DETAILED ACTION
Formal Matters
Applicant’s response in the reply filed on 20 July 2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8, 10-11, 13, 15-17, 19, 21-22, 24, 26, 28-30, 32-34, 36-37, and 40 are pending. Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8, and 10 are under consideration in the instant office action. Claims 11, 13, 15-17, 19, 21-22, 24, 26, 28-30, 32-34, 36-37, and 40 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claims. Claims 2, 4, 7, 9, 12, 14, 18, 20, 23, 27, 31, 35, and 38-39 are canceled.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I (claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8, and 10) in the reply filed on 24 August 2026 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Restriction Requirement treated U.S. Publication 2016/0151447 (Guivernau) as not expressly disclosing the recited density, and instead called the range an obvious result-effective adjustment because Guivernau’s composition contains water, which has a density of about 1 g/cm³, with the densities expected to overlap. Applicant argues a result-effective-variable rationale requires evidence that a skilled artisan had recognized density as result-effective before the invention. Applicant says the Office provided none. Applicant argues that the Office also gave no evidence that Guivernau’s density necessarily overlaps 1.000–1.015 g/cm³, and Applicant says there is no rational basis for that overlap. Specification paragraph [0017] ties density to the amount of air bubbles and links a homogeneous, substantially bubble-free composition to a shelf life of at least 2 years. Specification paragraph [0026] attributes homogeneous mixing without substantive bubble formation to repetitive movement through an orifice plate in a static mixer. Guivernau, at paragraph [0388], homogenizes only by push-pull kneading between two syringes through a valve. It does not disclose an orifice plate or any mechanism for homogeneous mixing without substantive production of bubbles. Guivernau therefore does not disclose or suggest, expressly or inherently, the claimed density, so that density remains a special technical feature unifying the claims.
The above assertions are not found persuasive because the application lacks unity under 35 U.S.C. § 121 and 37 C.F.R. § 1.475. The claims fall into three groups: a prefilled syringe, a composition, and a method of preparing the composition. Applicant’s only asserted special technical feature is an injectable sustained-release composition having a density of 1.000 g/cm³ to 1.015 g/cm³. A special technical feature must define a contribution over the prior art. PCT Rule 13.2; MPEP § 1850. This density range does not. U.S. Publication 2016/0151447 (Guivernau) teaches an injectable sustained-release lanreotide acetate composition containing water and acetic acid, homogenized by push-pull kneading between two syringes through a valve, and filled into syringes that are sealed in aluminum bags. Water has a density of about 1 g/cm³. The claimed band sits immediately above that value. For an aqueous peptide composition, density is fixed by water content, dissolved solids, and entrained gas. Moving that density into 1.000–1.015 g/cm³ by routine adjustment of those known variables does not contribute over Guivernau. The Office’s statement that Guivernau does not print the numerical range is not a concession that the range is a special technical feature. Applicant’s result-effective-variable argument does not supply that contribution. One of ordinary skill in the art did not need Guivernau to use the word “density.” Density of an aqueous injectable was already known to depend on the amount of water, solute, and air. Applicant’s own specification confirms the relationship: paragraph [0017] states that density may be related to the amount of air bubbles in the composition. Guivernau already homogenizes the aqueous gel and, in related examples, applies vacuum before hydration. Controlling entrained air, and therefore density, was a known lever for fill weight and dose accuracy. In re Antonie does not require the prior-art reference to label the variable. It requires that the relationship have been known. Applicant’s specification asserts the relationship, and the aqueous vehicle in Guivernau supplies it. The overlap argument is also not persuasive. Guivernau’s continuous phase is water, made up to 100% with lanreotide acetate and acetic acid. That composition necessarily has a density above the density of water and, for a water-majority gel, in or overlapping 1.000–1.015 g/cm³. Applicant offers no measurement showing that Guivernau’s aqueous gels fall outside the range. A lack-of-unity showing does not require a worked example that reports the claimed number. The expectation of overlap is a rational consequence of the shared aqueous vehicle. The orifice-plate argument does not establish unity. Paragraphs [0017] and [0026] describe a possible relationship among bubbles, an orifice plate, and shelf life. That mechanism is not in every claim. Claims 1, 11, and 21 require the density. They do not require an orifice plate, opposing pistons, angled orifices, concentric spacing, vacuum, or substantially no bubbles. Those limitations appear only in dependent claims. A feature that is absent from the independent claims cannot be the special technical feature linking all of the groups. Guivernau’s failure to mention an orifice plate is therefore irrelevant to unity. Its push-pull kneading through a valve is already a homogenizing step performed on the same class of aqueous lanreotide gel. The request to withdraw the requirement and allow all claims is premature. This paper is not a rejection on the merits of the elected claims. Election with traverse does not entitle Applicant to examination of inventions that lack a common contribution over the prior art. Furthermore, the special technical feature would be also anticipated by Somatuline Depot prescribing information revised April 2019 (“the label”) as evidenced by the Somatuline Autogel prefilled-syringe leaflet, 2009 (“the leaflet”) as described in detail below which are incorporated herein by reference as well.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 13 April 2026 and 18 August 2026 are noted and the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Signed copies are attached herein.
