DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-3, 7-12, 16-21, 25, and 27-29 in the reply filed on 08/21/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Office Action has not shown that a serious burden would be required to examine all of the claims. This is not found persuasive because the restriction is based on a lack of unity, and burden is not an element to be considered. The Remarks do not contest the teaching of the reference cited to establish a lack of unity.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 30 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant's further election with traverse of the method of claim 10 as the single method in the reply filed on 08/21/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that examination of all species would not be a burden. This is not found persuasive because the restriction is based on a lack of unity, and burden is not an element to be considered. The Remarks do not contest the teaching of the reference cited to establish a lack of unity.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 19-21, 25, and 27-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-3, 7-12, 16-21, 25, and 27-30 are pending.
Claims 10-12 and 16-18 are under examination on the merits.
Priority
This application 18/712,422 filed on 05/22/2024 is a 371 national phase of PCT/US2022/051671 filed on 12/02/2022 and claims the benefit of provisional U.S. Patent Application No. 63/285,339, filed on 12/02/2021.
The priority date of claim 10 and its dependent claims is determined to be 12/02/2022, the filing date of the 371 national phase of PCT/US2022/051671. The provisional U.S. Patent Application No. 63/285,339, filed on 12/02/2021 does not disclose “c. identifying a subject with an expression score greater than 25% as being at risk of having progressing glioblastoma relative to a normal subject”.
Specification
The use of terms which are trade names or marks used in commerce (including Alexa Fluor® and SYTOX® Green), has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM, or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period. Periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations. MPEP 608.01(m) Form of Claims [R-10.2019]. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 10-12 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “b. using the expression status to determine an expression score relative to a normal subject; c. identifying a subject with an expression score greater than 25% as being at risk of having progressing glioblastoma relative to a normal subject”. It is unclear how the expression score is intended to be determined from the expression status, or how the score is intended to be quantified in order to set the claimed threshold. For example, the specification states that “expression status” refers to identifying whether or not the functional gene or gene set is expressed and whether said expression is increased or decreased relative to a normal subject”. It is unclear if the expression score is intended to quantify whether or not a gene is expressed, the level of expression, or an increase or decrease amount level relative to a normal subject. It is further unclear what threshold or quantifications determines a score as being greater than 25%”.
Claims 11-12 and 16-18 are similarly indefinite because they directly or indirectly depend from claim 10.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “wherein after the further diagnosis, the subject is treated ---“. It is unclear what further diagnosis requires treatment, or if any diagnosis of any further disease is sufficient to treat the subject.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 10-12 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
35 U.S.C. § 101 requires that to be patent-eligible, an invention (1) must be directed to one of the four statutory categories, and (2) must not be wholly directed to subject matter encompassing a judicially recognized exception. M.P.E.P. § 2106. Regarding judicial exceptions, “[p]henomena of nature, though just discovered, mental processes, and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work.” Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 67 (1972); see also M.P.E.P. § 2106, part II.
Based upon consideration of the claims as a whole, as well as consideration of elements/steps recited in addition to the judicial exception, the present claims fail to meet the elements required for patent eligibility.
Step 1
The claimed invention is directed to the statutory category of a process.
Step 2A, Prong One
The claim is (claims are) taken to be directed to an abstract idea, a judicial exception.
Claim 10 is directed to a method comprising “a. determining an expression status of one or more genes selected from 1000 genes or more isolated from a biological sample from the subject; b. using the expression status to determine an expression score relative to a normal subject; c. identifying a subject with an expression score greater than 25% as being at risk of having progressing glioblastoma relative to a normal subject.”. This limitation is an abstract mental process (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)). As written, the determining and identifying steps encompass the mental steps of looking at expression levels, including a report of expression, comparing expression between two samples, and making mental judgements.
Claim 10 as a whole is further directed to a process that involves the judicial exception of a law of nature (i.e. the natural correlation between expression status relative to a normal subject and the risk of having progressing glioblastoma). A correlation that preexists in the human is an unpatentable phenomenon.
Claims 11-12 and 16-18 depend from claim 10, and require the same steps of determining and identifying.
Repeat as necessary:
Step 2A, Prong Two
The exception is not integrated into a practical application of the exception. The claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception.
While claim 10 recites the additional step of “d. subjecting the subject to a further diagnosis”, this is not an integration of the exception into a practical application. Rather, this limitation constitutes data gathering required to perform the method. Claims 11-12, 16, and 18 further limit the method with additional elements that are not abstract ideas. However, these are not integrations of the exception into a practical application. Instead, these elements are data gathering required to perform the method.
