DETAILED ACTION
Specification
1. The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract contains chemical structures. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
2. Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
In chemical patent abstracts for compounds or compositions, the general nature of the compound or composition should be given as well as its use, e.g., “The compounds are of the class of alkyl benzene sulfonyl ureas, useful as oral anti-diabetics.” Exemplification of a species could be illustrative of members of the class. For processes, the type of reaction, reagents and process conditions should be stated, generally illustrated by a single example unless variations are necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO’055 (WO 2014/140055 cited by applicant).
With respect to claims 1-4, WO’055 discloses a fluid comprising at least one viscoelastic surfactant of the general formula (I) and a
co-surfactant (second surfactant) of the general formula (II).
The preferred first surfactant is selected from erucamidopropyl hydroxypropyl
sulfobetaine, erucamidopropyl hydroxyethyl sulfobetaine, erucamidopropyl
hydroxymethyl sulfobetaine and combinations and mixtures thereof.
The preferred co-surfactant is, in particular, selected from tallow trimethyla
mmonium chloride, erucyl amine (2) ethoxylate quarternary ammonium salt
(erucyl dihydroxyethyl methyl ammonium) or a mixture thereof.
With respect to claims 5-9, WO’055 (in claims 11-13 of WO’055) discloses the preferred amounts and/or ratio of first and second surfactant in the composition.
With respect to claims 10-14, (see the description p.3 - p.4; examples) the
fluid is based on a brine comprising CaBr2, CaCl2 or a ZnBr2/CaBr2/CaCl2
mixture, ZnBr2. As indicated in the description, a density of 15 ppg or higher is needed. The examples show in particular a mixture of erucamidopropyl hydroxypropyl sulfobetaine (same preferred surfactant (I) as in the present application) and tallow trimethyl ammonium chloride or erucyl dihydroxyethyl methyl ammonium (the same preferred surfactant (II) as in the present application) , in various brines. When looking at the Figures of WO’055, it appears that the viscosity is within the claimed range of 10cP to 1000cP in the temperature range of 50°F to 400°F.
With respect to claims 15-17, WO’055 discloses (see claim 14) a stimulation fluid comprising 0.5-10wt% of the mixture of first and second surfactant, and optionally an acid selected from hydrochloric, hydrofluoric, acetic, formic, sulfamic or chloroacetic acid (see cl.16-19).
With respect to claims 18-20 , WO’055 discloses the fluid is used, in particular in a method for fracturing (see cl. 20).
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. US 9359544 teaches a composition and method for performing a treatment of a subterranean formation. The composition includes an emulsified acid and a sulfobetaine surfactant. The emulsified acid and the sulfobetaine surfactant may be mixed to form a treatment composition, which may be injected into a subterranean formation as part of an acid fracturing or hydraulic fracturing treatment.
b. CA 2384108 teaches the use of alkyl amido quaternary ammonium salts, and formulations thereof, as thickening agents in aqueous based fluids, especially those used in oil field applications. The quaternary ammonium salts of the present invention exhibit improved gelling characteristics.
/ZAKIYA W BATES/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
7/9/2026