DETAILED ACTION
Priority
For the purpose of prior art consideration, the effective filing date of the instant application is based on documents filed in Australia on September 2nd, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Felton et al. (US 2022/0119210 A1) in view of Toda et al. (JP 6843418 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Felton teaches:
A laundry management system (LMS) for an accommodation facility (See Felton ¶ [0188] – This disclosure relates to autonomous robotic devices, systems, and methods for collecting, processing, and returning residential loads of laundry) comprising:
a computer processor operated by the accommodation facility … for customers of the accommodation facility (See Felton ¶ [0208] – The controller is configured to transmit and receive information to one or more remote devices regarding the receipt and disgorgement of the plurality of containers … the one or more remote devices is at least one of a computer terminal and a handheld device located at a customer delivery and pickup location [accommodation facility by example]);
a computer processor operated by a dedicated laundry managing entity and configured to operate software to interrogate the computer processor operated by the accommodation facility to generate a laundry order (See Felton ¶ [0194] – When the vehicle arrives at the facility [dedicated laundry managing entity], the one or more containers of dirty laundry are automatically unloaded from the vehicle by an automated intake robot and provided to at least one separating and sorting robot and one or more intermediate queues configured to feed the at least one separating and sorting robot, [0204] - the network may include one or more communication networks through which the various autonomous robots and computing devices [processors] illustrated in FIG. 4 may send, receive, and/or exchange data, [0207] - the mobile delivery vehicle is configured to deliver and retrieve the plurality of containers from one or more customer destinations associated with a delivery service such as an ad-hoc or subscription delivery service [interrogation by example] and [0247] - the system accommodates variations in a pre-planned unloading order by shuffling one or more containers from one flow rack onto another flow rack and/or the elevator in order to unload containers associated with a location) …;
a plurality of boxes, each box configured to receive and store cleaned or soiled laundry (See Felton ¶ [0194] – dirty laundry is collected [received] from customers using one or more mobile delivery vehicles… a customer places laundry in one or more containers received into the vehicle and [0196] - the packing robot automatically and autonomously packs the clean load of laundry comprising the plurality of clean and folded deformable laundry articles in a shipping container for automated redistribution to the customer, thereby showing that the containers hold either clean or dirty laundry) and, each box having a tag for identifying the box such that the computer processor operated by the dedicated laundry managing entity assigns a box to a generated laundry order (See Felton ¶ [0194] – a unique identifier (e.g., an identification marker) associated with and disposed on or in each of the containers is configured to be scanned at least one of wirelessly and visually and a location and state is updated in a memory store in communication with one or more controllers of the automated robots and [0225] - the identification marker can include at least one of a machine-readable serial number, a machine-readable barcode, a machine-readable QR code, an RFID code, a NFC tag, and a digital display);
a plurality of mobile robotic units, at least one of the plurality of robotic units is assigned to a box of the plurality of boxes by the computer processor operated by the dedicated laundry managing entity (See Felton ¶ [0194-0195] – a plurality of autonomous robots configured to operate in series without human intervention to process and transport dirty laundry through the cleaning process, folding and repackaging the clean laundry for return to a household … a unique identifier (e.g., an identification marker) associated with and disposed on or in each of the containers is configured to be scanned at least one of wirelessly and visually and a location and state is updated in a memory store in communication with one or more controllers of the automated robots … The autonomous intake robot is configured to introduce [assigned by example] the plurality of deformable laundry articles to a separating and sorting robot configured to separate out each one of the deformable laundry articles of the plurality of deformable laundry articles), the assigned mobile robotic unit is controlled by the computer processor operated by the dedicated laundry managing entity to transport the box to the customer … associated with the assigned laundry order (See Felton ¶ [0201] – each delivery vehicle (e.g., vehicle automated racking system), and robot, includes a controller configured to operate the associated robot and [0207] - the mobile delivery vehicle is configured to deliver and retrieve the plurality of containers from one or more customer destinations associated with a delivery service such as an ad-hoc or subscription delivery service [assigned laundry order by example]) …;
at least one transport vehicle having a racking system contained therein, the racking system being configured to receive the boxes in a controlled manner and having a reader device for reading a tag of each box to record the presence of the box with the vehicle (See Felton ¶ [0194] – a plurality of autonomous robots configured to operate in series without human intervention to process and transport dirty laundry through the cleaning process… the mobile delivery vehicles are configured to contain flow racks and an intelligent, automated racking system therein… the automated intake robot is configured to log and track the one or more containers upon receipt… a unique identifier associated with and disposed on or in each of the containers is configured to be scanned at least one of wirelessly and visually and a location and state is updated in a memory store in communication with one or more controllers of the automated robots and [0225] - the identification marker can include at least one of a machine-readable serial number, a machine-readable barcode, a machine-readable QR code, an RFID code, a NFC tag, and a digital display);
