DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 9/30/2026. As directed by the amendment: claim(s) 1-15 and the specification have been amended. Thus, claims 1-15 are presently pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) have been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 in the reply filed on 9/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 6-9, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 4 recites “when there a milk flow” rather than “when there is a milk flow”. claims 6-9 refer to a “cyclic expression waveform” and “stimulation waveform” rather than precedingly recited “cyclic milk expression waveform” and “milk stimulation waveform”. Claim 13 refers to “the skin” rather than “a skin [of the nipple or the breast]”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a stimulator for applying a stimulus to promote milk expression” in claim 1, and “milk sensor for detecting milk flow or presence” in claim 10.
Regarding the “stimulator”, applicant’s disclosure page 3 recites “The stimulator may be based on the application of a negative pressure to the cavity, but it may instead be a mechanical stimulus, for example applying a vibration or other physical stimulus to the breast tissue and/or nipple to promote milk expression. For an example in which the stimulator comprises a pressure source for applying a negative pressure” and recites on page 10-11 that “a stimulator in the form of a pressure source is controlled, and this automatically provides synchronization of the illumination that reaches the nipple and/or breast”.
Regarding the “milk sensor”, applicant’s disclosure page 8 recites “Milk presence and flow sensors are well known, for example used for monitoring an amount of expressed milk during breast pumping. Milk presence detection may be based on optical sensors (detecting the passage of a milk droplet), capacitive sensors, impedance sensors (detecting a change in an electric circuit caused by the dielectric permittivity or conductivity of milk), acoustic sensors (for detecting the sound of a milk flow) or ultrasound sensors (for detecting a reflection from a milk droplet). For the example of an inferred presence of milk, one option is to infer the presence of milk when a user switches from a stimulation mode to an expression mode.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13,
The claim recites “wherein the light source comprises an output window for contact with the skin”, which renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear what element(s) of the invention are intended to contact the skin, whether the output window enables light from the light source to contact the skin, the light source is enabled to contact the skin due to the output window, or specifically the output window contacts the skin. Applicant’s disclosure refers to a window of the light source in page 4 with “The light source for example comprises an output window for contact with the skin. This ensures good coupling of the light into the breast tissue.”, in Page 7 with “The light source is covered with a transparent window (optically transparent for the wavelength of the radiation of the LEDs), in such a way that the skin contact remains comfortable. The window can be made of glass or other material, for example plastics (PVC, PMMA, Zionex, etc.), transparent ceramics (translucent alumina oxide, etc.) or a soft material such as silicone or other polymer to improve comfort. Contact with the skin provided the best light coupling into skin.”, and further in page 10 with “Passive cooling, for example simply due to contact of the skin with the optical window of the light source, is assumed between each pulse.”. Accordingly, for examination purposes the claim is to be interpreted as the output window itself contacts the skin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240299635 A1, henceforth written as Heselwood.
Regarding Claim 1,
Heselwood discloses:
A breast pump, comprising:
(breast pump assembly 10; fig 1+3)
a breast shield for fitting over at least the nipple of a breast thereby to create a cavity over at least the nipple;
(horn member 120 receives a nipple within its conduit 130 via opening 132; fig 1+3)
a stimulator for applying a stimulus to promote milk expression;
(paragraph 146+148; negative pressure source 165, which is adapted to generate a negative pressure for applying suction to a nipple received within the conduit 130 to begin milk expression)
a light source for illuminating the nipple and/or a portion of the breast for enhancing milk expression and/or providing photo therapy treatment; and
(paragraph 113-115+147; light source 150 projects light onto a user’s nipple to provide a visual guide to the user enabling an alignment of the nipple with opening 132)
a controller configured to [illuminate] the nipple and/or portion of the breast
(paragraph 147; controller 167 is adapted to selectively activate and deactivate the light source 150; fig 1+3)
Heselwood discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
a controller configured to synchronize the timing of illumination of the nipple and/or portion of the breast by the light source with the stimulus applied by the stimulator.
However Heselwood teaches that in an alternative embodiment thereof:
a controller configured to synchronize the timing of illumination of the nipple and/or portion of the breast by the light source with the stimulus applied by the stimulator.
