DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on May 22, 2024 is hereby acknowledged and has been placed of record. Please find attached a signed copy of the IDS. It should be noted that Foreign Patent Document Citation No. 1 on the aforementioned IDS form appears to be incorrect. The International Search Report and Written Opinion (Non-Patent Literature Document Citation No. 1 of the IDS) refers to CN 108525176 A (not CN 108525175 A, as listed on the IDS). Thus, the apparently incorrect Foreign Patent Document citation has been lined through on the signed copy included herewith, and for Applicant’s assistance, document CN 108525176 A (along with an English language translation thereof), is cited on the PTO-892 included with the instant Office action.
Claim Objections
Claims 12-16 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 12, on line 1, --a -- should be inserted between “including ” and “fluid”.
In claim 13, on line 5, “an” should be replaced with --the--.
In claim 16, on line 3, --the -- should be inserted between “to ” (first occurrence) and “fluid”.
In claim 20, on line 3, --the -- should be inserted between “to ” and “fluid”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pillar et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0199302, in view of Lozier, US Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0101368.
As to claim 1, Pillar shows and describes a fire-fighting system (610, 612, 620; see Figs. 13-16), comprising: a fluid monitor (610, as a whole; or, alternatively 631 and one or more of the “arm” portions, such as 630; and note that paragraph [0140] expressly states “fewer or more arms” may be included, as compared to the three arms shown in the Fig. 14 system example) comprising a fluid outlet (the outlet defined by 631), the fluid monitor being selectively moveable between a stowed configuration and a deployed configuration (see paragraph [0203]); and a controller (612) configured to receive a request to direct a fluid flow from the fluid monitor towards a desired target area (see paragraphs [0203]-[0206]); and determine whether the fluid monitor is in a proper position to direct the fluid flow toward the target area (“deploy positions” are determined as being proper positions to direct fire extinguishing fluid from the monitor using position sensor data; see paragraphs [0141]-[0147], and see again, paragraphs [0203]-[0206]). Also, Pillar states in paragraph [0003] (with respect to fire-fighting systems in the state of the art at the time), “Once a nozzle of the turret is brought to a particular position and orientation relative to the fire, a fire fighting agent may be dispensed from the nozzle and directed at the fire”. Pillar further expressly discloses the controller including a “turret controller 660”, which adjusts the position and orientation of the monitor based on a location of a desired target area, and Pillar expressly states that when the monitor is “aimed at the region of interest”, extinguishing fluid is dispensed toward the region of interest “at the same time” (see paragraph [0193]), which seems to suggest that the controller of Pillar may be capable of controlling fluid flow from the monitor through the fluid outlet thereof, based on determination of a proper monitor position, although such is not entirely clear from the Pillar disclosure.
Regardless, Lozier shows and describes a controller (12) for a fire-fighting system which includes a fluid monitor (10) which is designed to be mounted on a fire truck (see paragraphs [0002] and [0038]), wherein the controller determines whether the fluid monitor is in a proper position to direct fire extinguishing fluid flow toward a desired target area, and wherein the controller controls the fluid flow from the fluid monitor through a fluid outlet of the monitor based on the determination (see paragraphs [0008]-[0012] and [0043]). Lozier states that such monitor control improves the ability of the monitor to fight a fire, thus enhancing the safety of responders (see paragraph [0005]). Therefore, in the event that the controller of the system of Pillar is considered to not be capable of controlling fluid flow from the monitor based on a determination of a proper monitor position, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of Pillar to control the fluid flow from the fluid monitor through the fluid outlet based on the determination that the fluid monitor is in a proper position to direct the fluid flow toward the target area, as taught by Lozier, thereby preventing an undesirable waste of fluid (particularly when the fire-fighting vehicle upon which the monitor is mounted includes a finite amount of fire extinguishing fluid, such as in an on-board tank), and also thereby improving the ability of the fluid monitor to fight a fire, thus enhancing the safety of responders.
As to claim 2, modified Pillar shows the system of claim 1, and wherein the controller is configured to control the fluid monitor to discharge fluid when the fluid monitor is determined to be in the proper position (see application of Pillar, in view of Lozier, as applied to claim 1 above; and see again, paragraphs [0147], [0193] and [0203]-[0206] of Pillar), and wherein the controller is configured to control the fluid monitor to prevent discharge of fluid when the fluid monitor is determined to not be in the proper position (for example, during vehicle travel, the turret is not in a “deploy position”, whereby operation of the monitor, as well as fluid discharge, is prevented in at least the stowed configuration; see again, paragraphs [0147] and [0203]-[0206]).