of the plurality of robotic units to load/unload a box from the racking system of the vehicle (See Felton ¶ [0194] – a plurality of autonomous robots configured to operate in series ... the automated intake robot can comprise at least one of one or more automated rails, one or more rack surfaces, and one or more conveyors);
a cleaning centre located remotely from the accommodation facility and having cleaning equipment for receiving boxes containing soiled laundry from the at least one transport vehicle and for cleaning the soiled laundry and the boxes and for repacking the boxes with cleaned laundry, whereby individual cleaned laundry items are tagged to identify the cleaned laundry items in the repacked boxes in accordance with the generated laundry order (See Felton ¶ [0196] – The separating and sorting robot outputs one or more intelligently sorted batches of deformable laundry articles to one or more washing and drying robots for laundering [cleaning equipment]… the packing robot automatically and autonomously packs the clean load of laundry comprising the plurality of clean and folded deformable laundry articles in a shipping container for automated redistribution to the customer, [0199] - the containers in the queue or the buffer can be organized according to predetermined travel routes of one or more outgoing vehicles, [0200] - the automated storage and distribution robot is configured to log and track the one or more containers upon loading into the outgoing vehicle… a unique identification marker of each of the containers is configured to be scanned at least one of wirelessly and visually and a location and state is updated in a memory store in communication with one or more controllers of the vehicle and automated robots and [0246] - At each customer location [accommodation facility] along a travel route [located remotely by example], the controller will recognize which one or more containers need to be unloaded next);
an inventory buffer and racking system located at both the cleaning centre and the accommodation facility to receive the boxes from the at least one transport vehicle, wherein the inventory buffer and racking system located at the accommodation centre is accessed by the plurality of mobile robotic units to move the inventory buffer and racking system and to the customer … associated with the assigned laundry order for each box (See Felton ¶ [0198-0200] – The automated intake robot transits the plurality of containers to at least one of an intermediate queue and the dirty laundry separating and sorting robot configured to provide sorted and batched loads of dirty deformable laundry articles to the washing and drying robot for washing and drying… the one or more packing robots can deliver the one or more containers of clean, folded laundry to an intermediate queue, like that of the intake robot, prior to delivery to the automated storage and distribution robot… the automated storage and distribution robot can comprise at least one of one or more automated rails, one or more rack surfaces, and one or more conveyors and [0246] - On unloading at a customer location [accommodation facility], the autonomous system may automatically retrieve and disgorge through one or multiple vehicle access portals the one or more containers destined to that location).
While Felton teaches a system for directing retrieval and delivery of tagged containers of laundry from and to a customer location, wherein said containers are identified based on said tags (Felton ¶ [0194] and [0225]), Felton does not explicitly teach that to receive and record a room check-in time and a room check-out time are also identified. This is taught by Toda (See Toda ¶ [0052] – "June 30" in the check-out date field means that guests staying in Room 334 will check out on June 30 ... "Checked in" in the status field means that the check-in has been completed). Further, Toda teaches to install cleaned laundry to a room of a customer prior to the customer's room check-in time or to remove soiled laundry from a room of a customer after the customer’s room check-out time (See Toda ¶ [0135-0136] – When the guest is ready to clean the room, such as when the guest requests cleaning, when the check-out is done, or when the guest leaves the room key at the front desk and goes out, the cleaning status field will indicate " "Waiting for delivery" is recorded. The robot delivers the necessary items to the guest room. "Waiting for cleaning" is recorded in the cleaning status field after delivery or if there are no items to deliver… When the cleaning staff finishes cleaning, "waiting for collection" is recorded in the cleaning status field. The robot goes to the guest room and collects the goods and [0147] - The robot delivers cleaning tools used by cleaning personnel such as rags, mops, detergents, and vacuum cleaners, in addition to items such as sheets, bath towels, and shampoo provided to guests). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the tagged container robotic laundry retrieval and delivery system of Felton the delivery of clean laundered items or removal soiled items by a robot to a particular based on customer check-in and check-out times as taught by Toda to reduce the burden on cleaning staff and improve the efficiency of the cleaning work (Toda ¶ [0146]), thereby increasing the efficiency of the laundry retrieval system of Felton.