(paragraph 73+75+121+148; where the breast pump is an electrical breast pump, the controller may also be operably connected to the negative pressure source. In these ways, when the light is deactivated the controller may automatically activate the negative pressure source to begin milk expression, and similarly when the negative pressure source is activated the light source is automatically deactivated, therein synchronizing the timing of the illumination with the stimulus applied by the claimed stimulator)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the alternative embodiment taught by Heselwood of an electronic breast pump with an electronic negative pressure source operatively connected with its controller synchronously activating/deactivating a light source to the embodiment disclosed by Heselwood in order to advantageously arrive at a breast pump invention which simplifies its operation for a user by connecting its negative pressure source to the invention for automatic operation, see paragraph 148 of Heselwood.
Regarding claim 4, the modified invention of Heselwood teaches:
The breast pump of claim 1,wherein the light source has an output illumination volume, and
(fig 2 best illustrates the light region 291 as the output illumination volume of the light source 150 of the embodiment of fig 3, which encompasses the nipple and thus where milk flows from)
the controller is configured to turn off the light source to prevent illumination when there a milk flow within the output illumination volume.
(paragraph 73+75+148; examiner notes that in light of the modification made in claim 1 above, controller 167 automatically deactivates light source 150 when negative pressure source 165 is activated, thus when there is a milk flow from the nipple within output illumination volume)
Regarding claim 5, the modified invention of Heselwood discloses:
The breast pump of claim 1,wherein the stimulator comprises a pressure source for applying a negative pressure to promote milk expression.
(negative pressure source 165; fig 3)
Regarding Claim 6,
The modified invention of Heselwood discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above, including the following limitations of the present claim:
The breast pump of claim 5, wherein the controller is configured to control the pressure source to provide a -- milk expression waveform, and to control the light source -- in synchronism with the -- expression waveform, with the light source turned off during -- milk expression.
(paragraph 73+75+148; examiner notes that in light of the modification made in claim 1 above, controller 167 automatically deactivates light source 150 when negative pressure source 165 is activated, thus when source 165 is providing a negative pressure, therein a milk expression waveform, the light source 150 is turned off in synchronism)
However, modified invention of Heselwood is silent regarding:
and to control the light source cyclically
[cyclic] pulses of milk expression
However, Heselwood teaches in paragraph 2 that applying suction/negative pressure in short/cyclical pulses provides efficient milk expression. Further throughout Heselwood and in particular paragraph 114+122+143+147, it is apparent that prior to a milk expression occurring – a period which is inclusive of periods between milk expressions – it is imperative that light source 150 be activated to allow a user to verify alignment of the breast pump with the user’s nipple. Notably, paragraph 148 states that it is desirable to avoid requiring a user to manipulate an interface a multitude of times to activate/deactivate the light source.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement Heselwood’s teachings of cyclic milk expression and activating a light source prior to milk expression to the modified invention of Heselwood, such that the modified invention activates its milk expressing means -the negative pressure source- cyclically and activates its nipple aligning means -the light source- prior to milk expressing inclusive of the period between milk expressions, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which provides efficient milk expression, see paragraph 2 of Heselwood, and ensures continual alignment of the invention with the user’s nipple prior to and between milk expressions, see paragraph 114 of Heselwood.
Regarding claim 12, Heselwood discloses:
The breast pump of claim 1,further comprising a cooling system, wherein the cooling system comprises -- a passive cooling system.
(breast receiving portion 140 contacts a user’s breast, therein constituting a passive cooling system in the manner that it permits an exchange of thermal energy away from a user’s breast and into the material of the breast receiving portion 140
Regarding claim 13, Heselwood discloses:
The breast pump of claim 1,wherein the light source comprises an output window for contact with the skin.
(paragraph 113-115+147; light source 150 projects light via opening 132 which is defined by the portion 140, which contacts the skin of a user, and receives a nipple of a user)
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heselwood as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 20180289874 A1, henceforth written as Wang.