Objection to the title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The title of the instant application is “INJECTABLE SUSTAINED RELEASE PHARMACEUTICAL COMPOSITION”. The title should be brief but technically accurate and descriptive and should contain fewer than 500 characters. The title does not reflect the main inventive concept of Applicant’s invention and the major components of the “INJECTABLE SUSTAINED RELEASE PHARMACEUTICAL COMPOSITION”. The title is generic and can be applicable to any “INJECTABLE SUSTAINED RELEASE PHARMACEUTICAL COMPOSITION”. The examiner advises Applicant to consider including the main active agent in the title. Inasmuch as the words "new," "improved," "improvement of," and "improvement in" are not considered as part of the title of an invention, these words should not be included at the beginning of the title of the invention and will be deleted when the Office enters the title into the Office’s computer records, and when any patent issues. Similarly, the articles "a," "an," and "the" should not be included as the first words of the title of the invention and will be deleted when the Office enters the title into the Office’s computer records, and when any patent issues.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to for reciting “100,000 milPoise.” “MilPoise” is not a standard unit. The conventional unit is millipoise (mP) or centipoise (cP). As written, the viscosity limitation is unclear. Correction, consistent with the specification, is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because “a foil pouch comprising a nitrogen overlay” is technically imprecise. A nitrogen overlay is a headspace condition, not a component the pouch comprises. Appropriate clarifications and corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The amendment in claims 3, 5, and 8 adds “homogeneous mixture,” “substantially no bubbles,” “without requiring a phase change,” “non-lyophilized,” “does not need to be reconstituted,” “suitable for mixing without degradation,” and “viscosity of up to 100,000 milPoise.” These are functional or negative limitations. The claims do not recite amounts or structure that necessarily produce those results. Paragraphs [0017] and [0026] describe bubbles and an orifice plate as possible influences on density and homogeneity. They do not describe a representative number of filled syringes that are bubble-free, fillable immediately without a phase change, and mixable without degradation at viscosities up to the recited upper limit. The claims cover a genus broader than what the disclosure shows the inventor possessed.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “substantially no bubbles.” “Substantially” is a term of degree. The claim does not state whether the standard is visual inspection, bubble count, or gas volume, or under what conditions the syringe is assessed. A skilled artisan cannot determine when the composition has substantially no bubbles.
Claim 5 recites a composition “suitable for filling the injection syringe immediately after being mixed without requiring a phase change.” “Immediately” and “phase change” are undefined. The claim does not identify a structural property that distinguishes a composition that can be filled without a phase change from one that cannot. “Suitable for administration” in claim 1 is likewise a use limitation without a dose, route, or patient population.
Claim 6 recites a “shelf life of at least 2 years.” The claim states no storage temperature, humidity, or orientation, and no end-of-shelf-life criterion. Potency, purity, pH, viscosity, appearance, and syringeability are all unstated. The same syringe can meet or miss the limitation depending on the test.
Claim 8 recites a composition “suitable for mixing without degradation and at a viscosity of up to 100,000 milPoise.” The unit is undefined, as objected to above. “Up to” states only an upper bound and does not state whether the value is the viscosity of the composition or the viscosity during mixing, or at what temperature and shear rate it is measured. “Without degradation” does not identify the species, the analytical method, or the change that constitutes degradation. The limitation recites a process capability without a measurable property of the filled syringe.