Regarding Claim 2, Felton teaches:
A laundry management system according to claim 1, wherein the laundry order … is generated by the computer processor operated by a dedicated laundry managing entity … (See Felton ¶ [0194] – When the vehicle arrives at the facility [dedicated laundry managing entity], the one or more containers of dirty laundry are automatically unloaded from the vehicle by an automated intake robot and provided to at least one separating and sorting robot and one or more intermediate queues configured to feed the at least one separating and sorting robot, [0204] - the network may include one or more communication networks through which the various autonomous robots and computing devices [processors] illustrated in FIG. 4 may send, receive, and/or exchange data and [0207] - the mobile delivery vehicle is configured to deliver and retrieve the plurality of containers from one or more customer destinations associated with a delivery service such as an ad-hoc or subscription delivery service [laundry order by example]) ...
While Felton teaches a system for directing retrieval and delivery of tagged containers of laundry from and to a customer location, wherein said containers are identified based on said tags (Felton ¶ [0194] and [0225]), Felton does not explicitly teach to install cleaned laundry to a room of a customer … to occur at a predetermined time prior to the customer's room check-in time. This is taught by Toda (See Toda ¶ [0135-0136] – When the guest is ready to clean the room, such as when the guest requests cleaning, when the check-out is done, or when the guest leaves the room key at the front desk and goes out, the cleaning status field will indicate " "Waiting for delivery" is recorded. The robot delivers the necessary items to the guest room. "Waiting for cleaning" is recorded in the cleaning status field after delivery or if there are no items to deliver… When the cleaning staff finishes cleaning, "waiting for collection" is recorded in the cleaning status field. The robot goes to the guest room and collects the goods, [0147] - The robot delivers cleaning tools used by cleaning personnel such as rags, mops, detergents, and vacuum cleaners, in addition to items such as sheets, bath towels, and shampoo provided to guests and [0156] - even if the time from the check-out time to the check-in time of the next guest is short, it is possible to provide the information processing system that can smoothly maintain the guest room). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the tagged container robotic laundry retrieval and delivery system of Felton the delivery of clean laundered items or removal soiled items by a robot to a particular based on customer check-in and check-out times as taught by Toda to reduce the burden on cleaning staff and improve the efficiency of the cleaning work (Toda ¶ [0146]), thereby increasing the efficiency of the laundry retrieval system of Felton.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Felton teaches:
A laundry management system according to claim 2, wherein the laundry order … specifies the amount and type of laundry required for the room and details of the location of the room (See Felton ¶ [0189] – the autonomous racking system includes a plurality of densely packed shelves and an automated elevator racking and retrieval device in wired or wireless communication with a controller configured to direct intelligent and autonomous racking and retrieval of one or more particularly identified customer containers matching a household [room] location along a vehicle travel route and [0241] - information regarding a quantity of containers to retrieve from or return to any given location).
While Felton teaches a system for directing retrieval and delivery of tagged containers of laundry from and to a customer location, wherein said containers are identified based on said tags (Felton ¶ [0194] and [0225]), Felton does not explicitly teach to install cleaned laundry to a room of a customer. This is taught by Toda (See Toda ¶ [0135-0136] – When the guest is ready to clean the room, such as when the guest requests cleaning, when the check-out is done, or when the guest leaves the room key at the front desk and goes out, the cleaning status field will indicate " "Waiting for delivery" is recorded. The robot delivers the necessary items to the guest room. "Waiting for cleaning" is recorded in the cleaning status field after delivery or if there are no items to deliver… When the cleaning staff finishes cleaning, "waiting for collection" is recorded in the cleaning status field. The robot goes to the guest room and collects the goods, and [0147] - The robot delivers cleaning tools used by cleaning personnel such as rags, mops, detergents, and vacuum cleaners, in addition to items such as sheets, bath towels, and shampoo provided to guests). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the tagged container robotic laundry retrieval and delivery system of Felton the delivery of clean laundered items or removal soiled items by a robot to a particular based on customer check-in and check-out times as taught by Toda to reduce the burden on cleaning staff and improve the efficiency of the cleaning work (Toda ¶ [0146]), thereby increasing the efficiency of the laundry retrieval system of Felton.
