sensor 243 detects that pressure in the second manifold 240 becomes the target pressure (negative pressure, for example), and is connected to a second end portion of the ink flow path in the ejection head via a second opening and closing device (solenoid valve 242; Figure 5),
a third opening and closing device configured to start or stop supply of the ink from the ink tank to the first chamber of the head tank is provided in the pipe (solenoid valve 288; Figure 5).
However, Sawase fails to teach the control section is configured to, when supplying the ink from the first chamber in the head tank into the ink flow path of the ejection head, cause the first switching device to apply the atmospheric pressure to the first chamber in the head tank, and cause the negative pressure to be applied to the second chamber of the head tank via the second pressure line. Rather, Sawase teaches the atmospheric pressure is applied to both the first chamber and the second chamber in a degassing process such that both the first chamber and second chamber are under atmospheric pressure ([0199]).
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to an ink supplying system for a three-dimensional printer, Tsukahara teaches controlling pressure such that a negative pressure is applied to a second chamber ([0100] The air from the second sub-tank 164 on the downstream is thus suctioned out into the atmosphere from the second sub-tank side air pressure adjusting pump 174 through the downstream three-way valve 192, so that the interior of the second sub-tank 164 becomes a negative pressure) and a positive pressure is applied to a first chamber ([0100] The air is thus suctioned in from the positive pressure throttle valve 198 and sent to the first sub-tank 162 by the first sub-tank side air pressure adjusting pump 172, thus maintaining the positive pressure in the first sub-tank 162. Furthermore, the second sub-tank 164 takes in the air from the positive pressure throttle valve 198. In other words, the in-path air pressure of the two sub-tanks is collectively controlled with one system). However, Tsukahara fails to teach a control section is configured to cause the first switching device to apply the atmospheric pressure to the first chamber in the head tank, and cause the negative pressure to be applied to the second chamber of the head tank.
Claims 4 and 5 depend on claim 3 and, therefore, contain allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/ARIELLA MACHNESS/Examiner, Art Unit 1743