DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/22/2026 concerning 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states that the combined limitations of displaying a game interface corresponding to a current player; displaying at least one interactive control in response to detecting a first touch operation on at least one of a first player character identification and or a second player character identification, wherein different interactive controls are configured to trigger presentation of different game event information, and a first player and a second player are player characters participating in a current game; and displaying the game event information on the game interface, integrates the abstract idea into a practical application (Remarks, filed 5/22/2026, pg. 8-9). Examiner respectfully disagrees. The aforementioned limitations, including the added limitation of displaying the game event information on the game interface, recite only generic computing and extra-solution activity. Taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified abstract idea. For this reason, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 is maintained.
Applicant's arguments filed 5/22/2026 concerning 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states the following “As can be seen from above, Yang is directed to a single-player clue retrieval system for tabletop role-playing games (e.g., Werewolf). Yang's method only retrieves and displays independent historical clues related to a single individual player at a time. Even when Yang mentions a "second game character" (claim 5), it merely refers to sequentially retrieving clues for another separate single player, not establishing any association between two players or generating relationship-based information. There is no disclosure in Yang of linking two players to determine and display information that describes their mutual relationship or interaction.
Accordingly, Yang fails to disclose the feature of "determining, in response to detecting a second touch operation on a target interactive control, game event information corresponding to the first player and the second player based on the target interactive control, wherein the game event information is related to both the first player and the second player; and displaying the game event information on the game interface" in the amended claim 1. (Remarks, filed 5/22/2026, pg. 10-11)”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Current claim 1, 9, and 10 requires determining, in response to detecting a second touch operation on a target interactive control, game event information corresponding to the first player and the second player based on the target interactive control, wherein the game event information is related to both the first player and the second player. The “corresponding” and “related” limitations are interpreted to be very broad terms. The clue information disclosed in Yang, shown in Figure 6, can relate to example player B. This information corresponds to point of view player A and selected character B and presents information that is related to both of them (the clue information about player B of interest to player A). For this reason, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 is maintained.
Applicant's arguments filed 5/22/2026 concerning 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states the following. “Lee teaches the drag operation is an operation of dragging the first player character identification within a triggering range of the second player character identification. However, there is no teaching or suggestion in either reference that would lead a PHOSITA to combine Yang's single player clue retrieval system with Lee to determine and display the game event information related to both the first player and the second player. (Remarks, filed 5/22/2026, pg. 11)”
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the icons interacting as described in Lee would make the information presentation of Yang more multifaceted and versatile, improving the usefulness and breath of information presented. For this reason, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-7 and 9-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea(s) without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1, analyzed as representative claim:
[Step 1] Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-21 are drawn to statutory categories of invention of machine or method.
[Step 2A — Prong 1] Regarding claim 1, the claim recites a series of steps which can practically be performed by one or more humans through certain methods of organizing human activity (i.e. (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) (III). See underlined portions below.
Claim 1 recites:
A game interaction method, performed by a terminal device, comprising:
displaying a game interface corresponding to a current player;
displaying at least one interactive control in response to detecting a first touch operation on at least one of a first player character identification or a second player character identification, wherein different interactive controls are configured to trigger presentation of different game event information, and a first player and a second player are player characters participating in a current game;
determining, in response to detecting a second touch operation on a target interactive control, game event information corresponding to the first player and the second player based on the target interactive control, wherein the game event information is related to both the first player and the second player; and
displaying the game event information on the game interface,
wherein, the game event information comprises at least one of the following information:
economic information of the first player and the second player, or game strategies related to the first player and the second player.
As indicated above, the “determining” limitations encompass, under broadest reasonable interpretation, limitations that can practically be certain methods of organizing human activity. For example, an assistant could simply instruct a player on the information specified and aid them in the following of rules. In other words, the underlined portions could have been done by a casino employee utilizing certain methods of organizing human activity. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of organizing human activity through the establishment of instructions, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping(s) of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim encompasses an abstract idea.
[Step 2A – Prong 2] The claim fails to recite additional limitations to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim, under broadest reasonable interpretation, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (See MPEP 2106.05(g)). Moreover, a “terminal device” and “display” are generic computing component (e.g., software/application), recited at a high level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than instructions to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer and/or to implement the abstract idea in a computer environment, i.e., field of use. The claim does not recite (i) an improvement to the functionality of a computer or other technology or technical field (See MPEP 2106.05(a)), (ii) a “particular machine” to apply or use the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(b)), (iii) a particular transformation of an article to a different thing or state (See MPEP 2106.05(c)), or (iv) any other meaningful limitation (See MPEP 2106.05(e)). The additional claim limitations are NOT indicative of integration into a practical application as they add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Accordingly, the claim is directed to the abstract idea.
[Step 2B] As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional limitations amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer/implement the abstract idea in a computer environment and insignificant extra-solution activity. The Specification demonstrates that the display and touch interactivity is recited for its well- understood, routine, and conventional functionality (i.e., software/application), referring to the additional element in a manner that indicates that it is sufficiently well-known that the Specification does not need to describe the particulars of the additional element to satisfy enablement (See MPEP 2106.07(a)(III)(A)). Taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified abstract idea. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology and/or implements the use of a particular machine. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. Therefore, claim 1 is not patent eligible.