Regarding Claim 5, Felton teaches:
A laundry management system according to claim 1, wherein the soiled laundry is deposited in the assigned box and the computer processor operated by the dedicated laundry managing entity records the identifying tag of the box and the content of the box and the room from which the soiled laundry was collected (See Felton ¶ [0194-0195] – a plurality of autonomous robots configured to operate in series without human intervention to process and transport dirty laundry through the cleaning process, folding and repackaging the clean laundry for return to a household … a unique identifier (e.g., an identification marker) associated with and disposed on or in each of the containers is configured to be scanned at least one of wirelessly and visually and a location and state is updated in a memory store in communication with one or more controllers of the automated robots … The autonomous intake robot is configured to introduce [assigned by example] the plurality of deformable laundry articles to a separating and sorting robot configured to separate out each one of the deformable laundry articles of the plurality of deformable laundry articles)
Regarding Claim 6, Felton teaches:
A laundry management system according to claim 1, where in the cleaning centre has a computer processor that communicates with the computer processor operated by the dedicated laundry managing entity to identify the laundry order and the box assigned to that laundry order received from the at least one transport vehicle (See Felton ¶ [0200] - the automated storage and distribution robot is configured to log and track the one or more containers upon loading into the outgoing vehicle… a unique identification marker of each of the containers is configured to be scanned at least one of wirelessly and visually and a location and state is updated in a memory store in communication with one or more controllers of the vehicle and automated robots, [0204] - the network may include one or more communication networks through which the various autonomous robots and computing devices [processors] illustrated in FIG. 4 may send, receive, and/or exchange data, [0207] - the mobile delivery vehicle is configured to deliver and retrieve the plurality of containers from one or more customer destinations associated with a delivery service such as an ad-hoc or subscription delivery service [interrogation by example]).
Regarding Claim 7, Felton teaches:
A laundry management system according to claim 6, wherein the contents of each box is deposited onto a conveyor system of the cleaning centre for sorting and the boxes are transferred to a sanitization station for cleaning before sending the boxes to the inventory buffer and racking system of the cleaning centre (See Felton ¶ [0194] – The automated intake robot can comprise at least one of one or more automated rails, one or more rack surfaces, and one or more conveyors and [0198-0200] – The automated intake robot transits the plurality of containers to at least one of an intermediate queue and the dirty laundry separating and sorting robot configured to provide sorted and batched loads of dirty deformable laundry articles to the washing and drying robot for washing and drying… the one or more packing robots can deliver the one or more containers of clean, folded laundry to an intermediate queue, like that of the intake robot, prior to delivery to the automated storage and distribution robot… the automated storage and distribution robot can comprise at least one of one or more automated rails, one or more rack surfaces, and one or more conveyors).
Regarding Claim 8, Felton teaches:
A laundry management system according to claim 7, wherein the soiled laundry items released from each box pass through a first segregator to separate the soiled laundry items prior to passing the separated soiled laundry items through a scanner to identifying a type of laundry item. (See Felton ¶ [0195] – The autonomous intake robot is configured to introduce the plurality of deformable laundry articles to a separating and sorting robot configured to separate out each one of the deformable laundry articles of the plurality of deformable laundry articles… the separating and sorting robot is configured to intelligently batch the separated each one of the deformable laundry articles according to a programmed sorting algorithm based, for example, on criteria including at least one of material color, material type, article size, customer washing preference, water temperature requirements, and load size).
Regarding Claim 9, Felton teaches:
A laundry management system according to claim 8, wherein the soiled laundry items are cleaned based on the type of laundry item identified (See Felton ¶ [0195-0196] –the separating and sorting robot is configured to intelligently batch the separated each one of the deformable laundry articles according to a programmed sorting algorithm based, for example, on criteria including at least one of material color, material type, article size, customer washing preference, water temperature requirements, and load size… the separating and sorting robot outputs one or more intelligently sorted batches of deformable laundry articles to one or more washing and drying robots for laundering).