Furthermore, while claim 17 recites ” wherein after the further diagnosis, the subject is treated with surgery, chemotherapy, radiation, immunotherapy, gene therapy, or a combination thereof”, this is not an integration of the exception into a practical application. The limitation does not recite any particular treatment that integrates the exception into a new and useful end or is directed to a particular condition. Instead, the claim recites treatment options at a high level of generality (See MPEP 2106.04(d)(2)) and does not even limit administering a therapy to a subject at risk of having progressing glioblastoma but encompasses any and all potential subjects and any and all diagnoses. Accordingly, the limitation of claim 17 does not integrate the judicial exception so as to practically apply the judicial exception.
Step 2B
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim does not add a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field. Steps directed to further diagnosing and selecting subsets of genes are techniques that are routine, conventional, and well-known in the art as demonstrated in the 103 rejections documented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varghese et al. (WO2021127610, published on 06/24/2021).
Regarding claim 10, Varghese teaches determining a cancer progression risk of a subject based upon expression levels of genes of a progression gene signature in a sample (Abstract). Regarding a) and b), Varghese teaches detecting expression levels of genes of a progression gene signature in a sample (claim 1). The genes are selected from 20,531 genes (i.e. 1000 or more) (Fig. 1A). Varghese further teaches calculating the cancer progression risk score of the subject using the expression levels of genes associated with a progression gene signature in the sample (para 6) and may be obtained by comparing expression profiles obtained from healthy or normal cells and diseased (e.g. cancer) cells (para 133-134). Regarding d) , Varghese teaches the subject is diagnosed with a cancer (claim 5), which reads on further diagnosis.
Regarding c), Varghese teaches stratification of risk progression scores (Fig. 3C) but does not teach verbatim an expression score greater than 25% as being at risk of having progressing glioblastoma relative to a normal subject. However, Varghese teaches patients with high-risk scores >25% with fewer incidences of disease-free patients.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Varghese to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. The modification would have entailed selecting the threshold of 25 as the indicator of risk for glioblastoma progression. Determining the appropriate threshold for predicting risk is deemed a matter of routine optimization which is well within the purview of a skilled artisan. One would have been motivated by the strength of prediction exhibited by risk scores >25. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are widely known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the prior art.
Regarding claim 11, Varghese teaches glioblastoma progression gene signature comprises one or more genes selected from 31 genes (claim 8), which reads on a subset of genes.
Regarding claim 12, Varghese teaches a glioblastoma progression gene signature comprises detecting expression levels of 31 genes (claim 11), which reads on a subset of at least 10 genes.
Regarding claim 17, Varghese teaches administering a chemotherapy agent to the subject (claim 31) after determining a cancer progression risk and diagnosing the cancer in a subject (claim 29), and treating a patient having a cancer (para 81) but does not teach verbatim administering the treatment after a further diagnosis.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Varghese and to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. The modification would have entailed administering treatment following diagnosis of cancer. One would have been motivated by the ability of a diagnosis to confirm cancer beyond the prediction of risk provided by the risk score analysis of Varghese. One of skill in the art would be motivated to administer to not unnecessarily treat a patient. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are widely known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the prior art.
Regarding claim 18, Varghese teaches the biological sample may be cerebrospinal fluid, or blood (para 83).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varghese et al. (WO2021127610, published on 06/24/2021) as applied to claims 10-12 and 17-18 above, and further in view of Abbasi et al. (Incidence of Tumour Progression and Pseudoprogression in High-Grade Gliomas: a Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis. Clin Neuroradiol. 2018 8(3):401-411. Epub 5/2/2017).
Regarding claim 16, Varghese teaches correlations with tumor progression incidence (i.e. further diagnosis) but does not teach further diagnosis comprises an MRI.
Abbasi teaches MRI is used to determine the incidence of tumor progression and that using advanced imaging improves diagnostic accuracy (p. 401, col. 2). Abbasi teaches that MRI identifies recurrent disease (p. 402, col. 1) and tumor progression (p. 406, col. 2)
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Varghese and Abbasi to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. The modification would have entailed selecting MRI as the diagnostic method of identifying a subject as having cancer, and specifically to identify tumor progression incidence, in the method of Varghese. One would have been motivated by the utility of a well-known and well characterized technique for diagnosing progressing glioblastoma. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are widely known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the prior art.
Conclusion
/JESSICA GRAY/Examiner, Art Unit 1682
/WU CHENG W SHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1682