As to claim 3, modified Pillar shows the system of claim 1, and further comprising a drive (actuators 632) operatively coupled to the fluid monitor for selectively moving the fluid monitor, wherein the controller is communicatively coupled to the drive to cause the drive to move the fluid monitor between the stowed and deployed configurations (see paragraphs [0149], [0151] and [0204]-[0206]).
As to claim 4, modified Pillar shows the system of claim 1, and further comprising: a pump (“pump” is referenced in at least paragraph [0147]); and a valve (e.g., the “actuator” controlling flow rate through the nozzle referenced in at least paragraph [0147]; and note the references to “agent on/off, high/low water flow, fog/stream control, discharge on/off, and so on” in paragraph [0152], which implies one or more valving elements which control fluid flow between the pump and the fluid outlet) controlling fluid flow between the pump and the fluid outlet, wherein the controller controls operation of the valve (see again, paragraph [0147]).
As to claim 5, modified Pillar shows the system of claim 4, and wherein the controller is configured to: receive a user-requested fluid pressure (correlating to the user-input flow rate; see paragraph [0217]) and control operation of at least one of the pump and the valve to provide the user- requested fluid pressure at the target area (pump and/or actuator(s)/valving element(s) are controlled to maintain the input flow rate; see paragraphs [0147], [0216] and [0217]).
As to claim 6, modified Pillar shows the system of claim 1, and further comprising: a pump (“pump” is referenced in at least paragraph [0147]); and a valve (e.g., the “actuator” controlling flow rate through the nozzle referenced in at least paragraph [0147]; and note the references to “agent on/off, high/low water flow, fog/stream control, discharge on/off, and so on” in paragraph [0152], which implies one or more valving elements which control fluid flow between the pump and the fluid outlet) fluidly coupled between the pump and the fluid outlet, the valve moveable between an open position, in which fluid may flow from the pump out of the fluid outlet, and a closed position, in which fluid is prevented from flowing between the pump and the fluid outlet (again, note the references to “agent on/off, high/low water flow, fog/stream control, discharge on/off, and so on” in paragraph [0152]), wherein the controller is configured to: determine whether the fluid monitor is in the deployed configuration with the fluid outlet oriented to direct fluid flow towards the target area; and if the fluid monitor is in the deployed configuration, control the valve to move from the closed position to the open position (as follows with the discussion above, in combination with the application of modified Pillar to claim 1).
As to claim 7, modified Pillar shows the system of claim 1, and further comprising: a pump (“pump” is referenced in at least paragraph [0147]); and a valve (e.g., the “actuator” controlling flow rate through the nozzle referenced in at least paragraph [0147]; and note the references to “agent on/off, high/low water flow, fog/stream control, discharge on/off, and so on” in paragraph [0152], which implies one or more valving elements which control fluid flow between the pump and the fluid outlet) coupled between the pump and the fluid outlet, the valve moveable between an open position, in which fluid may flow from the pump out of the fluid outlet, and a closed position, in which fluid is prevented from flowing between the pump and the fluid outlet, wherein the controller is configured to: determine whether the valve is in the closed position; determine whether the fluid monitor is in the deployed configuration; and in response to determining that the fluid monitor is not in the deployed configuration, prevent the valve from moving to the open position (as follows with the discussion above, in combination with the application of modified Pillar to claims 1 and 2).
As to claim 8, modified Pillar shows the system of claim 1, and further comprising a fire-fighting vehicle (620) comprising a roof (see Fig. 14; and see paragraph [0139]), the fluid monitor is rotatably mounted on the roof and moveable to direct the fluid outlet approximately 360o about the roof (see again, Fig. 14; and see paragraphs [0139], [0141] and [0158]). It should be noted, Pillar expressly discloses that the vehicle may also include more than one fluid monitor (see paragraph [0209]).
As to claim 9, modified Pillar shows the system of claim 8, and wherein the controller comprises a memory storing a plurality of target zones (stored “waypoints”) each corresponding to a respective target area spaced circumferentially about the fire-fighting vehicle (see paragraph [0199]), wherein the request to direct fluid flow from the fluid monitor towards a target area includes a target zone selected by a user from the plurality of target zones, and wherein the controller is further configured to: move the fluid monitor to direct the fluid outlet towards the target area corresponding to the target zone selected by the user (see paragraphs [0199]-[0206]).