Regarding Claim 10, Felton teaches:
A laundry management system according to claim 6, wherein upon the computer processor of the cleaning centre identifying the laundry order, the computer processor of the cleaning centre controls the cleaning equipment to package the cleaned laundry items according to the laundry order into a box which is tagged to assign the box to the laundry order (See Felton ¶ [0196] – In implementations, the packing robot automatically and autonomously packs the clean load of laundry comprising the plurality of clean and folded deformable laundry articles in a shipping container for automated redistribution to the customer, [0200] - the automated storage and distribution robot is configured to log and track the one or more containers upon loading into the outgoing vehicle and [0204] & [0207] as noted above regarding claim 6).
Regarding Claim 11, Felton teaches:
A laundry management system according to claim 10, wherein upon delivery by the at least one transport vehicle of the assigned box from the cleaning centre to the accommodation facility (See Felton ¶ [0201] – each delivery vehicle (e.g., vehicle automated racking system), and robot, includes a controller configured to operate the associated robot and [0207] - the mobile delivery vehicle is configured to deliver and retrieve the plurality of containers from one or more customer destinations [accommodation facility by example] associated with a delivery service such as an ad-hoc or subscription delivery service [assigned laundry order by example]), the computer processor operated by a dedicated laundry managing entity instructs at least one of the plurality of robotic units to collect the assigned box from the inventory buffer and racking system at the accommodation centre and to deliver the assigned box (See Felton ¶ [0198-0200] – The automated intake robot transits the plurality of containers to at least one of an intermediate queue and the dirty laundry separating and sorting robot configured to provide sorted and batched loads of dirty deformable laundry articles to the washing and drying robot for washing and drying… the one or more packing robots can deliver the one or more containers of clean, folded laundry to an intermediate queue, like that of the intake robot, prior to delivery to the automated storage and distribution robot… the automated storage and distribution robot can comprise at least one of one or more automated rails, one or more rack surfaces, and one or more conveyors and [0246] - On unloading at a customer location [accommodation facility], the autonomous system may automatically retrieve and disgorge through one or multiple vehicle access portals the one or more containers destined to that location) …
While Felton teaches a system for directing retrieval and delivery of tagged containers of laundry from and to a customer location, wherein said containers are identified based on said tags (Felton ¶ [0194] and [0225]), Felton does not explicitly teach that said delivery is to the customer room of the laundry order prior to the customer's room check-in time. This is taught by Toda (See Toda ¶ [0135-0136] – When the guest is ready to clean the room, such as when the guest requests cleaning, when the check-out is done, or when the guest leaves the room key at the front desk and goes out, the cleaning status field will indicate " "Waiting for delivery" is recorded. The robot delivers the necessary items to the guest room. "Waiting for cleaning" is recorded in the cleaning status field after delivery or if there are no items to deliver… When the cleaning staff finishes cleaning, "waiting for collection" is recorded in the cleaning status field. The robot goes to the guest room and collects the goods, [0147] - The robot delivers cleaning tools used by cleaning personnel such as rags, mops, detergents, and vacuum cleaners, in addition to items such as sheets, bath towels, and shampoo provided to guests and [0156] - even if the time from the check-out time to the check-in time of the next guest is short, it is possible to provide the information processing system that can smoothly maintain the guest room). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the tagged container robotic laundry retrieval and delivery system of Felton the delivery of clean laundered items or removal soiled items by a robot to a particular based on customer check-in and check-out times as taught by Toda to reduce the burden on cleaning staff and improve the efficiency of the cleaning work (Toda ¶ [0146]), thereby increasing the efficiency of the laundry retrieval system of Felton.
Regarding Claim 12, Felton teaches:
A laundry management system according to claim 1, wherein the conveyor system engages with the racking system of the at least one transport vehicle to load/unload the boxes (See Felton ¶ [0276] – each one of the plurality of racks in an array comprises a bidirectional driven conveyor that can be driven forward and in reverse to advance one or more containers thereon toward one or the other of a front end and back end for unloading and [0280] -- they can then push the one or more containers backwards, ejecting them out of the back of the delivery vehicle and into the factory … Once the rack is fully loaded, the bidirectional pusher tabs can rotate back around the back end from position C to A and flip back to the horizontal orientation, at the ready for pushing one or more containers off the front end during return delivery to one or more customers).