Regarding Claim 2,
The modified invention of Heselwood discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above, including the following limitations of the present claim:
The breast pump of claim 1, wherein the light source is a blue light source with -- a wavelength in the range 400nm to 480nm.
(paragraph 26; the light may have a wavelength of 400 nm)
However, the modified invention of Heselwood is silent regarding:
a peak intensity at a wavelength in the range 400nm to 480nm.
However, Wang teaches a breast pump:
the light source is a blue light source with a peak intensity at a wavelength in the range 400nm to 480nm
(paragraph 12-13; blue light at a wavelength between 370nm to 490 nm has high photon energy, which can help to produce singlet oxygen and effectively destroy bacteria, and further the invention can have an optical component for unevenly distribute light intensity – therein creating relative peaks and troughs- to enhance the distribution of therapeutic light, such as blue bacteria destroying light)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement Wang’s teachings of controlling the intensity distribution of blue therapeutic light relative to other wavelengths of light in the modified invention of Heselwood such that Heselwood’s invention is routinely optimized to distribute light in the claimed wavelength range and further incorporates Wang’s optical components to enhance the bacteria destroying effect of the blue therapeutic light by raising the intensity of this blue light, see paragraph 12+13 of Wang and MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heselwood as applied to claims above, and further in view of EP 3520832 A1, henceforth written as Bourquin.
Regarding Claim 3,
The modified invention of Heselwood discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above. However, the modified invention of Heselwood is silent regarding:
wherein the light source has an optical flux of 1 to 100 J/cm2 and provides an irradiance of 10 to 50 mW/cm2.
However, Bourquin teaches a breast pump:
wherein the light source has an optical flux of 1 to 100 J/cm2 and provides an irradiance of 10 to 50 mW/cm2
(paragraph 26; control unit is configured to transmit control signals to the lighting unit to control light parameters such as radiant exposure – or optical flux which may range from 0.1 j/cm2 to 100 j/cm2 – and a duration of exposure – in a range of seconds to minutes – to arrive at desired irradiance to stimulate the release of oxytocin/initiation of milk ejection reflex within a patient; examiner noting that a watt is merely the energy in joules divided by the period of time the energy is provided over)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement Bourquin’s teachings of utilizing a control unit to module light parameters in the invention of Heselwood, such that the light source of Heselwood is routinely optimized to be controlled to emit an optical flux and irradiance in the claimed range in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which may stimulate the release of oxytocin or initiation of milk expression reflex in a breast expression therapy, see paragraph 23 of Bourquin and MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heselwood as applied to claims above, in view of WO 0057934 A1, henceforth written as Medo, and further in view of Bourquin
Regarding Claim 7,
The modified invention of Heselwood discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above, including the following limitations of the present claim:
The breast pump of claim 6, wherein the controller is configured to control the pressure source to provide [stimulate the expression of milk], and to turn the light source on [prior to milk expressions]
(paragraph 73-75+148)
However, the modified invention of Heselwood is silent regarding:
wherein the controller is configured to control the pressure source to provide a milk stimulation waveform,
However, Medo teaches a breast pump:
wherein the controller is configured to control the pressure source to provide a milk stimulation waveform,
(page 5 line 6 to page 7 line 9 and page 9 line 26 to page 10 line 14; a microprocessor controls a vacuum pressure cycle to provide a non-nutritive cycle which stimulates the release of oxytocin/initiation of milk ejection reflexes – therein providing a milk stimulation waveform – until milk is ejected and then the microprocessor provides a nutritive cycle with the vacuum pressure source to promote the continued ejection of milk in a manner consistent with infant sucking patterns.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the non-nutritive and nutritive pressure patterns taught by Medo into the modified invention of Heselwood, such that Heselwood’s controller and pressure source provides the pressure patterns taught by Medo, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which improves clinical outcomes of milk expression by promoting desirable hormone release and initiation of milk expression reflexes by imitating the natural infant suckling patterns, see page 5 line 6 to page 7 line 9 of Medo.
However, the modified invention of Heselwood in view of Medo is silent regarding:
to turn the light source on for the stimulation waveform.
