Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under §112(b) as being inconsistent with independent claim 1.
Claim 1 recites that the initiation message includes the request information and the response message includes the response information whereas the combination recited the claim 4 recites that initiation message and the response message can include either the request information or the response information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8, 10, 12-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Moragrega et al (Supermodular game for energy efficient TOA-base Positioning).
English Translation
Regarding claim 1, Moragrega discloses a method by a first electronic device using ultra-wide band (UWB) communication, the method comprising:
transmitting an initiation message for initiating UWB ranging (at least see section 2, 2ND paragraph; “one of the anchor nodes sends a ranging reply (RRI) to the target node, the anchor node corresponds to the first UWB device, the RRi to the initiation message); and
identifying whether a response message corresponding to the initiation message is received from a second electronic device (at least see section 2, 2ND paragraph, the target node, upon reception of the ranging reply, sends confirmation frame (CFI) to the anchor node.)
wherein the initiation message includes ranging power control request information for dynamic power control for the UWB ranging (at least see section 2, 2ND paragraph, a ranging reply (RRi) to the target node with power level pi i=1, , N, which is indicated in the reply frame.) and the response message includes ranging power control response information corresponding to the ranging power control request information (at least see section 2, 2ND paragraph, the confirmation message contains information relevant for the power control algorithm.)
Regarding claim 2, Moragrega discloses method of the method of claim 1, wherein the ranging power control request information includes at least one of a number of power levels field indicating a number of power levels, a first current power level field indicating a first current power level, or a first control field providing control information for adjusting a power level, and wherein the ranging power control response information includes at least one of a second current power level field indicating a second current power level or a second control field providing information about a status of the second current power level (at least see section 2, 2ND paragraph, “pi” and information relevant for the power control algorithm).
Regarding claim 8, Moragrega discloses method of the method of claim 1, further comprising:
reconfiguring the ranging power control request information based on a result of the identification ("At each iteration of the algorithm one of the anchor nodes sends a ranging reply (RRi) to the target node with power level Pi, i = 1, N, which is indicated in the reply frame. The target node, upon reception of the ranging reply, sends a confirmation frame (CFi) to the anchor node with power Pi, i N. The confirmation message contains information relevant for the power control algorithm. ... Therefore, after this confirmation has been sent, anchor node updated its power level Pi.")
Regarding claim 10, Moragrega discloses method of the method of claim 8, wherein reconfiguring comprises:
reconfiguring the ranging power control request information further using a current ranging result obtained based on the response message, in case that it is identified that the response message is received (the confirmation message contains information relevant for the power control algorithm... Therefore, after this confirmation has been sent, anchor node updated its power level Pi).
Regarding claim 12, Moragrega discloses a method by a second ultra-wide band (UWB) device, the method comprising:
receiving, from a first UWB device, an initiation message for initiating UWB ranging (at least see section 2, 2ND paragraph; “one of the anchor nodes sends a ranging reply (RRI) to the target node, the anchor node corresponds to the first UWB device, the RRi to the initiation message) , wherein the initiation message includes ranging power control request information for dynamic power control for the UWB ranging (at least see section 2, 2ND paragraph, a ranging reply (RRi) to the target node with power level pi i=1, , N, which is indicated in the reply frame);
determining transmission power based on the ranging power control request information included in the initiation message (at least see section 2, 2ND paragraph, the target node upon reception of the ranging reply, sends a confirmation frame (CFI) to the anchor node with power pi); and
transmitting, to the first electronic device, a response message corresponding to the initiation message using the determined transmission power, wherein the response message includes ranging power control response information corresponding to the ranging power control request information (at least see section 2, 2ND paragraph, the confirmation message contains information relevant for the power control algorithm.).
Regarding claim 13, Moragrega discloses the method of The method of
wherein the ranging power control request information includes at least one of a power level number field indicating a number of power levels, a first current power level field indicating a first current power level, or a first control field providing control information for adjusting a power level, and wherein the ranging power control response information includes at least one of a second current power level field indicating a second current power level or a second control field providing information about a status of the second current power level.
Regarding claim 15, Moragrega discloses first ultra-wide band (UWB) device using UWB communication, comprising:
a transceiver (the target and anchor nodes send and receive data); and
at least one processor (target and anchor node transmit, receive, update and decide iteratively its power by maximizing its utility function)configured to:
transmit an initiation message for initiating UWB ranging; and identify whether a response message corresponding to the initiation message is received from a second electronic device, wherein the initiation message includes ranging power control request information for dynamic power control for the UWB ranging, and the response message includes ranging power control response information corresponding to the ranging power control request information (see rejection for claims 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 9, 11 and 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645