DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 7/16/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-12 remain pending in the present application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the claim objections set forth previously.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “acquisition unit” and “prediction unit” in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. (US Patent 5,950,170) in view of Mizutani et al. (US PGPUB 2014057546).
Regarding Claims 1 and 10-12; Pan teaches; A production control method comprising:
acquiring a first quantity of materials to be treated corresponding to a first process device, wherein the materials to be treated are target materials that have entered the first process device but have not entered a second process device, and the second process device is a process device in a next procedure after the first process device; (Pan; at least Figs. 1-2; column 2, lines 45-67; column 3, lines 1-67; column 4, lines 1-26; disclose a system and method for determining a first quantity of materials to be treated in a first processing device (i.e. the method includes determining a capacity and throughput of a first machine) of a plurality of processing devices in a wafter manufacturing production line)
predicting a second quantity of target materials that can be treated by the second process device during a preset process duration corresponding to the first process device based on a current process state of the second process device, wherein the process state comprises a working state and a maintenance state; (Pan; at least Figs. 1-2; column 2, lines 45-67; column 3, lines 1-67; column 4, lines 1-26; disclose wherein the system and method further includes predicting a throughput potential (i.e. working state) and capacity that a subsequent machine in the process can handle)
controlling a feeding action to the first process device according to the first quantity and the second quantity. (Pan; at least Figs. 1-2; column 2, lines 45-67; column 3, lines 1-67; column 4, lines 1-26; disclose determining an optimal feeding action and control path between the machines in order to maximize throughput and capacity).
Pan appears to be silent on; predicting a second quantity of target materials that can be treated by the second process device during a preset process duration corresponding to the first process device based on a current process state of the second process device, wherein the process state comprises a working state and a maintenance state;
However, Mizutani teaches; predicting a second quantity of target materials that can be treated by the second process device during a preset process duration corresponding to the first process device based on a current process state of the second process device, wherein the process state comprises a working state and a maintenance state; (Mizutani; at least paragraph [0022]; disclose a system and method for scheduling/planning a production process according to a plurality of processing devices, wherein the system includes taking into account maintenance states of processing devices when determining optimal production schedules).
Pan and Mizutani area analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor or similar problem solving area, of production planning and control systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to have incorporated the known method of predicting a machines ability to process a material based on a maintenance status as taught by Mizutani with the disclosed invention of a production planning and control system as taught by Pan in order to help optimize a production throughput process while minimizing energy consumption as taught by Mizutani (paragraph [0021]).
Regarding Claim 7; the combination of Pan and Mizutani teach; The method according to claim 1, wherein predicting the second quantity of target materials that are treated by the second process device during the preset process duration corresponding to the first process device based on the current process state of the second process device comprises: when the second process device comprises at least two process chambers, respectively acquiring a current process state of each chamber; determining a third quantity of target materials that are treated by each of the process chambers during the preset process duration corresponding to the first process device according to the process state and a corresponding preset process duration of each of the process chambers; taking a sum of all the third quantities as the second quantity corresponding to the second process device. (Pan; at least Figs. 1-2; column 2, lines 45-67; column 3, lines 1-67; column 4, lines 1-26).
Regarding Claim 8; the combination of Pan and Mizutani teach; The method according to claim 1, further comprising: in a condition a quantity of the second process device is at least two, predicting a fourth quantity of target materials that are treated by each second process device during the preset process duration corresponding to the first process device based on the current process state of each second process device, respectively; controlling the feeding action to the first process device according to a sum of all the fourth quantities and the first quantity. (Pan; at least Figs. 1-2; column 2, lines 45-67; column 3, lines 1-67; column 4, lines 1-26).
Regarding Claim 9; the combination of Pan and Mizutani teach; The method according to claim 1, wherein controlling the feeding action to the first process device according to the first quantity and the second quantity comprises: when the first quantity is less than or equal to the second quantity, controlling feeding to the first process device; or, when the first quantity is greater than the second quantity, suspending feeding to the first process device. (Pan; at least Figs. 1-2; column 2, lines 45-67; column 3, lines 1-67; column 4, lines 1-26).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 recites: “The method according to claim 1, wherein predicting the second quantity of target materials that can be treated by the second process device during the preset process duration corresponding to the first process device based on the current process state of the second process device comprises:
determining a remaining process duration before maintenance based on a rated duration of a single piece process, a remaining process capacity before maintenance and a processed duration of a current piece corresponding to the second process device, wherein the remaining process capacity before maintenance is a maximum quantity of target materials that the second process device can continue to treat before entering the maintenance state;
determining a remaining duration before ending maintenance according to the rated duration of the single piece process corresponding to the second process device, the remaining process capacity before maintenance, the processed duration of the current piece and a rated duration of maintenance;
predicting the second quantity of target materials that can be treated by the second process device during the preset process duration corresponding to the first process device according to the remaining process capacity before maintenance, the remaining process duration before maintenance, the remaining duration before ending maintenance and the preset process duration.”
