DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothstein et al. in US Publication 2014/0265256 in view of Vig et al. in US Patent 4054965.
Regarding Claims 1-9, Rothstein teaches a walking frame comprising: a walking frame body (102) configured to provide support to a user as they walk across a surface; at least one swivel castor (108/110/112/114) coupled to the walking frame body and comprising: a wheel (108/110) configured to contact the surface and rotate as the user pushes the walking frame across the surface; and a wheel mount (112/114) rotatable with respect to the walking frame body to change the orientation of the wheel relative to the walking frame body and allow the user to steer the walking frame in different directions across the surface; and an alignment mechanism (510) configured to apply a biasing force to the wheel mount on rotation thereof to bias the wheel into a predetermined orientation relative to the walking frame body,
Rothstein is silent on the use of a biasing force that decreases as the wheel swivels. Vig teaches a swivel castor including frame body (10), a wheel (11) configured to contact the surface and rotate as it is moved across the surface, and a wheel mount (12) rotatable with respect to frame body to change the orientation of the wheel relative to the walking frame body and allow the user to steer the frame in different directions across the surface; and an alignment mechanism (19/20/21) configured to apply a biasing force to the wheel mount on rotation thereof to bias the wheel into a predetermined orientation relative to the frame body, wherein the biasing force applied to the wheel mount decreases as the wheel mount rotates away from the predetermined orientation (magnetic force is well-known to decrease as the magnets are moved away from each other), wherein the alignment mechanism is configured to apply the biasing force to the wheel mount over a predetermined rotational range (when the magnets are near enough to interact) of the wheel mount, wherein the predetermined rotational range of the wheel mount is less than 360 degrees, wherein the alignment mechanism is configured to apply no biasing force to the wheel mount outside of the predetermined rotational range (such as when the wheel is at a 90 degree angle to the magnets 20 and 21), wherein the alignment mechanism comprises a plurality of magnets configured to provide the biasing force to bias the wheel mount into the predetermined orientation, wherein the alignment mechanism comprises a first magnet (20) coupled to the frame body and a second magnet (19) coupled to the wheel mount and configured to rotate therewith, wherein relative rotation between the wheel mount and the frame body causes the biasing force to be applied to the wheel mount, wherein opposing poles of the first and second magnets are aligned when the wheel mount is in the predetermined orientation (see Fig. 6), wherein the first and second magnets are coaxial when the wheel mount is in the predetermined orientation (see Fig. 4), wherein the first and second magnets are coupled to the walking frame body and the wheel mount respectively in a position offset from a rotational axis of the wheel mount (see Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Rothstein by using castors as taught by Vig in order to prevent unwanted swiveling of the castors when the device is off the ground, and to provide a positive alignment for the wheels to allow the user to more easily move straight.
Regarding Claim 10, Rothstein, as modified, teaches a plurality of swivel castors (there are 4).
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Obitts in US Patent 5692762 in view of Vig et al. in US Patent 4054965.
Regarding Claims 1-9, Obitts teaches a walking frame comprising: a walking frame body (A) configured to provide support to a user as they walk across a surface; at least one swivel castor (62a/b) coupled to the walking frame body to allow the user to steer the walking frame in different directions across the surface; and an alignment mechanism (the wheels can be “fixed”) configured to apply a biasing force to the wheel mount on rotation thereof to bias the wheel into a predetermined orientation relative to the walking frame body,
Obitts is silent on the use of a biasing force that decreases as the wheel swivels. Vig teaches a swivel castor including frame body (10), a wheel (11) configured to contact the surface and rotate as it is moved across the surface, and a wheel mount (12) rotatable with respect to frame body to change the orientation of the wheel relative to the walking frame body and allow the user to steer the frame in different directions across the surface; and an alignment mechanism (19/20/21) configured to apply a biasing force to the wheel mount on rotation thereof to bias the wheel into a predetermined orientation relative to the frame body, wherein the biasing force applied to the wheel mount decreases as the wheel mount rotates away from the predetermined orientation (magnetic force is well-known to decrease as the magnets are moved away from each other), wherein the alignment mechanism is configured to apply the biasing force to the wheel mount over a predetermined rotational range (when the magnets are near enough to interact) of the wheel mount, wherein the predetermined rotational range of the wheel mount is less than 360 degrees, wherein the alignment mechanism is configured to apply no biasing force to the wheel mount outside of the predetermined rotational range (such as when the wheel is at a 90 degree angle to the magnets 20 and 21), wherein the alignment mechanism comprises a plurality of magnets configured to provide the biasing force to bias the wheel mount into the predetermined orientation, wherein the alignment mechanism comprises a first magnet (20) coupled to the frame body and a second magnet (19) coupled to the wheel mount and configured to rotate therewith, wherein relative rotation between the wheel mount and the frame body causes the biasing force to be applied to the wheel mount, wherein opposing poles of the first and second magnets are aligned when the wheel mount is in the predetermined orientation (see Fig. 6), wherein the first and second magnets are coaxial when the wheel mount is in the predetermined orientation (see Fig. 4), wherein the first and second magnets are coupled to the walking frame body and the wheel mount respectively in a position offset from a rotational axis of the wheel mount (see Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Obitts by using castors as taught by Vig in order to prevent unwanted swiveling of the castors when the device is off the ground, and to provide a positive alignment for the wheels to allow the user to more easily move straight.
Regarding Claim 10, Obitts, as modified, teaches a plurality of swivel castors (there are 2).
Regarding Claim 11, Obitts, as modified, teaches that the walking frame body comprises front legs (22a/22b) and rear (24a/24b) legs, and wherein a swivel castor is coupled to each of the front legs and a low-friction glide (100) for sliding over the surface is coupled to each of the rear legs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cooper et al., Warncke et al., Foster, and EP 3081391 teach castor alignment devices
NOAH C. HAWK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/Noah Chandler Hawk/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636