DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8: the claim recites, “wherein: a largest thickness of the impact-resistant reinforcing member, measured on an outer surface of the composite layer, is located on the division line I.”
As it is currently written the claim does not make sense because it is not clear how a thickness of the impact-resistant reinforcing member could be measured on the outer surface of the composite layer.
In light of the disclosure, the examiner assumes that the applicant means that the thickness, measured from an outer surface of the composite layer, not on an outer surface of the composite layer. This is how the examiner shall interpret the claim for applying prior art.
Correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hembert (US 2004/0026437).
Regarding claim 1: Hembert discloses a high-pressure container (1) including an impact-resistant reinforcing member (10), the high-pressure container comprising: a container body including a cylinder portion (1a) and dome portions (1b) formed at both ends of the cylinder portion (see abstract, “domes”), wherein each of the dome portions is formed with a boss portion (7); a composite layer (5, ¶0030) provided on a surface of the container body; and the impact-resistant reinforcing member (10) covering at least a portion of the composite layer on at least one of the dome portion in the composite layer (see fig 1, ¶0032), wherein the impact-resistant reinforcing member has an inner surface in contact with the composite layer on the container body (see fig 1), wherein the impact-resistant reinforcing member includes a first portion (10b, fig 1, ¶0033) and a second portion (10a, fig 1, ¶0033); wherein: the portion of the composite layer covered by the impact-resistant reinforcing member includes a knuckle point having a smallest thickness (“the filling 11 is thick where it faces the part of the dome 1 b at the end corresponding to the wall 1 a, in which part this dome 1 b has its smallest thickness ¶0033”), and the first portion and the second portion of the impact-resistant reinforcing member are divided by a division line I (i.e., line that passes through 10C, see above annotated figure, ¶0033), as a boundary, defined by a normal line of the knuckle point of the composite layer (“these walls 10 a and 10 b meeting in a rounded region 10 c.”); the first portion and the second portion of the impact-resistant reinforcing member have a thickness that increases toward the division line I (see fig 1, ¶0033).
Regarding claim 2: Hembert discloses the impact-resistant reinforcing member further includes: a through-hole (i.e., central opening in 10b, see figs 1-4) in which the boss portion is disposed; and a cone-shaped first portion (10b, fig 1, ¶0033) extending from an outer periphery of the through-hole along the dome portion and a cylindrical second portion (10a, fig 1, ¶0033) extending from the first portion along the cylinder portion.
Regarding claim 6: the following rejection is based on a different mapping of Hembert. Specifically, the first portion is being mapped as the portion of 10b that is between 10c and the narrow portion marked in the below figure. Otherwise, the above mapping of claim 1 remains the same.
Hembert discloses all of the claimed limitations including that the thickness of each of the first portion and the second portion continuously increases toward the division line I. See the above annotated figure and the below annotated figure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hembert, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US 11,346,499 (‘499).
Regarding claim 5: Hembert discloses that the impact-resistant reinforcing member can be formed from any expanded synthetic material (¶0017) but not specifically expanded polypropylene (EPP).
‘499 discloses a container that uses expanded polypropylene (EPP) as an energy dissipating member (col. 3 ll. 5-13). Before the claimed invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the impact-resistant reinforcing member to be EPP because it is a known material that would suitable for the intended purpose of dissipating energy (i.e., impact protection).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hembert, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 7: Hembert discloses that impact-resistant reinforcement member may be fixed to the container by any appropriate means, including “bonding”, but does not explicitly disclose that an adhesive is applied to the inner surface of the impact-resistant reinforcing member.
The examiner is taking Official Notice that using adhesive to attach/bond an element to a tank/container is notoriously well known in the art. Before the claimed invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used an adhesive is applied to the inner surface of the impact-resistant reinforcing member because it is a notoriously well-known and useful way of effectuating a bond.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hembert, as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8: see the above §112 discussion. Hembert, as applied above, appears to disclose wherein: a largest thickness of the impact-resistant reinforcing member, measured from an outer surface of the composite layer, is located on the division line I. As shown in the above annotated figure, the thickest portion appears to be the region that imaginary line would pass through. There is a gap between the projection and the ground which indicates that the rounded portion marked as “thickness” is the thickest part of the impact-resistant reinforcing member.
To the extent one could argue otherwise, making the region that has the imaginary line I and therefore covers the knuckle point the thickest part of the impact-resistant reinforcing member would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. Hembert explicitly discloses that the knuckle point should be protected by “the maximum thickness of the filling 11 (¶0038).” Making the region that covers the knuckle point the thickest would only involve making the projection (12, figs 1 and 3) extend less far out. Such a modification would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art because it would be a simple change of size/proportions that would involve no inventive step and would not significantly affect how the device functions (see MPEP 2144.04 IV A).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the amended claims are allowable. The examiner disagrees for the reasons given in the above rejections.
The applicant argues that Hembert does not disclose a division line I as recited in claim 1. In support of their argument, the applicant has annotated figure 1 of Hembert show where they believe the knuckle point would be located. They applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Hembert recites the following in paragraphs 0033 and 0038:
At the end corresponding to the wall 1 a, it has a wall 10 a roughly parallel to the axis of the tank 1 and, at the end corresponding to the top of the dome 1 b, it has a wall 10 b perpendicular to this same axis, these walls 10 a and 10 b meeting in a rounded region 10 c. The result of this structure is that the filling 11 is thick where it faces the part of the dome 1 b at the end corresponding to the wall 1 a, in which part this dome 1 b has its smallest thickness.
and
FIG. 3 shows that the rounded wall 10 c and the maximum thickness of the filling 11 facing this wall 10 c perfectly protect the part of the dome 1 b which lies at the end corresponding to the wall 1 a.
These paragraphs disclose that the rounded portion 10c is located at a portion corresponding to a portion of the dome portion 1b that has its smallest thickness. And figure 1 shows that the thickness (11) increases as it approaches the rounded portion 10c. Hembert clearly discloses that the smallest thickness of the dome portion is protected by a thickened region as a “result” of the structure of the rounded portion 10c. Accordingly, the applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
With respect to the applicant’s annotated figure, the examiner acknowledges that it is difficult to determine the where the thinnest portion of the dome is located solely from the figures. In reality, the difference in thickness would be very small and difficult to depict in black and white line drawings. This is why the examiner is also relying on the written specification for determining the location of the thinnest portion. The examiner noting that the claimed division line I is an imaginary line and the annotated drawing is to illustrate the imaginary line.
The applicant argues that new claim 8 is allowable. The examiner disagrees for the reasons given in the above rejection.
Conclusion
/DON M ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733