DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 6/8/2026 has been entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the most current abstract (filed 6/5/2024) appears to not relate to the present invention. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities: seeming different letters/numbers to reference the same “division line” (I, 1, etc.). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hembert (US 2004/0026437).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (“largest thickness” of impact member)][AltContent: textbox (“smallest thickness” of knuckle point)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (“Knuckle Point” (Must be a surface: “…an outer surface of the knuckle point” in claim 1))][AltContent: ][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (t)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (I)][AltContent: connector]
Regarding claim 1: Hembert discloses a high-pressure container (1) including an impact-resistant reinforcing member (10), the high-pressure container comprising: a container body including a cylinder portion (1a) and dome portions (1b) formed at both ends of the cylinder portion (see abstract, “domes”), wherein each of the dome portions is formed with a boss portion (7); a composite layer (5, ¶0030) provided on a surface of the container body; and the impact-resistant reinforcing member (10) covering at least a portion of the composite layer on at least one of the dome portion in the composite layer (see fig 1, ¶0032), wherein the impact-resistant reinforcing member has an inner surface in contact with the composite layer on the container body (see fig 1), wherein the impact-resistant reinforcing member includes a first portion (10b, fig 1, ¶0033) and a second portion (10a, fig 1, ¶0033); wherein: the portion of the composite layer covered by the impact-resistant reinforcing member includes a knuckle point having a smallest thickness (“the filling 11 is thick where it faces the part of the dome 1 b at the end corresponding to the wall 1 a, in which part this dome 1 b has its smallest thickness ¶0033”), and the first portion and the second portion of the impact-resistant reinforcing member are divided by a division line I (i.e., line that passes through 10C, see above annotated figure, ¶0033), as a boundary, defined by a normal line perpendicular to a tangent line t of an outer surface of the knuckle point of the composite layer (“these walls 10 a and 10 b meeting in a rounded region 10 c.”); wherein the first portion and the second portion of the impact-resistant reinforcing member have a thickness that increases toward the division line I (see fig 1, ¶0033), and wherein a largest thickness of the impact-resistant reinforcing member, measured from an outer surface of the composite layer, is located on the division line I (see Fig, .
Regarding claim 2: Hembert discloses the impact-resistant reinforcing member further includes: a through-hole (i.e., central opening in 10b, see figs 1-4) in which the boss portion is disposed; and a cone-shaped first portion (10b, fig 1, ¶0033) extending from an outer periphery of the through-hole along the dome portion and a cylindrical second portion (10a, fig 1, ¶0033) extending from the first portion along the cylinder portion.
Regarding claim 6: the following rejection is based on a different mapping of Hembert. Specifically, the first portion is being mapped as the portion of 10b that is between 10c and the narrow portion marked in the below figure. Otherwise, the above mapping of claim 1 remains the same.
Hembert discloses all of the claimed limitations including that the thickness of each of the first portion and the second portion continuously increases toward the division line I. See the above annotated figure and the below annotated figure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hembert, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US 11,346,499 (to Joubert Des Ouches et al, ‘499 hereinafter).
Regarding claim 5: Hembert discloses that the impact-resistant reinforcing member can be formed from any expanded synthetic material (¶0017) but not specifically expanded polypropylene (EPP).
‘499 discloses a container that uses expanded polypropylene (EPP) as an energy dissipating member (col. 3 ll. 5-13). Before the claimed invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the impact-resistant reinforcing member to be EPP because it is a known material that would suitable for the intended purpose of dissipating energy (i.e., impact protection).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hembert, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 7: Hembert discloses that impact-resistant reinforcement member may be fixed to the container by any appropriate means, including “bonding”, but does not explicitly disclose that an adhesive is applied to the inner surface of the impact-resistant reinforcing member.
The examiner is taking Official Notice that using adhesive to attach/bond an element to a tank/container is notoriously well known in the art. Before the claimed invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used an adhesive is applied to the inner surface of the impact-resistant reinforcing member because it is a notoriously well-known and useful way of effectuating a bond.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the amended claims are allowable. The examiner disagrees for the reasons given in the above rejections.
The applicant argues that Hembert does not disclose a division line I as recited in claim 1. In support of their argument, the applicant has annotated figure 1 of Hembert show where they believe the knuckle point would be located. They applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Hembert recites the following in paragraphs 0033 and 0038:
At the end corresponding to the wall 1 a, it has a wall 10 a roughly parallel to the axis of the tank 1 and, at the end corresponding to the top of the dome 1 b, it has a wall 10 b perpendicular to this same axis, these walls 10 a and 10 b meeting in a rounded region 10 c. The result of this structure is that the filling 11 is thick where it faces the part of the dome 1 b at the end corresponding to the wall 1 a, in which part this dome 1 b has its smallest thickness.
and
FIG. 3 shows that the rounded wall 10 c and the maximum thickness of the filling 11 facing this wall 10 c perfectly protect the part of the dome 1 b which lies at the end corresponding to the wall 1 a.
These paragraphs disclose that the rounded portion 10c is located at a portion corresponding to a portion of the dome portion 1b that has its smallest thickness. And figure 1 shows that the thickness (11) increases as it approaches the rounded portion 10c. Hembert clearly discloses that the smallest thickness of the dome portion is protected by a thickened region as a “result” of the structure of the rounded portion 10c. See Fig. 1 above, where the “knuckle point” must be interpreted as a surface according Applicant’s own claim language in claim 1. Since the “knuckle point” region includes the smallest thickness of the knuckle point region, as well includes a region through which division line I passes, Hembert meets the claim language including the above amendments. Accordingly, the applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW T KIRSCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733