Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 4,938,422 to Koves.
In Reference to Claim 1
Koves discloses a diffuser for diffusing a gas flow within a stack (Fig. 3, the Office considers that each stage is a blank as annotated by the examiner) of blanks of parts based on carbon/carbon composite impregnated with a sol-gel type solution, the sol- gel type solution including comprising a solvent and one or more compounds, the gas flow enabling the solvent to be evaporated by heat transfer, each blank having a central through hole (Fig. 3, annotated by the examiner), the central holes passing through blanks of the stack of blanks forming a central well (Fig. 3, annotated by the examiner) of the stack of blanks, the diffuser including comprising a plurality of diffusion vanes (Fig. 3, annotated by the examiner) each including comprising a central end (Fig. 3, annotated by the examiner) and a peripheral end (Fig. 3, annotated by the examiner), the diffusion vanes extending from a central cavity (as showed in Fig. 3) of the diffuser to the a periphery of the diffuser, each diffusion vane (Fig. 3, annotated by the examiner) having a central through opening (Fig. 3, annotated by the examiner), the central through openings of the diffusion vanes forming the open central cavity of the diffuser, in order to form a gas inlet open upwardly when the diffuser is installed so as to be associated with the stack of blanks (16), the a section of the central cavity decreasing from the gas inlet, said diffusion vanes being adapted to extend at least partially into the central well when the diffuser is installed so as to be associated with the stack of blanks, the diffusion vanes being adapted to diffuse and homogenize homogenize over the entire height of the stack of blanks the gas flow flowing from the central well through the stack of blanks.
Koves does not teach the diffuser is for diffusing the sol-gel type solution.
The Office considers that diffusing the sol-gel type solution is a functional limitation of the recited structure. The Office considers “to provide negative pressure feedback on fluid entering the cavity" as functional language. The use of the function language only requires that apparatus is capable of performing the function, and does not add any specific structural limitations to the apparatus. Since Koves’s design has a stepped opening passaged in the middle section of the distributor, it would meet the functional limitation.
In Reference to Claim 3
Koves discloses the diffuser is configured so that, when the diffuser is installed so as to be associated with the stack of blanks (Fig. 3, annotated by the examiner), the peripheral end (Fig. 3, annotated by the examiner) of each diffusion vane faces an internal wall (As showed in Fig. 3) of a blank, so that the gas flow is directed towards the a periphery between the blanks.
In Reference to Claim 4
Koves discloses a deflector (Fig. 3, 22) adapted to extend at least partially above the stack of blanks (16) when the diffuser is installed so as to be associated with the stack of blanks, in order to guide the gas towards the central well (Fig. 3, annotated by the examiner) of the stack of blanks, for example towards the central cavity of the diffuser.
In Reference to Claim 6
Koves discloses the diffuser according to claim 1 -a base (Fig. 1, 14) configured so that the diffuser rests on the base when installed so as to be associated with the stack of blanks
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
DEMING . WAN
Examiner
Art Unit 3762
/DEMING WAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 9/22/26