Regarding Claim 13, Felton teaches:
A laundry management system according to claim 12, wherein the racking system of the at least one transport vehicle comprises a plurality of bays for receiving the boxes, each bay having at least one level (See Felton ¶ [0209] – an autonomous racking system for use with a mobile delivery vehicle, includes an array of flow racks… the array of flow racks comprises a plurality of rows and a plurality of columns… each one of the flow racks of the array of flow racks is configured to receive thereon a plurality of containers).
Regarding Claim 14, Felton teaches:
A laundry management system according to claim 1, wherein the computer processor operated by a dedicated laundry managing entity communicates with a plurality of sensor elements positioned within the accommodation facility and a cleaning centre to detect the location of each box (See Felton ¶ [0246] – the array one or more sensors in communication with the controller can read each container during loading into the vehicle and onto the array of racks and record in memory a storage location in the array of racks).
Regarding Claim 15, Felton teaches:
A laundry management system according to claim 14, wherein the sensor elements comprise a scanner that scans the identification tag provided with each box to transmit the location of each box to the computer processor operated by a dedicated laundry managing entity so as to determine the location of each box to assist in determining the availability of cleaned laundry to the accommodation facility (See Felton ¶ [0200] - the automated storage and distribution robot is configured to log and track the one or more containers upon loading into the outgoing vehicle… a unique identification marker of each of the containers is configured to be scanned at least one of wirelessly and visually and a location and state is updated in a memory store in communication with one or more controllers of the vehicle and automated robots and [0246] – the array one or more sensors in communication with the controller can read each container during loading into the vehicle and onto the array of racks and record in memory a storage location in the array of racks).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Felton et al. (US 2022/0119210 A1) in view of Toda et al. (JP 6843418 B1) and further in view of Schweitzer et al. (US 2004/0078257 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Felton teaches:
A laundry management system according to claim 2 (See claim 2 as noted above),...
While Felton teaches a system for directing retrieval of dirty laundry from a customer location (Felton ¶ [0189]), Felton does not explicitly teach that said retrieval is a predetermined time period that is 24 hours. This is taught by Schweitzer (See Schweitzer ¶ [0033] – scheduling resources for laundry services, [0092] – scheduling is performed 1 day [functionally equivalent to 24 hours] prior to the work day and [0111-0112] – scheduling information comprises vacate times). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the laundry retrieval system of Felton the use of laundry service scheduling information as taught by Schweitzer to improve performance, labor expense savings and enhanced communication in the scheduling process. (Schweitzer Abstract), thereby increasing the efficiency of the laundry retrieval system of Felton.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) and 112(b):
Amended claims 1-15 have resolved the previous issues regarding 35 U.S.C. § 112(a), 112(b) and 112(f) and the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) and 112(b) are withdrawn.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101:
In light of the amended claims, the previous rejection of claims 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. § 101 is withdrawn.
The amended claim limitations: “a plurality of mobile robotic units, at least one of the plurality of robotic units is assigned to a box of the plurality of boxes by the computer processor operated by the dedicated laundry managing entity, the assigned mobile robotic unit is controlled by the computer processor operated by the dedicated laundry managing entity to transport the box to the customer room associated with the assigned laundry order to install cleaned laundry to the room prior to the customer's room check-in time or to remove soiled laundry from the room after the customer's room check-out time;” of claim 1 show control of a robot based on an analysis of a laundry order to install cleaned laundry to the room prior to the customer's room check-in time or to remove soiled laundry from the room after the customer's room check-out time. This analysis based action goes beyond merely automating the
abstract ideas and instead actually uses the information obtained via the judicial exception to take corrective action to deliver clean laundry or remove soiled laundry in a particular way. This is similar to the analysis claims shown in Example 46, which show integration into a practical application and are found to be eligible. Therefore, claims 1-15 of the instant application are considered to be patent eligible.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103:
Considering the applicant’s arguments and amendments to the current claim set of the instant application, the previous grounds for rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Felton and in view of Michely are withdrawn. Michely is no longer relied on as prior art. The examiner agrees with the applicant insofar as the prior art combination of Felton and Michely do not teach a means for interrogation an accommodation system to determine room check in and check out times and coordinating a robotic system to deliver/collect laundry to ensure that the laundry needs of an accommodation venue are met in an automated manner. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Felton and Toda as noted above in the current rejection of claims 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. § 103. Therefore, the claims of the instant application as they are currently disclosed remain unpatentable over Felton in view of Toda.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW S WERONSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3627
/MICHAEL JARED WALKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627