However, Bourquin teaches a breast pump:
and to turn the light source on for the stimulation waveform.
(paragraph 3+9-11; provides that both certain pressure cycles which imitate infant suckling patterns, as well as certain wavelengths of light, are equivalents for promoting the release of oxytocin and stimulating a milk ejection reflex)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply Bourquin’s teachings that pressure cycles and certain wavelengths of light may both promote the release of oxytocin and stimulation of a milk ejection reflex into the modified invention of Heselwood in view of Medo, such that the equivalents known for this same purpose of oxytocin release/reflex stimulation – non-nutritive pressure cycles and durations of emission of certain wavelengths – are combined so as to be performed simultaneously and thus the claimed light source remains on for the claimed stimulation waveform in order to advantageously arrive at an invention with improved means for promoting the release of oxytocin and stimulating the initiation of a milk ejection reflex, see paragraph 3+9-11 of Bourquin.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heselwood as applied to claims above, in view of Medo.
Regarding Claim 9,
The modified invention of Heselwood discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above, including the following limitations of the present claim:
The breast pump of claim 5, wherein the controller is configured to provide [synchronize] operation of the light source with a--milk expression waveform, --with the light source turned off during pulses of milk expression.
(paragraph 73+75+148; examiner notes that in light of the modification made in claim 1 above, controller 167 automatically deactivates light source 150 when negative pressure source 165 is activated, thus when source 165 is providing a negative pressure, therein a milk expression waveform, the light source 150 is turned off in synchronism)
However, modified invention of Heselwood is silent regarding:
and to control the light source cyclically
[cyclic] pulses of milk expression
However, Heselwood teaches in paragraph 2 that applying suction/negative pressure in short/cyclical pulses provides efficient milk expression. Further throughout Heselwood and in particular paragraph 114+122+143+147, it is apparent that prior to a milk expression occurring – a period which is inclusive of periods between milk expressions – it is imperative that light source 150 be activated to allow a user to verify alignment of the breast pump with the user’s nipple. Notably, paragraph 148 states that it is desirable to avoid requiring a user to manipulate an interface a multitude of times to activate/deactivate the light source.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement Heselwood’s teachings of cyclic milk expression and activating a light source prior to milk expression to the modified invention of Heselwood, such that the modified invention activates its milk expressing means -the negative pressure source- cyclically and activates its nipple aligning means -the light source- prior to milk expressing inclusive of the period between milk expressions, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which provides efficient milk expression, see paragraph 2 of Heselwood, and ensures continual alignment of the invention with the user’s nipple prior to and between milk expressions, see paragraph 114 of Heselwood.
Accordingly, examiner notes that in such a modified invention the controller provides a pulsed operation of the light source at a frequency equivalent to the frequency which the pressure source is changed between an active and inactive state. Further the pressure source waveform – inclusive of its inactive state – can be considered modulated over the pulses, because the magnitude and amplitude of the pressure waveform is brought to zero during a part of a pulse where the light source is on and milk expression is not occurring, and the pressure source waveform undulates at a certain frequency during milk expression. See examiner’s figure below illustrating this waveform relative to the states of the invention’s pressure source and light source.
However, the modified invention of Heselwood is silent regarding:
a first frequency which is lower than a cyclic frequency of a cyclic milk expression waveform
However, Medo teaches that a cyclic milk expression waveform can have its frequency varied between 100 cycles/second to 1 cycle/day by varying an on/off/degree-of-opening by the operation of an electromechanical valve in the vacuum pump in order to affect a vacuum/suction rate which provides a desired amount of suction force with a pattern consistent with a suckling rate of an infant to extract a desired quantity of milk from a mammary gland, see page 11 line 9 to page 12 line 6.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement Medo’s teachings of adjusting a frequency of a pressure waveform to express milk to the milk expressing pressure waveform of the modified invention of Heselwood, such that the cyclic frequency of a cyclic milk expression waveform is a frequency higher than the Heselwood’s light source pulse frequency, is a matter of routine optimization to advantageously arrive at an invention with a desirable pressure waveform for imitating a natural suckling rate of infant to express a desired amount of breastmilk from a user’s mammary gland, see page 11 line 9 to page 12 line 6 of Medo and MPEP 2144.05.