Independent claims 9 and 10 are rejected for similar reasoning. The additional limitations of “a non-transitory computer storage medium on which a computer program is stored” and “an electronic device, comprising: a processor; and a memory for storing executable instructions for the processor” recite generic computing component (e.g., software/application), recited at a high level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than instructions to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer and/or to implement the abstract idea in a computer environment, i.e., field of use. Claims 9 and 10 fail to include additional limitations to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept). Accordingly, claims 9 and 10 are also not patent eligible.
Claims 2-7 and 11-21 are dependent on claims 1, 9, and 10 respectively, and therefore recite the same abstract idea noted above. While the dependent claims have a narrower scope than the independent claims, the claims fail to recite additional limitations that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more. Particularly, the additional limitations further define the insignificant extra-solution of evaluation of the mental processes and mathematical concepts and additional iterations on the existing abstract concepts. Furthermore, these additional limitations encompass the use of generic computing component (e.g., software/application), recited at a high level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than instructions to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer and/or to implement the abstract idea in a computer environment, i.e., field of use. The dependent claims do not recite (i) an improvement to the functionality of a computer or other technology or technical field (See MPEP 2106.05(a)), (ii) a “particular machine” to apply or use the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(b)), (iii) a particular transformation of an article to a different thing or state (See MPEP 2106.05(c)), or (iv) any other meaningful limitation (See MPEP 2106.05(e)).
Accordingly, the dependent claims are directed to the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 9-10, 15-16, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 110141854 A to Yang (hereinafter Yang).
Concerning claim 1,
Yang discloses a game interaction method, performed by a terminal device, comprising: displaying a game interface corresponding to a current player (0054);
displaying at least one interactive control in response to detecting a first touch operation on at least one of a first player character identification or a second player character identification, wherein different interactive controls are configured to trigger presentation of different game event information, and a first player and a second player are player characters participating in a current game (0053-0054, 0058, 0076, Figure 2-3, 5);
determining, in response to detecting a second touch operation on a target interactive control, game event information corresponding to the first player and the second player based on the target interactive control wherein the game event information is related to both the first player and the second player (0054, 0076, Figure 6); and
displaying the game event information on the game interface (0046, 0047, Figure 1),
wherein, the game event information comprises at least one of the following information: economic information of the first player and the second player, or game strategies related to the first player and the second player (0054, 0076, Figure 6).
Concerning claim 6,
Yang discloses presenting the game event information to at least one of the first player or the second player; or,
presenting the game event information in a game chat interface (0057-0058, 0072).
Concerning claim 7,
Yang discloses playing the game event information in a form of voice (0057-0058, 0072).
Concerning claims 9-10, 15-16, and 21, see the rejection of claims 1 and 6-7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 11, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110141854 A to Yang in view of its background.
Concerning claim 2,
Yang partially discloses the first player comprises a teammate of the current player; and the second player comprises a teammate or an opponent of the current player (0004, 0054).
The background provided teaches exemplary games for which the game interface could be utilized, in which the players are either teammates or opponents. It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the mechanics of the exemplary games with the game interface described in Yang as the interface is designed with said games in mind. The game mechanics would add to the enjoyment felt by a player operating the game interface.
Concerning claims 11 and 17, see the rejection of claim 2.
Claim(s) 3-5, 12-14, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110141854 A to Yang in view of US Publication 2020/0376388 A1 to Lee (hereinafter Lee).
Concerning claim 3,
Yang discloses the first touch operation on at least one of the first player character identification or the second player character identification comprises: a drag operation (0053-0054, 0058, 0076, Figure 2-3, 5)
Yang does not disclose the drag operation is an operation of dragging the first player character identification to within a triggering range of the second player character identification;
or,
a drag operation, wherein the drag operation comprises an operation of dragging the second player character identification to within a triggering range of the first player character identification; and
a long press operation, wherein the long press operation is a first long press operation on the first player character identification, and a second long press operation on the second player character identification.
Lee teaches the drag operation is an operation of dragging the first player character identification to within a triggering range of the second player character identification;
or,
a drag operation, wherein the drag operation comprises an operation of dragging the second player character identification to within a triggering range of the first player character identification; and
a long press operation, wherein the long press operation is a first long press operation on the first player character identification, and a second long press operation on the second player character identification (0046, Figure 6).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the interacting behavior of icons when in range of one another as shown in Lee with the presentation of player information as shown in Yang as both arts pertain to a dragging interaction on a touch screen. The icons interacting as described in Lee would make the information presentation of Yang more multifaceted and versatile.
Concerning claim 4,
Yang discloses in response to determining that the first touch operation is the drag operation, the second touch operation on the target interactive control comprises: a click operation on the target interactive control (0054, 0076, Figure 6).
Concerning claim 5,
Yang partially discloses in response to determining that the touch first operation is the long press operation, the second touch operation on the target interactive control comprises:
dragging the first player character identification to the target interactive control after the first long press operation, and dragging the second player character identification to the target interactive control after the second long press operation; and
performing an operation of releasing the first player character identification and the second player character identification (0053-0054, 0058, 0076, Figure 2-3, 5).
In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
In the specifications applicant has provided, no new or unexpected result is produced by the duplication/repeating the dragging operation. It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the dragging operation for the above reason.
Concerning claims 12-14 and 18-20, see the rejections of claims 3-5.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/I.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/DMITRY SUHOL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715