Claim 10 recites a syringe “stored in a foil pouch comprising a nitrogen overlay.” It is unclear whether the pouch and overlay are parts of the claimed article or a condition of storage. “Nitrogen overlay” states no purity, volume, pressure, or residual oxygen.Claim 1 recites a density of 1.000 g/cm³ to 1.015 g/cm³ with no measurement temperature. Density of this aqueous composition changes with temperature, so the numerical range has no definite boundary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by the Somatuline Depot prescribing information revised April 2019 (“the label”) as evidenced by the Somatuline Autogel prefilled-syringe leaflet, 2009 (“the leaflet”).
Note: The leaflet is provided as an evidentiary reference. It establishes the composition and package of the commercial article described in the label. The leaflet teaches that Somatuline Autogel 60 mg, 90 mg, and 120 mg is a prolonged-release solution for injection in a prefilled syringe. The active substance is lanreotide, presented as lanreotide acetate. Each syringe contains a supersaturated solution of lanreotide acetate corresponding to 24.6 mg of lanreotide base per 100 mg of solution, which provides an injection dose of 60 mg, 90 mg, or 120 mg. The only other ingredients are water for injections and glacial acetic acid for pH adjustment. Prolonged release is the result of the physical form of the supersaturated solution. The formulation is a white to pale yellow semi-solid. The leaflet further teaches that the solution in the prefilled syringe is ready for use and is administered without reconstitution. Each syringe is packed in a laminated pouch of polyethylene terephthalate/aluminium/polyethylene and a cardboard box. The expiration date is printed on the carton and the pouch. The pouch is kept sealed until injection, and the product is not used if the pouch is damaged or opened. This evidence supplies the water and glacial acetic acid vehicle missing from a reading of the prescribing information alone, and it identifies the concentration as 24.6 mg lanreotide base per 100 mg of solution. That is the aqueous composition whose density is relied on in claim 1. It supplies the ready-for-use, non-reconstituted administration relied on in claim 5. It supplies the sealed laminated aluminum foil pouch and printed expiration date relied on in claims 6 and 10. It confirms that the article in the prescribing information is the prefilled syringe of lanreotide acetate examined in claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, and 10.
The label describes a sterile, single-dose prefilled syringe containing a semi-solid, supersaturated lanreotide acetate formulation for deep subcutaneous administration, at 60 mg/0.2 mL, 90 mg/0.3 mL, and 120 mg/0.5 mL. The leaflet identifies the excipients as water for injections and glacial acetic acid, at 24.6 mg lanreotide base per 100 mg of solution, and states that the syringe is ready for use after the pouch is opened (see 11description). The composition is not lyophilized and is not reconstituted. Commercial packs carry a printed expiration date under refrigerated storage in the sealed pouch, so the claimed shelf life of at least 2 years does not distinguish the article. The density of 1.000–1.015 g/cm³ is inherent in that aqueous gel. The product is lanreotide acetate, water, and acetic acid only. The burden is on Applicant to show with objective evidence or measurement the density of the same solution described in the label has a different density. Additionally, the "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. (Applicant argued that the claimed composition was a pressure sensitive adhesive containing a tacky polymer while the product of the reference was hard and abrasion resistant. "The Board correctly found that the virtual identity of monomers and procedures sufficed to support a prima facie case of unpatentability of Spada’s polymer latexes for lack of novelty."). Applicant has the burden to show that the commercial gel, measured under the conditions used for the claims, falls outside the range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over the Somatuline Depot prescribing information 2007 “the label”, newly cited) in view of Guivernau (US 2016/0151447, previously provide, IDS reference 04/13/2026) and Montes et al. (U.S. Patent 9,352,012, newly cited) and as evidenced by the Somatuline Autogel prefilled-syringe leaflet 2009 (“the leaflet”, newly cited).
Applicant Claims
Applicant claims a pre-filled injection syringe comprising an injectable sustained release pharmaceutical composition suitable for administration, the injectable sustained release pharmaceutical composition comprising lanreotide acetate, wherein the injectable sustained release pharmaceutical composition has a density of 1.000 g/cm³ to 1.015 g/cm³. Dependent claims thereof recite other additional features.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art (MPEP §2141.01)
The label teaches a sterile, single-dose prefilled injection syringe comprising an injectable sustained-release pharmaceutical composition suitable for deep subcutaneous administration (see pharmacokinetics 12.3). The composition is a white to pale yellow, semi-solid, supersaturated formulation of lanreotide acetate, supplied at 60 mg/0.2 mL, 90 mg/0.3 mL, and 120 mg/0.5 mL (see 3 dosage forms and strengths). The syringe is kept in a sealed pouch until injection and is ready for use (see section 16). The content is viscous. Microbubbles, if present, clear during injection and do not affect quality. The article is sold with a printed expiration date and is stored refrigerated in the sealed pouch (see section 2.3). The Autogel leaflet, relied on as part of the same commercial disclosure, teaches that the composition contains 24.6 mg lanreotide base per 100 mg of solution and that the only excipients are water for injections and glacial acetic acid. It also teaches that the prefilled syringe is ready for use and is not reconstituted.