Examiner notes that as detailed above, the light source pulse frequency is equivalent to the pressure source activation/deactivation frequency. Accordingly, upon implementation of Medo’s teachings where the milk expression waveform includes more than 1 cycle during the pressure source activation period, it consequently has a frequency greater than the light source pulse frequency.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heselwood as applied to claims above, in view of Medo, Bourquin, US 20230111110 A1, henceforth written as De Becdelievre, and further in view of US 2416139 A, written as Babson.
Regarding Claim 8,
The modified invention of Heselwood discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above, including the following limitations of the present claim:
The breast pump of claim 5, wherein the controller is configured to control the pressure source to provide a --milk expression waveform, and to turn the light source on -- or off [for milk expression].
(paragraph 73-75+148)
However, modified invention of Heselwood is silent regarding:
[cyclic] pulses of milk expression
and to control the light source cyclically
However, Heselwood teaches in paragraph 2 that applying suction/negative pressure in short/cyclical pulses provides efficient milk expression. Further throughout Heselwood and in particular paragraph 114+122+143+147, it is apparent that prior to a milk expression occurring – a period which is inclusive of periods between milk expressions – it is imperative that light source 150 be activated to allow a user to verify alignment of the breast pump with the user’s nipple. Notably, paragraph 148 states that it is desirable to avoid requiring a user to manipulate an interface a multitude of times to activate/deactivate the light source.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement Heselwood’s teachings of cyclic milk expression and activating a light source prior to milk expression to the modified invention of Heselwood, such that the modified invention activates its milk expressing means -the negative pressure source- cyclically and activates its nipple aligning means -the light source- prior to milk expressing inclusive of the period between milk expressions, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which provides efficient milk expression, see paragraph 2 of Heselwood, and ensures continual alignment of the invention with the user’s nipple prior to and between milk expressions, see paragraph 114 of Heselwood.
However, the modified invention of Heselwood is silent regarding:
wherein the controller is configured to control the pressure source to provide a milk stimulation waveform
However, Medo teaches a breast pump:
wherein the controller is configured to control the pressure source to provide a milk stimulation waveform, and a cyclic milk expression waveform
(page 5 line 6 to page 7 line 9 and page 9 line 26 to page 10 line 14; a microprocessor controls a vacuum pressure cycle to provide a non-nutritive cycle which stimulates the release of oxytocin/initiation of milk ejection reflexes – therein providing a milk stimulation waveform – until milk is ejected and then the microprocessor provides a nutritive cycle with the vacuum pressure source to promote the continued ejection of milk in a manner consistent with infant sucking patterns, therein a cyclic milk expression waveform)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the non-nutritive and nutritive pressure patterns taught by Medo into the modified invention of Heselwood, such that Heselwood’s controller and pressure source provides the pressure patterns taught by Medo, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which improves clinical outcomes of milk expression by promoting desirable hormone release and initiation of milk expression reflexes by imitating the natural infant suckling patterns, see page 5 line 6 to page 7 line 9 of Medo.
However, the modified invention of Heselwood in view of Medo is silent regarding:
to turn the light source on for the stimulation waveform.
However, Bourquin teaches a breast pump:
and to turn the light source on for the stimulation waveform.
(paragraph 3+9-11; provides that both certain pressure cycles which imitate infant suckling patterns, as well as certain wavelengths of light, are equivalents for promoting the release of oxytocin and stimulating a milk ejection reflex)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply Bourquin’s teachings that pressure cycles and certain wavelengths of light may both promote the release of oxytocin and stimulation of a milk ejection reflex into the modified invention of Heselwood in view of Medo, such that the equivalents known for this same purpose of oxytocin release/reflex stimulation – non-nutritive pressure cycles and durations of emission of certain wavelengths – are combined so as to be performed simultaneously and thus the claimed light source remains on for the claimed stimulation waveform in order to advantageously arrive at an invention with improved means for promoting the release of oxytocin and stimulating the initiation of a milk ejection reflex, see paragraph 3+9-11 of Bourquin.
