DETAILED ACTION
Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
The abstract should be submitted on a separate sheet with no other verbiage thereon.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 11, line 7, “inner body 26” should be “inner body 14” and “outer body 32” should be “outer body 12”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 12 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regard to claim 7, on line 2, “openings” should be “opening”.
In regard to claim 12, it is unclear as to whether or not the “cleaning appliance” is intended to be part of the claimed combination, i.e., the language of claim 1 indicates the cleaning appliance is not intended to be claimed, however the language of claim 12 seems to indicate the cleaning appliance is intended to be claimed. Should the Applicant intend to claim the cleaning appliance, an antecedent basis should therefor be defined. Should the Applicant not intend to claim the cleaning appliance, “adapted to be” / “for” language should be used when referring thereto. For purposes of examination, the cleaning appliance will be considered not to be part of the claimed combination.
In regard to claim 15, on line 2, “a flexible inner body” should the “the flexible inner body” and “a rigid outer body” should be “the rigid outer body” since the flexible inner body and rigid outer body have already been defined in claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 4, an antecedent basis for “each side” (see line 2) has not been defined. It appears claim 4 should depend from claim 2 (as opposed to claim 3) an in claim 4, “each side” should be “each side face’ since claim 2 defines the “side faces” of the outer body.
In regard to claim 10, the term “substantially” (see line 3) is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Further in regard to claim 10, an antecedent basis for “the volume of the inner body” (see line 3) has not been defined.
In regard to claim 14, the term "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-8, 10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deniston et al. (US 2008/0087713, as cited by the Applicant, hereinafter Deniston).
In regard to claims 1 and 12, the Deniston reference discloses a container 10 comprising:
a rigid outer body 12,
a flexible inner body 14 at least partially inside the outer body, the inner body defining a product space, and
a coupler 16, 18,
the inner body being connected to the outer body by connection means 86 (see Figure 7) to form a liquid conduit configured to cooperate with the coupler and enable liquid flow from the container.
It is noted that statements of intended use, i.e., “configured to accommodate an amount of cleaning product” and “for coupling the container to a cleaning appliance” do not lend any patentability to the claim. Further, the Deniston device is capable of being used to supply a cleaning product to a cleaning appliance should a user so choose to employ the device.
In regard to claim 2, the outer body comprises a base 28 (see Figure 4) and a plurality of side faces 22, 24, 26 and an outer body opening 66.
In regard to claim 5, the connection means 86 comprises a mechanical connector.
In regard to claim 6, the inner body comprises an inner body opening, the outer body comprises an outer body opening 66 wherein the inner and outer body openings align.
In regard to claim 7, the coupler 16, 18 aligns with the inner and outer body openings.
In regard to claim 8, the outer body comprises plastic (see paragraph 0018, lines 11-14).
In regard to claim 10, a volume encompassed by the outer body substantially corresponds to the volume of the inner body when the product space is completely filled.
In regard to claims 13 and 14, the coupler comprises a means for controlling the flow through the coupler in the form of a valve 18 (see column 17, lines 1-5).
In regard to claim 15, the Deniston reference discloses a method for preparing a packaged cleaning product (i.e., the Deniston reference discloses water may be dispensed from the container wherein water is considered a cleaning product) comprising connecting the flexible inner body 14 at least partially inside the rigid outer body to obtain the container 10 and filling the flexible inner body with a cleaning product (i.e., water).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deniston.
In regard to claim 9, although the Deniston reference does not disclose the inner body comprises plastic, it is the examiner’s position it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made the inner body can be made from any suitable material, including plastic, without effecting the overall operation of the device, especially since the Applicant has not disclosed the specific material used to make the inner body is critical to the overall operation of the device and the Deniston reference does not limit the material used to made the inner body.
In regard to claim 1, although the Deniston reference does not disclose the inner body volume, it is the examiner’s position it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made the inner body can be designed to be any suitable volume, depending on the needs of the user, including the claimed volume, without effecting the overall operation of the device, especially since the Applicant has not disclosed the specific volume of the inner body is critical to the overall operation of the device and the Deniston reference does not limit the volume of the inner body.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deniston in view of Saltman (U.S. Patent 3,561,667).
In regard to claims 3 and 4, although the Deniston reference does not disclose linear connections between the outer surface of the inner body and the inner surface of the outer body, attention is directed to the Saltman reference, which discloses another container having a rigid outer body 12 and a flexible inner body 14 wherein linear connections 32 are located between the outer surface of the inner body and the inner surface of the outer body and along various inner sides of the outer body in order to enable the inner body to be securely mounted within the outer body. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made the Deniston device can include such linear connections between the outer surface of the inner body and the inner surface of the outer body (wherein the linear connections can obviously be positioned on various or each side of the outer body, as desired by the user) in order to enable the inner body to be securely mounted in the outer body.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Ettore et al. reference is cited as being directed to the state of the art as teaching of another dispensing container having an inner flexible body and an outer rigid body and the Dirksing reference is cited as being directed to the state of the art as a teaching of a dispensing container having an inner flexible body and an outer rigid body wherein the container used to supply cleaning fluid to a washing machine.
DJW
12/8/25
/DAVID J WALCZAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754