DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claims 8, 9, 20, “shaped element detachable making feature” if present these features should be pointed out by figure and numeral number, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 13, 14, the examiner suggests the applicant to change the pronoun “it” to a proper noon for clear understanding.
Claim 2, line 4, “the base shape” has no antecedent basis.
Claim 3, line 3, “a holding element” is unclear should be changed to – the holding element--.
Claim 5, line 3, “the contrast element” has no antecedent basis.
Claim 7, “the housing front” and “the housing back” have no antecedent basis.
Claim 11, “the shielding element” has no antecedent basis.
Claim 15, “a holding element” is unclear and should be changed to – the holding element--.
Claim 17, “the contrast element” has no antecedent basis.
Claim 19, “the housing front” and “the housing back” have no antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a, 1) as being anticipated by Mitra (U. S. Patent 5,277,618).
Regarding claim 1, Mitra, see figures 1-3, discloses a printed circuit board 2 connector 1 having a housing 3 for receiving at least one contact element 13, the housing 3 having at least one holding element 7 for connection to a printed circuit board (see figure 2c), wherein the housing 3 has at least one shaped element 7, the shaped element 7 being configured in such a way that it can be registered by at least one sensor element (the recitation of possible use with a sensor element define no structure to overcome post 7, even without any suggestion of such use. In addition, column 8, lines 1-4, may also fulfill a sensing function, hence may be registered by a sensing element).
Regarding claim 2, Mitra, see figures 1-3, discloses the shaped element 7 merges substantially into the base shape of the housing 3.
Regarding claim 3, Mitra, see figures 1-3, discloses the shaped element 7 is arranged next to a holding element 7. One part 7 is read as a holding element and another part 7, closest to first part is read as a shaped element and these are readable as “next” to each other.
Regarding claim 4, Mitra, see figures 1-3, discloses the shaped element 7 is highlight by a contrast element (the lower edge of the wall at line 4 is read as contrast element) on the housing 3.
Regarding claim 5, Mitra, see figures 1-3, discloses the contrast element (the lower edge of the wall at line 4 is read as contrast element” is configured substantially as a contrast shape, the contrast shape being arranged on the housing 3.
Regarding claim 6, Mitra, see figures 1-3, discloses the housing 3 is formed from at least a housing front (upper part of the housing 3) and a housing back (the lower part of the housing 3), the housing front (the upper part of the housing 3) being connected to the housing back (the lower part of the housing 3).
Regarding claim 7, Mitra, see figures 1-3, discloses the housing front (the upper part of the housing 3) differs detectably from the housing back (the lower part of the housing 3).
Regarding claim 15, Mitra, see figures 1-3, discloses the shaped element 7 is arranged next to a holding element 7.
Regarding claim 16, Mitra, see figures 1-3, discloses the shaped element 7 is highlighted by a contrast element (lower edge) on the housing 3.
Regarding claim 17, Mitra, see figures 1-3, discloses the contrast element 7 is configured substantially as a contrast shape, the contrast shape 7 being arranged on the housing 3.
Regarding claims 18, 19, Mitra, see figures discloses the housing 3 is formed from at least a housing front (upper part of the housing 3) and a housing back (lower part of the housing 3), the housing front (upper part of the housing 3) being connected to the housing back (lower part of the housing 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitra in view of Sato (U. S. Patent 7,152,532).
Regarding claims 10-12, Mitra, see figures 1-3, discloses the claimed invention to modify the housing is configured to receive at least one shielding element. Sato discloses connector with shield. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Mitra to provide such features as taught by Sato so as to protect connector contact from EMI.
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitra.
Regarding claims 8, 20, Mitra, see figures 1-3, discloses the claimed invention except for the shaped element has at least one detectable marking. As usable to fulfill a sensing function. In such case marker on the shaped elements would be helpful. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Mitra to provide such features so as to aid the sensing function.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitra in view of Stoner (U. S. Patent 7976326).
Regarding claim 13, Mitra, see figures 1-3, discloses the housing is configured so that it can be correspondingly brought into engagement with a substantially identically constructed housing. Stoner discloses connector 22 if formed for engagement with a substantially identical connector and contact 50A formed to engage a similar type connector. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Mitra to provide such features as taught by Stoner so as to provide strong securement to the pcb.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitra in view of Murphy (U. S. Patent 3,070,769).
Regarding claim 14, Mitra discloses the claimed invention except for use of contact configured to be brought into contact with substantially identical contact. Murphy discloses connector that use identical contacts in each housing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Mitra to provide such features as taught by Murphy so as to provide to enable lower cost with only one type contact to be manufactured.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the references discloses the shaped element is at least partially enclosed by at least one detectable marking.
/PHUONG K DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831