DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Suwanto et al. (US 20210235845 A1).
Claim 1, Suwanto discloses a dispenser (100; FIG 1, 2, 14) configured to receive a cartridge set of two or more cartridges (204; FIG 14) and to dispense a specified amount of formula from each cartridge (FIG 13), wherein each cartridge contains a formula (FIG 11; [0126]) and an electronic communication and storage device, wherein the electronic communication and storage device of each cartridge stores data including one or more keys to check compatibility of the cartridges in the cartridge set ([0121], [0222]), and one or more tracks, each track specifying dosages for the cartridge for each administering of formulas ([0223]).
Claim 2, Suwanto discloses wherein the dispenser includes a counter configured to increment upon a trigger event, wherein the counter keeps a chronological order, wherein each increment in the counter corresponds to each administering of formulas (962a to 963c; [0223]).
Claim 3, Suwanto discloses wherein the keys include a sub-type key and a combination key, and the dispenser includes a CPU configured to allow dispensing after performing a compatibility check using the keys ([0121], [0222]).
Claims 4 and 13, Suwanto discloses wherein the sub-type key of each cartridge is the same, the combination key of each cartridge is different, and the combination keys of all cartridges follow a rule ([0222]; [0223]).
Claims 5 and 14, Suwanto discloses wherein the rule requires combination keys to be associated with a numerical value, and the sum of the numerical values is a multiple of a number determined in advance ([0222]; [0223]; This feature is inherent to cryptography).
Claim 6, Suwanto discloses wherein each cartridge contains a skincare ingredient selected from the group consisting of alpha hydroxy acids, Vitamin C, Vitamin E, hyaluronic acid, ferulic acid, retinol, cucumber, thyme, mulberry, and combinations thereof ([0070]).
Claim 7, Suwanto discloses wherein the electronic communication and storage device includes data indicating a status of each cartridge is ready for dispensing ([0228]).
Claim 8, Suwanto discloses wherein the dispenser is optionally (Since the following features are optional, they are not required to be disclosed for an anticipation rejection) connected to a computing device, the computing device includes an app that is configured to perform a method including, analyzing a user's skin condition, assessing environmental conditions that influence a user's skin, receiving a skincare concern of a user, and specifying the amounts of formulas to be dispensed ([0066], [0071]).
Claim 9, Suwanto discloses wherein the dispenser is configured to dispense formulas in dosages according to the method when connected to the computing device and in dosages according to the data stored in the electronic communication and storage devices when not connected to the computing device (The features of this claim are optional and therefore not required for an anticipation rejection; [0137], [0134]).
Claim 10, Suwanto discloses with the dispenser, reading an electronic communication and storage device on each cartridge containing a formula, wherein the electronic communication and storage device of each cartridge stores data including one or more keys to check compatibility of the cartridges in the cartridge set, and one or more tracks, each track specifying dosages for the cartridge for each administering of formulas ([0125], [0129]-[0135]).
Claim 11, Suwanto discloses wherein the dispenser includes a counter configured to increment upon a trigger event, wherein the counter keeps a chronological order, wherein each increment in the counter corresponds to each administering of formulas (925; FIG 11).
Claim 12, Suwanto discloses wherein the keys include a sub-type key and a combination key, and the dispenser includes a CPU configured to allow dispensing after performing a compatibility check using the keys (942c, 942d; FIG 12A).
Claim 15, Suwanto discloses wherein the dispenser is connected to a computing device, the computing device includes an app that is configured to perform a method including, analyzing a user's skin condition, assessing environmental conditions that influence a user's skin, receiving a skincare concern of a user, and specifying the amounts of formulas to be dispensed, wherein the method is performed without connecting to the computing device, wherein each cartridge contains a skincare ingredient selected from the group consisting of alpha hydroxy acids, Vitamin C, Vitamin E, hyaluronic acid, ferulic acid, retinol, cucumber, thyme, mulberry, and combinations thereof ([0070], [0137], [0134]).
Conclusion
JEREMY W. CARROLL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3754
/Jeremy Carroll/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754