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.012)
The label does not expressly teach a density of 1.000 g/cm³ to 1.015 g/cm³, a homogenous mixture having substantially no bubbles, or a viscosity of up to 100,000 milPoise. These deficiencies are cured by the teachings of Guivernau and Montes.
Guivernau teaches an injectable sustained-release lanreotide acetate composition containing water for injection and acetic acid, homogenized by push-pull kneading between two syringes through a valve, and filled into plastic syringes. In related preparations, vacuum of no more than 0.600 mBar is applied before hydration. Guivernau reports a syringe injection force for a 60 mg dose, so the viscous gel is mixed and still suitable for administration (paragraph 0446-0447).
Montes Example 10 teaches the same gel: water for injection acidified with glacial acetic acid, lanreotide acetate and the acidified water charged to two piston cylinders, vacuum of 100 to 600 μbar, and reciprocating piston movement to a homogeneous supersaturated gel of 24.6% pure lanreotide at about pH 6.2. The filled gel is not lyophilized.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have combined Guivernau and Montes with the label because all of the references describe the same aqueous lanreotide acetate gel and the labeled prefilled syringe made from it. Montes is the published process for the 24.6% concentration identified in the leaflet. Guivernau carries that process through filling and packaging. No change of active agent, vehicle, or route is required. As to claim 1, the label teaches every element except the numerical density. The missing element is cured by Guivernau and Montes. Their composition is lanreotide acetate in water and acetic acid, the same vehicle as the leaflet. Water has a density of about 1 g/cm³. Applicant’s paragraph [0017] states that density may be related to the amount of air bubbles. Guivernau and Montes already apply vacuum and knead to a homogeneous mixture, which removes the air that lowers density. Adjusting water content, dissolved solids, and entrained air into the band 1.000 g/cm³ to 1.015 g/cm³ is routine optimization of a known result-effective variable. Overlap would have been expected. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454 (CCPA 1955). As to claim 3, the label teaches a homogeneous semi-solid, but it also allows microbubbles. The missing “substantially no bubbles” element is cured by the vacuum and kneading of Guivernau and Montes. Carrying those steps to completion predictably leaves a homogeneous fill with substantially no bubbles. Claim 3 does not require an orifice plate. As to claim 5, the label already teaches that the syringe is ready for use and is not reconstituted. Montes cures any remaining question of lyophilization: lyophilization is used only to obtain the powder, and the filled product is the hydrated gel. Guivernau fills the syringe once the mixture is homogeneous. No phase-change step is used. Filling immediately after mixing is the last step of that process. As to claim 6, the label teaches refrigerated storage in the sealed pouch and a printed expiration date. A shelf life of at least 2 years is the ordinary labeled life of that article. Guivernau’s sealed aluminum bag confirms that the same gel is packaged for storage after filling. As to claim 8, the label teaches a viscous gel that is injected slowly, but it does not state the viscosity. Guivernau cures that element. It mixes the gel by push-pull kneading and then ejects a 60 mg dose, so mixing does not destroy suitability for administration. “Up to 100,000 milPoise” has no lower bound and includes the viscosity at which Guivernau mixed and ejected the dose. The label teaches storage of the filled syringe in a laminated aluminum foil pouch. They do not teach a nitrogen overlay. Guivernau cures the packaging element by sealing the filled lanreotide syringe in an aluminum bag before gamma irradiation. A nitrogen overlay is the conventional inert atmosphere in a sealed foil pouch used to limit oxidation of a peptide during storage or irradiation. The substitution does not change the syringe, the gel, or the pouch taught by the primary reference. A person of ordinary skill would have added the nitrogen overlay to the labeled pouch, and to the aluminum bag of Guivernau, with a reasonable expectation that the stored syringe would be the same article with less oxidative impurity. Therefore, claim 10 would have been obvious as well.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/TIGABU KASSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619