As to claim 10, modified Pillar shows the system of claim 1, and further comprising a fire-fighting vehicle (620; see Fig. 14) comprising a body (body of 620) and a boom (e.g., at 626 and 628; and again note, paragraph [0140] expressly states “fewer or more arms” may be included, as compared to the three arms shown in the Fig. 14 system example) rotatably coupled to the body, the boom comprising a distal end that is moveable outward from the body, wherein the fluid monitor (e.g., 631 and 630) is coupled to the distal end of the boom. It should be noted, Pillar expressly discloses that the vehicle may also include more than one fluid monitor (see paragraph [0209]).
As to claim 11, modified Pillar shows the system of claim 1, and further comprising a sensor (position sensors 634a-f; see paragraphs [0141]-[0146]) coupled to the controller for detecting a position of the fluid monitor, wherein the controller determines whether the fluid monitor is in the deployed configuration with the fluid outlet oriented to direct the fluid flow towards the target area based on the detected position of the fluid monitor (based on values measured by the position sensors, it is determined if the monitor is in one of the “deploy positions”, and in the selected deploy position, the monitor dispenses fluid; see paragraphs [0203]-[0206]).
As to claim 12, with the claim being directed to a “controller for controlling a fire-fighting system”, which is essentially patentably indistinct from the “fire-fighting system” required by claim 1, then the prior art to Pillar, as modified by Lozier and applied to claim 1 above, is equally applicable to the “controller” required by claim 12.
As to claim 13, modified Pillar shows the controller of claim 12, and wherein the controller is communicatively coupled to a valve (e.g., the “actuator” controlling flow rate through the nozzle referenced in at least paragraph [0147]; and note again, the references to “agent on/off, high/low water flow, fog/stream control, discharge on/off, and so on” in paragraph [0152]) controlling fluid flow out of the fluid monitor, the valve being moveable between an open position and a closed position, and wherein the controller is configured to: control the valve to be in the open position if the fluid monitor is determined to be in the deployed configuration; and control the valve to be in the closed position if the fluid monitor is not determined to be in the deployed configuration (see application of modified Pillar to claims 1 and 12; and see again, paragraphs [0147] and [0203]-[0206]).
As to claim 14, modified Pillar shows the controller of claim 12, and wherein the controller comprises a memory storing a plurality of target zones (stored “waypoints”) each corresponding to a respective target area spaced circumferentially about a fire-fighting vehicle (see paragraph [0199]), wherein the request to direct fluid flow towards a target area includes a target zone selected by a user from the plurality of target zones, and wherein the controller is further configured to: move the fluid monitor such that the fluid outlet is directed toward the target area corresponding to the target zone selected by the user (see paragraphs [0199]-[0206]).
As to claim 15, modified Pillar shows the controller of claim 12, and wherein the controller is coupled to a sensor (position sensors 634a-f; see paragraphs [0141]-[0146]) for detecting a position of the fluid monitor, wherein the controller determines whether the fluid monitor is in the deployed configuration based on the detected position of the fluid monitor (based on values measured by the position sensors, it is determined if the monitor is in one of the “deploy positions”, and in the selected deploy position, the monitor dispenses fluid; see paragraphs [0203]-[0206]).
As to claim 17, with the claim being directed to a “method of controlling a fluid monitor of a fire-fighting device”, which is essentially patentably indistinct from the “fire-fighting system” required by claim 1 and the “controller” required by claim 12, then the prior art to Pillar, as modified by Lozier and applied to claims 1 and 12 above, is equally applicable to the “method” required by claim 17.
As to claim 18, modified Pillar shows the method of claim 17, and wherein the controller is communicatively coupled to a valve (e.g., the “actuator” controlling flow rate through the nozzle referenced in at least paragraph [0147]; and note again, the references to “agent on/off, high/low water flow, fog/stream control, discharge on/off, and so on” in paragraph [0152]) controlling fluid flow out of the fluid monitor, the valve being moveable between an open position and a closed position, the method further comprising: controlling the valve to be in an open position if the fluid monitor is determined to be in the deployed configuration; and controlling the valve to be in the closed position if the fluid monitor is not determined to be in the deployed configuration (see application of modified Pillar to claims 1 and 17; and see again, paragraphs [0147] and [0203]-[0206]).