The closest prior art of record is Pan et al. (US Patent 5,950,170) in view of Mizutani et al. (US PGPUB 2014057546). Pan discloses a bottleneck prevention system and method for a wafer making process comprising a plurality of production machines. The method includes determining throughput and capacities of the various production devices within the process, and based on these metrics can appropriately provide optimal supply to the production devices to maximize the capacity/throughput of the machines. Mizutani discloses a system and method for eliminating bottlenecks in production lines through the use of forecasting various aspects of the machines, including taking into account downtime due to maintenance that could affect a machines ability to produce a product. However, neither Pan nor Mizutani, alone or in combination teach, “determining a remaining process duration before maintenance based on a rated duration of a single piece process, a remaining process capacity before maintenance and a processed duration of a current piece corresponding to the second process device, wherein the remaining process capacity before maintenance is a maximum quantity of target materials that the second process device can continue to treat before entering the maintenance state;
determining a remaining duration before ending maintenance according to the rated duration of the single piece process corresponding to the second process device, the remaining process capacity before maintenance, the processed duration of the current piece and a rated duration of maintenance;
predicting the second quantity of target materials that can be treated by the second process device during the preset process duration corresponding to the first process device according to the remaining process capacity before maintenance, the remaining process duration before maintenance, the remaining duration before ending maintenance and the preset process duration.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues:
The reference of pan fails to explicitly teach “real-time state of device”, but in fact discloses using information from a database based on past information rather than real-time data.
The reference of Pan fails to explicitly disclose any reference towards controlling a “feeding” or “loading” action as presented in the claims.
With respect to the first argument, the office understands that the reference Pan does disclose that the current processing state of a device of a past production runs as disclosed in column 1, lines 60-67, but the office is broadly interpreting this as being representative of a processing device’s current production capability (i.e. working state). That is to say, that given its history, it will currently output a given production yield. This information is utilized for assignment of optimal throughput as shown in tables 4-7 of the reference of Pan.
The office understands that the applicant’s intent is to mean that the consideration is based on “real-time” state, however, it is believed the term “current” can reasonably be interpreted as presented above.
However, assuming arguendo that the initial argument is not considered reasonable, and that the term current represents “real-time” analysis, the office argues that the secondary reference of Mizutani discloses this interpretation explicitly as shown in paragraph [0071]. In this section, Mizutani clearly states that the processing device which accounts for maintenance of individual processing devices such that batches can be scheduled to supplemental processing devices, accounts for current operation situations of the various processing devices and can inform the system such that proper scheduling can occur, thus, better representing the interpretation of “real-time”. As such, the office believes the current cited art of reference explicitly discloses the current limitations as presently recited.
With regards to the second argument, the offices interpretation of “feeding action” is interpreted broadly as the assignment process to each machine as disclosed in column 4, lines 24-26. That is, once the assignment/allocation process is determined a schedule is created and thus the feeding to each processing machine is established and controlled.
Assuming arguendo that simple assignment is unreasonable to constitute “controlling a feeding action”, the secondary reference of Mizutani more explicitly discloses this action in paragraphs [0056]-[0057]. In the cited paragraphs, Mizutani discloses the transfer control device that transfers (i.e. “feeds”) the semiconductors between multiple processing devices based on a given transfer plan. In this case, the transfer “plan” is the allocation plan created by Pan, which is then used by the transfer control device to deliver the semiconductors to the appropriate processing devices based on the given operating/maintenance conditions of the varying devices. As such, the office believes the current cited art of reference explicitly discloses the current limitations as presently recited.
In order to further prosecution, the office recommends amending the claims to include currently identified allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Norman (US PGPUB 20160103713): disclose a semiconductor scheduling system and method for scheduling a plurality of semiconductor processing devices based upon capacity and highly constrained tasks.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER W CARTER/Examiner, Art Unit 2117