However, the modified invention of Heselwood in view of Medo and Bourquin is silent regarding:
to turn the light source off for the cyclic expression waveform
Notably, Heselwood does disclose in paragraph 147-148+152-157 that it’s light source is both an indicator of alignment/initial presence of a user’s nipple within a certain region, and indicates the state of a pressure source by being switchable between on/off states based on a state of the pressure source.
However, De Becdelievre teaches a breast pump with lights which indicate various states of the breast pump comprising:
to [change the light source on/off state] for the cyclic expression waveform
(paragraph 135; LED 136 is turned off to indicate a stimulation pumping pressure profile and turned on to indicate a expression pumping profile)
Further, Babson teaches a milking apparatus with lights which indicate various states of the milking apparatus. Babson teaches in col 6 line 26-34 that an indicator lamp 61 may remain on during a milking period and turn off to indicate a termination of the milking, or that it is well understood to a person of ordinary skill in the art the opposite change in illumination, such that a light is off during a milking period and turns on at the end of the milking period, may be used equally well at communicating the termination of the milking period.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement DeBecdelievre’s and Babson’s teachings of utilizing a change in a light’s on/off state to communicate information regarding a state of a milking apparatus to the modified breast pump of Heselwood in view of Medo and Bourquin, such that Heselwood’s light source is turned off to indicate a change of Heselwood’s pressure source from providing Medo’s stimulation waveform to providing Medo’s milk expression waveform, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which communicates a change in pressure state to a user to inform a user of the progress of the milking operation.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heselwood as applied to claims above, and further in view of WO 2017080851 A1, henceforth written as Gelissen.
Regarding Claim 10,
The modified invention of Heselwood discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above. However, the modified invention of Heselwood is silent regarding:
The breast pump of claim 1, comprising a milk sensor for detecting milk flow or presence.
However, Gelissen teaches a breast pump comprising:
a milk sensor for detecting milk flow or presence
(page 8 line 13 to page 9 line 8; optical sensor 4 detects a presence/flow of milk from the mammary glands within the breast prior to milk ejection out of the breast, such that upon detecting flow of milk with sensor 4, signal processing unit 13, and control unit 11 communicate to a vacuum source 10 to change a suction modus; fig 1)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement the milk sensor governing pressure states of a breast pump taught by Gelissen into the modified invention of Heselwood, such that upon Gelissen’s milk sensor detecting a flow of milk from a mammary gland Heselwood’s pressure source changes states to support this continued expression, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which permits a user to rely on the invention for the automated actuation of the breast pump without the necessity to interact when the user themselves senses milk expression, see page 10 line 4-6 of Gelissen.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heselwood as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 20070027411 A1, henceforth written as Ella.
Regarding Claim 11,
The modified invention of Heselwood discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above. However, the modified invention of Heselwood is silent regarding:
a thermal sensor for sensing a skin temperature, wherein the controller is configured to switch off the light source to prevent the temperature exceeding a threshold
However, Ella teaches an invention for light therapy applied to the skin
a thermal sensor for sensing a skin temperature, wherein the controller is configured to switch off the light source to prevent the temperature exceeding a threshold
(paragraph 57+375; the power and control console 70 has a computerized device 91 which facilitates the warming phototherapy treatment, such that when a thermostat detects that a temperature has exceeded a threshold the warming phototherapy treatment may be terminated by device 91; paragraph 17+20+22, noting the criticality of avoiding an overheating of a user’s skin to avoid damage)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply Ella’s teachings of applying photherapy to a skin area with a light source and preventing overheating of a user’s skin by ceasing phototherapy treatment to the breast pump and light source of the modified invention of Heselwood, such that Ella’s thermometer may be disposed to detect whether a breast tissue is at risk of overheating due to light exposure and subsequently governing said light exposure, in order to advantageously arrives at an invention which mitigates risks associated with overheating a patient’s skin due to light over-exposure, see paragraph 22 of Ella.
Conclusion
/FORREST B DIPERT/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783