As to claim 19, modified Pillar shows the method of claim 17, and further comprising: receiving, at the controller, a user-selected target zone of a plurality of target zones (stored “waypoints”), each target zone of the plurality of target zones corresponding to a respective target area located circumferentially about a fire-fighting vehicle (see paragraph [0199]); and moving the fluid monitor such that the fluid outlet is directed toward the target area corresponding to the user-selected target zone (see paragraphs [0199]-[0206]).
Claims 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pillar, as modified by Lozier and respectively applied to claims 15 and 17 above, and further in view of Feng, CN-108525176-A.
As to claim 16, modified Pillar shows all of the recited limitations as set forth in claim 15. However, (modified) Pillar is silent as to the controller being communicatively coupled to a pressure sensor for detecting a fluid pressure of fluid flowing to the fluid monitor, and wherein the controller is configured to determine an expected trajectory of the fluid flow based on the detected fluid pressure and the detected position of the fluid monitor.
Feng discloses a fire-fighting system having a controller, which has a similar design, function and effect as compared to that of Pillar, wherein the corresponding controller (“main controller 1”) is communicatively coupled to a pressure sensor (“water pump pressure sensor 10”) for detecting a fluid pressure of fluid flowing to the corresponding fluid monitor (see the second to last paragraph on page 5 of the English language translation provided with the instant Office action), and wherein the controller is configured to determine an expected trajectory of the fluid flow from the monitor based, at least in part, on the detected fluid pressure and the detected position of the fluid monitor (the pressure sensor sends pressure information to the controller in real time to provide an information input for the monitor spray trajectory calculation and posture/attitude correction; see last three paragraphs on page 5 of the provided English language translation). Therefore, in order to accurately control the nozzle attack angle to optimally aim the monitor at the hot spots discussed in paragraphs [0202] and [0204] of Pillar, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller of Pillar, to be coupled to a pressure sensor for detecting a fluid pressure of fluid flowing to the fluid monitor, wherein the controller is configured to determine an expected trajectory of the fluid flow based on the detected fluid pressure and the detected position of the fluid monitor, as taught by Feng, since such would further enhance the directional accuracy of the fire extinguishing fluid being ejected toward an associated fire.
As to claim 20, modified Pillar shows all of the recited limitations as set forth in claim 17, and further, (modified) Pillar discloses detecting, by a first sensor, a position of the fluid monitor (position sensors 634a-f; see paragraphs [0141]-[0146]). However, (modified) Pillar is silent as to the method further comprising: detecting, by a second sensor, a fluid pressure of the fluid flowing to the fluid monitor; determining an expected trajectory of fluid flow from the fluid monitor based on the detected position and the detected fluid pressure; and controlling the fluid monitor based on the determined expected trajectory.
Feng discloses a fire-fighting system having a controller, which has a similar design, function and effect as compared to that of Pillar, wherein the corresponding controller (“main controller 1”) is communicatively coupled to a monitor position sensor (“posture sensor 41”; see the third from last paragraph on page 5 of the English language translation provided with the instant Office action) and a pressure sensor (“water pump pressure sensor 10”) for detecting a fluid pressure of fluid flowing to the corresponding fluid monitor (see the second to last paragraph on page 5 of the English language translation provided with the instant Office action), and wherein the controller is configured to determine an expected trajectory of the fluid flow from the monitor based, at least in part, on the detected position and the detected fluid pressure (the sensors send position and pressure information to the controller in real time to provide information inputs for the monitor spray trajectory calculation and posture/attitude correction; see last three paragraphs on page 5 of the provided English language translation). Therefore, in order to accurately control the nozzle attack angle to optimally aim the monitor at the hot spots discussed in paragraphs [0202] and [0204] of Pillar, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller of Pillar, to be coupled to both the position sensor (i.e., “first sensor”) of Pillar, and a pressure sensor (i.e., “second sensor”) for detecting a fluid pressure of fluid flowing to the fluid monitor, wherein the controller is configured to determine an expected trajectory of the fluid flow based on the detected fluid pressure and the detected position of the fluid monitor, as taught by Feng, since such would further enhance the directional accuracy of the fire extinguishing fluid being ejected toward an associated fire.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publications to Linsmeier et al., Hut et al., Dusing et al. and Staszak, are cited as of interest.
/DARREN W GORMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752