DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments to the claims, filed on 2/5/26, have been entered in the above-identified application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-13, 15-16, 19-21 in the reply filed on 2/5/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ehrensperger et al (US 2015/0210586 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ehrensperger teaches an article comprising a glass or ceramic substrate comprising a surface with a textured region comprising a plurality of topographical features defining voids opening towards the surface; and a coating (e.g., glazing) comprising a cured silicon oxide (SiOx) (e.g., 100% silica material based on mixed precursors which are organosilanes RnSiX(4-n), wherein group X is chosen from alkoxy groups --O--R', with hydrolyzable functions which give rise to a silica network or matrix comprising organic functions which remain attached to the silica backbone) positioned in a pattern on at least a portion of the textured region to at least partially fill the voids (para 20, 54, 87, 100, 115, 202-203; figs 1, 2).
Regarding claims 2, 3, and 6, Ehrensperger teaches wherein the coating completely fills at least some of the voids within the pattern; wherein the coating completely fills all the voids within the pattern; and, wherein a volume of the coating is approximately equal to a volume of the voids within the pattern (e.g., the sol-gel layer may have a thickness of 100% of the peak-to-valley height) (para 177).
Regarding claims 5 and 9, Ehrensperger teaches wherein a volume of the coating is less than a volume of the voids within the pattern; and wherein the pattern is discontinuous across the surface such that the coating forms a plurality of discrete coating regions spaced-apart from one another (e.g., the sol-gel layer may have a thickness of 10 to 90% of the peak-to-valley height) (para 177).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Ehrensperger teaches wherein a volume of the coating is greater than a volume of the voids within the pattern; and, wherein the pattern is continuous across the surface such that the coating forms a single, interconnected coating region (e.g., the sol-gel layer may have a thickness greater than the peak-to-valley height of the textured surface of the substrate) (para 176).
Regarding claim 11, Ehrensperger teaches wherein the coating comprises n layers of the cured SiOx material, where n is a positive integer and 1 < n < 15, e.g., one or more application operations (or passes), so n > 1, (i.e., 2 or more); so, Ehrensperger would have suggested a range that lies within the range of the instant claims (para 183).
Regarding claim 21, Ehrensperger teaches the product results from the hydrolysis and condensation of at least one organosilane of general formula RnSiX(4-n) in which n is equal to 1, 2, 3, preferably n is equal to 1 or 2 and better still n is equal to 1, and group X is chosen from alkoxy groups --O--R' (para 106-107, 115); so Ehrensperger teaches ranges that lie within the range of the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 13, 15, 16, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ehrensperger.
Claims 12, 13, 15, 16, 19, and 20 are directed to properties or functional language concerning the article of the instant claims. With specific regard to transmission haze, Ehrensperger teaches the glazing of the invention comprises on the part of the textured surface of the substrate comprising the sol-gel layer a transmission haze measured according to standard ASTM D 1003 of less than 5% and the glazing of the invention comprises on the part of the textured surface of the substrate not comprising a sol-gel layer a transmission haze of greater than 15% (para 185-189); so Ehrensperger teaches wherein a transmission haze of the substrate through the portion of the textured region with the coating is less than the transmission haze through a reference portion of the textured region without the coating; and, wherein the transmission haze through the coated portion is at least 20% less than the transmission haze through the reference portion (e.g., 15% - 5% = 10% so ~66% less than 15%).
With regard to the other properties, Ehrensperger teaches the product results from the hydrolysis and condensation of at least one organosilane of general formula RnSiX(4-n) in which n is equal to 1, 2, 3, preferably n is equal to 1 or 2 and better still n is equal to 1, and group X is chosen from alkoxy groups --O--R' (para 106-107, 115); wherein the organosilane is mixed with solvents such as alcohols and ketones and applied through inkjet coating or printing (para 146-150, 172); so, Ehrensperger would have allowed one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to at once envisage or would have rendered to obvious one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention the composition(s) and application method(s) that result in the article embodiments having the properties of the instant claims (see instant specification para 93-94, 113-115).
Therefore, the article of Ehrensperger is deemed to possess the properties of the instant claims. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (MPEP § 2112.01 I).
Conclusion
NATHAN VAN SELL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1783
/NATHAN L VAN SELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783